EXCLUSIVE: VGM responds to price increase query

Volkswagen_Malaysia_Price_increase_ 001

Volkswagen Group Malaysia has issued an official response to our query over its recent range-wide price increase. It reads as such:

Volkswagen’s revision of its car prices by less than 1% increase comes after a few years of price stability. It is far below Malaysia’s inflation and it covers only a portion of the recent currency developments. Additionally, the car prices for existing stock remain unchanged.

On October 17, VGM released a new price list for its local vehicle lineup, which included price hikes ranging from RM1,000 to RM6,000 over various models. Take a look at the latest prices for all Volkswagen vehicles below, or read our original report on the matter here.

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia's motoring hacks. A car's technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he's usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• AI-generated Summary ✨

Comments largely express frustration and skepticism about VW’s recent price increase, citing ongoing DSG gearbox issues, poor aftersales service, and the high cost of spare parts. Many feel VW's branding as “premium” or “luxury” is misleading in Malaysia, viewing it as a mid-range or affordable brand supported by marketing. Several commenters highlight that VW owners are experiencing frequent breakdowns and warranty hassles, leading to distrust. Though some defend VW’s performance and design, most agree that the price hike is unjustified given the problems faced and the brand’s reputation. Overall, sentiments lean towards disappointment with VW’s affordability, reliability, and transparency, with some urging consumers to consider alternative brands.

• WV is private operator. They have all the rights to revise the prices though subjected to approval. Here the Malaysia need to exercise their rights to make a wise decision not only fo WV but to others as well. If the price is not reasonable than look at other brands.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 124 Thumb down 45
    • well that’s a honest excuse.
      they just wanted bigger profit.
      nice vw. just nice

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 4
      • sudonano on Oct 19, 2013 at 3:14 pm

to :),

Well said. Really. I think you put it blunt and straight to the point.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
        • Only Use At Night Car on Oct 19, 2013 at 3:50 pm

Why VW Malaysia don’t issue a statement about their DSG problem and why they are still selling DSG cars in Malaysia despite VW Global issueing a statement that their DSG boxes cannot handle hot asian weather and asian traffic jams?

Why VW Malaysia also never give reply to the numerous complaints on their DSG boxes when disgrunted customers complain?

VW Malaysia dare to increase their prices despite every other VW owner having continuous breakdowns??? Not once, not twice but continuous breakdowns?

Do they know that ALL their cars with DSG sold here in the past few years are all faulty and that they were in clear knowledge of it before they sold a lemon to their customer?

I think readers here must read previous post and their comments and they will stay away from VW far far away.

VW Germany already admit on May 08 2013, all their DSG boxes, whether its 2013 or earlier years strictly cannot handle 1) Hot Asian Climate 2) Asian traffic jams otherwise prone to non stop breakdowns. This is an admission in black and white. What this means is that, their DSG cars CANNOT be sold in Malaysia at all unless you want to use the car in the night only when it is cooling and got no jam.

For existing DSG owners, there is no way around it. Even the recent global mass recalls cannot sort this problem out. They will just put in a new DSG box when they recall but ALL the DSG boxes by Borg Warner are inherently defective.

How can I trust a car company who denied for years there was nothing wrong with their DSG until the China government came down hard on them?

So, a reminder again, the DSG cars should not have been sold in Malaysia in the first place. You can use this car in Europe but a big NO in Malaysia. As earlier said, unless you use the car ONLY at night (when it is cooling) and there is NO traffic jam.

Pity current DSG owners. Their prices are going to have a free fall plummetting to ridiculous levels. Bargain hunters can now buy a 2012 Golf or Passat for less than RM90k because everybody knows about the DSG problems. Its all over the VW facebook page. Most owners are mad that to replace their DSG box takes 3 months. So, 3 months no car!

VW owners must do a class action suit against VW Malaysia. They knew about this problem for years but persisted in selling still right up to Oct 2013. In overseas, people are suing because it is a danger. Many people accident and die because halfway overtaking DSG lose power.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 172 Thumb down 11
          • I am pretty sure you owned a VW….

• and already wait 3 months still havent got his dsg replaced….

• does keeping vw indoor would reduce/eliminate damage from the hot weather?

• mr jem on Oct 21, 2013 at 8:24 am

“Bargain hunters can now buy a 2012 Golf or Passat for less than RM90k because everybody knows about the DSG problems.”

u hav one maaa??? nobody would sell their 2012 golf or passat for RM90k??? gila itu orang…

• Service Stinks on Oct 21, 2013 at 1:22 pm

You are wrong, not only CANNOT use this car in the night, one can only use this car 10pm onwards. It should be known at “Only Can Use at Night 10pm car”

this is because when I go back home from office in KL at 9pm, there is still very bad jam on the federal highway. So, as stated by VW Worldwide, it cannot handle Asian jams.

• Jonathan Lee on Oct 19, 2013 at 4:07 pm

What kind of profit-making organisation doesn’t want a bigger profit?

• Bob_B78 on Oct 19, 2013 at 4:49 pm

VW price increase is not make more money la, but is for the cost replacing dsg gearbox. The higher the price increase for that particular model, the more dsg prob it will face. Lol

• VW Fanboi on Oct 19, 2013 at 2:46 pm

VW is a premium brand with German technology, you get what you pay.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 97
      • jolly_idiot on Oct 19, 2013 at 3:04 pm

VW is cheap in germany. Nobody value it as premium auto.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 95 Thumb down 6
        • Haiya up stare and down stare, no matter what? some poor man still cant afford a VW maybe can only afford a Toyota or even worst is Proton or Perodua lolx

• Storm on Oct 19, 2013 at 3:29 pm

VW is not premium brand in Germany. It’s a cheap brand cater for low budget buyers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 3
        • Ive lived in Germany for 6 years, although VW is cheaper amongst the likes of BMW/Mercs, its still considered a mid range and mot ‘cheap’. Cheap is a Dacia, or Daihatsu, or many Japanese and Korean brands. Those are cheap.

VW golf tsi with similar specs to those found in Msia is priced similar to an entry spec C-Class.

BMWs have their 1 series and they are considered affordable. But in malaysia, a 1 series is considered Luxury.

So you cant compare a VW being ‘cheap’ just because they make low-mid range cars besides their Touregs and Phaetons. Funny, chancellors of Germany uses Phaetons and A8s where lower admins are chauffeured in S-classes.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 11
          • frenzyaustin on Oct 19, 2013 at 8:43 pm

IF VW is a premium brand what’s for they bought Audi for? VW isn’t a premium brand, and it shouldn’t be. As your last point, Japan’s King ride in a Toyota instead of Lexus and Prime Minister of Korean ride in a Hyundai and KIA, so they couldn’t count as cheap car? BMW/MB is icon of German and if their people don’t use it, who else?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 6
          • MackyMac on Oct 19, 2013 at 11:28 pm

Cause Phaetons are just understatedly awesome… albeit with terrible resale values.

• talking about Malaysia, VW is considered premium (not Luxury lah). So relative to the Toyota/Honda & Koreans…. VW is “premium” for Malaysian market… maybe other brands. For luxury we have BMW, Merc & Audi… should not be confused with luxury. it’s also amusing to see in foreign reviews (eg. UK carbuyer) when models like golf mk7 are compared to similar sized BMW & Merc, Golf MK7 still comes on top. Even in UK reviews, VW is considered more premium than Ford, Peugeot and of course Japs/Korean. Some VW models are competitively priced like Passat, Jetta but not the Golf/Polo hatchbacks
          So again it’s definitely not Luxury but premium lah to other normal brands
          Price increase is normal lah…even peugeots/ford/ latest camry also increase price
          DSG is the biggest issue for VW, but I don’t think it will stop VW retaining top continental sales in Msia

• JohnDi on Oct 19, 2013 at 4:56 pm

Wow a DSG kaput premium car…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
  • sudonano on Oct 19, 2013 at 11:59 am

Hold on. It’s not only VW that is being affected by inflation and currency changes right?

Other German brands like Audi, BMW and Mercedes also use the Euro.

The French (i.e. Peugeot and Citroen) also use Euro.

(note: although some BMW, Mercs, and Peugeots are CKD-ed, the parts packs still come from Germany or France(for Peugeot))

Unless VW is running on some special currency that no other European brand uses….

And here is the best part. The Korean Won has been getting stronger. You don’t see any price changes on the Korean brands. Normally these companies would just absorb the small differences to keep the price the same throughout the sale life of the model, as a price increase would raise flags, especially while a model is on sale. Imagine if tomorrow Kia increases the price of their Sorento CBU by 1% also, which is about 2k. Don’t you think it would look bad on them. Same thing if tomorrow Toyota says, hey look, let’s push the Prius price up by 2k per variant. It would look bad on them.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 134 Thumb down 3
    • It’s reverse psychology marketing and the market loves this. “Look ma’! We just made 2k the car you bought last month just appreciated 2k!”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 11
      • sudonano on Oct 19, 2013 at 1:12 pm

Doubt it, I don’t think any used car dealer would buy any used VW from a seller for an extra 2k just cause VGM upped the price.

• Kimchi cars just make for fun so don’t be serious.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 21
  • VW cars are great investment as the value appreciates can’t you see? You can’t say the same for all other cars in Malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 88
    • Bryan on Oct 19, 2013 at 2:20 pm

Why is ‘et’s comment being voted down. Do M’sians have no sense of humour and the ability to detect sarcasm…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 5
  • Talapia on Oct 19, 2013 at 12:04 pm

Can u please list down overpriced car models n brand in malaysia for referrence to newbi like me ;-)

• Good news for ppl own volks Cars..your resale value have increase as well…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 37
    • JohnDi on Oct 19, 2013 at 4:59 pm

Resale well huh? With kaput DSG you think it will resale well?

• Many cars company ie Honda, proton, perodua, kia etc is reducing their price except VW . Let use our purchasing power to VW for not buying their car. We have many choice other than VW. Anyway VW is very new brand in Malaysia… without them we still ok

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 5
  • Imagine on Oct 19, 2013 at 12:20 pm

“Increase 1% after a few years of price stability……”

Hello! The rakyat increases your market share for the past few years…..you reward us with higher price? I thought should be the other way round.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 1
    • Storm on Oct 19, 2013 at 5:45 pm

Malaysian buy vw because of the trend. They don’t care about the realibility as long as the logo is “VW”

• Bolehland on Oct 19, 2013 at 12:21 pm

VW is officially a NON-LUXURY continental brand that many seems to confuse for it’s status. Google it everywhere you’ll agree with me. Its not comparable with Audi, Beemer or Benz. My own opinion for the price increased is VW wanted to live in sceptical Malaysian’s mind of thinking their brand aligned with luxury status and avoid to be compared with Japanese brand like Toyota or Honda or even Korean Hyundai and Kia. As more Asian cars uplifting their quality and car performance like the Hyundai, more continental brands downsizing their cars, go for smaller displacement and include turbo like the Peugeot. So VW movement to increase price actually is not that wise, not for now.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 4
    • seancorr on Oct 19, 2013 at 1:18 pm

VW indeed isn’t a premium brand….its only our local Malaysians who intentionally perceive the VW they are driving are of premium status. This also applies for the Peugeots you see roaming on our streets as anything that is coming from the Euro block = premium. One should pay a visit to countries like Brazil and see what VW’s are used for…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 0
    • Bryan on Oct 19, 2013 at 2:24 pm

In Europe, VW is akin to ZARA and H&M (in apparel line status terms)…. In Malaysia, people think it’s Gucci and Hugo Boss. Go figure that one out.

VW’s pricing and marketing strategy has very successfully drilled into people’s minds here that they are purchasing a luxury vehicle…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 0
    • what are u all talkng abt? since when is vw become a luxury brand? vw have audi to cater for the luxury category. VW is always being marketed as semi premium (ie slightly below their Audi but above their Skoda/Seat ….( or competitors like Toyota/Renault/Nissan).

VW have Audi to cater for the luxury/premium category

• cosmothegod on Oct 20, 2013 at 9:18 pm

If what you’re saying is true, how come their A segment is RM113k, instead of the usual RM30k-RM60k range?

• Thats why its marketed as semi-premium….slightly higher than the ford/renaults/toyotas/kia/their own skoda & seat but slightly lower than premium brand such as bmw/merc/lexus & their own Audis & porsche (u know right this 2 brands belong to VW)

• Potential Buyer on Oct 19, 2013 at 12:22 pm

After study VWM fb comment, lots of comment about the service and car problems. Yet increase price again… Looks like Tak Jadi Belilah…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 2
  • MrPoppyplants on Oct 19, 2013 at 12:38 pm

I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again. VW’s profit margins are SICKENING with or without this price increase.

• langit hitam on Oct 19, 2013 at 12:42 pm

VW become greedy with the Malaysian reception I presumed.

• stealth on Oct 19, 2013 at 12:45 pm

Stop using VW as non luxury brand as perceived in elsewhere in the world analogy. Yes it’s only in Malaysia it’s perceived as luxury due to the price people can afford to fork out. See the price of VW CC sports line is on the level of a BMW 3series. Its common perception, another example Omega has been raising it’s price every year to move upscale against Rolex. I’m only telling its a human nature and it does not mean I’m supporting VW

• xavier on Oct 19, 2013 at 12:48 pm

Im wondering the Impact of manufacturing car price or Malaysia car tax increase? Which is real reason causing customer buy super expensive car.

• John Smith on Oct 19, 2013 at 1:02 pm

VGM, just review your insight

• I dont believe VW is a full luxury brand, but compare it to other markets, VW is always a step higher than its competitors; namely Ford, Peugeot, Fiat etc. VW in europe is one of the more reliable cars available, but the Malaysian counterpart is not working fully as with the Europeans.

I own a VW myself, although it is significantly more expensive than some Japanese and Korean brands, it is still affordable comparing it to Citroens and volvos.

As for the complaints, i have to agree with their aftersales. But it has not happened to me much. The longest ive gone without my VW is 2 days, we have 2 VWs of different generations. Our DSG is working well and any problems from creaking interiors to loose bumpers were dealt with quite fast. I dont know, maybe its just my luck. But i really hate the fact that dont provide courtesy cars.

The increase is not by much, for car wise. Seems like the more you pay the higher the increase, but if you’re already thinking about spending that much, then i guess the increase will not matter much to you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 9
    • komander on Oct 19, 2013 at 3:25 pm

i also used VW..so far so good..not aproblem.. if u afford to buy it..why u need to bother what others say..anyway it’s ur money..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 9
    • JohnDi on Oct 19, 2013 at 5:09 pm

You must be driving your VW only at night, cold weather and no traffic jam. Fortunately I learned about this DSG problem before I decided to buy my 1st car or else just by thinking on when this DSG will breakdown is already a tortured for me especially when doing road trip with family… in short there’s no peace of mind because of thinking the DSG thing.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
      • So you have never owned a VW but thought about it?

My VW is my current and mostly used car. Day and night, ive driven over 12k KM in 2 months. The only problems were the defects i had with my car; creaking interior when at high RPM and a loose bumper. Apart from that, everything is great. No problems with DSG.

I may be a lucky customer, but from my OWN personal experience, the onlything bad about VGM is their after sales.

I understand and have seen so many complaints on their FB page, but thats a percentage of owners. I have friends who own beetles, CrossTourans and Golfs and none had the DSG or mechatronic failures.

Just like unifi, my unifi is crap tbh, but my neigbours have no probs with it, so do my friends! But many complain on FB, even i do, but does that make it crap?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 7
        • JohnDi on Oct 19, 2013 at 9:45 pm

@Tyro you’re right I don’t own VW because of DSG issue thing. Imagine just by thinking it every time you drive your car on when this DSG will breakdown do you think you will have peace of mine? I don’t think you do specially when you travel with family with you. Good luck to your DSG then… let’s wait and see hahaha…

• PRfag on Oct 19, 2013 at 1:41 pm

aiya, why so honest? just put the blame on BN mah..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 7
  • Ford oso increased their price…how come no one complained?

• kurenismo on Oct 19, 2013 at 1:58 pm

after thousands of VW cars on our road now got people say look for other brands and start to blame VW malaysia? hahahahah….funny. where in malaysia everyday cant find a VW on the street? where? 5 times DSG breakdown also praise VW like hell. just becoz VW offer them a powerfull car? ptuihhhhhhh….its an EGO man….EGO

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
  • Superman on Oct 19, 2013 at 2:11 pm

Vw isnt in F1..why bothered???

• VW group goes Le Mans 24 hours with thier Audi brand.. World Rally with Polo.. this 2 races are more practical
      Le mans- endurance, reliability, fuel economy
      WRC- racing with production car

• F30 328 Melbourne Red on Oct 19, 2013 at 2:22 pm

VW has just turn away many potential buyer.

• VW malaysia needs extra cash for those recalls on DSG gearbox. They have lost money on those cars that are on service bay servicing those issue. I dont believe it on inflation for the reason

• Samuel Schick on Oct 19, 2013 at 3:12 pm

U guys see only increase price 1k, but if u talk to their SA they would probably give u 15k discount

• Their cars are already overpriced enough, So by giving the excuse of inflation or whatever is just bullshit

• Painter on Oct 19, 2013 at 4:25 pm

You pay peanut, you get monkey. You pay a million RM, you get 10 VW Polos.

• albag on Oct 19, 2013 at 5:07 pm

poorfags just shuddup and buy proton perodua la… this brand reaches here is already targeted on richfags… so let the richfags enjoy la…

• motorhead on Oct 19, 2013 at 5:27 pm

Easy.. Don’t like? Don’t buylah.

• Enthu on Oct 19, 2013 at 6:08 pm

Your fcking people’s car brand already selling at a “premium” here. And here we thought MITI was forcing you to sell at such “premium” price, but NO, it seems it was mutual.

Buying people’s car at a premium price here, and here you go slapping us with a price increase. You can keep your problematic car thanks, especially the DSG.

• Jason on Oct 19, 2013 at 7:27 pm

I love my VW car with the saving of fuel cost and its performance. I will continue to support VW :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 17
  • George on Oct 19, 2013 at 7:31 pm

No matter how, VW is a good car with great performance! Other car manufacturers also increase their prices many times for the past few years!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
    • cincin on Oct 20, 2013 at 4:53 pm

Huh? Please define “performance”? Well known sub standard after sales service? Mechanical issues esp the DSG? Below par quality, my Golf is rattling all over and its only done 20K km and I have NOT even mention trying to make warranty claims from the 3rd year onwards….to add injury to insult, you are paying a super premium for a “people’s car” .

• monday on Oct 19, 2013 at 7:44 pm

Honest review from a Tiguan owner.
    VW Malaysia is a fxxxxx-up company with rubbish 5 yr warranty claim.

• cincin on Oct 20, 2013 at 4:46 pm

Honest feedback from a GTI owner, I WHOLEHEARTLY AGREE!!!!! I would rather eat glass than to buy a VW again…

• Honest feedback from a golf owner….vw 5 years warranty is a farce, for the so called battery 2 years warranty, u need to leave the car overnight for them to test & ensure its really kaput only they will replace under warranty. Idiots! then how am i going to go to work if my car is stuck in service centre….and now my clutch plate need replacing after less than 2 years, again i need to leave my car for 3 days, really hassle…no more vw for me unless they offer a manual here in Msia.

• LimPek on Oct 21, 2013 at 7:17 pm

car is not premium but the spare-part is luxury price!
        my 2010 Golf Mk6 1.4’s 4pcs. spark plug cost RM472.00 & battery cost RM1056.00
        better I buy Merc or Bimmer next time.

• VWsaleman, salesman everywhere! on Oct 19, 2013 at 8:22 pm

I see some “saving face” comments supporting the VW brand with random names. Haha, desperate salesman brand recovery team ?

• Tumbi on Oct 19, 2013 at 8:36 pm

Vw trying hard to pair with bmw and Merc by increasing their price so those kids can imagine themselves driving same class car as bmw and Merc

• Polo Saga on Oct 19, 2013 at 10:23 pm

I hate my VW car with the sucking lot of money and problematic gear box. I will continue to hate VW :(

• fukvw on Oct 19, 2013 at 11:05 pm

When VW price increase , still got ppl support..
    When Proton price increase 10/10 ppl oso will bash…
    Typical Malaysian..

• Das Autar!

• neutralwhatneutral on Oct 20, 2013 at 8:39 am

i dont get it when ppl say vw owners are poor man versions of mercaudibmw. take for example, car reviews show vw golfs indeed drive better than mb a200. so do i go get the a200 just because i dont want ppl to call me conti wannabe??

• yapyw on Oct 20, 2013 at 10:05 am

@ Only Use at Night Car: got to agree with U. How wonderful if M’sia do a “U.S.A” and get VW to recall all cars sold and replace/ improve the DSG. Could have been a wonderful world. Cheers!

• blaster88 on Oct 20, 2013 at 10:41 am

Errr…massive issues with the DSG gearbox, extremely crap after sales service, quality issues (my VW is rattling all over….),bogus 5 year warranty (try claiming after the 3rd year or get VW Malaysia to response) and now they want to increase price??? What have they been smoking lately? Absolutely killing the brand!

• old dog on Oct 20, 2013 at 2:28 pm

why no price adjustment when the EURO drop so much earlier?

• Gary Yap on Oct 20, 2013 at 2:36 pm

Huh? What kind of statement is that? It explains nothing, might as well don’t do it. They have right to increase price, consumer have right to chose other brands. However, VW owes its owners an explanation why their cars have so many faults. To the fan boys, enjoy the 3-month wait for your dsg replacement.

• cincin on Oct 20, 2013 at 4:42 pm

http://www.abc.net.au/news/2013-06-12/volkswagen-confirms-australian-car-recall/4747694

Read this. An example of a fatal accident in Aust with regards to mech failure of VW cars…..in this time and age, there is no hiding. Irony is that they are still looking at increasing price. Either their are highly arrogant, plain stupid or both!!!

• ProudToBeMacaiBN on Oct 20, 2013 at 6:36 pm

Minyak naik 20 sen only maaaa, itu pun mahu kecoh ka. Of course lah harga kereta mahu naik sama juga maaaa cus harga minyak pon sama naik. directly proportional. :)

• RoKie on Oct 21, 2013 at 1:14 pm

I love how responses are always made by marketing people. Started off by giving a low percentage number, then compared it against our inflation rate, which IMHO, is pure non-sense but that’s another story, and finally ended by clarifying that it only affects new stock.

Only somewhere in middle, do they answer the question, that the reason why the prices were increased is because of our Ringgit decreasing foreign exchange rates of the past X period.

• michelin on Oct 22, 2013 at 5:20 pm

Buy Ford, VW sucks!

• Carkinbg on Jan 09, 2015 at 3:21 pm

There is no such things as price drop, once it is up, nothing will bring it down, so don’t fall for cheaper cars.
    Next every car dealer will say in view of GST, price must go up after April
    whether justified or not, only the business will know