Toyota Fortuner updated: now with black cabin, Isofix

2.7V-TRD-Sportivo_cover

The Toyota Hilux pick-up truck received a minor local update last week, and now is the turn of its SUV sister, the Toyota Fortuner. The Fortuner, which has been around in latest facelift guise since October 2011, gets some extra kit with no price increase.

New things include 17-inch twin-spoke wheels in a new dark grey colour. The rim design has not changed, merely the colour. Inside, the previous ‘sandbeige’ colour theme is out, replaced by black. The black combination leather upholstery in the petrol 2.7V variant gets silver contrasting stitching, and the driver’s seat is six-way power adjustable. Diesel 2.5G variants get fabric seats.

Trim wise, the 2.7V’s dashboard features black woodgrain panels, as opposed to silver bits on the 2.5G. All variants now have ISOFIX anchorage points for child seats.

Individual on-the-road prices with insurance for Peninsular Malaysia are as follows:

• Fortuner 2.7V (P) A/T TRD Sportivo – RM182,482
  • Fortuner 2.7V (P) A/T – RM179,024
  • Fortuner 2.5G (D) A/T TRD Sportivo – RM174,789
  • Fortuner 2.5G (D) A/T – RM171,305

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• ISOFIX shd be given FREE to all cars from Day One, not as facelift enhancements.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 1
  • ntah.. on Oct 28, 2013 at 1:19 pm

What the f**k Toyota?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 2
    • SamShowedMeTheHilux on Oct 29, 2013 at 9:28 am

When buying this car come to me. When you think of Toyota, think Sam Loo. When you think Sam Loo, think of Toyota.

If you don’t want Toyota, come to my yard, I got so many 1 year old Mazda CX5 and Proton Preves all going for half price.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
      • oblong on Oct 30, 2013 at 11:28 am

Unker Sam, may I have ur HP No. please…! Me wanna buy 2 unit of 2nd hand Mazda CX5 2012! RM75K/unit if bought 2 maybe Unker Sam can give more discount right?

• Hadi75 on Oct 28, 2013 at 1:47 pm

Nissan should bring in the Pathfinder to fight with this fortuner and pajero sport…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 0
    • This Toyota still cannot beat my 2006 JDM Murano.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
      • Murano? Be careful of the tiny radiator. Common problem for the engine overheating.

• oblong on Oct 30, 2013 at 11:30 am

True…my company fleet of X-Trail all got overheating problem due to small radiator.

• Wow..what the beck man? What kind of upgrade is that? Im sure if proton do the same thing..peoples will bash them like hell

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 0
  • Sam Loo on Oct 28, 2013 at 2:00 pm

To all the poor and low achievers Kimchi and Proton owners, you can only dream to own this baby!. Work hard you lazy bums and maybe, just maybe, one day, you can buy a 2nd hand Toyota!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 77
    • SamShowedMeTheHilux on Oct 28, 2013 at 3:01 pm

Obviously, a K5 owner trying to belittle uncle Sam

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 5
    • i pity u Sam..im afraid there is no cure for ur bengness :(

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 2
    • bawakereta on Oct 28, 2013 at 4:15 pm

Work hard mung! Aku kerja pukul 8.30 sampai pkul 5.30 gaji 3k. Tu pun balik rumah sambung buat kerja ofis pasal klo stay ofis bos tak bagi OT jugak. Ada baiknya aku balik buat kerja dirumah. Mu nak suruh buat kerja apa lagi?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
    • Sam's Dad on Oct 28, 2013 at 4:56 pm

I must apologize, he sits so often on this super-bumpy-luxury-hilux that his otak jatuk ke dalam longkang. :X

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 5
      • Hadi75 on Oct 29, 2013 at 9:17 am

Maybe his brain got bang up so bad when his hilux turn turtle a few times…..

• jacksonljs on Nov 01, 2013 at 1:11 pm

….. while whacking corner at Genting Highlands going downhill. Personally encounter few times that daredevil Hilux drivers going downhill + sapu corner from Genting lot more faster than me (at speed of at least 80 km/h, you try to challenge/go near them them, they might speed somemore to >100 km/h) while i m doing 50 – 60 km/h at 3rd gear on left lane.

• motorhead on Oct 28, 2013 at 7:33 pm

You are talking like you own a Ferrari.. Im sure one of us own a Ferrari or a Porche & etc.. But not as arrogant as you Sam Loo.. You are just a hilux owner.. How pathetic..

• Sam Loo, u must be siao! even thought Kimchi and kampung car Potong r not good maybe cheap does not mean u can hurt them!

• guys, i mentioned again and again. just ignore the loo guy. he is just an attention seeker wanting to see your harsh reaction to him. he derives pleasure from that and the way to banish him is to ignore him. he’ll suffer like hell if you ignore him.

don’t feed his needs for attention.

• SamShowedMeTheHilux on Oct 29, 2013 at 9:56 am

Every one is a fake fella. Including my so called dad. Don’t crtitic me, come to my yard, I got so many Preves, K5 and Mazda CX5 all going for half price. Only 1 year old cars.

• SamShowedMeTheHilux on Oct 30, 2013 at 12:49 pm

The export market for Sam’s program took off.

He just shipped around 70 units of Sonata and 20 units of Elantra to Colombo.

Problem is with the few Kia’s leftover, no takers at all. Gotta sell locally

• duhhh on Oct 28, 2013 at 2:01 pm

still the same sh1t, no stability control, no auto cruise, no traction control.

only some cosmetic changes. phuii

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 2
  • Rubbish on Oct 28, 2013 at 2:08 pm

Rubbish from Toyota.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 4
  • Ahlee bin ahtan on Oct 28, 2013 at 2:16 pm

This must be TOYOLAH money sucker?

• wee teck on Oct 28, 2013 at 2:19 pm

Sam Loo is very proud of this.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 3
    • Anton Sevidov on Oct 28, 2013 at 3:25 pm

LOL. I was thinking the same thing.

• SamShowedMeTheHilux on Oct 28, 2013 at 3:33 pm

Uncle Sam now needs more sorhais to trade in kimchis.

Big export market for 1 year old kimchis that has depreciated by easily 50%

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 9
  • Jbonr on Oct 28, 2013 at 2:27 pm

No comment on the car and it’s pricing. But Toyota Malaysia business strategy sucks!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
  • _xXx_ on Oct 28, 2013 at 2:29 pm

WOW! Black cabin…..WOW!!! ISOFIX!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
    • What so special about isofix? cheaper car also have.. it seems like a very big deal for toyota to install

• Anti-Fuel-Price on Oct 28, 2013 at 2:32 pm

Again!!!! Don’t call them Toyota, name them ToyoDate better. 1) Innova (lost count how many updates) 2) Hilux (also lost count) 3) Fortuner (3 I guess). To those buy Fortuner I don’t think u r Fortunate now :(

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
  • Sam loo where are you?

• SamShowedMeTheHilux on Oct 28, 2013 at 3:04 pm

Uncle Sam is too busy these few days. Negotiating export deal for used kimchis to Sri Lanka.

His team of sales reps so darn busy till they already fall sick from overwork. Dem good biz trading kimchis

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 8
  • bluebird on Oct 28, 2013 at 3:31 pm

wow, TRD Sportivo , wow, can add 0.5 more horse power once you add in TRD Sportivo, wow

• i cant believe so many people still fall for the TURD Sportipu crap..plus just when all the pickups already have automated 2WD-4WD shift,Hilux still maintain the transmission stick..even this overpriced unfortuner..talk abt Hilat

• normal hilux – RM70k
    hilux with two more seats RM-170k
    Toyota logic.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 3
    • Someguyonthenet on Oct 28, 2013 at 4:17 pm

To be honest, I always think that black interior is proper for this car. And like always, I am now disappointed with Toyota when they decide to totally replace it instead of having another variant and this car is overpriced as f***

• showmetheranger on Oct 28, 2013 at 4:00 pm

This is not an update/ facelift.
    This is just a lame attempt to grab attention and boost sales. They can do better.
    A proper update would be VSC plus price increase, about RM17 just like the Camry.

• Maserati on Oct 28, 2013 at 4:16 pm

This is indeed another attempt by Toyota to fool the public. Its just a more luxurious hilux with more seats and they are charging twice the price of hilux

this is madness

this is toyota.

• Someguyonthenet on Oct 28, 2013 at 4:21 pm

i would still prefer the Nissan X-Trail because
    1) Flat-fold seats
    2) Have enough power to move around for a city-dweller
    3) As practical and reliable
    4)It is not as big so you wouldn’t have problems when parking
    5)2.0 liter so the road-tax won’t eat you too much

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 9
  • Kereta Kementerian.

• Black Dog on Oct 28, 2013 at 4:43 pm

in the name of ‘new’, they’re always alternating between beige/brown and black interior, and vice versa. Just observe, most car companies do that.

• Sparcov on Oct 28, 2013 at 4:54 pm

IS the accident rate for the fortuner very high?
    even without whatever safety gadget?

Sometime, abit in dilemma, when all bashes just bash…..

Is there and statistic to back this thing up?

I like this car, RM 170k is expensive compare to pajero sport. I mean 2wd. Since I’m not using it for offroad, why not 2wd? Compare to Thailand, they do offer 2wd version

can toyota set the price closer to crv ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
  • dino years on Oct 28, 2013 at 4:58 pm

I just put a used sofa, a carpet, and some cupholders on the back of a hilux, nail some papan overhead as a roof…voila! A Fortuner! No wonder Toyota makes fortunes.

• Howdy on Oct 28, 2013 at 5:56 pm

Umw Toyota thinking is alway so “special ” & unique, their don’t want to bring 3.0 diesel fortuner already a mistake. Their marketing strategy is very weird, a 3.0 full spec hilux get leather treament and steering wheel have audio control and power seat but 2.5 fortuner which 70+k expensive than 3.0 hilux get fabric seat and no audio control on steering wheel, no power seat….. What the hack…Umw

• amatku17 on Oct 29, 2013 at 8:28 am

Just bring in the Fortuner 5 speed 3.0 diesel. Why Toyota so lame?

• Sam Loo motive : since he cant tell any superior tech coming from this model, he will condemn other brands. Reverse psychology. Typical salesman character.

• jefiance on Oct 29, 2013 at 1:51 pm

I think they did this because the new model ones are coming ? Just like what they did to vios which is new body colour months before the all new vios launch. Reports says Hilux and fortuner will get replaced around end of this year… no?

• howdylow on Nov 05, 2013 at 2:31 pm

Toyota IMV project (innova, forutner, hilux) is legendary project, doesnt required replaced, can run for another 10year. hahaha :)

• Kokak on Jul 20, 2014 at 12:29 am

Fortuner in Labuan cost about RM 110K, almost the same as the Hilux. I am sure every one know what is the remaining RM60K. There is very different in tax between pick up truck and SUV.

• cibai lanjiao on May 15, 2017 at 11:41 pm

I have bought a Fortuner Diesel variant at RM 176K since 2014. No height adjustment even for driver seat and 2 zones air-conditioning with no front defrost. WTF is wrong with Toyota specing scheme??? Is Toyota really producing ultimate moneysucking and cost-cutting machine???? Even Kancil 660 also have that feature, why don’t you?