VIDEO: VW’s ‘Woofwagen’ ad campaign stars 36 dogs

Here’s one for the dog lovers out there. Volkswagen UK is launching its first range-wide advertising campaign starring not just the cars, but 36 upcoming stars. Yes, three dozen dogs appear in this latest ad campaign.

Created by ad agency adam&eveDDB, ‘There’s a Volkswagen for all of us’ uses a breed of dog to represent each VW model. Touareg SUV ownership is like having that big St. Bernard at home, ever ready to pull you out of trouble. The sporty Scirocco is like a speedy Greyhound, you get the drift.

The multi-media campaign will appear on UK television, and the dogs will also feature in print, online, outdoor including digital outdoor, cinema, and social media with the hashtag #woofwagen. All ads aim to drive eyeballs to a new page on Volkswagen’s UK website, which shows a range of dogs in place of cars. Very cute, unless you’re not a friend of man’s best friend.

“It’s easy to promote a single Volkswagen, but to convey the sheer breadth of our range of over 20 cars was quite a challenge. We had great fun matching dogs to cars and the filming was like nothing I’ve ever done before. The dogs were fantastic and we hope this ad puts a smile on people’s faces,” said Nikki Pates, Volkswagen’s communications manager.

Both the ad and the behind-the-scenes clip did the trick for us, so share this if it brought a smile to your face. Are there enough variety of cats to do a feline version of this ad? Peugeot? :)

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• mmouse on Oct 31, 2013 at 11:09 am

Try run these ads in Malaysia and see what happens..

• Dogs Super Growl (DSG) on Oct 31, 2013 at 11:22 am

It is better to use 36 dogs than 36 faulty DSGs. Dogs will still be running whilst the VW will be broken down with faulty DSGs. So, using dogs is a wise idea. A dog’s stamina is far better than the faulty DSG

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 23
      • kadajawi on Oct 31, 2013 at 1:32 pm

In UK can use DSG because cool climate. In Malaysia, cannot use DSG at all because DSG pantang hot climate and Malaysian traffic jams. Ha Ha , buy a car for few hundred thousand ringgit but like lottery, don’t know when it is going to kong.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 17
    • For Malaysia this advertisement would be better:

http://youtu.be/Q21P00f38L4

• cliffrod on Oct 31, 2013 at 11:57 pm

Hey idiot, this ad is not meant for Malaysia. Use common sense la!

• Perkasa kata on Oct 31, 2013 at 11:52 am

ini haroooom!!

• itammanis on Oct 31, 2013 at 12:05 pm

Yeah..very suits with DSG.. Dog Shit Gearbox.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 12
    • alliftan on Oct 31, 2013 at 11:55 pm

I see a lot of college students with their dads cars making comments about DSG in a forum about car ads. Grow a brain first, kids! Ha, ha, ha

• bluebird on Oct 31, 2013 at 12:33 pm

run this ad in Malaysia and prepared to be charged in court for threatening certain faith and trying to confuse the weaken mind

• bluebird on Oct 31, 2013 at 12:41 pm

this ad not halal in Malaysia

• No German Shepherd? for a German brand NEIN!!! Ich Mag Deutsch Schaferhund.

• Johnny on Oct 31, 2013 at 12:55 pm

Wooo wooo… i’m always take my dog Bernard to go holiday…!!!

• Sam Loo on Oct 31, 2013 at 1:47 pm

It’s obvious that VW wants to divert people attention to focus on the dogs, from the unresolved 7-speed DSG issue. Tell you what, this won’t work in bolehland as you have chosen the wrong animal. Perhaps a pussy cat may help.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
  • ahmad zul on Nov 06, 2013 at 7:53 am

where is the cultural and religious sensitivity of a worldwide brand ? i guess i personally now know who they favour and otherwise !