Tokyo 2013: Toyota FCV Concept – arrives in 2015

Toyota FCV Concept Tokyo 11a

The Toyota FCV Concept made its world debut earlier today at the 43rd Tokyo Motor Show. The four-seater Fuel Cell Vehicle study previews an actual hydrogen-powered car the automaker is planning to bring into the market in two years time.

The 4.87 metre-long FCV (it’s 45 mm longer than a Camry) has an operating range of at least 500 km, and refueling time is claimed to be as low as three minutes, about the same time it takes to tank up a regular petrol-powered vehicle.

It’s powered by the company’s proprietary small, lightweight 3 kW/l fuel cell stack and two 70mPa high-pressure hydrogen tanks, which is located beneath the specially-designed body.

Toyota says the current FC stack, with a power output of around 100 kW, offers twice as much power output density as the current stack found in the FCHC-adv concept. The FC system is also equipped with a high-efficiency boost converter. Fully fueled, the FCV is able to provide enough electricity – around 10 kW/h – to power an average Japanese home for more than a week.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• sam69 on Nov 20, 2013 at 4:25 pm

This is so wrong..omg..what happen to sushi designer? gone nuts?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
    • but the technology is awesomeeee.. better than electric car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
      • well this is actually EV car without battery..It uses hydrogen to produce electricity

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
        • This oso i get thumb down!..wadahek..
          Fuel cell car is EV car oso la wei!

• hantu on Nov 21, 2013 at 9:55 am

Pity u my fren. I gave u my thumb up.

• does boleh people do not know that fuel cell car is EV car?

• RavenAii on Nov 21, 2013 at 10:55 pm

You my friend are talking something that makes sense. The only thing that are corrupted is the way society thinks. That’s why you get thumbs down. Btw isn’t it a little bit pricy for a hydrogen car maintenance?

• zalendo on Nov 20, 2013 at 4:49 pm

Ho Ho its more worth to visit this tokyo motor than msia one

• jolly_idiot on Nov 20, 2013 at 4:58 pm

FCV = Fxcking Cheap/Crap/Cute/Cibye Vehicle?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 23
  • Bahomet on Nov 20, 2013 at 5:04 pm

I thought all concept car would look nice until I see this one.

• azrai on Nov 20, 2013 at 5:34 pm

Perodua Buddyz’s sister actually…As ugly as its sister..

• PassingBy on Nov 20, 2013 at 6:19 pm

worst then the current vios n looks like perodua n toyota is exchanging designers =.=

• Is this an overnight rushed job by toyota? Looks so fugly from every picture except the one that only shows its internal workings