2014 Nissan GT-R facelift unveiled in Tokyo with updated suspension and looks

2013 Tokyo Motor Show

The Nissan GT-R has been around for quite some time now, but while it largely looks the same, Nissan has been making continuous updates under the hood. The Nissan GT-R Nismo was not the only new GT-R shown at the 2013 Tokyo Motor Show.

The 2014 model year GT-R facelift gets quite a few updates. In terms of suspension, there are revised settings designed to reduce load fluctuation between the four wheels, giving better stability and more consistent grip. More constant tyre contact is achieved by optimised electronic control of the shock-absorber valves, as well as modified front stabiliser spring rates and updated bush link. These improve ride on rough roads.

An additional benefit is improved straight-line stability, with fewer small steering corrections needed to maintain the correct trajectory during highway driving.

Nissan GT-R FL TMS-15

The GT-R is now fitted standard with Dunlop SP Sport Maxx GT 600 DSST CTT tires. They are 255/40ZRF20 (97Y) at the front and 285/35ZRF20 (100Y) at the rear. Braking calibration has been retuned for a more firm, linear response at everyday speeds. The steering has also been fine-tuned to reduce the effort required for in-town maneuvers.

On the exterior, the headlamps are now powered by multiple LED units that create a ‘lightning’ motif. There are four high beam units and three low beam units. They are also equipped with Adaptive Front-lighting System (AFS) that automatically adapts the angle of the light beam according to the speed of the car.

At highway speeds, actuators in the headlight unit adjust the angle of the projectors to project the light further. There have also been updates to the four circle tail lamp design.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Allen Lim WenJia on Nov 24, 2013 at 6:35 pm

I will definitely be the future owner of this.Beware guy,when you being smoke by a GTR that will be me.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 79
    • Hohihi on Nov 24, 2013 at 7:24 pm

In the future there will be AES every km on the highway, but it doesnt matter because you are also rich in the future.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 4
    • jolly_idiot on Nov 24, 2013 at 8:24 pm

Then let us smoke you know first before your future gtr comes.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 1
    • Smokin' on Nov 24, 2013 at 8:59 pm

So, in the future finally you are able to ‘smoke’ those pesky Myvis, Sagas and ricerboy Vios. Finally, you put them in their places with a vastly more powerful and espensive car. Does that prove you are a good driver? Don’t think so because you are driving fast in straight lines which don’t really require a lot of skill.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
      • Be Sensible on Nov 25, 2013 at 4:02 pm

If a GT-R beats a Vios, then the owner deserves praise for winning.

When you whine, cry and complain about the GT-R being more expensive or more powerful, you sound like a sore loser.

During the invasion of Iraq, should we tell everyone that Iraq beat the USA because Iraq did not use any drones or cruise missiles?? Be sensible. Whoever brings a more powerful weapon usually wins the war.

If you want to beat a GT-R then please don’t bring a Vios!! Be sensible.

• Jimmy on Nov 24, 2013 at 9:10 pm

I will definitely praise its performance and look, these 2 things.

• Hiroshi on Nov 24, 2013 at 10:29 pm

when u hit TIANG…and X.X ,must be also u

• in the future? as in 100 million years?

• JpCarJunk on Nov 25, 2013 at 9:48 am

But you cannot smoke my Panamera GTS lor.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 16
    • SamShowedMeTheHilux on Nov 25, 2013 at 4:45 pm

Nissan is a toilet car in Malaysia. Only for losers. Bad RV. Failures in life buy this cabbage Nissan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 26
      • tell me what do you drive so i can laugh at how you failed your life.

• Hadi75 on Nov 25, 2013 at 9:14 pm

You really are desperate for sale aren’t you…..

• Sam Loo on Nov 26, 2013 at 12:59 am

Fake Fella. The K5 owner that was shown the sharp end of my broomstick 2 weeks back

• derrick on Nov 24, 2013 at 6:41 pm

When will Nissan Malaysia bring in this beast? :/

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 2
  • Amirzaheenminhaj on Nov 24, 2013 at 7:01 pm

I remember on top gear if im not mistaken by Richard hammond saying .. GTR is not equipped with AFS bcoz The way it takes corner too fast n Quick… Yet there it is..

• I think you meant the cornering light. This is for front lighting only, which is based on moving speeds to project the light further front.

• sohai jibby on Nov 24, 2013 at 7:09 pm

Uncle Tan Chong, faster bring this beast to Bolehland and CKD it lahhh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 5
  • benzs on Nov 24, 2013 at 7:57 pm

This car is dream by most, no matter audi r8, porsche carrera/911, lamborghini, aston martin n etc couldnt match with this Godzilla. Those launch control n acceleration from 0 to 100 is fast. Even during cornering is brilliant from in n out. Mayb some will be able to defeat Gtr but this Jap is just cheaper than those exotic. But very disappointed would be Evo. Mmc alrdy slowing down producing it, somemore inspira alrdy humiliate Mmc Evo 10. Nissan is good to continuing its legacy. Beside, most motor sports enthusiasts still prefer Gtr due to its easily to be tuned.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 6
    • Very powerful performance but not my dream car. There are reasons why ppl buy exotics. They don’t care about raw performance because those are just “numbers”. They only care about elegance, comfort, class, the soul and the joy of driving it. Not to mention thunderous exhaust growl of exotic cars especially Aston Martins.

It’s hard to explain “joy of driving”. For example: between a GT-R and a Toyota 86, I’d take the 86 anyday, just because I can throw it around corners to it’s limits even on kampung roads. For GT-R, you probably have to circle Nurburgring 50 times to learn it’s limits.

The same reason why I prefer to drive my Preve daily than my 328i. Very controllable and predictable even on it’s limits.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 40
      • kington on Nov 25, 2013 at 7:22 am

PRecisely. I find the GTR fast, very fast but sterile.

The 86 is a real bundle of joy. Prior to that it was the Cayman S that give me really good thrills.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 15
      • nobody on Nov 25, 2013 at 9:25 am

Hard to find in PT,3 series owner prefer national car to drive.You got my respect.

• I drive the 328i mostly for long distance travels. Preve as daily drive or hentam2 corners lol. 328i is not as direct as the Preve

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
      • ”joy” is excuse for loser,supercar is meant to be fast in the first place.
        imagine this,you with ur hot gf in lambroghini in traffic light,when red light stop,a gtr besides you.
        can u explain that ur car mean for ”joy” when get smoke by gtr?
        same with f1,they’re create to be fast,like gtr,you cant say it got no soul cause it fast,that’s sound of jealousy.
        you sounds too much like james may,better you pick a fiat panda over an 458 italia(meant to fast around track).

• bro,dont judge the car by only the speed,i respect this gtr in term of its launch control,the ability to take corner,but story not end there,let me give a example,gtr is a f1,but europe have the ability to make a f1 work on the road,gtr is a car that fast,really fast,but when euro car cost more alot,they mean for something…

• in sepang drag race,kancil turbo below 1000 cc smoke a gtr 35 as well,but is that prove that kancil is a better car?same story u say gtr smoke a lambo at the traffic light.they just no need to be faster then u to prove they are better car.

• gtr35 on Dec 24, 2013 at 5:39 pm

kancil win because it lighten than gtr. shame on you . But when gtr compare with lambo, they are at the same level. Same weight. Soo thats why i rrspect gtr compare to the lambo, think b4 writing

• Heng Loo on Nov 25, 2013 at 5:28 am

Motor sport enthusiasts prefer GT-R? LOL!
      Because the GT-R finished 50 positions behind a Opel Manta from 1980 (!) at the 24h Nurburgring race 2013? :D

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
  • jolly_idiot on Nov 24, 2013 at 8:25 pm

When will the gtr36 will come? Making the best to perfect is giving no room for the next gtr36 to come.

• motorhead on Nov 24, 2013 at 9:10 pm

Orgasm.. Looking at the beast.

• Austin.S on Nov 24, 2013 at 11:59 pm

Hi everyone,just need ur opinion here.I am planning to buy a fd2 civic type R(used).I also have enough m to get a recond(used) r35 Nissan gtr. whats so special about the type r civic?any comments or tips for GTR and TYPE R?just need ur advice on which car is easier to maintain and performance?tks:)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 6
    • ChickenLim on Nov 25, 2013 at 2:34 am

For daily use, GTR will be more comfortable, because Type R is tuned for track, GTR can select the suspension level from normal to R Mode…
      What so special for Type R? High rev, 9K RPM…
      Maintain? Definitely Type R more easier to maintain and cheaper…
      GTR use dual-clutch, gear-oil change easily cost u more than RM1k….

• Nissan has made this facelift GT-R looks and feels more premium and classy now. Keep on the good job. Hope you will match the European super cars soon.

• JpCarJunk on Nov 25, 2013 at 9:52 am

Panamera more premium.This junk is so so only.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 15
      • Be Sensible on Nov 25, 2013 at 4:05 pm

I love the practicality of the Panamera.

And if you need performance together with practicality, then the Panamera S is so perfect.

But what about the look of the Panamera? Some people say the Panamera is ugly. In comparison, almost nobody says the GT-R is ugly.

• the driver on Nov 25, 2013 at 7:54 am

Has anybody noticed the tame looking rims? Same ones as cheap aftermarket rims. Cheap looking side skirts and vent highlights – not even integrated with the body colour.

• sam69 on Nov 25, 2013 at 9:37 am

Agian….Sam Loo going to Butthurt because he big fat ass cant enter it & will show you the Hilux face!

• NeedForSpeed_UndergroundV2 on Nov 25, 2013 at 10:00 am

what a car! i want one, i want one :)

• chong on Nov 25, 2013 at 11:29 am

dear santa.

• Zeebee on Nov 25, 2013 at 12:40 pm

One Of The Best Sports Car Have Ever Made,Batter In Performance If You Compare Much Lower In Price If You Compare “The Nissan GTR”

• AustinPlayNFS on Nov 25, 2013 at 3:42 pm

Consider getting a type r which is discontinued and still have money to spare for a GTR?Which pc games you’re playing?

Its all BS when the dreamer ask for fuel consumption&maintenance cost for those car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 13
    • terminatorlee on Nov 25, 2013 at 7:02 pm

Nope not BS but Seriously No harm if austin asked people like us.His questions are excellent cuz i think he is a very Wise person to ask people who are car lovers here in paultan.U r just very jealous cuz not everyone can afford a type R and GTR.I respect people like him unlike u who only fantasize about virtual cars in need for speed.I think u have an extremely childish mentality.BTW, mr AUSTIN, go for the GTR.Its extremely fast.Cheaper than ferrari 458,Lambo Aventador.its a supercar bargain.Get the facelift model or trackpack model like myself.I own one trackpack model GTR.Type r is not worth it because it has manual transmission and produces way less horsepower than GTR.Suspension is extremely stiff.drove my cousin’s type r b4 from penang to jb.Not comfortable compared to my GTR.In my personal opinion The Nissan GTR is more iconic and more powerful than type R.Seriously more worth the extra money.dun waste on type r.Cheers bro:)IGnore this little child “AustinPlayNFS”.He a coward and an idiot.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 5
  • You sure this not called GTR Bling edition?

• AUSNSW on Nov 25, 2013 at 4:37 pm

This car should be at circuit…..sure syok….the most powerful japanese sport car

• L lawlit on Nov 25, 2013 at 5:16 pm

What about power? Still 550hp or more?

• SUCH SPEED. SUCH CAR. NISSAN. SO JAPAN. WOW. SUCH POWER. WOW.

• AustinPlayNFS on Nov 25, 2013 at 10:32 pm

No one give it a damn whether you own a trackpack,nismo or black edition GTR.Everyone known GTR is way more powerful than type R, your opinion is just pointless.True men will not whine about manual transmission,but sissy does.We all known super car won’t justify by its costs, how type R was a waste?Don’t create a clone just to complement yourself,austin impale by lee.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 10
    • austinplayNeedForShit on Nov 26, 2013 at 3:48 pm

Ur language Sux.Mentality like little child. they both got different opinion also want to talk shit:)u impaled urself and clicked dislike many times also people know la.Dun fcuk here la lowlife malaysian bastard:)U talk big big oni but brain like little child.Who gives a damn what u say.u got no money for GTR or type R also want to talk like u own bugatti.Fact is shithead,u are a BIG Moron who talk big without substance.oni play virtual games.Use ur damn small brain b4 u comment here moron!

• austinplaynfs on Nov 27, 2013 at 1:44 am

Why bother to repley since you doesn”t concern what I say?Why disclose yourself that you multi thumb down my comment?When do I mention I own a bugatti?But you do mention you own a “trackpack”GTR.Which of my word are without substance?can you state it out?How I TS about your super-car since you never own it?

True GTR owner will not reckon Type R was a waste and people who afford to buy GTR won’t have problem to due with maintenance.The biggest joke you ever state is performance comparison between type r and GTR.Dream on Sam,I have read your comment here many times,

• Sam Loo on Nov 26, 2013 at 1:00 am

As long as its not a kimchi, it will have RV

• sam69 on Nov 26, 2013 at 10:08 am

Only sorhai will buy a secondhand car like Toyoita with high RV. Enough said.

• Sam Loo on Nov 26, 2013 at 3:54 pm

This joker AustinPlayNFS is Malaysia’s ultimate car sorhai.People ask for advice, u go talk shit ab people’s supercar.vios rv is still better than gtr.lower maintance of course than gtr and type r.Go and eat dog shit better la lowlife joker.

• Please all parties just try to organise a test drive in one of these machines and then have a genuine opinion, as they really are an amazingly developed vehicle.

• Kelvin Yap on Apr 06, 2015 at 11:25 am

anyone knows the price of a brand new current model?
    Sorry for asking the obvious but where can I look up for the price?