Sale of diesel, petrol at Kelantan-Thai border limited

diesel-pix-wm

In an attempt to curb rampant fuel smuggling, the Domestic Trade, Cooperatives and Consumerism ministry (KPDNKK) is limiting the sale of diesel and petrol by kiosks at the Kelantan-Thailand border, according to a report by Bernama.

Secretary-general Datuk Seri Alias Ahmad has announced that from June 1, each of the 39 kiosks, located within 1-25 km from the border, will be allowed to sell only 600,000 litres of diesel and petrol monthly.

“We found that the sale of diesel and petrol by kiosks at the border reached up to 1.9 million litres monthly for each kiosk. It’s impossible for the kiosks to have that many customers,” he said. “The government suffered RM30 million losses due to smuggling of subsidised fuel in Rantau Panjang alone.

“The smugglers no longer use lorries with extra fuel tanks but commute using the same vehicles to the border. The quota is imposed until the government implements a new system in September.”

2013_Toyota_Vios_fuel_test-003

It is understood that the sale limit is imposed first in Kelantan, but could be introduced in other border areas as well.

Firm action would be taken against fuel kiosk operators who collaborate with smugglers in the illegal transportation of diesel and petrol, said Alias.

“We will not hesitate to suspend their licences under the Petroleum Development Act. Kiosks that need higher quota of diesel and petrol must submit an application to Kelantan KPDNKK.”

He added that KPDNKK will continue Ops Titik until December and will set up a special intelligence team to monitor and spy on smuggling syndicates.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• letstorque on Jun 02, 2014 at 11:03 am

What about Perak-Thai, Kedah-Thai and Perlis-Thai border?

• LeYuv on Jun 02, 2014 at 11:23 am

Crony territory, untouchable by law.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 14
      • Protonist on Jun 02, 2014 at 5:00 pm

Soon Selangor, Penang will impose that as well… you know why.

• Mata sperro on Jun 02, 2014 at 12:00 pm

“It is understood that the sale limit is imposed first in Kelantan, but could be introduced in other border areas as well.”
      Which part of these sentences you don’t understand?
      And Perak-Thai border ? Surely you pass your geography with flying colour

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 21
      • Chris (Member) on Jun 02, 2014 at 1:40 pm

He sure did!

I need to check the map to know Perak crosses to Thailand at Bukit Berapit. I learn something new today…

• _xXx_ on Jun 02, 2014 at 3:47 pm

haha, backfired…obviously u r the one whom actually failed geography. Google Pengkalan Hulu, this is the border town in Perak, heading Betong, Thailand.

• tokmoh (Member) on Jun 02, 2014 at 9:19 pm

Haha Mata sperro bodo bertingkek tingkek.

• Das Auto on Jun 02, 2014 at 11:34 pm

Mata sperro pwned lol

• azrai on Jun 02, 2014 at 11:57 am

It is another tune by the G to reduced fuel subsidy at all pumps actually. Those rampant smuggling is just an excuse. Just do like Pak Lah used to. Jack up the price at pump (subsidiless) then give it back to the user by rebate during renewing the road tax.

Anyway, are the G aware that the value of excise and sales duty on cars are more than the amount of value for subsidies fuel used by a car in its 10 years life?

• cendol (Member) on Jun 02, 2014 at 12:09 pm

Just abolish the petrol and diesel subsidy. This kind of subsidy is open to abuse. As long as there is price difference from Malaysia and Thailand, smuggling will happen.
    Enough with government controlling the market, we must let market forces prevail

• kl fella on Jun 02, 2014 at 12:17 pm

come on la G, how can you stop smuggling of fuel when you can’t even stop the corruption at the border immigration and customs department. insider of the department told me that for every litre of fuel smuggled out of the country, the custom officers entitled to 1 cents.. so you think it’s that easy by just implementing this you’ll be able to stop fuel smuggling? it’s an organized syndicate, and it goes way further and deeper than you think

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
  • 4G63T DSM on Jun 02, 2014 at 12:18 pm

God forbid you own a PRIVATE diesel car there. There will be no diesel by the middle of the month when they run out of quota.

even KL with that many stations run out near the end of the month. Need to make sure the tank is full after mid month.

In this case, its not only smugglers that need an extra tank.

Why is it that difficult to implement SG type control for petrol? All trucks and vehicles entering Malaysian crossings needs to have 3/4 or full tank. Its easy to use a dipstick check for trucks.

• Should imposed in jb-Singapore border as well ..

• _xXx_ on Jun 02, 2014 at 3:51 pm

sorry, MY diesel is too lousy for them…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
    • Ya even SG taxi driver agree every weekend SG ppl go to Johor to fill in their tanks. Even the rich fags do that.
      typical kiasus

• diesel on Jun 02, 2014 at 12:40 pm

How smuggle define?
    They purchase the diesel legally and bring to thai and consider smuggling. And government take action on local petrol station owner?

Why cant they improve the custom or other enforcement body to catch all the smuggler or improve law to prevent vehicle to bring more diesel or petrol over the border

• remove all subsidy on Jun 02, 2014 at 12:48 pm

Just remove all petrol subsidy like Thailand, but at the same time remove all toll and vehicle tax!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
    • Das Auto on Jun 02, 2014 at 11:40 pm

smartest statement!! unfortunately got certain groups of cronies that need to be fed…

• seancorr on Jun 02, 2014 at 12:59 pm

So to stop it they decided to punish the rakyat that are also living close to the borders? Seriously who is this person who comes up with these foolish ideas?

• Denaihati on Jun 02, 2014 at 1:00 pm

petrol/diesel smuggling might be never end story but must minimizing. not much different situation to cigarette. petrol/diesel have big subsidies and cigarette high tax.

• nabill (Member) on Jun 02, 2014 at 2:17 pm

Do we target smugglers or those corrupted officers at da border,wer a small under table payment wil lightup their faces….if thy r really genuine thy could beefup security at da border…

• azrai on Jun 02, 2014 at 5:03 pm

For them, only chocolate with porcine dna in it are haram, corruption ok..

• yankeepapa on Jun 02, 2014 at 10:19 pm

“We will not hesitate to suspend their licences under the Petroleum Development Act”
    What have they been doing all these while when all these petrol stations have been selling 1.9 million litres a month? Sleeping on the job? Tidak apa attitude when the rakyat loses RM30 million every month!
    Makes the blood boil, damn it