New Viva teased – affordable city car by Vauxhall/Opel

New_Viva_teaser_Vauxhall_Opel_01

There’s a teaser of a brand new Viva online, which is to be a low-cost and affordable city car when it’s revealed in the near future. We’re not talking about a new Perodua Viva, of course (that’s the upcoming Axia hatchback, which will be launched very, very soon), but Opel and Vauxhall’s upcoming replacement for the ageing Agila supermini.

The Viva nameplate will be used by the “British” brand Vauxhall alone, paying homage to the successful run of Vauxhall Viva models in the Sixties and Seventies. For the rest of Europe, the identical Opel version will carry a yet-to-be-announced different name again, effectively retiring the unpopular Agila moniker.

Expected to go against small European city cars such as the latest Renault Twingo, Smart forfour, Peugeot 108, Citroen C1 and Toyota Aygo, GM Europe’s new model is said to be based on the next-generation Chevrolet Spark. More affordable base models could even rival budget alternatives like the Dacia Sandero.

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• this is confusing

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 2
    • 21kmperliter on Sep 10, 2014 at 1:19 pm

Bibir Fiesta + Buntut Myvi = Iriz

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 51
      • Same L0rrr on Sep 10, 2014 at 1:53 pm

Vauxhall Viva or Perodua Viva, both have build quality.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 46
        • P2 Viva is rubbish, no quality at all.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 4
          • Ah Beng ProtonFan on Sep 10, 2014 at 5:20 pm

P2 viva wannabe opel viva?
            Rubbish dream on.

IRIZ can kick this opel viva anytime.
            Proton the real car others just like rubbish.

• Same L0rrr on Sep 10, 2014 at 6:00 pm

Typical Proton blind fanboys… lol
            The Iriz not yet launched alreaady can smoke chicken wings kick other car.

So tell me if your Iriz could join the world cup in Russia 2018?

Sendiri Cakap, Sendiri Syok

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 22
        • Lolzer on Sep 10, 2014 at 2:40 pm

Thank you for making my day! ahahahaha
          ps. Did you ever think of being a comedian? I see you have a good future in that career. Peace :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
        • p2 quality hhahaa..kelakarnya

• Lolzer on Sep 10, 2014 at 2:38 pm

Aiya, you can rant or copy&paste your comment, but it doesn’t change the fact that you’re just plain jealous. I hope by copy&paste or ranting around will allow you to ease your jealousy. Peace :)

• Ah Beng ProtonFan on Sep 10, 2014 at 5:24 pm

Correct

Iriz the real global car. Do be jealous of the sales.

• Same L0rrr on Sep 10, 2014 at 6:02 pm

For AhBeng ProtonFan, KL/Penang/JB is the world.

Jealous of sales? lol

I indeed jealous of you take mc sit in GSC till butthurt waiting for the Proton GSC still not yet launch.

• It is not confusing.
      Its just a new era of another make’s history. Most of us don’t remember those bygone eras anyway.

Maybe the title could have been Vauxhall/Opel Viva.

I wish I was born when the E-type was launched. Sadly I can only enjoy its recreated scene from Mad Men. lol. One can only wonder..

• kzm (Member) on Sep 10, 2014 at 2:42 pm

i tot p2 viva oso..look gud if that a p2 viva.

• Hahah on Sep 10, 2014 at 12:13 pm

alright who else thought it was the Perodua Viva?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 72 Thumb down 3
  • Legend (Member) on Sep 10, 2014 at 12:19 pm

LOL
    I thought Perodua is developing this New “Viva”with Vauxhall/Opel together at first….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 2
  • spechorror on Sep 10, 2014 at 12:19 pm

Viva forever …..
    Malaysians are getting obese …. another sardine’s can for the market ….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 21
    • Old Beetle Man on Sep 10, 2014 at 12:43 pm

Correction. P2 Viva is for sardines but this Viva is for Europeans.

• Ah Beng ProtonFan on Sep 10, 2014 at 5:23 pm

Yea yea viva only European.

Iriz to Global. Enough say Proton the best !!!

• Same L0rrr on Sep 10, 2014 at 6:03 pm

Dream on global. See if Iriz can penetrate Bangsar or not…

Dream big big, syok high high, end up nothing happened…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
          • Who cares about bangsar? Bangla and Indon also squat there

• matkool on Sep 10, 2014 at 12:28 pm

Those who don’t understand this article. This car is make by Opel/Vauxhall not PERODUA but use the same name. See others company also use the same name but then some malaysian will not bash this car and only bash our national car copycat here and there. Typical malaysian.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 19
    • Didn’t you read properly? Vauxhall were using the Viva name in the 60s and 70s.

So, who copy who?

• people didn’t get your sarcastic joke

• I was expecting p2 car, turns out it was vauxhall..

• Jaybond on Sep 10, 2014 at 12:36 pm

Opel cars are quite decent, shame they are currently not available in our local market.

• Perodua must sue them! :D

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 9
  • screw GM on Sep 10, 2014 at 1:24 pm

Rent and drove Corsa and Astra before, on par with VW or Ford and much better than Korean or Japanese car.

Anyway GM just screw them and bring useless Chevrolet overhere.

• get your facts right on Sep 10, 2014 at 2:44 pm

Opel is a subsidiary of GM so please get your facts right before bashing!!

• screw GM on Sep 10, 2014 at 3:25 pm

Read the reply again and please utilize use your brain. Don’t be stupid and ignorant.

• screwyourself on Sep 10, 2014 at 8:44 pm

What stupid? What ignorant?
          Get lost and screw yourself stupid ignorant

• lowprofile (Member) on Sep 11, 2014 at 9:06 am

price my friend. it is not economically viable to sell opels here. that’s why opel could not continue here a long time back and GM made the call to introduce the chevrolet brand as a substitute. say what you want, opel will just not be within the reach of enough to make it a viable business case.

• Abdul Wahub (Member) on Sep 10, 2014 at 1:31 pm

I bet the european people will come across our viva when their are trying to google the information about their viva…. hahahaha…

• kenny on Sep 10, 2014 at 1:33 pm

mystery marketing strategy :D

• Blaze (Member) on Sep 10, 2014 at 1:36 pm

I still can remember the time when my late dad drove home a white Vauxhall Viva for the first time sometime in 1976.

• Vauxhall viva has been produce by 1963..now they reborn after 50yrs..who’s the pioneer right now?

• Bataman on Sep 11, 2014 at 10:38 am

How many still alive remember this?
      The Viva name is today a household car model name in Malaysia. Which is why some cars are sold in different country with different names.
      You dont simply try to sell a new car with the same name of a popular model…

• For a moment i thought Perdua was going to give Proton a hard time ..

• neemfa on Sep 10, 2014 at 2:09 pm

Did Vauxhall or Perodua trademark the name Viva? can sue kaw each other..

• azrai on Sep 10, 2014 at 2:15 pm

No wonder Aminar said Axia is not the replacement for Viva. They sold their name right to GM actually. So next 5 years they will be Vauxhall/Opel Axia for sure.

• john doe on Sep 10, 2014 at 2:41 pm

for the next Proton car, can we use Proton M3 or maybe Proton Aventador R3 Superleggiera. Oh wait, Proton A4 or Proton tiga siri.

Sure laku like hot cakes

• Ash Menon on Sep 10, 2014 at 3:58 pm

Hafriz, you evil evil man.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Sep 10, 2014 at 6:40 pm

so now opel copy peroduck

• lowprofile (Member) on Sep 11, 2014 at 9:08 am

do google vauxhall viva and enlighten yourself.

• Proton GSc is going to smoke this car,Axia,Vios,Almera and other compact car!

• nighttrain on Sep 11, 2014 at 8:37 am

Our second car during the seventies was a Vauxhall Viva. Memories.

• at first i tot p2 launching new viva ^^

• Bataman on Sep 11, 2014 at 10:35 am

Sure fail. Rebadge a Perodua which is a rebadge of a Daihatsu.
    Marketing Department failed. Shape also looks llike P2 Viva.
    Should call it VULVA. Sure can sell.

• Zeeman on Sep 12, 2014 at 6:23 pm

My father used to own the vauxhall viva in the late 70s. a solid car. still have fond memories of the car.