Ferrari to increase annual production to 10,000 cars

ferrari

According to a report by Bloomberg earlier in the week, incoming Ferrari chief Sergio Marchionne has plans to increase production capacity to keep up with the growing number of wealthy customers around the world. Among the current models in production at Ferrari, Marchionne is eyeing the Ferrari F12 Berlinetta as a growth model.

Marchionne’s game plan heavily contrasts with Luca di Montezemolo‘s principle as the latter was always pushing to safeguard Ferrari’s exclusivity by limiting production – a move which saw Ferrari’s profits soar as a result of increased demand from limited availability. Come next month however, things are due for a change as Marchionne will push for 10,000 units annually as opposed to di Montezemolo’s limited run of 7,000 units.

Fears of oversaturating the market were countered by Fiat-Chrysler Automotive Group (FCA), which believes that entry into new markets will decrease the risk. To further prove his point, Marchionne has also stated that limiting production will lead to potential customers being put off by the long waiting periods between orders and delivery.

For those who need a refresher course on what has happened at Ferrari recently, it is believed that di Montezemolo and Marchionne have clashed over the direction on the company’s future – with most insiders claiming that it ultimately led to di Montezemolo stepping down. Whether or not the move to increase numbers will prove fruitful for the brand, only time will tell.

Gregory Sze

An “actor” by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• peynoo on Sep 18, 2014 at 4:47 pm

Luxury & reputable quality name sells by itself, is that correct Proton?

• Bataman on Sep 19, 2014 at 10:21 am

Why dont you compare with Perodua or Daihatsu or Toyota? Like its on the same level of luxury and market…..bodoh fake peyno betul.

• abuya01234567890 on Sep 19, 2014 at 2:58 pm

Do you know if someone give me Ferrari for free, I will decline. Why? Because I cannot use it for balik kampung. Small boots

• Seriously on Sep 19, 2014 at 8:55 pm

The Ferrari FF can sit four adults and have a big boot. Plus, it’s AWD too in case your kampung roads not tar-sealed.

• Black Dog on Sep 18, 2014 at 6:50 pm

Profits will definitely increase in the short term.

But will the exclusive image suffer in the long term, that depends on how the game is played.

• Crasher7 on Sep 19, 2014 at 1:43 am

This could dilute the brand if they are not careful

• nabill (Member) on Sep 19, 2014 at 9:39 am

Thers a very fine line between exclusivity n mass market I guess, there is no specific number to calculate…
    But I believe ferrari its different, the brand is one of a kind, if thrs a brand that can get away with it its ferrari…..
    I think alot of us translate increase production to cheaper ferrari’s in the future…..no freakin way!

• 10,000 cars…more than Suprima and preve can sell.

• Seriously on Sep 19, 2014 at 9:00 pm

Any chance we are going to see a Ferrari SUV coming out of Maranello?