Bentley introduces Mulsanne Speed, with 1,100 Nm!

JL4_5220

Bentley has massaged the 6.75 litre twin-turbo V8 in its flagship Mulsanne to produce 537 PS and 1,100 Nm of torque – the result is this, the Bentley Mulsanne Speed, a car that weighs 2,685 kg, yet can hit the 100 km/h mark from standstill in 4.9 seconds. It will premiere at Paris 2014.

The V8 has had plenty redesigned – combustion chamber, inlet ports, fuel injectors, spark plugs, compression ratio, revised variable valve timing, optimised turbocharger control, the works, basically. The peak torque of 1,100 Nm is reached at a low 1,750 rpm, channeled through a recalibrated ZF eight-speed automatic gearbox. The car’s top speed is rated at 305 km/h.

JL8_7983

As part of efforts to not burning through an entire tank of fuel from Sri Hartamas to Bangsar, the V8 has the ability to turn into a V4 engine by shutting down half the cylinders on light loads. The normal Mulsanne V8 can of course do this, but for the Speed, Bentley says it has retuned the system for smoother transitions. Even then, the car is rated to consume 14.6 litres per 100 km on the EU NEDC combined cycle.

The Mulsanne Speed’s air suspension has also had its Sport mode tuned to be more driver-focused. The other two modes are Bentley and Comfort, and the driver can also choose his own Custom mode to individually match steering, chassis and engine tunes.

JL8_7655

To differentiate the Speed from a regular Mulsanne, Bentley has applied a dark tint finish to the headlamps, tail lamps, radiator grille, lower bumper grilles and wing vents on this one.

The 21-inch alloy wheel design is for the first time on a Bentley directional, which means there are separate designs for the left and right side of the car. Finally, there are twin-rifled exhaust pipes and polished stainless steel Speed badging on the front fender and door tread plate areas.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• gaviny on Sep 18, 2014 at 2:52 pm

this guarantees your bentley has wafting, just effortless wafting at a little above idle

• peynoo on Sep 18, 2014 at 4:49 pm

Now I know why Proton Preve and Suprima put engine struts, because Bentley did it too.

• Dead Chicken Kick Pot on Sep 18, 2014 at 7:36 pm

Now I know why you have an ass .. because the donkey has it too

• Abu Sayur on Sep 18, 2014 at 8:06 pm

its game over for proton iriz now

• Mulsanne insane.
    Insane torque.
    Insane speed.
    Insane fuel drinker (but those who buy it won’t be bothered).

• KaoPehKaoBu on Sep 18, 2014 at 3:14 pm

want so fast for wat??..urg go to send your bosses to h*ll meh.. bentley are mainly for ‘drivers (ah mat) to drive..the boss only seat behind. they usually drive below 80km/h. almost like turtle..so no point wasting resources on this tut..

• You mismatch Bentley with Rolls Royce or Maybach.

Traditionally, Bentley always was a car for those who drive themselves.

• Don’t buy bentley. This is Yahudi car. Owned by Yahudi and haram to buy this car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 26
    • Super Saiyan (Member) on Sep 18, 2014 at 5:18 pm

Haram cant be justified because it is produced by Yahudi (Jews). Haram if only they contribute the money to Zionist/Israel State which is they use the money to attack Palestinian. For Bentley, it is owned by Volkswagen. Wallahualam.

• really stupid.
      go and hide inside the cave.
      that is the best for you.

• Dead Chicken Kick Pot on Sep 18, 2014 at 7:36 pm

Tak suka ? Keluar !

• why so stupid.. thn u dont use fb.. watsapp.. most of the product are we using own by jews. even our bank negara control by them. have u ever checked in our currency notes thr is a dog picture?

JEWS are the most genius people. semua nak boikot.. mostly the people who boikot sure never grow n sure financially bad.

• than dont use fb n watsapp. own by Jews too. even our malaysian riggit control by them.

great car wit ugly look.

• Ini untuk billionaire motorhead- collector yang dah ada fellari, lambogithu, rolroi dsb saja nih…

• nowadays cars are getting more ugly…..

• great car

• nowdays cars getting ugly except KIA :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
  • Berann on Sep 18, 2014 at 6:07 pm

Eventhough come with 6.75 lit twin turbo V8 (537PS and 1100nm!!) but still smoke by Lotus Elise S 1.8lit turbo (217hp 250nm)from standstill to 100km/h … Lotus Elise only RM 280k and 4.6secs to 100km/h… Offcourse this giant will win after 100km/h.. but how often we can drive > 150km/h in Msia? Too many turtles on highway will block your ways..

• Sam Loo Jr on Sep 18, 2014 at 11:14 pm

This car got no RV. Better stick to camry. Equally prestigious

• Wee fuk yew on Sep 19, 2014 at 5:00 am

Prestigious, if you live in 3rd world country. In other parts of the world, the Camry is just a reliable mid size vehicle for mr. Average

• Wee fuk yew on Sep 19, 2014 at 5:00 am

Prestigious, if you live in 3rd world country. In other parts of the world, the Camry is just a reliable mid size vehicle for mr. Average

• nabill (Member) on Sep 19, 2014 at 9:46 am

Man u should get Ebola n we get rid of ur tainted retarded pathetic mentality…