Malaysia to construct rubberised roads – report

highway

According to a New Straits Times report, Malaysia is preparing to build its first rubberised roads in June 2015. Datuk Amar Douglas Uggah Embas, Minister of Plantation Industries and Commodities said this at a media briefing.

He explained that several countries have already begun research on the various uses of rubber, most notably in the construction field. “Some of them have used natural rubber (NR) for road construction. Malaysia will also be one of them,” he said.

Thailand has conducted trials with up to 3.3 tonnes of natural rubber per km for the construction of the rubberised roads. Results have indicated that although initial costs are high, the long-term maintenance is lower compared to the tarmac equivalent.

In preparation, Douglas has proposed to replace roughly 50,000 hectares of rubber trees that were older than 20 years. The government has also welcomed a move by various rubber producing associations in Thailand, Indonesia and Malaysia to agree to not sell at below US$1.50 (RM4.88) per kg.

Gregory Sze

An “actor” by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• Mervyn Goh on Oct 14, 2014 at 9:52 am

Rubber for road pavement? rubber is flammable and heat sensitive. it degrades and melts in high temperature. Even though that would give better traction, i think rubber materials only good for low speed areas.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 95
    • Besi Buruk on Oct 14, 2014 at 10:31 am

Don’t be taken for the used of bombastic word ” RUBBERISED ROAD” The content of rubber may only be minimal!

Remember : Orange juice drink is NOT equal to 100% squeezed orange.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 133 Thumb down 2
    • mr1031 on Oct 14, 2014 at 10:45 am

steel is heavy..should not float on water or sky…but oh waitt……

if logic is applied in everyday life, we won’t reach this far in technology bro..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 110 Thumb down 3
      • Same L0rrr on Oct 14, 2014 at 11:16 am

Malaysia a rubber country should have done this long long time ago and export the technology.

Don’t waste money in meaningless R&D like VVT, 1.6 turbo, ESP, flowery balancing rubbish.

You don’t have to syok sendiri when you CAN do something others already doing…

You be proud and we all syok of you when you can do something others CAN’T.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 58
        • riz (Member) on Oct 14, 2014 at 12:32 pm

U again…. and your rubbish talk

but I agree on 1 point, Malaysia should apply this technology long time ago as this rubber asphalt need high temp maintenance to maintain its elasticity.
          but this technology, it comes with a price.
          this are where our tax goes to…

syok sendiri with others technology ?
          well everything in this world started with something new and it evolved.
          like cars, Ford made it first.. whole world copied it but they do better cars and evolve Henry Ford’s invention until now.

Its doesnt matter who invent it, its about who make the best out of it..
          with some RnD in Malaysia, with the heat + rubber country, we have all the advantages.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Rubberized_asphalt

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 6
          • My Kangkung on Oct 14, 2014 at 1:37 pm

All technology are good..
            Malaysia implemented lot of new tech stuff.
            However, after that, no maintainance. Because of no more lobang!
            See those high tech toilet… where it goes?

• Same L0rrr on Oct 14, 2014 at 1:44 pm

Agree with my “rubbish” talk? lol

People copy and then excel…
            After 30 years of copying, what did Proton come out to make us proud?

Fuel saving? No
            Reliable parts? No
            Good Service? No
            Cheap ownership? No
            Good resale value? No
            Good safety? No (Look at Saga, Persona, Exora, Satria)
            Rapid facelift and upgrade? No
            National Pride? In your dream

End of the days it is not making a good national car, but feeding the cronies/government rich.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 21
      • undi BN on Oct 14, 2014 at 11:51 am

Rubber roads ?

That’s great !! I don’t need to buy tires anymore… just my alloy rims will do !… now that’s a smart govt in helping us save money !!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 17
    • philippecr on Oct 14, 2014 at 11:19 am

here comes a Malaysian rubber expert.

• My Kangkung on Oct 14, 2014 at 1:44 pm

yes he is rubber expert.
        super expert to choose Barang Naik.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
    • Jilbaber (Member) on Oct 14, 2014 at 11:39 am

Rubberized asphalt has been around long before you were born son…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
      • Usavich on Oct 16, 2014 at 10:20 am

the nurburgring track is using rubberized road since many many many years ago.

• Damien on Oct 14, 2014 at 12:04 pm

Natural Rubber is used as a substitution to bitumen(binder) which only is around 4%-5% of overall premix content. Plenty of research has been carried out since 60s.

Problem with Malaysia is that we do not have a strong R&D body. Singapore has started using RAP (Recyled Asphalt Premix) in most of their major roads which i believe is way much better than the above.

• How does the Recycled Asphalt Premix work? Does it mean they recycle the old road?

• Singkung on Oct 15, 2014 at 11:06 pm

Just to let you all know that rubberised asphalt is not new and is of very good quality. It is used in most Western European countries since the 1970’s and it is highly durable and does not overheat like bitumen. It also does not reflect rainwater and mist from road on car mirrors, especially when lights beam into roads. This is why car lights do not beam or reflect on European roads. Its also reduces road roar and keeps road noise at a minimal. Some of us have seen this before, but neve realised the technology is actually available in Malaysia but too costly to be used for Malaysian roads … until now. Germany has been using it for more than 3 decades, buying it from Malaysia, mostly.

• Dunlop, Goodyear, Silverstone, Continental on Oct 14, 2014 at 12:09 pm

What are the main material component for your car tyres you are using now? Rubb………….er! Does it degrade or melt in high temperature when you travel at high speed?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
    • Why don’t our car tyre melt even at breathtaking speed

• Except that tires for the cars we use are made of rubber which gets hot on long journeys too and tires for Formula1 cars get super hot but they don’t burst into flames.

• “rubber is flammable and heat sensitive. it degrades and melts in high temperature”
      I don’t see people driving with their tyres on fire.

• Fakhrul on Oct 16, 2014 at 9:13 pm

F1 is using ceramic disk brake. Using your short brain, of course you will think that the ceramic disk will brake at an instance.

• he is an engineer lorrr…..or maybe scientist….

• Yes…built it and show the world the advantages of rubberised road in term of safety and cost benefits. Soon we’ll reenergise and rebuilt our rubber industry.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 0
  • Yes…built it and show the world the advantages of rubberised road in term of safety and cost benefits. Soon we’ll reenergise and rebuilt our rubber industry.

• Head Hunter on Oct 14, 2014 at 10:02 am

The term ‘amar’ is actually a salutation like datuk or sir. The salutation ‘amar’ is only used in Sarawak so to use it in this context looks like an errata to me.

• Head Hunter on Oct 14, 2014 at 10:09 am

make that calling a datuk sri a ‘sri’ instead.

• Anthony Lim (Member) on Oct 14, 2014 at 10:19 am

Thanks for the spot. The error has been corrected.

• rubber duckie on Oct 14, 2014 at 10:14 am

While it seems like a good plan to lower maintenance cost in the long run, new ideas like this are always questioned in Malaysia. Is it to benefit a new construction crony company to supply and build this road?
    Anyway regargding the statement to not allow the sale below US1.50/kg. Isn’t it an illegal cartel price fixing strategy? Anti-monopoly investigations can be intiated on the rubber associations and they could be liable to sanctions if found guilty

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 6
    • Yours Faithfully (Member) on Oct 14, 2014 at 10:30 am

Totally agree… I thought price fixing is illegal? Yes / no?

• plastic duck on Oct 14, 2014 at 10:38 am

Re: price fixing. Nah not really when governments do it. Heard of OPEC? When private companies do it, then only kena hentam.

• Obviously (Member) on Oct 14, 2014 at 10:55 am

I think it’s a good thing to fix the price for such a commodity. This will actually work to prevent monopolies. I’ve seen the effects of vicious price undercutting and in the end, the rubber farmers will suffer for it with drastically dropping prices of rubber once production starts ramping up and organizations start undercutting one another to get the most contracts. In the end, the one most able to produce large volumes of rubber will have the lowest price and, thus, monopolize the market.

And do remember that this is the minimum price. They didn’t cap off the maximum price.

• Obviously (Member) on Oct 14, 2014 at 12:42 pm

After some thought, calling it price fixing would only be half-correct. It’s more of fixing a lower limit to the price of rubber.

• Not allow sale below US1.50kg.. mean to protect rubber tappers & currently rubber price not based on market due to Thai Govt keep ruin the price, especially with our high quality rubber. Thailand now World No 1 producer/supplier & didn’t want to co-operate with Malaysia & Indonesia. I strongly believe Thai Govt has separate agreement with Foreign Investor, based on current situation, right now most tyre manufacturer moving to Thailand. At this moment Malaysian was lucky due to existence of Lembaga getah Asli (R&D). With help from Lembaga Getah Asli, Malaysia produce higher quality than Thai & Indon but sadly market price not shown a true price.. Spend sometime to watch Mega Factories, Episode Michelin & Airbus..

• My Kangkung on Oct 14, 2014 at 1:50 pm

Obviously, new tech implemented for new lobang.
      There are many new highway, new toll.
      With this new tech, it could be charged higher toll rate.

when request for implementation, there are special incentive, special loan on zero interest, high price quote, free machine.

After implementation, request compensation or pro long the toll collection years.

• “…to agree to not sell at below US$1.50 per kg”

?

• the driver on Oct 14, 2014 at 10:44 am

Way to go, the tar in Tarmac is even more heat sensitive and eventually goes away due to wear and tear. Rubberized roads are replacing Tarmac as the grip comes from the ‘cavities’ and ‘channels’ and not from the protruding stones of the road. It is much quieter and aids in draining the roads of water better. It’s not really more expensive if recycled rubber like tyres are used.

• longjaafar on Oct 14, 2014 at 10:45 am

We have had rubberised road in Malaysia before. More than 50 years ago, we used to have rubber used in road construction. The minister’s people should do more research.

• 50 years ago.. don’t said 50, even 30 yrs also not worth to mention coz R&D technology only exist around 15-20 yrs ago..

• riz (Member) on Oct 14, 2014 at 12:35 pm

also … technology with 20-50years RnD comes with a price

• a way to boost the rubber industry in m’sia I suppose. rubber can be processed to make it more resistant to heat. afterall, there are rubber parts inside your engine bay that are exposed to high temperatures.

just to be clear, I think this is rubberized asphalt. not pure asphalt alone.

http://www.clemson.edu/ces/arts/benefitsofRA.html

• rubberman on Oct 14, 2014 at 11:21 am

Asphalt rubber roads
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mlr7BTaOZiE&w=250

• Thanks for sharing. Government is concern about used-tires that how to solve the waste. They create Asphalt rubber. That will solve the waste and lower down the cost by not using asphalt road.

Now, what is our government try to do again? Use raw latex? Dumb?

• ThePolygon on Oct 14, 2014 at 12:00 pm

All this is brought up because rubber is at one of it’s all time low. It’s a serious crisis in rubber industry. Good to see cross industry helping each other.

“The government has also welcomed a move by various rubber producing associations in Thailand, Indonesia and Malaysia to agree to not sell at below US$1.50 (RM4.88) per kg.”

• Akulah on Oct 14, 2014 at 12:11 pm

SO..if I felt on the road, will be be bouncing back? he..he..he..

• Besi Buruh on Oct 14, 2014 at 1:27 pm

You got to bounce quick or else a car will run over you. Roti Canai banjir!

• nabill (Member) on Oct 14, 2014 at 12:16 pm

Jus few pointers , tyres are manufactured according to asphalt characteristics , wdnt a rubberised asphalt changes how these tyres react and behave??

another point is, and this is jus guessing without knowing much abt how its done, rubberised asphalt in theory should have slightly more friction than jus asphalt, wdnt this significantly increases the FC since u have to work the engine little but more to achieve the desired speed ??

Honestly I dont care if it benefits the rubber industry or not, I mean thrs no shame in that (since we have alot of rubber) if thy get more sales n we get better roads…everyone wins

• DieselHead on Oct 14, 2014 at 12:46 pm

They have been doing this in the US for quite a while. But instead of fresh new rubber, they use scrap tyre.

• Obviously (Member) on Oct 14, 2014 at 5:35 pm

Now that you’ve mentioned it, I also curious as to why there isn’t any mention of recycling discarded tires…

• azrai on Oct 14, 2014 at 1:35 pm

Make more gloves and condoms then.

• Alifz on Oct 14, 2014 at 1:52 pm

Our playground area flooring has been using rubberized flooring. The flooring using epoxy binder to uphold the strength.
    I believe it can be done too on road and the tyres grip well on it but the technology need to be different from the playground floor.

• RUbber meet oil on Oct 14, 2014 at 1:55 pm

diesel leak, motor oil leak.
    Rubber meet oil maybe cause loss of traction..

been saw many accidents,very low speed drive, skidding on wet tarmac, usually happen while light rain…

Maybe malaysia not suitable to implement at this moment….

After tax free for automotive, less leak on newer vehicle then implement la…

• superdriver on Oct 14, 2014 at 1:56 pm

I dunno guys, our blessed country is very near the equator line and if it gets hot here in malaysia Im sure you would know how much heat is applied to anything, best example is when our cars are parked in broad daylight, when you go in you cant even hold the steering and often always we give it a few minutes before we get into the car after we on the aircon and get in. Often if we do it without any remorse the plastic, leather and what ever inside will crack, tear, bleach and just plainly breaks. This is a car, now coming back to rubberised road instead, our environment which is very hot and sometimes rapidly cool down due to tropical and monsoon rains will test the road to full maximum capability. Our climate is unforgiving and even concrete road oso cracks and requires regular change and maintenance. A rubber + asphalt or anything will change the structure of the road depending on how much tyres and their traction roll over it. Applying heat and cold temperature to this mix is dangerous and because rubber is lighter than stones and rocks , shrapnel pieces flying into our windshields and people can occur. Not all tech from other countries can be used here. Imagine if it rains and pours…can our tires still grip?

• coffee on Oct 14, 2014 at 2:36 pm

errr….did you realize that runway for the airport is asphalt + rubber mixed? it’s been used for years! If it’s good for the humongous plane, why can’t it be for our cars?

• ben yap on Oct 14, 2014 at 2:40 pm

harder to drift on rubberise road ady. sigh…

• Price fixing!

• stranger on Oct 14, 2014 at 7:16 pm

it is just a scheme for the G to makan again la
    don’t be fooled

to me, everytime the G started to implement something new, I know it ll be sure a no good thing which only benefits them

• tayar basikal on Oct 14, 2014 at 8:24 pm

Federal Highway is already using rubberized road.

• Athies on Oct 16, 2014 at 10:51 pm

10-15 years ago, there was rubberised section on the KL-Sban highway… Not sure what happened after that but there are more concrete highways…. considering the fact that Malaysia is a rubber producing country, we should have been using rubber all the while.
    The rubber section was very quiet when driven on at highway speeds and it had great grip….Concrete and asphalt are very noisy!!