Hyundai Sonata teased at KSL City Mall JB roadshow

Hyundai-Sonata-KSL-City-JB-0002

Hyundai-Sime Darby Motors has started teasing the seventh-generation Hyundai Sonata, which should indicate a launch sometime soon. This white Sonata is on display at the Hyundai roadshow taking place this weekend at KSL City Mall in Johor Bahru.

The Sonata is still covered up, with only parts of the grille, front bumper, alloy wheels and headlamp exposed. The headlamps are projector-units, and the 14-spoke alloy wheels look like they’re 17-inchers. The front bumper features daytime running lights, without foglamps. Compared to the design with foglamps, the new design makes the front end look slightly wider.

Of course, with no badging at the rear exposed, we can’t tell which LF variant this is. In worldwide markets, the Sonata is available with various different engine and gearbox combos.

Hyundai-Sonata-KSL-City-JB-0001

So far, there’s a 185 hp and 241 Nm 2.4 litre GDI, a 245 hp and 352 Nm 2.0 litre GDI Turbo, a 165 hp and 201 Nm 2.0 litre GDI and a 177 hp and 265 Nm 1.6 litre GDI Turbo. All engines are mated to a six-speed automatic transmission, except the 1.6 litre GDI Turbo (used in the US market Sonata Eco), which uses a seven-speed, dual-clutch gearbox.

Of course, Hyundai will also produce a new Sonata Hybrid for this generation. It will use the recently-announced new six-speed automatic transmission for hybrid electric vehicles, which integrates the electric motor into the construction.

We’re also expecting normally-aspirated 2.0 and 2.4 litre non-GDI engine options for poor fuel quality markets. Will we get the non-GDI engines like the outgoing Sonata, or will we get the GDI engines like the 2.0 litre unit found under the hood of the Hyundai i40 Sedan and Tourer being sold in Malaysia?

Hyundai-Sonata-KSL-City-JB-0004

The new Sonata is slightly larger than the outgoing YF Sonata – it’s 35 mm longer and 30 mm wider, and its wheelbase length is up by 10 mm (from 2,795 mm to 2,805 mm now), translating into increased interior space. There’s an option for up to seven airbags and lots of active safety equipment such as Forward Collision Warning, Blind Spot Detection, Rear Cross Traffic Alert and a Lane Departure Warning System.

We’ll bring more news on the car’s launch to you as we get them. Thanks to reader Lynn for the pix!

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• sudonano (Member) on Nov 07, 2014 at 12:22 pm

Interesting that Hyundai is not having either the i40 or the i45 Sonata, and instead is having both models. This is quite unique considering markets like Australia dropped the i45 Sonata when the i40 came in, and the US market never got the i40.

I just hope they bring in the 2.0 GDI and 2.0 GDI Turbo. Now that Hyundai has solved the issue that stopped the original 2.0 GDI coming in (mainly a tuning issue to make it compatible to our fuel), I have hope for the 2.0 GDI Turbo. 245 bhp, 352Nm, that is like BMW 528i/328i or Mercedes Benz E250/C250 numbers! Plus, both of these don’t come with the DCT, so it should prove to be pretty reliable too…

Another nail into the Camry’s coffin? Or wait, does the Camry even move in Malaysia?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 4
    • 4G63T DSM on Nov 07, 2014 at 12:37 pm

The 2.0 GDI turbo would be good. But I doubt that though. I once sampled the 2.0 GDI in the Coupe a while back but it wasnt as refined as I expected. But its a good few years so I assume some refinements were made.

They should simplyfy the i45 range and just put in the 2.0 GDI Turbo.

Whats more important is to see if Sime Darby is going to cheap out on airbags again.

• sudonano (Member) on Nov 07, 2014 at 1:20 pm

I’m having hope the 2.0 GDI-T will come in. I tried the 2.0GDI in the i40 wagon, engine and transmission needs a bit more work. The engine has a bit of a rough note to it, not very creamy, though they may have been able to solve that…

If Sime does do that, they deserve a hockey stick.

• Chili Cabbage on Nov 07, 2014 at 12:41 pm

New Sonata, for sure it is Sam Loo’s dream car! :D

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
  • kl fella on Nov 07, 2014 at 12:31 pm

the dashboard looks exactly like bmw 3 series..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
    • thgh (Member) on Nov 07, 2014 at 12:54 pm

which part? can show me a side to side comparison? I can’t see it.

• kl fella on Nov 07, 2014 at 3:04 pm

http://s1.paultan.org/image/2013/12/The-red-line-850×566.jpg

check this image out..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
    • Irwan on Nov 07, 2014 at 2:08 pm

You looks exactly like Sam Loo too

• kl fella on Nov 07, 2014 at 3:11 pm

well i’m not bashing the car nor its design, and why would you compare me with Sam loooo lol

• Whaat?! It looks nothing like it! ._.

• kl fella on Nov 07, 2014 at 3:00 pm

look closely at the centre console.. and the layout of buttons and also the lines of the passenger side dashboard

• roxas on Nov 08, 2014 at 12:23 am

the one tat looks like bMW dahsboard is the mazda 3, 6, cx5

• Pororo on Nov 07, 2014 at 12:38 pm

I saw this new gen Sonata when I’m in Korea, what I can say, currently, it is starting to use as taxi in SK, to replace the old NF Sonata which is currently use as Exec taxi in Malaysia.. this car look nice, even though the side looks like it predecessor, but the design also much simpler and not busy like it predecessor and the interior more simple and neat … Overall, for me it much more nice laa compare to it’s predecessor, the YF and this car is too good to be a taxi there… haha…

• thgh (Member) on Nov 07, 2014 at 12:54 pm

Haters/ t&h salesman incoming in 3….2….1….

• rifle on Nov 07, 2014 at 12:57 pm

LIKE (y)

• carlover on Nov 07, 2014 at 1:25 pm

hyundai has done alot improvement in term of styling, technology n assembly fitment/finishing quality throughout all their models for the past 5 years .their sales number has also improved alot, abt 6 millions a year globally.the genesis and equus -their flagship model has been received well by north america market.do keep bringing in latest model to our shore.good for consumers ,alot of choices (besides japanese makers.)

• kenot on Nov 07, 2014 at 1:29 pm

last time I read at their ads, Hyundai automatic gear box for sonata is maintenance free. very impressive.

• Matrix on Nov 07, 2014 at 2:58 pm

korean junk!
    This D-segment car loses to my city or inspira.

Sure will break down within 1 month. then send back to SC for few months repair. then no spare parts.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 28
    • Matrix is a joker on Nov 07, 2014 at 5:27 pm

your brain is retarded. Car that send to SC for few months and frequently breakdown is VW.

• kenny on Nov 07, 2014 at 5:29 pm

Your brain need to be send to SC and most probably for few months to repairs and no spare parts for your brain.

• retarded matrix on Nov 07, 2014 at 5:40 pm

get a live please

• xiper (Member) on Nov 07, 2014 at 11:56 pm

work harder to get a D-segment car

• This car is not that expensive dear. Nine years installments some more.

• Low Budget on Nov 08, 2014 at 8:47 pm

Been sodomized by the Korean? Many talk ‘kock’ about the reliability of Korean cars in this forum, but none as ridiculous as you.

• Ken Wong on Nov 07, 2014 at 3:01 pm

The colour is nice. The front also looks good. It is spoilt by the tail lamps. Not good looking at all.

• Amirzaheen on Nov 07, 2014 at 3:02 pm

All I want to noe… If Android auto is available with this new Sonata… If so, then I’m sold…

• Kingsley Young on Nov 07, 2014 at 3:26 pm

The Sonata is better than the crap cars like Toyota Vios, Altis and Camry that UMW are selling to the public. Shame on UMW that the new Altis doesn’t have Vehicle Stability Control (VSC).

• kenny on Nov 07, 2014 at 5:45 pm

without those safety features, UMW sured have higher profit. and people just dun care, cars still selling good bcos it is Toyota, you choi?

• The interior and button layout look like current 5 series

• contender on Nov 07, 2014 at 4:22 pm

Hyundai cars are improving with each new model, but sadly Sime Darby Auto will screw you over with the pricing (though we do not know their pricing but from the past, pricing is a big letwdown) and the after sales service etc etc …. my advice do not buy when they first launched, only buy when they start offering RM10k discount

• xiper (Member) on Nov 07, 2014 at 11:58 pm

Sime Darby is following UMW footsteps but somehow it didn’t work that well…

• PaPaGo on Nov 07, 2014 at 5:12 pm

Wow, Blue Link for the Sonata. But oopss… we wont get it here in Malaysia. The local distributor is putting in Made in China system for the existing Sonata, Tuscon and the rest. real cheapskate. Can even buy the hardware cheaper from Flyaudio directly and download Nokia/Here for free from the playstore. Hey! we want real made in Korea hardware and navi system. not some aftermarket system we can buy cheaper.

• ipoh lad on Nov 08, 2014 at 9:36 am

I’ll go there to check it out later. I’ll post some photo for you fans (Paul Tan doesn’t pay me by the way). I’ve seen this bad boy in New York recently it’s a very impressive machine indeed.

• Kingsley Young on Nov 08, 2014 at 11:36 am

Ipoh Lad, it could be impressive when they use South Korean parts and materials but if what PaPaGo said is correct, then it would not be impressive if the local distributor here in Malaysia uses parts and materials from China.

• bolehland on Nov 08, 2014 at 11:59 am

most likely near to new peugeot 308 design..

• Alvin on Nov 08, 2014 at 10:18 pm

i talked to the salesman just now , no GDI engine , no turbo engine, only one model available which is the one with Nu engine like in Tucson.. what a letdownn..

• Kingsley on Nov 10, 2014 at 5:04 pm

I also talked to a Hyundai salesman and he can’t confirm what safety features the 2015 model that our Malaysian distributor will make available in the car. He said the price will be higher at probably RM159K, which is significantly higher than the 2014 Executive Plus model that is being discounted by RM20K currently so you can have it for RM130K OTR.

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Nov 16, 2014 at 4:58 pm

Ha Ha, the trade in value of the YF is now below RM50K for a 15 month old model.

Once the new model comes in, it will be RM30k max