VIDEO: Funny Fiat 500X ad makes a joke of brand’s own “Fix It Again, Tony” stigma and the Honda Civic

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=a2R1y3NRkBE

Fiat has long carried the “Fix It Again, Tony” stigma (FIAT, get it?) in the US of A. As an owner of a modern-day Fiat myself, I can safely say that the brand’s old reputation of being unreliable may not necessarily ring true anymore (though parts are hard to come by, for sure), but it’s mighty hard to overcome long-imprinted doubts. Just ask Proton.

Amusingly, the Italian carmaker has now poked fun at the infamous acronym as well as the Honda Civic in one outright hilarious video ad for the new Fiat 500X mini SUV. As far as ads go, this one’s a winner.

In the spot, a Civic owner sends in his car to “Tony’s Fix It Shop” for a simple repair job, but gets his entire car replaced by a 500X instead – but not before a pair of Italian mechanics are seen horrified by his choice of car. “No, this is embarrassing, eh? No safety! No technology! No style! Where is the sexy?” they ask.

“We fixed the sedan,” the ad claims at the end. Well, with many sedan owners planning to change to B-segment crossovers such as the upcoming Honda HR-V and Mazda CX-3, this concept could soon be true for the Malaysian market too, though perhaps without the Fiat bit, eh?

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• My wife is about to trade up from a Nissan Latio Sport to a Subaru XV. I believe you Hafriz, Malaysians are getting onto the crossover band-wagon (pun intended).

• karam singh on Nov 25, 2014 at 9:11 pm

Go for Subaru XV bro..
      this fiat 500X worst safety for passenger …

• Same L0rrr on Nov 26, 2014 at 4:09 pm

Nice ads. lol

Now look at the “better” ads: http://youtu.be/ln8YCypS4jc

Now you know why Proton is begging RM1.6bil.

• Aerodynamic bro on Nov 25, 2014 at 3:47 pm

You may right Hafriz but I still have a problem here, “No leather”…..but real man use Alcantara and water rpoof seat.

• Abarth on Nov 25, 2014 at 5:01 pm

What Fiat do u own Hafriz? I’m planning to get a recond 500. Quite rare in Malaysia.

• karam singh on Nov 25, 2014 at 8:53 pm

Search everywhere in the internet under consumer report,
      Fiat 500 has bad reputation on reliability
      Civic own top safety rating

in Fiat , u drive in style but tons of headache…
      try find it yourself if u dont trust me ;D
      peace

• Has Proton fixed the CVT? If not, Fix It Again!

• I really love ads like this these days, so blunt, funny and straightforward. Previously prevalent in IT businesses, now moved to automotive pulak. Looking forward for more, can refer to Coke vs Pepsi ads as classic examples.

• Leonardo on Nov 25, 2014 at 5:43 pm

Nice and humorous ad!
    Yeah, I am already driving an SUV, due to flashfloods, pot holes, road bumps, high kerbs, etc.

• I’m driving a Fiat now and never have any problems. I love this X and it must have other auto companies worried as their paid posters hit the articles bashing Fiat. This X is a true guy car, love that color. Man Cave !!