Toyota Alphard, Vellfire leaked – debut in January?

2015-toyota-vellfire-alphard

We saw first photos of the next generation Toyota Alphard last Friday. Today we can show you how its sportier sibling the Toyota Vellfire will look like.

The Toyota Vellfire made its debut with the second generation Toyota Alphard. It is essentially the same car but with different styling. The Alphard has a more grand look, while the Vellfire is sportier.

The next generation looks like it follows the same formula, with the Vellfire differentiated by its trademark vertically-split headlamps and clear tail lamps. They even have their own badges.

2015-toyota-vellfire-alphard-interior

We previously showed you how the new interior looks like in beige trim. Today we can show you how it looks like in black. It’s likely that both the Alphard and Vellfire will be available in either beige or black just like the current model where neither colour is exclusive to each nameplate.

The Alphard and Vellfire duo should continue to be offered with either a four-cylinder engine mated to a CVT, or a 3.5 litre V6 paired with a six-speed automatic. Like the new Camry, the 2.4 litre from the outgoing model will be replaced by a new 2.5 litre engine. There will also be a hybrid variant powered by a Toyota Hybrid Synergy Drive system based on a 2.5 litre Atkinson cycle engine.

Reports have also shared that the new MPVs will be 60 mm longer and 20 mm wider than the current one, while height will be lower by 10 mm. Finally, word is that wheelbase will be up 50 mm to 3,000 mm.

Thanks to reader Fairul for the tip!

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Dec 21, 2014 at 9:28 pm

alphard grillle is a little too extreme…..but you can no longer say toyota are boring (except 70% of the junk umw sam loo sells)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 75 Thumb down 63
    • Toyotas are no longer boring, they are getting more and more eye wateringly ugly, which is no better.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 45
      • Maserati(Official) on Dec 22, 2014 at 3:38 pm

This car is so affordable. I am going to buy it when it is launched soon.

I hope the Government maintain our car prices and fuel prices and not reduce it. I have had enough of people in Malaysia, especially PKR complaining about high car prices and high petrol prices.

I say to you all. If you cannot afford car prices and fuel prices in Malaysia, it means you are lazy and have not worked hard enough. If you work hard, you can easily afford a RM150k car like myself. I work hard and not lazy like the complainers here.

Work hard and you too can afford an Alphard.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 70
        • rider on Dec 22, 2014 at 4:00 pm

u worked hard to buy a alphard? y?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
          • Hah, if i have to work hard to drive an Alphard then i would rather stop working and take the public transport the rest of my life than to be seen in an ugly obnoxious piece of SHETbox like that.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
          • Semi-Value (Member) on Dec 22, 2014 at 8:29 pm

only stupid people work hard. be like me, crony, and i sit in maybach. alphard for my maid.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 9
        • Maserati(Official) fanclub on Dec 22, 2014 at 10:20 pm

you my friend, must have negative IQ.

you work so hard, not spending time with your family, work day and night only to be able to afford this large, modern mpv to ferry your family around.
          when it’s not really super expensive without all those taxes and duties and protection money.

they are depriving other malaysian from safe, modern cars so that some special selected fews are protected and rich.

your big big boss got called you bangang no? now screencapture your post and go claim your salary from your war room.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 11
    • Hmm Innova you are not alone :’D they are your new born babies even thought they are a little bit expensive but ugly lolx

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 43
    • Rr0l Emas on Dec 22, 2014 at 12:33 pm

Juz say to it is ugly lah…talk about extreme for what?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 36
  • Sam Loo (ori1) on Dec 21, 2014 at 9:31 pm

As long as its not a kimchi, it will have RV

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 125 Thumb down 73
    • policeman on Dec 21, 2014 at 11:57 pm

Oh really? How about Saab, Mahindra, Chery, Alfa Romeo? Huh? Wise guy?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 54
    • Urzu3 on Dec 22, 2014 at 1:00 am

please sell a kimchi to me.. just one only
      kia sportage 2011.. RM30,000 cash.. no RV right?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 46
    • Same L0rrrr on Dec 22, 2014 at 1:52 am

As long as it is not Proton, it will have build quality.

Want both RV and build quality? Sushi cars still your best choice.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 53
      • kl fella on Dec 22, 2014 at 10:06 am

do you have a used 2014 hyundai santa fe? i can take it off your kimchi used car lot for RM100k. serious buyer

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 11
        • Same L0rrrr on Dec 22, 2014 at 1:52 pm

Sold one RM85 last week. The car was in parking lot for soooo long since March, hardly anyone interested.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
          • shame loo on Dec 22, 2014 at 3:55 pm

tell us lah where is your shop, or what your shop name on lelong and mudah? i want to buy 1 Hyundai i40 wagon, 1 Hyundai Santa Fe (new gen), 1 Kia Cerato K3, and don’t forget to give me free 1 Mazda 3… I mau angkat 3 lorhhh… serious buyer.. apa kata org Korea, jjinjayo!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 9
    • Rr0l Emas on Dec 22, 2014 at 12:38 pm

Kimchi have better RV than Alphard because those own Alphard sure dead in accident.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 12
  • akbarS on Dec 21, 2014 at 9:31 pm

Actually it is either 2.5L or 3.5L, with hybrid option as well. More information can be seen here:
    minkara.carview.co.jp/smart/userid/888515/car/792670/4122568/photo.aspx

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 8
  • W140 Driver on Dec 21, 2014 at 9:32 pm

So ugly! especially the grill and the centre console. The only thing looks good to me is the door trim. For me the best design was the 1st gen, 2002-2007 model. Looks very glamorous and grand….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 64
  • spongewai on Dec 21, 2014 at 9:42 pm

I hate Toyota design now…

seriously

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 63 Thumb down 71
    • Spongebob on Dec 21, 2014 at 9:52 pm

Nobody cares what you think!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 72 Thumb down 66
      • Rr0l Emas on Dec 22, 2014 at 12:44 pm

Youngsters don’t care about Toyota, they more prefer BMW, AUDI, MERCEDES BENZ, HONDA, HYUNDAI

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
  • veilfire looks fine….

alphard…. get rid of that grill please

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 2
  • Xerox on Dec 21, 2014 at 10:01 pm

Feels like driving optimus prime.. boo yah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 13
  • carfan on Dec 21, 2014 at 10:12 pm

This 3rd generation is ugly– so disappointing (esp seeing the lexus nx100 design). The front looks so unbalance/ crude- more like copycat cars and the side curve lines unnecessary. Maybe Toyota don’t know how to improve on the 2nd gen design. But as a Toyota I know it will be more efficient, quieter, more equipment etc. ( I owned a first gen 3.0 and a Harrier)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 17
  • I am Dato on Dec 21, 2014 at 11:32 pm

Same old shit from Toyota. Boring products. As usual, they only change the body and that is what a new model is all about. Engine and gearbox are all out dated goods. Both their 2.4 and 2.5 litre engines are antiques which deserves to be displayed in a museum.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 20
    • kington on Dec 22, 2014 at 9:53 am

What about the engine in the Polo Sedan?

More and more manufacturers are doing this, chassis and engine change are no longer done at one go when a new models is launched.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 10
  • policeman on Dec 21, 2014 at 11:59 pm

Dangerous vehicle. Can’t find any crash tests or ratings. This car killed Karpal!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 22
  • i dont give a shit abt toyota

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 19
  • seancorr (Member) on Dec 22, 2014 at 12:22 am

Alphard design out….trying too hard to be Optimus Prime but the Vellfire looks good. I also like the one piece side window.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 18
    • ganni on Dec 23, 2014 at 9:58 am

they are trying so hard with the alphard design..anyway, i rather see it in flesh then only judge.

• BMW E36 325I Coupe on Dec 22, 2014 at 1:05 am

The front reminds me of James Bond’s villain Claw. Anyway hey they copied Perodua (well actually it was the previous generation C-class). Two different faces, standard Axia and Axia SE; different face, bunpers and smoked tail lamps. Toyota why not make a Vellfire Extreme?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 13
  • People with money & power don’t mind forking out RM 300k+ because they know they can afford it no matter what. Too bad I am not in that league!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 3
  • bvc100 on Dec 22, 2014 at 8:02 am

And the champion for the bread lookalike competition is…
    this.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 13
  • azrai on Dec 22, 2014 at 8:50 am

Thanks to weaker ringit I’m sure the price will be exorbitant.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
    • old dog on Dec 23, 2014 at 10:11 pm

weaker ringgit with USD only, Yen is VERY low vs Ringgit if you check, or you are working in UMW to try to justify high price?

• ss427 on Dec 22, 2014 at 9:02 am

Seriously what the hell was those JDM Toyota designers thinking when they designed this Alphard? Prob they have watched too much Japs porn before submitting the design…
    Sigh… the Japs really lost the styling plot big time . Just look at what the Koreans can do to their MPV… See how nice the Kia Sedona is?

The Alphard looks downright hideous

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 17
    • Sam Loo (ori1) on Dec 22, 2014 at 9:29 am

Kia Sedona = Kia Carnival = Naza Ria

You can get a 2010 Ria for RM2k nowadays

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 4
      • ss427 on Dec 22, 2014 at 1:42 pm

Well Sam, I feel so sorry for you holding yourself up in your Toyota showroom everyday waiting for some customers who hardly knows cars but somehow have tons of cash to splurge on.

Please try to see out from your wide showroom windows and see what the Koreans can offer thse days…

http://www.kia.com/worldwide/vehicles/carnival/

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 8
      • Sam Loo (ori1) on Dec 22, 2014 at 2:54 pm

Koreans offer cars with low RV. Period

• Ham Sap on Dec 25, 2014 at 12:28 am

Really sam? the one parked under tree also not sell below 2k..

• Cheung on Dec 22, 2014 at 9:32 am

This car shape is not that interesting and not that safe because of its height, Innova and Avanza as well.
    Would prefer the new Estima or Wish.

• AhFatt is Coffin Car on Dec 22, 2014 at 10:32 am

This car represents how UGLY represent in pictorial.

• jaki original on Dec 22, 2014 at 10:40 am

I smell Waffle Face…anyone???

• Usha - Usha on Dec 22, 2014 at 10:45 am

I prefer Nissan Elgrand than this ‘aquarium’..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
  • albag on Dec 22, 2014 at 11:26 am

whether u guys love it or hate it or don’t even give a shit… this van will again dominate the roads all over the country… majority of people will still buy it and drive it with pride!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
    • Rr0l Emas on Dec 22, 2014 at 12:48 pm

People own this shit sure going to kill himself. You better go to stop them

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 9
    • Sam Loo (ori1) on Dec 22, 2014 at 12:59 pm

Sorhais that gets the Ria/Carnival will be proud of it for 30 seconds after driving it from the showroom.

The remorse and hailat feeling comes in within 1 minute

• Nothing about an Alphard should ever be called ‘sporty’. its a box on wheels. Please do not ever mention words like ‘sporty’ ‘performance’ in relation with an Alphard.

We already have too many psychos on the road who think just because it has a 2.4/3.5 engine they can bully others out of the way……

….well right up until the road changes from arrow straight to to a hint of a curve ..then you see a barely in control box in your mirror trying to to pass you after you have given way and failing because the road is now is anything but arrow straight and u see a frustrated figure behind the wheel….im sure many of u guys have seen this sight ..lol

Moral of the story, it’s a designed to move people in comfort..thats all it’s designed to do..

• Jimmy on Dec 22, 2014 at 4:56 pm

Exterior, Vellfire is the winner, sideview like an angry lion running ahear.
    Interior: cream colour is more cantiq.

I wished the Europeans will learn something from this Alphard and build proper luxurious people movers. Mercedes Vito Malaysia seems to be more interested in commercial customers rather than private buyers (the R-class is just the kawan of Q7, not interested in interior space). Hope things will improve with the new V-class.

• das auto on Dec 24, 2014 at 5:28 pm

Whats the point of building one when no Europeans will buy such an ugly looking box with handling like sampan? Only malaysians syok sendiri in this premium hiace coffin box

• zamri on Dec 22, 2014 at 5:04 pm

I Want to buy new Honda Oddysey….try you compare between Alphard/Vellfire. If spec can challenge the Oddysey..I change my mind.

• ganni on Dec 23, 2014 at 10:10 am

your dilemma was same with me last time…oddysey is a driver car(i really like honda oddysey)..i think in term of ride and handling it is better than alphard/vellfire…but if we compare in term of space and comfort..alphard/vellfire is better(it is just my personal preference)..so in the end i chose vellfire because my wife and kids prefer a bigger space and they likes the 2nd row seat arrangment in the vellfire. for me..if u own alphard/vellfire, u couldn’t fully enjoy if u drive it but when u are a passenger, there is a different story.

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Dec 23, 2014 at 9:54 pm

Odyssey size compare with Estima/Previa/Tarago

Alphard size compare with Elysion

• lavugs on Dec 22, 2014 at 6:10 pm

Toyotas design is getting out of tune nowadays. I like koreans mpv but the thing is, the name is what i really really don’t like.
    KIA – killed in action

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Dec 23, 2014 at 10:36 am

Get a Starex (2012) unit for around RM25k only

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
      • dugongx on Dec 23, 2014 at 12:20 pm

Better still. Get a 1 year old camry 2.5 at 90k only. Don’t believe check mudah

• Semi-Value (Member) on Dec 24, 2014 at 1:24 am

i get perodua rusa for rm 3k only….also carry the same amount of people

• darkermarker on Dec 22, 2014 at 7:28 pm

looks like a loaf of bread to me…..

• kelvin on Dec 22, 2014 at 10:11 pm

If I’m Toyota CEO the first I gonna do is to fire all these crappy toyota designers.

• Sam Looser on Dec 23, 2014 at 12:08 am

Ppl that drive Alphards are just so so middle class but act snobbish like multi millionaire tycoons. Mostly 99% on the road are recond units going for 120k-180k. That is just the price of an accord or optima. Can’t even buy entry level A class or 316i. Ptuiii!!

• takaco on Dec 23, 2014 at 12:58 am

Well! Man has six pack, this Alphard has wow! amazing packs :)

• sukursemak on Dec 23, 2014 at 10:52 am

nissan elgrand look nice than alphard

• old dog on Dec 23, 2014 at 10:08 pm

from Ah Za to many other AP holders, still a lot of old stock in their yard of many Alphard models…

5 years old car like 2009 still selling…

UMW purposely support cronies for these Alphards and Estimas..

• JasmanLim on Dec 28, 2014 at 12:18 am

Price are crazy as sky high as compared with neighbour countries..

• Peter on Dec 29, 2014 at 12:53 am

I used to own a Vellfire 2.4, gave worse consumption figures than my Cayenne Turbo. These vans look nice and have ample power, but be aware they can be very dangerous, as it does not have a monocoque construction, essentially a tin can stuck on a chassis. Toyota is making a ton of money selling a cheaply constructed van with luxury trim to camouflage the poorly constructed van. Remember our dear friend Karpal Singh?