BMW ConnectedDrive now offers in-car store platform

ConnectedDrive_June_2013

BMW has now become the first auto manufacturer to offer an in-car store via the BMW ConnectedDrive system – under the iDrive platform. North American customers will be able to purchase a plethora of apps and services such as the Concierge service.

True to its namesake, the app is capable of locating various points of interest such as restaurants, theatres or a hotel via a live representative. Upon confirmation of said location, the service will then provide the fastest possible route to the car’s navigation system for the driver to follow.

Another noteworthy feature under the Concierge app is the ability for the system to provide an emergency call on behalf of the driver should he/she lack the access to a phone. The system utilises an on-board SIM card to contact a live representative who will then notify the authorities.

An additional service is also available in the guise of BMW’s Navigation Maps Updates. Where it differs from other systems is the ability to update its database in real time, offering the most comprehensive overview of the surrounding vicinity.

Upon logging on to the ConnectedDrive in-car store, owners will be presented with the available apps and services. Once chosen and purchased, the app can be utilised within mere minutes. Owners can also check the prices for respective app updates as well as running periods for booked services.

Gregory Sze

An “actor” by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• seancorr (Member) on Dec 29, 2014 at 7:07 pm

Puiii I can’t even get to use/launch basic stuff in my car like BMW Live here in Bolehland and there they go talk about even more advanced stuff.

How about getting your stuff to work in all countries first eh BMW?

• sudonano (Member) on Dec 30, 2014 at 6:21 am

Cool story.

Mine is equipped with the internet feature and yet I still can’t access the web through my iDrive via my iOS device. According to the dealer aka circus they claim my iOS device is too new (which is rubbish since the iPhone model they claim works runs the exact same software as the one I have… And the thing is regardless of device model if the device has the same iOS software version it handles the networking the same way!)

And the navigation, well mine was delivered with maps from the previous year, of which did not have new roads introduced even 2 years from the date of release of those maps. Which was why I didn’t bother updating it for 350MYR. Waze, my Garmin satnav and even Apple Maps (yep, Apple Maps) actually runs better! Though at least BMW’s maps were somewhat decent in Singapore…

• Kiasu on Dec 30, 2014 at 11:58 am

BMW map is decent in Singapore?
        Is a bloody small island lah bro… how to get lost in there? You need GPS kah in Singapore?
        Wait… your are trying to be sarcastic are you? ahhh.

• Tristars on Dec 29, 2014 at 7:28 pm

Hahaha..At least we can gate at least weather forecast for asia setting or much more with europe setting such as street view & so on…:)