SPYSHOTS: Mercedes-Benz E 300 Bluetec Hybrid with AMG Sport kit – multiple units seen on trailers

mercedes-benz-e300-bluetec-hybrid-malaysia-trailer-0004

It looks like Mercedes-Benz Malaysia is preparing to launch its second locally assembled hybrid car in Malaysia – the E 300 Bluetec Hybrid. We saw these two trailers carrying multiple units of the E 300 Bluetec Hybrid on the Guthrie Corridor Expressway, KL-bound.

The E 300 Bluetec Hybrid made waves in the news recently by successfully completing a 1,968 km journey from Africa to the UK with a balance of 160 km to go according to the trip computer, giving it a theoretical range of about 2,129 km per tank of diesel.

Yes, diesel – it combines a 204 hp and 500 Nm 2.1 litre turbodiesel engine with a 27 hp electric motor sandwiched between the engine and the automatic gearbox in place of the torque converter. The big exec is no slouch, doing the 100 km/h sprint in 7.5 seconds, yet consumes just 4.3 litres per 100 km.

The new car will not only be the first diesel hybrid sold in Malaysia, it will also be the first locally assembled diesel hybrid sold here. And we’re not just saying that because it would make sense for Mercedes-Benz to CKD it after the CKD S400 Hybrid’s runaway success – DRB-Hicom’s 2014 Annual Report actually mentioned local assembly of the car would start in November 2014.

All of the cars on the trailer are wearing the exact same exterior kit as the E 400 which current tops the E-Class range in Malaysia. This means an AMG Sport exterior with 18 inch AMG Sport alloy wheels. The E 200 and E 250 have the Avantgarde exterior instead of the AMG Sport.

Now the question is – how much? CKD hybrid cars currently have excise duty and import duty exemption (but not sales tax exemption) up to the end of 2015. Tax-free (Langkawi) prices for the E-Class range currently start from RM266k for the E 200 up to RM332k for the E 400. Could the E 300 Bluetec Hybrid be priced around the E 400’s tax-free price with an additional 10% to account for sales tax?

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Jan 10, 2015 at 3:09 pm

thats my car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 14
    • olile on Jan 10, 2015 at 8:25 pm

Ya ya ya in your wet dream!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 24
    • Sam Loo (used kimchi) on Jan 11, 2015 at 1:05 am

Your car kwai tai and got no class. Get a real car. Get a Camry

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 20
      • No more Value on Jan 11, 2015 at 1:26 pm

Please keep your camry in your yard.

• OMG!!!!!!
          CAMRY? A REAL CAR???????

Hahahhahahahahahhahahaha
          hahahhhahahahahahahahahaha
          hahahahahahahahahahahahahaha
          hahahahahahahahahahahahah

• Boleh! on Jan 11, 2015 at 11:24 pm

So in your mind, what do you think Camry is? A bicycle? or a plane?

• less tax means fatter margin for MB.
    kenot expect too much

• aaron on Jan 10, 2015 at 10:46 pm

E400 in Langkawi costs RM332K (excise and import duty exempted), whilst the same E400 in United States costs 62,350USD (RM223K), and that’s the price after being taxed from the US government and healthy profit for the dealer. Can anyone explain to me this works? Why a same car in Malaysia with no excise and import duty still cost so much higher than the exact same car in US? Don’t tell me the sales duty itself costed more than RM100K?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
      • Hague on Jan 10, 2015 at 11:39 pm

The europeans and the Japanese generally rape south east Asia to subsidize the first world country low margins

• Anti-Establishment (Member) on Jan 11, 2015 at 12:03 am

Because Malaysians keep blaming the taxes – car companies can get away with it.

Why you think UMW give out 3 months bonus & have sales exec that can make 5 figures a month in commissions?

• brazbuz on Jan 10, 2015 at 3:17 pm

Between E200 and E250 perhaps?

• Good move by Mercedes-Benz Malaysia!
    Our country needs greener and higher technological vehicles for the benefits of the community as well as to progress in the industry…

• jibby on Jan 10, 2015 at 3:38 pm

I waiting TNB reduce tariff …then only can afford to buy the 3 year old recon model.

Why TNB taking so long to reduce tariff … petrol price down below US $50

What CSR is TNB showing to others ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 18
    • Anti-Establishment (Member) on Jan 11, 2015 at 12:04 am

Electricity generation use Petrol meh?

• kzm (Member) on Jan 11, 2015 at 3:17 am

if not mistaken 50% electricity produce in boleh is from natural gas n 20% coal..around 10% hydro

• Hahaha, cannot afford to pay for electricity but want to drive a merc?

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Jan 10, 2015 at 4:01 pm

As long as its not a kimchi, it will have RV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 11
    • As long as its Sam Loo, my shit would have more brains than him.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 23
  • C.P.MOHAN on Jan 10, 2015 at 4:39 pm

Majority of our power station uses coal and gas hence asking TNB to reduce tariff is irrelevant.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 11
    • susukotak on Jan 10, 2015 at 5:22 pm

Then why they increase the tariff when fuel pricr went up?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 3
      • Ripcord on Jan 10, 2015 at 8:20 pm

Since when TNB increase tariff only when fuel up? Care to detail out your study?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 10
        • Hondaman on Jan 10, 2015 at 11:01 pm

Coal price has gone down 47% since 2010…. Should bo no xcuse to lower down the tariff

• coal is only a small percent of electric generation power source. Most power plant in Malaysia use natural gas. Natural gas unlike crude oil are not marketed, they need to be sold to a permanent buyer via gas sales agreement (GSA). This means price have to be agreed first before sale happen unlike crude which depends on market price. Crude oil price do play some small part in determining GSA but mostly it is based on negotiations and local gov dictating the terms. Once the price is set in the GSA, that is the selling price unless both parties want to renew the GSA.

• sudonano (Member) on Jan 10, 2015 at 5:28 pm

Brace yourselves, the final chance to buy a luxury hybrid tax free is about to happen… Lines are gonna form in front of MBM’s dealers soon.

• Marcus on Jan 10, 2015 at 8:56 pm

Heard they are CBUs, priced at 349k. Is it a good buy?
      Pros: CBU, cheaper than E200, high specs. Cons: diesel, outgoing model.

• seancorr (Member) on Jan 10, 2015 at 10:47 pm

It ain’t CBU, its CKD here in Bolehland hence the no tax price. Good to own for the life of its 4 year warranty then you’d have to think to keep it or not. Luxury hybrids with no tax didn’t do so well in the after market and its battery pack ain’t cheap to replace either. The S400’s battery pack costs around RM40k (yeah someone claimed warranty before so the staff at the dealership got to know the price to replace one) so I think the price ain’t too far from there.

For the time being my money’s on diesel models for fuel savers and super low end torque power delivery. At least if worse case scenario my car ends up in a flood I do not have 2 headaches – engine and battery KO if I own a hybrid.

• sudonano (Member) on Jan 11, 2015 at 1:22 am

Yeah the main issue is, these Germans are not the most reliable some times.

I have heard of a case of an S400 stuck in the dealer for hybrid system problems. Even the A6 hybrid that people went crazy for, is knows for some hybrid system issues especially in the cooling of the battery…

As far as hybrids go, I would trust Toyota and Honda more. But the rest, the Germans are generally fine.

• Marcus on Jan 11, 2015 at 10:15 am

150 units are CBU. Was told price difference with CKD will be minimal. Question is..is it a worthwhile buy at 349k?

• RicoT on Jan 10, 2015 at 11:05 pm

Lines had already formed since end of last year. It may be too late now.

• RicoT on Jan 10, 2015 at 5:39 pm

Diesel? Hope it can run reliably on Euro 2M diesel for at least 10 years. That is about when Malaysia is going to upgrade their fuel. I sense another round of postponement again.

• cendol (Member) on Jan 10, 2015 at 5:49 pm

Buy car take loan for 9 years – 5 years to pay off ACTUAL CAR loan price, remaining 4 years to pay off car TAX price.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 5
  • C.P.MOHAN on Jan 10, 2015 at 6:18 pm

Tariff is PRICE not operational COSTS. Tariff and some major cost is not within TNB’s control hence the need for tariff increase to sustain increasing costs to maintain and prevent future disruptions.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 9
    • Big and clumsy on Jan 10, 2015 at 8:30 pm

Obvious Mohan don’t know what TNB said when they increased tariff 3 times…. go check your facts Mohan

• I AM NUTELLA on Jan 10, 2015 at 6:53 pm

Hybrid from german? I thought they only need petrol and diesel

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 10
    • You’ve been living under a rock for quite some time now.

• No more Value on Jan 11, 2015 at 1:28 pm

People don’t know how to differentiate if it is a joke or not. Sigh….

• Jimmy on Jan 10, 2015 at 10:13 pm

Noisy.

• Maserati(Official) on Jan 11, 2015 at 12:12 am

for you ppl who are not in the loop for this news, the booking list has opened since 4th quarter last year, theres is no chance you can get your hands on this

i have booked one myself as im on of the vvip for MB Malaysia…

try spot me next time when im driving this around

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 35
    • dreaming of maserati on Jan 11, 2015 at 1:08 am

But i just saw you driving an old junk 2001 kenari wor

• Maserati Tahi on Jan 12, 2015 at 11:26 am

Kenari…Nah, more like Tiara but with Evolution sticker at the sides and a mercedes badges with ferrari sticker wheels and lastly, with a vtec type Roti Canai Supreme Kari Dal Power badge.

• Boleh! on Jan 11, 2015 at 2:07 pm

Weird, I’m the big big boss of MB Malaysia but I don’t remember giving any idiot a VVIP status…. Eh, you sure or not…?

• masakmati on Jan 12, 2015 at 10:24 am

I saw you at kenari, you are pakcik man, but why still so childish like sam?

• I think this current e-class will be replaced soon. Why not wait for the new one? Unless you want this hybrid model.

• cendol (Member) on Jan 11, 2015 at 9:14 am

But the E-class has just facelifted back in 2013.
      I think E-class will be replaced only in 2016

• RM299K range following Audi A6 Hybrid pricing strategy.
    Once news is out, long waiting list or sold out for sure at this price.
    Even better for JB folks as they get to enjoy Euro5.