McLaren P1 with bespoke gold parts seen in Malaysia

McLaren_P1_Malaysia_01

We’ve all seen quite a few custom-designed McLaren P1 hypercars spotted around the world – well, if you’re going to spend 866,000 pounds (RM4.7 million, before taxes) on a car, you might as well make it your own. But this one’s a little bit more special than the others. Why? Because it’s right here in Malaysia.

The bespoke white P1 you see here – photographed by AT903 Autography – has been modified by McLaren Special Operations (MSO) to feature a set of gold highlights. The wheels, badges and engine cover are all dressed as such, and better yet, the exhaust heat shield is made of genuine 24K gold – as it was in the original McLaren F1.

It’s also said that the owner had requested for a unique VIN and chassis number that’s separate from the limited-production P1’s standard run of 001 to 375. As far as special goes, this one sets a gold standard.

McLaren P1 displayed in Kuala Lumpur showroom

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• Belongs to Johor Royal Family

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
  • TT@TT on Feb 10, 2015 at 12:16 pm

own by Johor royalist

• It’s the sultan johor’s.

• p1 owner on Feb 10, 2015 at 12:28 pm

p1 iriz is better if you want to buy grocers and some stuff ..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 6
  • great car with the modifications. looks like a royal family car so i am guessing no taxes.

• dr.terror on Feb 10, 2015 at 12:32 pm

pause at 1:36, toyota camry with Johor plate number are about to escort the P1, then looks closely at P1, its a Sultan Johor Logo.

• start a fight on Feb 10, 2015 at 12:36 pm

yellow plate caught.. i think i know which state this going to…

• Sultan Johor?

• seancorr (Member) on Feb 10, 2015 at 12:53 pm

He loves his cars all right

• nabill (Member) on Feb 10, 2015 at 12:59 pm

love the fact the article doesnt mention any names thats is johor or sultan!
    im glad cars like those are here in our country , i just hope , whoever the owner is , drive it around more often rather than jus put inside the garage to marvel his collection !

• Ripcord on Feb 10, 2015 at 1:08 pm

I think I read somewhere in the news about this young Johor prince doing fund raising for the flood victims in the east coast by inviting the Singapore supercar clubs. Saw this car as news caption.

So it could be the royal family car, or belonged to the Singaporeans.

Oh well, this is how the rich do fund raising…

• This car belongs to the 2nd prince of Johor Sultan.

• the toyota camry escort can catch up or not? ^^

• panjang on Feb 10, 2015 at 1:27 pm

A Camry to escort the P1?
    Should have used his Veyron as escort.

Even in 2.5 guise,the Camry is well..u know what happen if the Sultan decides to abuse the P1’s throttle.
    The P1 ended up waiting for his escort to arrive mpst of the time…hahahah

• AVH (Member) on Feb 10, 2015 at 1:48 pm

AT903 has some amazing photos of uber-rare exotica shot right here in Malaysia, Sesto Elemento, Veneno and Lots of McLarens. I suggest those who really love great shots of awesome exotic cars do check it out.

• perghh..cool car

I wonder if MLM’ers can buy this

• Ah Beng Vios Turbo TRD godcar on Feb 10, 2015 at 4:27 pm

This car is merely as fast as my Twin Turbo Vios. Nothing much to shout about.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 12
  • Aniki on Feb 10, 2015 at 4:50 pm

i can cut it easily in kampung road with humps~

• heybadigol (Member) on Feb 10, 2015 at 8:26 pm

For a car bespoked by MSO, one would have asked for it to be in right hand drive. Unless, of course this car is meant more for use in Europe, and that it is only merely “visiting” Malaysia before it hops off somewhere else.

• Not Ready on Feb 11, 2015 at 12:07 am

No, McLaren and MSO will NOT build a RHD version of the P1. The P1 is strictly a LHD vehicle only. You can read articles online by british publications expressing their dismay that McLaren are not building any P1s in RHD.

So you wont see any singaporean buying a P1 and driving them around on the island since it’s illegal to registered a P1 in Singapore.

• symusty on Feb 11, 2015 at 12:27 pm

Wonder what other cars the Sultan is hiding from the public…..

Does he own a McLaren F1, for example?

• car cut on Feb 14, 2015 at 9:04 am

His Highness drove off with E-Mode…..maybe it last for few minutes before back to Race-Mode.