BMW 2 Series Gran Tourer – Munich’s first 7-seat MPV

F46_BMW_2_Series_Gran_Tourer019

Say guten tag to the F46 BMW 2 Series Gran Tourer, the German premium brand’s first seven-seat MPV. Yup, BMW has gone ahead and built a people carrier – and a front-wheel drive one at that too!

The new 2 GT is based on the F45 2 Series Active Tourer unveiled a whole year ago (and is coming to Malaysia this April), but it’s obviously larger than BMW’s Merc B-Class fighter. This one measures 4,556 mm long and 1,608 mm high, 214 mm and 53 mm more than the 2 AT respectively.

Wheelbase has grown by a significant 110 mm too, now at a lengthy 2,780 mm to be able to fit in a third row of seats. The extra two seats are optional, and are clearly meant for kids only. The big gain in space is best enjoyed from the middle row, which now offers the level of legroom “that is normally the preserve of luxury cars.”

Boot space, as you’d expect, is huge. A minimum of 645 litres of loading area is available in the standard five-seat variant, which can be expanded to 805 litres by sliding the rear seats forward. Fold them down (40:20:40 split) and you get 1,905 litres of space.

Optioning the third-row seating cuts boot space to 560 litres with the last row folded down flat to the floor, and 1,820 litres with the second row down too. In comparison, the shorter 2 AT offers only 468 litres with the seats up, and 1,510 litres with them down.

Interesting interior features include fold-out tables and iPad mounts for rear occupants. The latter can be hooked up to a new “myKIDIO” app (in Germany only for now) with which the driver or front passenger can control what’s being displayed on the tablet through the front iDrive Controller.

Funnily enough, though, we can’t seem to find any dedicated air-con vents for the rear passengers – a curious omission for a people carrier.

As with other BMW models, multiple exterior and interior dress-up packs are offered. On top of the bog standard version, there are four others to choose from: Advantage, Sport Line, Luxury Line and M Sport – each with its own unique touches inside and out.

The rest of the car – the front face, dashboard and mechanical options – is as per the F45 2 Series Active Tourer. Various turbocharged three- and four-cylinder petrol and diesel engines are offered, matched to either a six-speed manual ‘box or automatic transmissions (six-speed for three-cylinder engines, eight-speed for four-cylinder options).

The 220i Gran Tourer, for instance, uses a 2.0 litre four-cylinder BMW TwinPower Turbo unit with 192 hp, and can get to 100 km/h in 7.7 seconds. Fuel economy can be as low as 3.9 litres per 100 km (25.6 km/l) in the 216d Gran Tourer. A 216i, 218i, 218d and 220d variants are also available in international markets.

BMW claims, of course, that the 2 Series Gran Tourer offers the brand’s “typical driving dynamics.” Are you convinced that it does, though? Tell us below.

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• Banyak Masuk Workshop on Feb 11, 2015 at 11:34 am

What, 2 years warranty ??? try harder bmw. Your warranty sucks !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 6
  • I want to see the faces of people who actually told BMW to make an MPV for them.

Do they even exist?

This is a segment too far for BMW. And I thought the X6 and X4 were their worst ideas….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 13
  • sudonano (Member) on Feb 11, 2015 at 11:52 am

A BMW van

What has this world come to.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
    • As much as we all hated this idea, we have to admit that even BMW has to bow down to the market demands like when Porsche came up with the Cayenne and Panamera. Sad, I know.

But come to think of it, a BMW MPV/Van will give smiles to all the uncles who were once a young man that loves to drive.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
      • seancorr (Member) on Feb 11, 2015 at 12:57 pm

Haha yeah uncles who were driving BMW sedans when they were younger and their backs cannot withstand the stiff suspension can now look forward to this and best part is they can ferry their family too.

Looking at the pics…not too bad coming from a maker that has not have a MPV in their lineup before but like the writer pointed out..no aircond vents for the 3rd row especially here in Bolehland is a no-no. The materials used looks pretty good and they now can specify BMW logo to shine on the ground when the door opens instead of normal lights.

Its just a pity we still have a pathetic 2 year warranty here in Bolehland when other countries have at least 3.

• sudonano (Member) on Feb 11, 2015 at 1:12 pm

That is true.

I have not driven the 2AT before but I have sat in it at the BMW showrooms overseas and I can’t deny it is super spacious. Way more than the 3 series. But I don’t think it can ever do the tail inducing sideways action that the F30 promises.

Probably if priced right, could go after the Wish. I just hope they don’t do like a full on van ie the Mercedes Viano or whatever it is called.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Feb 11, 2015 at 11:55 pm

not sure bro….mpv sales are down actually….

• iqbal1987 on Feb 11, 2015 at 1:56 pm

great! later can trade in exora with this one. lol

• superbird #43 on Feb 11, 2015 at 2:08 pm

bmw wants to be jack of all trades….

• Sam "Hailat" Loo on Feb 11, 2015 at 6:19 pm

Every car brands wanted to be jack of all trades… Bentley wanna intro SUV and stuff like that… It’s the competition and the profit that matters nowadays…

• superdriver on Feb 11, 2015 at 2:36 pm

It was in the early 90s that I first set my eyes on the BMW 3 series, Its sporty stance, muscular chasis and an awsome kidney grils that just made the car look super sharp and beautiful.I had no idea what we called it then but all i knew i just wanted one.

Fast forward 20 years later, the beemers when through numerous models and design. Each design is suppose to be modern, sleek and whatever words that the company found catchy with people. Honestly the car design has been extremely pussified to the extent that the car looks more like a modern overpriced ikea furniture. It lost its forte from a stunning muscle/tough and no bullshit attitude machine to a over priced pompous rich man/womens toy that just does that. A toy for the rich to flaunt.

This van is one of it. oh God….(sniff …cries silently) its kust gawdamn awefull.

• 7-seater size just like an Alza..

• Sam "Hailat" Loo on Feb 11, 2015 at 7:15 pm

Only time will tell which one will fare worse… Beemer’s lousy warranty, or Perodua’s lousy quality…

• Mpvian on Feb 11, 2015 at 9:07 pm

Somehow it reminds me too much of the Cross Touran.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Feb 11, 2015 at 9:25 pm

i think the chery maxine looks way better

• jolly_idiot (Member) on Feb 11, 2015 at 10:59 pm

Should i drive it hard?

I doubt i can.

• No more Value on Feb 11, 2015 at 11:08 pm

seems like BMW cant design car other than sedan

• blaster88 on Feb 12, 2015 at 2:44 pm

erm…target segment – soccer mums and aunties with permed hair wearings white coats the other way round to protect their arms from the sun…remember those???

• Keris Jawa on Feb 24, 2015 at 9:17 am

This is soooooooo wrong!

• lochoe on Mar 18, 2017 at 11:13 pm

Just bought one, who cares what beemer enthuanstic says, we just want to ride and bring our tools, bicycle, rack or whatever with a car, sedan is just waste of space, bmw mpv is fine tools, first conti car n enjoy it :)