Jensen is back with limited-run GT, Interceptor 2 next

Jensen-Badge

Jensen is back! The brand famous for the Interceptor returns with the first officially sanctioned model in 13 years, paving the way for a new Interceptor.

Marking the rebirth of the brand, the formation of the Jensen Group is the start of the next chapter in the brand’s story, following the collapse of the car manufacturer in 2002. The man responsible for the return of Jensen and the force behind defending the trademark for almost four years is Tim Hearley.

“This represents the next chapter of Jensen and, as we look to the future, we want Jensen enthusiasts to help us celebrate as we unveil a completely new car and outline our plans for the future,” said executive chairman Hearley.

From top: The original Jensen Interceptor from the 70s; clay model of the limited-edition Jensen GT

The Jensen Group is currently working on an Interceptor 2 for 2016, which may involve collaboration with an established automotive group. For now, the Jensen GT will fill the gap between the the Interceptor of 1976 and the Interceptor 2, which will take design cues from the classic grand tourer.

Despite several companies claiming to be the spiritual home of Jensen, the GT is said to be the first new car to legitimately bear a Jensen badge since the demise of the S-V8 in 2001. This “extremely limited edition” will be built under an agreement between the Jensen Group and Jensen International Automotive (JIA), known for their modified Interceptor R models. The GT will be available exclusively through JIA.

Aren’t those tail lamps from the Jaguar F-Type?

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• should’ve just stick to the original Interceptor design.

• “Shall we take the Interceptor tonight darling”

• Imagine you are chased down in a police hot pursuit. Then you hear on the police scanner, “INTERCEPTOR INBOUND!”. You know you are f#cked from that moment.

For me, i will be just distracted by the elegance of the car when it intercepts me, aaand i crash.

The end.

• Jeremy C. on Feb 26, 2015 at 5:55 pm

The shooting brake design should be reused or just stick on the old design with modern technology add in.

• If not because of Fast & Furious Movie, I will never know about this car.

• Ni zaman bila punya design…boleh jual ke

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 8
  • kadajawi (Member) on Feb 26, 2015 at 11:04 pm

Best name for a car, ever.

• Nenek Kau on Feb 27, 2015 at 2:01 pm

Aiseh man, dont copy paste others creativity and dont watch too much topgear, ok

• Baja Lapis Seng on Feb 27, 2015 at 9:54 am

*Cue to Top Gear’s Interceptor Theme Song*

• Hemi 426 on Feb 27, 2015 at 7:24 pm

Now this is a proper man’s car.Had the rare chance to drive one owned by my buddy living in England.

Yes,the first original batches rusted badly and their handling will bite hard if you drive them like a fool,apart from that,it’s an awesome ride.

I just hope the new rendition of the original Interceptor will become a reality.Love these.

Cheers.