First reported Uber harassment case in Malaysia?

uber-south-east-asia-michael-brown

You know how Uber keeps making the news in other countries because of the shenanigans of its drivers? Just go to Google News and search for Uber and you’ll see. There have been cases of rape, kidnapping, assault, and others. In some cases, there have been Uber drivers accused of assault who have turned out to have done prison time for a felony but passed Uber’s background check anyway.

The Uber driver network in these countries have progressed further than what it is in Malaysia. From what we understand, all these cases involve private Uber drivers, which means they’re people like you and me trying to earn some cash with our own cars using the Uber platform.

Uber in Malaysia started off partnering with limo companies like Sunlight Limousine, TrupCo and Extreme Limousines & Tours. So the experience had a certain quality control to it. But now they’ve started taking in private drivers. You may have noticed Uber ads targeting Malaysians running on ad networks across the internet. When you run privateers on your fleet, you run the risk of things getting a little messy.

But of course, Uber supporters usually argue that there has been no such case in Malaysia. Except now there has been. It’s not something particularly serious, but the case is still worrying.

danielle-eiman

The case involves an actress/model named Daniella Sya who took an Uber ride on February 20. If you’ve used Uber before you would know that there’s an option to call or text the driver and we usually use this function to communicate our exact pickup point.

This communication method does not go through the Uber system – it uses the mobile phones of the driver and rider natively so the actual phone numbers are exchanged. The issue is on March 3, when the Uber driver sent a text to Daniella at 11 pm saying “Hi dear, :)”.

Apparently this is not the first time it has happened – Daniella says it has happened seven times before. Other Facebook users replied to her post on the social media platform sharing similiar experiences.

Since her phone number was revealed to the driver in the capacity of facilitating a pickup and not for ‘casual chat’, you can see why the Uber rider felt uncomfortable with this. This is obviously wrong, even by Uber’s own books, which is why the driver has since been suspended by Uber.

Screen Shot 2015-03-12 at 12.13.00 AM

I used to use Uber a lot, 24 times in the past to be exact. But my last Uber ride was on December 31 last year, when I was picked up by a car that did not have a number plate registered in the system. The part of the Uber app screen where the number plate would usually be displayed was blank. It made it hard for me to even identify the car picking me up – I had to resort to matching the face of the driver and making sure there was an Uber driver app running on an iPad in the car.

It was an E60 5-Series that felt rather worn and driven by a privateer. It didn’t feel like the same experience the rides operated by the limo companies like TrupCo and Extreme, it wasn’t as polished somehow. I felt like this was a shame – Uber is a useful app and feels a lot more convenient, safer and comfortable compared to our regular taxis.

As of today, this sector is still not regulated. Word through the grapevine is that the government was about to propose an act that would regulate this type of transportation service sometime at the end of last year but it didn’t happen – whether it was delayed or scrapped, we don’t know.

My advice to Uber and its competitors (like GrabCar) is to rethink the idea of private drivers on the system in Malaysia. To Uber users in Malaysia – just be a little extra wary. If all that drama with the drivers can happen everywhere else, it can happen here too.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Nowadays society is so dangerous.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 4
    • George Abdul on Mar 12, 2015 at 12:17 pm

Govt report that our society still good and getting better…

All bullshit by BN ministers and cronies… only things their knew ARE CORRUPTION !!!!

BN supporters go read more news !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 70 Thumb down 68
      • First world on Mar 12, 2015 at 3:40 pm

3rd world mentality…totally correct. They are many here in paultan.

Thumb me down if u are one!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 7
        • Jakuns From Malaysia on Mar 13, 2015 at 9:45 am

This complainant is so sad. The man was just being friendly. This is why jakuns from Malaysia, especially jakuns from the kampung, when they go overseas to study, they get so excited when the white woman calls them “darling” or “love”.

This complainant is nothing but a mere troublemaker. The uber driver was just being friendly. Many people in Malaysia call each other “dear”

This complainant is clearly an attention seeker.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 49
          • Think before you type on Mar 13, 2015 at 11:29 am

dude, check the time on the messages, the “Hi dear” was sent roughly 10 hours after the pick up, why is the driver still messaging his client 10hrs after the service? clearly he is trying his luck to get acquainted with her which is wrong because he now has her phone number and abusing the privilege …who’s the jakun now? lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 5
        • whysuddenly on Mar 13, 2015 at 5:58 pm

Yes, I’m absolutely positive that you are the only person here with a “First World” mentality. I suppose you care for the poor and marginalized, the need for sustainable living and animal rights?

Eh? None of that? Just because u spent 1 year overseas in UK from Jinjang you instantly became First World overnight is it?

Take your First World load of nonsense and stick it where the sun doesn’t shine.

Thank you and have a good day.

• Mak Jemah HRV on Mar 12, 2015 at 5:59 pm

Don’t be such an idiot. There’s a reason why SPAD restrict Uber services long ago…even taking normal cab, can’t prevent bad things..inikan pula naik uber..the society is good when less people like you live in earth..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 22
  • thomasNOTmyname on Mar 12, 2015 at 11:39 am

get yourself car or motorbike. all problem solve.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 16
    • powershot (Member) on Mar 12, 2015 at 3:32 pm

except when it rains.

• haha! on Mar 13, 2015 at 4:37 pm

Then wear the rain coat lah or wait till the rain stop..its not a problem maa… hihi

• Bernard on Mar 12, 2015 at 5:49 pm

Not everyone can drive due to certain limitations..that’s doesn’t make them diff from any of us

• jacksonljs on Mar 12, 2015 at 10:08 pm

Talk is cheap, but reality is, not everyone can have an ability to own even a basic car. Even RM24k new car still consider too pricey for most poor people (don’t mention 2nd hand cars as it might need a lot of maintenance although it’s cheaper to purchase).

• ayooo on Mar 12, 2015 at 11:51 am

Last time around there are people foaming in their mouth defending uber like uber is a religion. Where are they now? Taxis are taxis, in the end some stranger will drive it and at the end of the day depending on your luck, it could be a good or bad ride. No such thing as a taxi company with ultra-professional chaffeur driving you around at the price of a bus ride. It is all gimmick.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 4
  • Semi-Value (Member) on Mar 12, 2015 at 11:54 am

this is why i continue to pollute the environment

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 4
    • alldisc on Mar 12, 2015 at 2:58 pm

you my friend has nothing to worry. no one will one to harass you.

sexually.

none.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 8
      • Ripcord on Mar 12, 2015 at 3:50 pm

I don’t think that is actually his face.

Still… That’s a funny comment. Hahahah

• Battu on Mar 12, 2015 at 11:55 am

when JPJ doing the crackdown on Uber, all people go like “what the hell gomen? stop bullying rakyat on our right to choose!” “our taxy suck so bad, we want uber!””i feel much more safe in uber than our registered taxy””the law is stupid, just allow all people to fetch other, nothing harm in that”
    now, all quite.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 69 Thumb down 8
    • Let us look at MyTeksi which is supported by the authorities :

http://news.thaivisa.com/thaivisa-news/grabtaxi-user-receives-intimidation-call-from-driver/37576/

Apparently, a legally-registered taxi is not anywhere safer than Uber…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 8
      • low brain on Mar 12, 2015 at 5:08 pm

of course u cant expect 0 incidents out of thousands of taxis out there

the point of having it to be regulated is so that there is a system in place to prevent incidents and in any case of incidents it would be easier to track down the perpetrator

• I drive an Audi on Mar 16, 2015 at 5:26 pm

Know that there are over 30000 registered public cabs in the year of 2014 alone. My many hundreds of times of can travel had drawn me to the conclusion that a lot of registered cabs are extremely bullish and harassment has occurred one time too many. Give über a chance and stop complaining.

• that driver was stupid

that girl is hot

evils are everywhere.its not fair to associate any wrongdoers with company, society, race or religion

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 4
  • tokmoh. on Mar 12, 2015 at 12:07 pm

In UK, it’s polite to call ladies dear, love, darling.

Here it’s sexual harassment? If the Uber driver is mat salleh driving BMW, confirm say “aww sweet, cute, handsome hunk”. Betina perasan tak sedar diri puih.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 109 Thumb down 23
    • UMW Mampus on Mar 12, 2015 at 1:17 pm

HAHAHAHA!! I would have to TOTALLY agree you with this. Have you check out the video by Vitalyz on how easy it was for him to pick up Malaysian girls? All these “ang mohs are better” perception among girls disgust me.. horny!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 3
    • kzm (Member) on Mar 12, 2015 at 3:43 pm

That girl was not his customer at that time..its not a polite gesture but flirting.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 6
      • tokmoh. on Mar 12, 2015 at 6:25 pm

Flirting is crime? We now taliban?

What if that man is genuinely interested in her, at least he’s giving praise to her, rather than degrading her?

And him being flirty is entirely on private capacity, yet now it’s affecting his career.

She got photo she wear BDSM underwear, people admire her. This man has guts to actually make his move, gets suspended. That’s sexist!

#meninist #menhaverightstoo #genderequality

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 24
        • kzm (Member) on Mar 12, 2015 at 8:25 pm

what he do is still wrong…he violating Personal Data Protection Action Act 2010 (PDPA). if he guity he can get fine up to 500k or 1-3 yrs in jail. how do you feel if someone use ur contact number that use for other purpose eg personal use?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 5
          • tokmoh. on Mar 13, 2015 at 1:15 am

You’re giving me idea.

Brb, gonna get lawyer n sue all banks, insurance companies, telco that sell my number n cold call me to buy their… Whatever they want me to buy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 6
          • kzm (Member) on Mar 13, 2015 at 12:28 pm

Read those PDPA first!

• Jakuns From Malaysia on Mar 13, 2015 at 9:48 am

what nonsense are you talking kzm? The Uber driver was just being polite. Nothing personal here.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 13
          • So if insurance agent, steal our contact number from their colleague to disturb us on our working hour is ok. But not some uber driver who have genuine interest to the girl and not even sexually harrasting her is wrong. Or is it “hi dear” is counted as harrasment?

• Maverick2091 on Mar 12, 2015 at 6:04 pm

LOL! Bro.. you may have a point, but! For fairness sake, the article mentioned the driver had done this seven times, that’s probably not exactly harassment, I’m no expert, but it doesn’t seem right.

My solution, hire more female drivers! preferably hot ones, win-win.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 8
  • Try compare uber with local taxi, you’ll see the clear picture. How many case you read from news paper compare to uber?

• ayam kok kok on Mar 12, 2015 at 12:22 pm

hi dear..
    rm500 for 1 round
    deal!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 0
  • LapisLegit on Mar 12, 2015 at 12:31 pm

My girlfriend once had a cabby ask her if she shaved down there. Uber is still worlds ahead of the alternative.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 4
  • gaviny on Mar 12, 2015 at 1:29 pm

sounds so malaysian, first world idea, third world implementation

• roxas on Mar 12, 2015 at 1:38 pm

these men are so dry.

• I haven’t used UBER before, but why does the customer sending their pickup location via wechat/sms/whatsapp to the Uber Driver? Shouldn’t she be using UBER apps to communicate with the operator 1st? Hmmmm

• DB10s on Mar 12, 2015 at 5:00 pm

It’s build in to the app. Where you have the option to call the driver or vice versa incase of a delay or your pickup point isn’t clear. The need for voice communication is somewhat important, from experience especially when I use uber in areas i am not familiar with.

There should be away around this but the other alternative I can think of is to build a VOIP system into the app that bypasses the need to use your actual phone number but then the reliability would effected by how good your 3G reception is. Or I guess the app can just censor your phone number on the driver’s end if that is at all possible.

• 4G63T DSM on Mar 12, 2015 at 2:30 pm

I normally take Uber Black so most of thier rides are from Limo services.

can’t comment on UBER X since I have never used that service before.

But I agree that UBER needs to properly screen thier drivers. I had a UBER Black ride driver which is probably new and it was a disconcerting ride, with him holding his phone (for navigation) in one hand and driving with the other.

other than that, the car was good although it was a smaller C segment instead of the usual D segment and the driver was pleasant.

• BLT_Club on Mar 12, 2015 at 4:08 pm

While I can sympathize with her harassment, how would this incident be different from other online taxi services which give drivers access to the passenger’s phone number? In the end there will always be a risk. Human behavior is unpredictable. That’s the risk we all take, whether it’s taking a taxi or even driving.

• hello on Mar 12, 2015 at 4:55 pm

I cam here to read hundreds of comments by bashers, but there was only 18 :'(

• low brain on Mar 12, 2015 at 5:13 pm

wait for taxi harassment if u want to read hundreds of comments u know la younger generations ma

• Mulyadir Fitri on Mar 12, 2015 at 5:08 pm

Is the girl really hot? *googling*

• blackBJQ on Mar 12, 2015 at 5:27 pm

is it only me do the homework by googling danielle sya?

• He might be having mamak and joking with friends that day he pick up a hot chick. Then friends make him or do the dear word. This call sexual harassment. LMAO

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
  • sudonano (Member) on Mar 12, 2015 at 5:48 pm

I have used UberX recently, but for me, I may consider on trying out the MyTeksi private driver service, on the basis that Uber doesn’t support Malaysian debit cards – a rather odd system. In fact they charged the authorisation charge yet failed. Had to use my card from a non Malaysian bank, though I ended up paying in the foreign currency instead.

UberX for me was alright. Both cars were clean and drivers were good. Wasn’t too pleased on the coverage, took a few attempts to get a car around Sunway, and the first trip, the guy kept going on the most inefficient and traffic laden route, which was disappointing cause that lead to a higher charge. Is it better than taxis? Yes by a mile. But can it be improved, definitely.

• Regina on Mar 12, 2015 at 6:33 pm

Seriously ah? “Hi dear,” and everybody says society is dangerous?

Overreaction la this… haihs…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 9
    • carCaarcAArrr on Mar 12, 2015 at 6:55 pm

In our local context ( crime index etc ), its akward, disrespectful, uncomfortable, and unnerving. Unacceptable.

• chinoy on Mar 12, 2015 at 7:28 pm

can i call u dear?

• carCaarcAArrr on Mar 12, 2015 at 6:50 pm

Creepy Uber drivers should not be condoned and must be blacklisted immediately. That being said, let’s all stand up to creepiness and teach these creeps some manners. Next time text the driver back “Mr. driver, don’t call me ‘dear’, you can call me Madam. TQ”

• chinoy on Mar 12, 2015 at 7:21 pm

unless u are gay, all of u guys will think of this as an opportunity to get chicks and make money at the same time. so its no surprise

• Anonymous on Mar 12, 2015 at 10:25 pm

Without a solid set of regulations the Uber system is open for abuse by some undesirable lot. The authorities must not wait until situation becomes worse to act. Unless Uber can conform to standard practices set by the authorities Uber should be banned. Safety of the people first.

• Just wait a minute. So now the “rakyat” wants to ban Uber becoz they r not incompliance to regulation. And this is after all the hoohaa about Gov abusing their rights to use and unregulated service despite the warning that it could be unsafe.
      Next what. The “rakyat” will whack their heads on the wall, despite the Gov telling them it is painful?

• serenalim on Mar 12, 2015 at 10:57 pm

one of the Uber driver uses my contact and tried to flirt with me, sending his selfie pictures, and even asked me out for a drink/date. kinda afraid of my privacy, but really no choice…our local taxis mostly have very bad service

• john doe on Mar 13, 2015 at 3:06 pm

I’m an Uber driver. Ask me anything.

I do it for fun, when i have free time. Easy money. Met girls who keep my number and text me. No, not gonna sue them for harassment.

Yes, I have texted some girls later, even given free rides. Get a good rating. If they don’t wanna text back, forget about it.

I take Uber as a passenger too. No complaints. Good to go to clubs, and not have to drive back drunk, vomiting friends.

Taxis? Give me a break. Taxi drivers should change themselves before they complain. Use a meter at least. And keep the car clean.

SPAD? Run by an old retiree who has no other work. Have they done anything to improve public transport apart from dole out fines and penalise people?

Almost ALL my Uber passengers tell me they take Uber because they will NEVER EVER go back to taking taxis because of taxi drivers and the taxi condition. So many got harassed, shouted at, threatened.

The bad thing: Uber is run by a bunch of yuppie Bangsar boys. I know all of them. Run like a college dorm. Low professionalism (of course they will deny this). The only thing they do is send emails and SMS everyday threatening the drivers with cancellation of their Uber Partner app, for every small thing. Careline? Sorry, they won’t deal with minion drivers as they are too cool for that. Expect the drivers to provide 5-star service even though Uber X is known as the VALUE service, thats why its CHEAP. Any small mistake, call to complain. No permanent numbers, they use different numbers everytime.

So yea, AMA.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 6
  • John Doe too on Mar 13, 2015 at 11:13 pm

Tokmoh and jakuns from malaysia have put themselves in the category of those who beat redlights out there and then justify themselves by saying ” it’s ok what…no cars crossing…” NO, it is NOT OK for degradation of values be it moral, politically correct views or laws. Simply put if there were more people like you guys justifying yourselves at every traffic light or junction. Our country will turn out like some of the neighbours where anarchy rules!!!

• Guest on Mar 17, 2015 at 3:55 pm

The cost for giving out your ‘personal details’ to strangers! Didn’t your mum and your teacher in school warn you that before! Be smartlah gal, this’s a crime state Malaysia afterall, anything can happen while the cops sleeping in their station! BEWARE, use another spare and dump number for such!

• Yes, there are so much threat comes from these type of people nowadays. Can’t differentiate between work and fun. Sound like a desperado. And worse, these people is creating trouble for people who are looking for a honest living.

It may or may not be Uber, but everyone knows how taxis industry is being monopolised and taxi drivers have no choice but getting squeeze with permit and rental fees and mind you these fees are charged exorbitantly. But then again, I always hear and experience how bad cabbies are and these may not apply to cabbies on the road but majority you see are like thugs. Just go to kl sentral and shopping malls and you will see how these guys react. At one time they were against each other, just like the time where there is one group try to control pavillion mall area. If taxi service is so good, why can companies like Uber can rise in the industry. And mind you applying permit for taxi is not easy and you pay a big chunk of money to the operators and getting a junk car as taxi.

If uber or any similar company were given the fair play, I would believe our public transport would be so much better and bad driver would be taken out immediately. Ban these people across the board, cos for all you know, the uber driver might be a taxi driver previously. So don’t judge by the company or the industry. Ban the wrong-doers and publish their info public.

• KingAgni on May 29, 2015 at 6:21 pm

So we have responsive fellow citizen’s of the dazzling city whom whines like a cry baby for all those petty issues. Get a life people. i bet many whom praises the local cabbies have not boarded one since the ice age. Seriously speaking our local taxi services are screwed to the core but i also don’t deny the fact that there is 1 or 2 gems among 1000’s of waste shit. They tend to behave like uniformed thugs whom haggling unacceptable fare rate’s for a very short distance. Get the local authorities to action on these first before getting them to jump around on stopping UBER and the fellow kind of services which is getting more convenient to the users.

• I booked a taxi through uber , and I got the driver allotted I was in my office and I said the pick up point and came down ,and call the driver and the driver said the passenger is in but I showed the sms which I received from uber the driver said me to cancel the booking but for which I was charged 2.26rm this is absolutely cheating

• Wan Roy Rodehacke on Apr 11, 2016 at 10:14 am

The term “Encik, Cik, Puan, Tuan, Sir, Madam, Miss, Mrs, Mr. should be imposed for all interacting services.

• Noone on Jul 26, 2016 at 4:10 pm

I believe this is purely an individual act. No one is perfect, and is the same to every industry. Even if you come from any develop countries, this thing may happen to you as well. There is always someone who willing to go far beyond to bend some rules. We just need to learn to be careful in protecting own self. I believe this is nothing to do with third world or first world. Harassment happen every where and anytime.