MP suggests higher speed limit for highways to progress towards becoming a developed nation?

highway

It was suggested at yesterday’s Dewan Rakyat session that the speed limit of highways should be increased from the current 110 km/h up to 150 km/h.

According to Lumut MP Haji Mohamad Imran, the cars driven by Malaysians these days were of high quality and had the ability to traveling at high speeds. The MP proposed that for the typical three-lane highway, the left lane be limited to 110 km/h, while the middle lane could be limited to between 110-130 km/h and the right lane be limited to 130-150 km/h.

The Deputy Works Minister Datuk Rosnah bt Hj Abd Rashid Shirlin replied that the current speed limits are 110 km/h on highways, 90 km/h for both inter-city roads as well as federal roads. These speed limits were set according to various factors such as road geometry, traffic flow density and accident risk.

Datuk Rosnah added that there are many other factors that can come into play such as whether a location is approaching a toll plaza, an interchange, an uphill or downhill section, an area with cross winds. For these sections, the speed limits would have to be further lowered compared to the usual 110 km/h limit.

Frankfurter_Kreuz_-_BAB_3_und_5

In response to this, the Lumut MP brought up perhaps one of the most famous highways in the world – the autobahn. Here’s where it gets a little odd – apparently since Germany is a developed nation and its autobahn has a reputation of supposedly having no speed limits, Malaysia should allow cars to travel faster in order to progress towards becoming a developed nation.

Datuk Rosnah said that was not possible as our existing speed limits were set according to Malaysian factors. She added that perhaps only 10% of cars in Malaysia were capable of being stable at high speeds, and the remainder 90% were everyday Joe cars. She then suggested that people who wanted to enjoy their car’s higher top speed do so at the Sepang track.

It’s true – 130-150 km/h in a Perodua Viva or an old Proton Wira versus a Volkswagen Passat is very different. The reality is that these two different “class” of cars share the same roads and a system that has double standards do not make sense.

However, she added that her ministry is in constant talks with the Ministry of Transport and PDRM as well as other agencies like MIROS on speed limits and would act on the advice of these agencies if necessary.

2014-05-16_13_44_32_View_south_along_Interstate_295_from_the_Sloan_Avenue_(Mercer_County_Route_649)_overpass_in_Hamilton_Township,_New_Jersey

Not all developed countries have highways with no speed limits. For example, in the USA with their long, wide and incredibly straight highways, the highest speed limit allowed is 137 km/h (85 mph), which is basically a 65 km stretch between Austin and San Antonio. This is the only place in the USA where you are allowed to drive at that speed, the limits are usually about 113 km/h (70 mph) elsewhere.

But apparently in the late 90s, Montana had no speed limits during the daytime hours. Laws basically just called for drivers to drive at speeds considered “reasonable and prudent”. All day long speed limits were eventually instated, but it’s interesting to point out that the fatality rate on Montana highways during the final months before the limits were put back in place were actually lower than the numbers after.

The theory is that drivers on roads with no speed limits pay greater attention to what’s happening on the road and spend less time worrying about speed traps and staying within a certain speed limit.

But that said, that’s the USA, with their long, straight roads and wide lanes. And Americans drive larger, more stable and more powerful vehicles – things like the Infiniti QX80 do not look out of place there and could even be dwarfed by the size of some of the larger pickup trucks.

Verkehrszeichen_auf_der_Bundesautobahn_20090320_001

As for the Autobahn, yes it’s true that some sections do not have speed limits. But that’s the keyword – some sections. There are speed limits on the ramps, and limits are also enforced near interchanges. Generally, most of these limitless sections are in areas that have very low population density. Vehicles with a low top speed of less than 60 km/h as well as motorcycles and scooters with a small engine capacity are banned from the autobahn.

Speed limits can be dynamically enforced via overhead LED boards depending on factors such as weather, time of day, or even in efforts to reduce noise pollution. Because obviously 250 km/h in the rain with traffic around you could be a bad idea.

For sections with no speed limits, there is a recommended but unenforced speed limit of 130 km/h. If something ever happens, the driver can be deemed partially responsible because of what is deemed as “increased operating danger”. A study done in 2006 on a six-lane section of the A9 near Niemegk showed an average speed of 141.8 km/h for automobiles, with over 60% of road users exceeding the recommended but unenforced 130 km/h speed limit, but only 15% exceeded 170 km/h.

So what do you think readers – are our vehicles (types of cars and motorcyclists as well), road manners and highway geometry as well as condition ready for a higher speed limit on our highways, or is the current 110 km/h just nice? If you wish for a higher limit, what do you think is a reasonable new limit? Perhaps what we need is a minimum speed limit instead, which actually exists in some countries and are usually between 30 km/h to 60 km/h.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• spongewai on Mar 20, 2015 at 2:25 pm

what kind of joke is this?!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 84
    • farker on Mar 20, 2015 at 2:53 pm

Where got joke? My GTi can finally go 150 legally which is good.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 124 Thumb down 25
      • Matty on Mar 20, 2015 at 3:59 pm

I will be sweating if I see Myvi start driving 160km/h in highway one day. E-class I don’t mind.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 90 Thumb down 5
        • On the road now Myvi, Viva or Also they are running more than that on the highway. So no matter you increase the speed limit or not they will still run the speed.

• Operation-Manager (Member) on Mar 20, 2015 at 4:17 pm

The justification might not address correctly, but the proposal of higher speed limit is a must. Not everyone good in public speaking but at least the proposal is meaningful.

Time is money, the faster, the more optimization, the more efficiency, etc… towards task accomplishment.
        Machine A Line A can produce car within 7 days.
        Machine B Line B can produce a car within 14 days.
        which preferred by Proton Local mindset, by Toyota Japanese mindset, by VW European mindset.

2 lanes highway no longer capable to cater today’s traffic congestion base on total vehicle OTR, we need 3 lanes min nowadays. With accident blocked then left only 1 lane which will increase your projected travel time at least 200% above.
        In fact , the faster the Move the Less the Congestion.

Besides, the 15yrs old vehicle should strictly not allow OTR & SCRAP. Since the vehicle have benn paid at least 100% during the purchase, the govt should work out on special incentive on trade I n scrap vehicle. The more frequent the breakdown of old car will cause traffic congestion, increase the risk of accident.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 28
        • I would not say scrap the 15 year old cars . may be have inspection carried out every 2 years on this cars every time road tax is renewed . not all can effort a new car . but least they can maintain their old cars

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 6
        • kadajawi (Member) on Mar 20, 2015 at 6:41 pm

Scrapping old cars? That’s BS. A 15 year old conti will be much more stable at highway speeds than a brand new Almera or Myvi. What should be done is look at the condition of the car, if it isn’t safe, as owner to fix or scrap. Until then not allowed on the road (apart from sending to workshop to fix).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 3
        • trollmaster3000 on Mar 20, 2015 at 6:42 pm

gomen needs to set a policy that can make the low to middle income rakyat able to afford to switch to a new vehicle every 10 years or so first.. then we can talk about scrapping old vehicles.. that means bringing vehicle prices down.. and no.. please do not limit us to using proton or perodua only.. don’t let us keep daydreaming about driving sushi kimchi euro or murican cars with that thought in our mind.. IF ONLY I CAN AFFORD.. HAIIHH..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 0
      • Same L0rrrr on Mar 20, 2015 at 4:22 pm

Now you know where did your hard earned tax money all go to…

“MP’s high quality cars which can travel at high speed”

These cronies don’t even blink an eye on Toyota/Honda.

We should have a dedicated lane for government people speed with their S class.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 16
      • Operation-Manager (Member) on Mar 20, 2015 at 4:23 pm

Govt should driving the increase of safety standard applied towards car/road in msia, not to give excuse.
        If Road issue then improve the road quality.
        If vehicle issue then improve the vehicle quality.
        In order to achieve high EFFICIENCY.
        At least EURO/American standard 3 stars above vehicle only allow OTR.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 0
        • kadajawi (Member) on Mar 20, 2015 at 6:34 pm

Huh? 3 stars above? You mean EuroNCAP? Nope. Anything goes. Mercedes sells a 1 airbag car right now that can seat 7. It has stability control though. Until very recently the Lada Niva was sold in Germany… that’s a 1970s offroader from Russia. Pretty awesome offroad, but on roads it’s junk. Without any safety features. It was legal.

The reason why cars in Europe are safe is because customers want safe cars. If two cars cost the same (or even if there’s a price difference), they’ll go for the one with the better safety rating, with more airbags, … of course if the difference between both isn’t big, other factors play a role. But to sell a 3 star car in Germany and have people buy them you need to be significantly cheaper than a 5 star car. Something like the Myvi, Vios, Camry, Altis (except top spec with safety package) would sit in sales rooms forever. No sales.

The roads in Malaysia… no need to talk about normal roads or toll free highways, they suck. But plus highways? They are actually pretty good. German ones tend to go tok tok tok tok tok tok… they like to use big concrete slabs, so there is a gap between each slab. And the oldest part of the German highway system is 79 years old. Without resurfacing. It’s not in great shape.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
          • You don’t know the hot expand cold contract theory?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
      • notaku on Mar 20, 2015 at 4:50 pm

Just FYI crashing at 110kmh doesn’t make much diff. you still say nothing here today. god bless you

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 0
      • momoi on Mar 20, 2015 at 9:54 pm

Government.

Stop Joking.

Malaysia Crisis u still want spend money.

not the right time.

• Doesn’t matter how fast you can go. I’m concerned how fast you can stop, and the distance it would take. Even more so I’m concerned about your reflexes. I consider myself a fairly experienced and spirited driver. Logged in some track track time of and on. Even removed that pesky 250kmh speed limiter on my cars, doesn’t mean I floor it every time. Trust me, I’ve had my fair share of mishaps. Driving in Germany isn’t all that great, once off the A9, the limit gets low low low pretty fast, and the Polizei are no joke.

• kzm (Member) on Mar 20, 2015 at 4:27 pm

i find sumthing is odd…in article bout suggest speed limiter last time get bash n today this article suggest higher speed limit oso get bash…..wow!! which 1 u guys want actually? im quite confuse with u guys..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 3
      • cendol (Member) on Mar 20, 2015 at 4:45 pm

THat is the reason 48% vote that way, 52% vote this way.
        So Malaysians are split into half.
        Even on this issue

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 2
      • Gargantia on Mar 20, 2015 at 4:50 pm

The think is that don’t bring stupid idea like this… instead help Rakyat for implementing more safety fixtures like more air-bag and VSC etc.

And some kids ask, with or without more airbags will cause accidents too. And don’t forget even limit 60km/h do cause accidents too…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
    • One day say want to limit all car to the road speed limit, another day say want to raise the speed limit. All BS talk only lah.

• Captain Obvious on Mar 20, 2015 at 5:30 pm

Stop joking, damn SILK highway, HIGHWAY has a speed limit of 70kmh. Stop joking.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
      • Operation-Manager (Member) on Mar 20, 2015 at 8:56 pm

The SPEED LIMIT is one of the MAJOR FACTOR CAUSING TRAFFIC CONGESTION.
        Assumption speed @ vehicle pass thru:
        70: 100k
        80: 120k
        90: 140k
        100: 160k
        110: 180k
        120: 200k
        130: 220k
        140: 240k
        150: 260k

The same road condition:
        Speed at 120kmh could able to cater DOUBLE vehicles compared 70kmh.
        *70kmh = congestion
        *120kmh above = no congestion

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
        • squall_shinoda on Mar 22, 2015 at 11:10 pm

That’s totally wrong dude. Higher speed limit means less vehicle capacity, because of the larger distance needed between vehicles so that they can stop safely on time without kissing the asses of the front cars if anything happens.

• if this happened, i would say sorry for those driving TOYOTA. NO VSC will see your vios and camry floating on highway

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
    • kadajawi (Member) on Mar 20, 2015 at 8:40 pm

Not really. It does make sense, to a certain degree.

But there are a few big problems:
      In Europe, especially Germany, almost every car sold is designed to go fast. You can drive a nearly 20 year old Fiesta, as I do these days, at 140, and it’s not a problem (who knows if it can do more, the engine is limiting the top speed). It will feel stable and planted. Take a new Almera or Myvi at those speeds and it is nowhere near that. It will feel dangerous, because it is. These cars are designed to take on certain tasks, like drive around in towns, or drive on bad roads at low speeds. That is ok. But allowing drivers of those cars to go fast is dangerous. Germany is making the best cars because of the Autobahn… the domestic market demands cars that behave well at high speeds. How about a speed limit per car? Certain models, like Kancil, Viva, Myvi, Almera are limited to 100. Others are allowed to go 130, and some, like modern Protons, contis, Mazdas, 150.

Education of course… European drivers are taught to drive on the highway. They usually learn driving in modern B or C segment hatchbacks (mostly C) that have enough power. I had a Golf 4 with a 1.9 liter TDI… probably around 120 hp. First lesson on the Autobahn was at 160 km/h. How to behave, how to drive, what the risks are and what to watch out for is being taught. Malaysia uses Kancil or Viva, and now slowly moving to Axia. They should be using the base spec manual Iriz 1.6 for driving school… maybe do a stripped version that drops unnecessary things to lower the price, cut taxes so driving schools can afford, etc. Improve the lessons in driving school, with a given amount of hours they have to spend on the highway, at night, … German driving students are forced to learn about the lights on their car, how and when to use them, and to control them once in a while (how often do you see cars without ANY brake lights on Malaysian roads?!). Students need to be much more than able to use the steering wheel and manual gearbox before they can pass the test… German students learn behavior, and the tester watches for that. Does the student automatically turn his head before changing the lane, to look over his shoulder? Does he notice road signs, and ignores instructions that go against the rules? etc. There’s a reason why a driving license costs anywhere between RM 5000 and RM 10000 in Germany. The problem in Malaysia is that even if you educate young students well, once they are on the road they are getting spoilt. Uncles and aunties that know better (“Stop changing lane all the time, that’s dangerous, and you make me dizzy. What do you mean that’s wrong? I’m older than you, how dare you!”). Other drivers that don’t know how to behave, and students will start following them. So students need to be told not to behave like them, and…

Cops need to roam the roads. On TV etc. they should explain what the rules are, and why they make sense, and how high the fines are. After half a year cops will start to drive around (if you catch a cop not following rules, like wearing seatbelts, he will get a big saman, just snap a photo and send to the government). Half of the saman they collect they can keep, so if it’s RM 300, 150 goes to the cops. Even if you are able to bribe them, they will get more money, and it hurts you. But without video proof you don’t have to pay. Things the cops watch out for is no seatbelts worn (especially for rear passengers, as that’s more dangerous than front passengers not wearing seatbelts), no child seats/children roaming free in the car), both these things apply for any speed, even 10 km/h have to wear all these things. People who go above the speed limit (with say a 5-10 km/h grace period… slightly going above the limit is no problem), people who don’t drive on the left unless overtaking (same fine as for speeding), people who overtake on the right of another car (unless the cars are driving below 80 and the speed difference is not big. If you are being provoked by a notorious lane hogger that person is punished instead), people who bully other road users (again unless being provoked by a lane hogger). People who cut queues and create lanes that don’t exist, people who drive on the emergency lane and people who drive without having paid road tax. Catch any of these, and they’ll have to pay. And who hasn’t paid their fines can’t renew their road tax.

If you implement these things, and maybe gradually increase the speed limit (maybe 150 is a bit excessive for Malaysia…), then it shouldn’t be a problem.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
    • annonymous on Mar 21, 2015 at 12:12 pm

Stupid G, increase highway speed limit to become develop nation? Certain developed nation did implement higher speed limit but please, focus on other issues that Malaysian is currently facing E.G corruptions, double-standard, high crime rate, inflation, cronies, unfair general election and you name it ’cause you know.

Until today, there are still some car manufacturer that do not provide ABS and VSC as standard safety equipment, so what do you think it will happen when they drive at high speed and face an emergency situation?

• Sohai…this is good news for rakyat lah…so not easy kena saman if change to 150km/hr on highway.

• Borneo on Mar 22, 2015 at 3:27 am

Yes, it is a joke. I live in Sabah and there is not a single highway in this whole state so HA HA HA very funny, build a highway first, talk about speed later.

• Nooniez on Mar 20, 2015 at 2:26 pm

Totally support! Worst is 80 km/h speed limit on a 3 lane highway like Sprint!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 105 Thumb down 5
    • pxp154 on Mar 20, 2015 at 3:28 pm

Yea. i agree. retard 80km/h limiit in some of the strange locations on the highway….pfFfttt!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 0
    • Operation-Manager (Member) on Mar 20, 2015 at 4:35 pm

The Kulim highway wellknow with its speed limit at 80, speedcam police everyday waiting around.

You want make your travel period more EFFICIENCY t Ooo catchup more business, pay 300.
      With the road condition & traffic condition, no problem 0.01% risk for kulim highwat to have speed limit at 130.

• Captain Obvious on Mar 20, 2015 at 7:02 pm

Sorry bro, but SILK highway has a speed limit of 70kmh. Yes 70kmh, cause fk logic that’s why

• Finally, an MP I can support. Go Lumut go!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 14
  • Joker! on Mar 20, 2015 at 2:30 pm

“15% exceeded 170km/h”…. we should start comparing ourselves with Germany when the cars on our roads are of same standard & performance. To travel comfortably at 170km/h, we need at least a 2.0L NA car? The keyword here is “comfortably”. I know 1.3- 1.5L with rated top speed 180km/h, but that would mean max-ing out the engine… provided the car has the stability to take that kind of speed…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
    • hahaha on Mar 20, 2015 at 2:51 pm

Maybe we should initiate this new speed limits in sections and not all in a go.

I’d also like to see German autobahn quality freeways as well…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
      • kadajawi (Member) on Mar 20, 2015 at 7:15 pm

German autobahn quality? It’s not that great. Lanes tend to be a bit wider than in Malaysia, and they are better built, i.e. last longer. But the surface isn’t that smooth, as often they use concrete. Lasts long, but isn’t flexible enough for the temperature changes, so they need to leave some space between ever big concrete slab. You can hear and feel that. You won’t find potholes (they are fixed very fast), but I haven’t seen any on plus highways either. Just free highways… they aren’t good.

• kadajawi (Member) on Mar 20, 2015 at 7:12 pm

There are plenty of cars that come with 200 hp engines as well as 60 hp… for example the Polo. Base spec it’s 60 hp, but there’s also the GTI with 200 or so? Ok, so the GTI has a beefed up suspension, but will the 120 hp version have that? I doubt it. So the chassis of the 60 hp car will be able to do top speed easily, the engine is the only problem.

• old dog on Mar 20, 2015 at 2:31 pm

higher speed = higher developed nation?
    1) how about better fuel quality of diesel for environmental compare with developed nation
    2) how about better taxi quality (cant find any developed nation having a worst taxi like this Iswara on the road where cant open the rear windows, what Taxi safety we talking about?
    3) or how about comparing tol in developed nations? USA and UK # of tols compare with Malaysia..
    4) how about change those retarded MP who come out idiots and idiots of idea that shows how lousy the quality of the G except idea to SPEND $$ (can any MP come out idea to earn $$ from foreign country?)

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 4
    • kadajawi (Member) on Mar 20, 2015 at 7:17 pm

If you want your taxi driver to drive a Mercedes, you need to pay him so he can afford that. Have you looked at how much you have to pay for a taxi in Europe? Like that it’s cheaper to buy your own car…!

France, Spain, Switzerland, Austria, … all have tolls. In Switzerland you have to pay the full sum for the year, even if you only drive 1 km on the highway. Or if you enter the country on the 31st of December, and leave on the 1st of January, you have to pay for 2 years.

• Driving faster in order to progress towards a developed nation? Lumut people should regret voting this guy instead of the old-timer Kong Cho Ha.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 40
  • sabahan on Mar 20, 2015 at 2:32 pm

i would suggest increase to 130km/h max
    but recommended 110km/h.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 5
  • kampungboyzzz on Mar 20, 2015 at 2:36 pm

try 120km/hr first

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 3
  • Orang Semenanjung Sangat Bahagia on Mar 20, 2015 at 2:38 pm

Kat Semenanjung ada highway sangat bagus.
    Dan untuk speed limit,110km/h juga ok,tak payah laju lagi!!

Dan…bila mahu bina highway di Sabah macam yang di Semenanjung punya???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 4
    • Gadis Kampung on Mar 20, 2015 at 2:59 pm

Sabah??
      Saya dari Sabah juga..Tenom,dan sekarang saya di Seremban masuk instisut IPG,pandu kereta juga yang dibawa dari Sabah(orang kampung..Myvi SAA xxxx U)
      Betul Semenanjung punya highway memang bagus dan luas juga..
      Biasa pandu dari Seremban pergi KLIA dalam speed 100 to 110km/h..kereta Semenanjung pandu lagi laju,biasa nampak..(Seremban-Nilai-KLIA)
      Tak ada pendapat tentang isu ini..sorry

• squall_shinoda on Mar 22, 2015 at 11:30 pm

Sabah dengan Sarawak kan besar, penduduk pun masih kurang. Banyak tempat yang jarak antara pekan pun suda lebih 100 km, contoh: Sandakan-Telupid (130 km). Pekan-pekan yang ada pun baru nak hidup. Kalau bina expressway, banyaklah pekan yang mati sebab orang suda ndak singgah lagi bah. Kalau orang suda ndak singgah lagi, macam mana mereka nak cari pendapatan…? Di Semenanjung pun suda banyak pekan yang mati sejak ada expressway macam Batu Anam, Beranang, Maran, Ajil, etc. So lebih baik kita kasi pekan-pekan jadi besar dan maju dulu baru bina expressway.

• Joker on Mar 20, 2015 at 2:39 pm

Wow 150km/h….
    with cars without VSC,ESC,Traction Control (watever they call it), any lost control of da vehicle would means a fatal accident.. Unless most of cars on Malaysian road is equipped with 6 airbags + VSC, the number of total accidents might reduced but the number of fatal accident will increase.. 130km/h would be the safest speed and it is very very important to implement minimum speed in highways.. road hogging is a bigger offense than speeding

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 3
    • Maybe government will somehow push the manufacturers to make cars with better safety features to be more road worthy?

• kadajawi (Member) on Mar 20, 2015 at 7:20 pm

Why don’t consumers do that? If you demand from Toyota that they offer stability control and 6 airbags on the model you want, otherwise you won’t buy it, and everyone else does the same, next week Toyota will announce that in 2 weeks they’ll start selling the cars equipped with those things, and that they start shipping remaining stock to Indonesia. It is a for profit company, so they will sell you what earns them the most. Since Malaysians are willing to buy their cars without safety features, they can leave them away.

• jacksonljs on Mar 21, 2015 at 6:06 pm

Agree with you kadajawi… however, sad but true fact is quite a number of brand newly registered Altis 1.8 where safety feature are as good as none due to no VSC and only 2 airbags still roaming around on the road. Also, very few of 2.0V Altis are roaming on the road, due to overly-priced (RM139k for safety package compared with Civic 2.0 facelift with 6 airbags which cost only RM122k after bargain)

• kadajawi (Member) on Mar 22, 2015 at 12:04 am

As I said, it’s the customers fault. Why are they buying the low spec Altis when there are many alternatives that just as expensive, if not cheaper, AND that are safe? As long as customers are like this, cars like the Altis will be offered.

• Woot Woot on Mar 20, 2015 at 2:41 pm

Here! Here! Way to go MP Imran!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
  • Wayang on Mar 20, 2015 at 2:41 pm

Raise the limit also no use what
    You raised the mentality of Malaysian drivers first
    And also raise the enforcements as well
    Lack of enforcement is like giving first class infrastructure to a third world monkey
    example you give these monkeys a four lane highway, each of them will find one lane to hog, those behind them won’t be able to overtake
    You increase the speed or lane also won’t do shit

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 1
  • MeToo on Mar 20, 2015 at 2:43 pm

Where do we find our Ministers?!

Do they even live in the same country as we do?!

• The main problem on our NS highways, even though some places had been expanded to 3 or 4 lanes. There are some errant drivers still hog the right lane which are meant for overtaking. Often times you may find the left lanes are empty. I don’t understand this as there has been a written law which stated “Ikut Kiri Kecuali Memotong”. Is it something that is not understood at all by these errand drivers?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 0
  • Bobby (Member) on Mar 20, 2015 at 2:48 pm

Speed has never been a problem in the car driving community, but the quality of driving is. No one likes to get killed or be killed. If the country keeps on delivering terbang licence relentlessly to keep the driving schools MONOPOLIES going,
    road accidents and fatalities will keep on going up and up, resulting in even longer traffic jams and more potential accidents. In the highways and byways, road accidents are a nation’s obssession on looking rather than helping the casualties. What a bunch of saddists we have in this country.

Incidentally, Only fools criticise (or praise) politicians for what they say. It is what they do that counts, by starting from rising to 120 km/h and progressively to 150, pending on acceptable accident rates like those in Germany or other advance countries. Also, raise the standard of driving by having the appointed country by UN to test Malaysian car drivers. Also, all who are now on the roads must take driving exams once every 5 years. I wonder if the so-call Dato will pass the first round.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
  • Because the MP can’t afford to pay those speeding tickets, and yet they still love to left for next destination without enough time for regular speed travel. Its ok YB, we can still afford to pay the speeding we dont abuse that as much like you did.

We would not idiotic drivers cruise at insane speed. Just increase 10-15kmh is more than enough for us,
    Thank you very much.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
  • roxas on Mar 20, 2015 at 2:52 pm

good good, bcoz i prefer 130kmh than 110kmh ! my car is relaxing at 130

• symusty on Mar 20, 2015 at 2:53 pm

Having lived in Germany and experienced European roads, German roads are higher quality than the surrounding countries. Just cross the border into France or the Netherlands, you will notice the difference almost immedietely.

Yeah, sure, you can increase the speed limit, but there are many changes needed first.

1) Road standards and quality
    2) Let’s make sure most of our nation can afford to drive fast safely and comfortably. Even the current speed limit is too much for your Kancil or Wira.
    3) Enforcement of rules. We need less recklessness on the highway.

No speed limit is not a priority. Those things above are.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
    • kadajawi (Member) on Mar 20, 2015 at 7:26 pm

Are you kidding me? Which roads are you talking about? In towns, German roads are awful. Just look at Berlin. Potholes you can get lost in. Between towns, a bit better, but fix here and there. Highways are ok, no potholes, but not exactly smooth. It’s nice and wide for the most part though, with a proper emergency lane (but not all highways have that). However French highways are smooth as silk. It’s like floating. You have to pay for that though, the tolls are ridiculous. Can pay hundreds of Euro just to cross the country!

The difference between driving on German highways vs French and Dutch ones is the quality of the drivers. Germans are faster, but they stick to the slow lane unless overtaking (for the most part, there are always some idiots/beginners/foreigners who don’t).

• symusty on Mar 21, 2015 at 1:47 am

I lived in the Hesse region, around Frankfurt and Stuttgart. Indeed the roads in Berlin aren’t as great.

It probably depends on the region. Entering France from Switzerland is not the same as entering from Germany.

• kadajawi (Member) on Mar 21, 2015 at 10:15 am

I lived in East Germany as well as in the region around Cologne and in Black Forest, it’s worse in the East, though road condition in the rest of Germany is getting worse and worse too. Fortunately the highways are kept in a reasonable condition.

I’ve avoided driving on Swiss highways as I’m not willing to pay their ridiculous tolls…

As for France… I’ve driven through it many times (frequently in the 90s, once in a while in the 00s), from the South of Germany or from Luxembourg to the East coast of Spain, and the roads are in much better condition IMHO. Haven’t driven there in the past few years (took a plane instead because of the high tolls), but I doubt it has crumpled in the past few years.

Now, that is talking about highways. Normal French roads make you understand why the French like soft suspensions.

• Sparcov on Mar 20, 2015 at 2:54 pm

Overly ambitious
    1. Our road “highway” are not designed for high speed.
    2. Our drainage system and dewatering system are not designed for high speed.
    3. Our road condition ” tarmac ” pavement are not properly done.
    4. We have a lot motorcycle travelling at 110 km/h on fast lane – middle lane – slow lane
    5. We have a lot lorry, trailer, container lorry travelling at middle lane and slow lane.
    6. Our maintenance road work barrier are not properly aligned or lid up.
    7. Our Proton Car and perodua car are not designed for highspeed.
    8. Our tyre, different brand from different country have sub- standard.
    9. We have toll
    10. Traffic is heavy
    11. Lorry just park at the road side due to breakdown and no warning sign.

Now, already a lot accident.

With above issue, you still want to increase road speed?

Make sure no motorcycle use highway!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 10
    • skyjuice on Mar 20, 2015 at 6:52 pm

Seriously, do you even drive the latest generation of proton/perodua? Are you really sure they are not capable to be driven at high speed?

• kadajawi (Member) on Mar 20, 2015 at 7:40 pm

1. The plus highways can support higher speeds than 110. Maybe not unlimited, but at least 130-140…

2. Make it a conditional speed limit, as they use in Germany. Rain, have to drive 90, 100, 110… depending on how bad the drainage is. Dry, top speed is 130, 150…

3. Plus highways are in better condition than the German autobahn. At least the ones I’ve driven on, from JB to KL.

4. That’s against the rules. Cops should drive on the highway to find and catch offenders. People driving above the speed limit, people hogging lanes, people driving too slow on the faster lanes. Make it a RM 300 fine, and RM 150 go to the cops. They have to have video proof of the offender doing an actual offense, that they have to show the offender. Otherwise he doesn’t have to pay. The 2 cops per station that have issued the most registered samans will get a bonus. That will make cops less likely to take bribes, and even if they get bribed, it will have to be more than RM 150. Plus they’ll be more interested in doing actual work, cause got incentives.

• kadajawi (Member) on Mar 20, 2015 at 7:48 pm

5. So what? Same in Germany, though they are only on the middle lane when overtaking.

6. Maintenance road work means lower speed limits.

7. Proton yes, Perodua no.

8. While the tyres may not be as good, the main problem is people using them way beyond their limit. Already totally used up, still use. Or even people buying tyres that are not legal anymore, at all. Better yet mix all sorts of different tyres. At least per axle, ideally all tyres should be identical. Same brand, same model, same wear. Otherwise it’s very easy to lose control.

9. Er, so what?

10. Again, so what? You don’t think they have heavy traffic in Germany?

11. Enforce that the lorries (and everyone else) needs to place a warning sign (everyone has to have it in their car) that is placed say at least 500 meters from the car/lorry. If there is a curve, place it before the curve. So that people will know.

Increased speed has to come with other fixes to the system, of course. But that doesn’t mean it can’t be done.

Imagine this: American highways are way less safe than German highways. Like 2x the traffic deaths per km they drive. That is even though Americans, like Germans, drive safe cars. They have super wide, super straight highways, and a pretty low speed limit. Why is that so? IMHO they drive too slow. They think what can happen, no one is driving fast, I’ve got plenty of time, I’ll check my phone, surf the web, eat, put on makeup, chat on Whatsapp, … Germans don’t do that. They focus on driving, and they pay more attention to their surroundings because they are fully aware that while they are driving 110, someone else may be driving 250 on the same road, and if they don’t notice them it can be dangerous.

• Sparcov on Mar 23, 2015 at 8:55 am

I owned Proton Satria, Proton Preve and Perodua Myvi.
        I never denied this car cannot speed beyond 150 km/h
        my Satria can hit 200 Km/h with 4G93T. So what? am I putting all the motorist at risk? and even myself?

our road conditions is not there yet! you can’t compare European road and ours. Do you find any motorcycle travelling at the Autobahn?

So before increasing the speed limit, prepare the facilities and infrastructure first! No point speeding to become a developed country while the infrastructure unable to cope it. It is engineering.

After all, it is still the Mentality of the People in Malaysia. The accident rate is just too high. Even though cannot beat Middle Eastern driver.

Rules is rules. The country have rules, is the people break the rules and the enforcement is not strict enough to prevent it from repeating.

• Josh Ling on Mar 20, 2015 at 3:06 pm

instead of speed limits, i think the government should try to find ways to educate or somehow make everyday drivers into someone more responsible on the road, and know when they can speed up and when they have to slow down. speed limit is not a good way to control the accident rate in a region or country.

• kadajawi (Member) on Mar 20, 2015 at 7:56 pm

Delimiting the highway/increasing the speed limit will also force drivers to drive differently and pay more attention. Suddenly it’s not possible to use your phone anymore, because you know the distraction will lead too an accident because some are driving faster. People who drive on the right at 110 won’t have the excuse of going at the speed limit, no one is allowed to drive faster anyway. etc.

• erwinkarim on Mar 20, 2015 at 3:07 pm

if the highways of malaysia, esp the new ones are built like the autobahn standards (thicker road bed, <5% gradient, really high curve radius, banking during corners) and people drove like germans (give way, follow speed limit, use passing lane as a passing lane, stop at stop signs) then yeah, i guess we can have no-speed-limit highways…

• kadajawi (Member) on Mar 20, 2015 at 8:49 pm

Germans follow speed limit? Hahaha. I was caught twice for speeding, and I’m surprised that it was only twice in almost 10 years. I usually drive about 10-20 km/h above the speed limit, and that’s a common practice. If you drive at the speed limit in Germany, say, in a town, you’ll have no car in front and a queue of angry Germans behind you.

I do think Germans are better drivers (on average) than most other countries, but they do tend to drive fast, and some do love to lecture other drivers.

In general they pay more attention to their surroundings (what’s happening behind you is important! IIRC my driving instructor told me to look into the rear mirrors (side and center) around 70% of the time when driving on the highway. Maybe it was 30%, not sure. But in any case that makes you aware of other cars, and makes you able to judge how fast they are driving, if it is possible to overtake.

There is little tolerance for lane hoggers. Cops stop them when they see them, and other drivers will bully them instead of overtaking on the slower lane (which is highly illegal).

IMHO the higher speeds driven on the Autobahn makes the drivers better, and the low fatality rates show that that is the case.

• cendol (Member) on Mar 20, 2015 at 3:07 pm

In future, the Express Bus can reach JB-KL in under 3 hours.

• kadajawi (Member) on Mar 20, 2015 at 7:57 pm

Busses are limited to 100 km/h in Germany. They aren’t able to drive any faster. If they want to follow Germany, do it properly.

• think on Mar 20, 2015 at 3:09 pm

for this article i think i have the rides to stand to my comments below, as a automotive engineer.
    In Malaysia, 99% of cars are being driven for more than 110km/h, no one can deny this. Secondly,the government is giving ridiculous reasons to hide the fact that, our road condition are one of the worst. If 110km/h is the safe limit, then why do ministers are driven fast in their cars escorted with police officers. I have not seen even one made in an accident. With the wrong person in the ministry, only the wrong implementation will took place. Malaysia needs ministers with the respected knowledge of education for their position lead not a open candidate.think

• 4G63T DSM on Mar 20, 2015 at 8:02 pm

As an automotive engineer, you should also realise that it isn’t the stability at speed that is the issue here despite what the ill informed minister says. Many cars can run past 130 and still be very stable.

The real issue is, the stability of the car during rapid reduction of speed is what needs to be addressed before any higher speed can be safely attained.

Things like, ABS, TC, VSC, DSC, etc etc, needs to be in place as many drivers (those without advance traning or high speed track experience) will not know how to properly slow down or perform safe evasive maneuvers. Even then, these are just safety nets, the driver will still need to steer the car…. I’ve seen drivers just panic and completely give up to steer in a simulated emergency condition during advanced drivers training when I was an instructor. I kid you not.

I am in favour of a variable 130km/h speed limit, depending on weather conditions like in Europe but I will always have an uneasy feeling of someone eventually running into the back of me.

That said, the safest way to travel on the NS highway is to follow a impromptu convoy of fast movers. These drivers very often drive very well, in cars that are well maintained and built for high speed. The drivers know to allow sufficient space between cars. I’ve seen them cruise at 160-180 and do it well.

• Lucius Maximus on Mar 20, 2015 at 3:13 pm

Malaysians can’t even afford to give signal when changing lanes.

Ada hati mahu increase speed limit.

Puii!

• jack sparow on Mar 20, 2015 at 3:15 pm

Whoever you are…I’m supporting for you in the next elections!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 13
  • dodgeviper88 on Mar 20, 2015 at 3:16 pm

Jeremy Clarkson wannabe

• kadajawi (Member) on Mar 20, 2015 at 8:00 pm

Apparently Clarkson has no demerit points for speeding. He only drives fast when allowed to, it seems. Or he knows where the cameras are. :D

• Increase the speed limit on Malaysia highway will just help increase the figure of death warrior on road. It is undeniable lot of high quality car on road but dun forget we have Nasi Lemak…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
    • kadajawi (Member) on Mar 20, 2015 at 7:58 pm

That’s called natural selection. It will only make the country stronger… bad DNA is erased. :P

• Best proposal for increase subject to vehicle designation being limited to certain lanes to prevent lane hogging and/or excessive speeds exceeding safety levels:

typical three-lane highway, the left lane be limited to lorries and buses to travel below 90 km/h, while the middle lane for Small and Midsize Vehicles Vans, MPV’s and Trucks limited to speeds between 90-110 km/h and the right lane for Large Vehicles be limited to 120 km/h.

• TT@TT on Mar 21, 2015 at 9:07 am

You are wrong. Even if you drove 200kmh you cannot stay at the right lane. The right lane just for overtaking, after overtaking you need to merge back to the left lane. That the law ‘pandu kiri kecuali memotong’ not pandu kiri kecuali jika memandu 110kmh.

• whatthe on Mar 20, 2015 at 3:32 pm

To become a developed nation the people need a proper mindset. Professional, tolerant, respectful, fair, accountable, responsible etc

How i wish the majority of people in this country display the above

• evenstar on Mar 20, 2015 at 4:51 pm

Fully agreed.

The mentality of her people is more important when comes to gauging a country’s success.

Having world class infrastructures, with coconut shell mentality doesn’t bring us anywhere

• AKoNGz on Mar 20, 2015 at 3:36 pm

Raise speed limit to boost up country’s development???
    Ni belajar kat sekolah mana ni???

You should implement minimum speed limit instead. Highway min speed should be 80/90km/h gradually higher towards the right lanes.

• lth (Member) on Mar 20, 2015 at 3:37 pm

Just last week news propose the limit the Car speed,
    Now suggest to increase the highway limit???

• SH Lim on Mar 20, 2015 at 3:38 pm

I often travel on highway in my 2006 Camry dutifully observing 110kph, at least 7 out of 10 Myvi overtake me, they must be doing at least 120kph. Of course Mercs, BMW, Audi just fly by. 110kph is obviously not realistic, how about 130kph??? After all 110kph is British standard.

• Sampan on Mar 20, 2015 at 3:57 pm

What standard? This is Malaysia!!! We have our own standard. People her got balls of titanium! wira and my I stock can do 160km/h sap sap Sui. Not to mention the one driving actual German car that basically flashing their high beam all the way at north south hw.

• fizal hashim on Mar 20, 2015 at 3:43 pm

I drove 150 km/h..
    Just pray no speed trap.
    110 km/h so boring..then u caught by sleepy..
    Zaman proton saga 1988 110 ok la.

• AVH (Member) on Mar 20, 2015 at 3:54 pm

“the cars driven by Malaysians these days were of high quality and had the ability to traveling at high speeds”

High quality by our standard, sitting in something in what 75% of typical Malaysian has makes you appreciate how well, and thoroughly built and solidly engineering, cars the other 25% has. Of course that has not stop many simpleton bringing their Myvi close to the sound barrier.

As most of the problem listed, there is also Malaysia ego. now I do concede I have a habit of driving a few kph above the speed limit and among my bad driving habits, left lane overtaking is one of them, but every now and than there will be those who drives at the highest of speed and squeezing in the tightest of corner; swerving in and out at the mere millimeters to the opposing cars paint. This becomes more apparent in the early mornings.

Than theres what I believe the biggest problem of Malaysian drivers in general, the road hogs. The slow lanes of most highway in Malaysian is terribly underutilized, many prefer the comfort and consistency of just staying in the fast lane doing 90kph. Than also there is the sheer lack of effort given to some rather capable cars when it comes to overtaking, car on the left does 80kph, and they shall overtake them at 80.25kph, living nothing but frustrated and disgruntled drivers in its wake.

Also there is the motorbike problem, I have many times encountered lone motorcyclist, neither here nor there in the fast-middle lane, I also believe motorcycle should stick to the left as much as possible if there is no cars, giving priority of the slow lane to cars and lorries.

In general, even if our cars are high quality, the drivers are eons away from evolving to that mentality of that in ‘developed’ counter. Road hogging, lack of mirror usage and indecisiveness, and poor situation awareness is something Malaysian are very, very poor at. Now I do not know of things are much better in Europe, Japan or the Americas as I have never been to anywhere outside Malaysia other than Korea, but I don’t think its anywhere as bad as Malaysia.

• tokmoh. on Mar 20, 2015 at 6:15 pm

Another thing need to stop jakun.

Accident on opposite lane or at road shoulder, jam as fark, then suddenly smoooooth.

Wasting time, too many nosy farking idiots.

• tokmoh. on Mar 20, 2015 at 6:17 pm

And people need to get concept of overtaking lane.

Like Richard Hammond said, it’s like toilet, u get in, u do ur thing, then u get the fark off.

• many of us forget that speed limit is the MAXIMUM speed limit u can go.if speed limit is 150kmh doesnt mean the driver need to drive at 150kmh..of course he can drive at 100kmh if he want.so for me i think we should increase the speed limit,maybe to 130kmh. car with smaller engine maybe the limit is maintained at 110kmh etc.

• sudonano (Member) on Mar 20, 2015 at 3:55 pm

Ok, so while I might not agree on the part where it will speed up development, i think it is high time we boost up our speed limits. Tbh, policing our speed actually makes it quite dangerous. I’d rather be concentrating on the road than concentrating on my speedo.

• Somchai on Mar 20, 2015 at 4:03 pm

maximum speed limit 130km/h and mininum speed limit on the middle and right lane should be imposed too.

• kapchai on Mar 20, 2015 at 4:14 pm

Are you allowed to drive a Trabant on the autobahn?

• kadajawi (Member) on Mar 20, 2015 at 8:07 pm

Yes. It will do 110, 125 depending on the version. You’ll be scared to death and deaf, but it can do it. Some modified ones can easily go beyond 200.

• Woman on Mar 20, 2015 at 4:15 pm

WOMAN DRIVER

• drMpowe on Mar 20, 2015 at 4:41 pm

Has he ever driven on autobahn before? Or being driven there? I dont think he really understand how things work over there. Thanks but no thanks.

I am proposing another solution on driving higher speed. Give me a concession for a high speed highway network. Ala PLUS but my highway is no speed limit version. But, there is BIG BUT.

My no speed limit highway gives access to selective kind of vehicles only. And users got to pay premium on the services not to mention they are legally tied on the law sides not to summon the concession owner that is me. We will built the highway and the services tip top standard i.e complete with all kinds of safety stuffs. The vehicles are electronically tagged so that the access points let only the permissible kinds to pass.

And the best bit is there will be no crazy wings turbo maniac myvis or whatever vehicles deemed too dangerous to be driven. And no motorbike whatever mopeds as well. I allow ferraris porsches and they can speed up as much they want. I make money and if they die its not my problem

• kancilemas on Mar 20, 2015 at 4:47 pm

my 1996 660cc 5 speed manual kancil can go to 150km/hr in less then 7 seconds. should be no problem for this new speed limit. kancil, sebijak anda.

• Sam Loi on Mar 20, 2015 at 4:47 pm

The best way is remove import taxes on import cars, let Malaysian can afford better cars than DOMESTIC CARS. Talking about safety import cars even much more better that DOMESTIC CARS, able to reduce accident possibilities on high speed.

• kadajawi (Member) on Mar 20, 2015 at 8:04 pm

Are you kidding me? A Proton Iriz Premium is safer than most more expensive cars in Malaysia. As long as Malaysians are willing to pay a lot for junk, just because of the badge, that is what Malaysians will be offered. Hyundai charges RM 4000 for 4 airbags (the Elantra is offered with 2 airbags and stability control, or, with the same specs, for 4k more, with 6 airbags and stability control). At the very most it costs 4k for 4 additional airbags. Base spec Myvi is around 40k? So the version from 45k onwards should have 6 airbags. Same with all the other cars.

Safety isn’t expensive, but it doesn’t sell cars in Malaysia, so manufacturers focus on features that do sell cars. Like big rims or body kits. Tax or no tax makes no difference.

• waterman on Mar 20, 2015 at 4:48 pm

grabbing a chair and unpacking popcorns for good show!

• Kapcai on Mar 20, 2015 at 4:50 pm

What kind of retards we have as MP? I thought only BN MPs are capable of making ludicrous statement, now it had crept to the other side of the bench too.

• Fauzi on Mar 20, 2015 at 4:54 pm

Rosnah … Hear the question carefully. Then reply. LOL

• Just Like that on Mar 20, 2015 at 4:56 pm

“The theory is that drivers on roads with no speed limits pay greater attention to what’s happening on the road and spend less time worrying about speed traps and staying within a certain speed limit.”

Totally agree with this statement. i have driven in USA, Europe, UK, and of course Asia (left and right hand drive), We are a million miles apart from courtesy, manners and discipline, know how, rules on the road while driving. I am not saying there are no idiots overseas but when u have driven in other countries such as UK & USA, its miles apart. Nobody tries to run u over as a pedestrian even.

• 4G63T DSM on Mar 20, 2015 at 8:09 pm

Well, if you run over some people there its basically the end of your life as you know it.

Here, its perhaps some inconvinient paperwork.

Surprise Surprise then, the Highway speed limits on the 400 Series highway around Toronto are only 100km/h. But, the police usually don’t bat an eye unless you are way north of 120 (the unofficial limit) or driving erratically or dangerously.

• evenstar on Mar 20, 2015 at 5:00 pm

Does anyone tried to travel 150km/hr on Putrajaya-Dengkil road before?

This stretch of road is so bumpy. You could bounce off the road anytime.

How can Malaysia be a developed nation, when we doesn’t know how to build a proper road in our nation’s capital?

• kadajawi (Member) on Mar 20, 2015 at 8:11 pm

Then make THAT road 110 km/h, or even less if 110 is too much. However there are some highways that can easily do more.

Though I do have to say it depends very much on the car you drive in. My Kangoo will easily do 120 km/h without feeling unsafe or unstable, despite the road being bumpy, but in a Myvi or worse yet Rusa? Never. I’d be driving 70 or 80.

• mustafa on Mar 20, 2015 at 5:12 pm

150 is too much…but Try increase to 120km/h first….most car on the road should be able to reach and maintained 120km/h quite easily…even the axia…but i agree with the suggestion to have a minimum speed too…say 60km/h….

• Jason Ho on Mar 20, 2015 at 5:13 pm

At the end of the story, Malaysian can only drive less that set speed limit as there are simply due to too many car, traffic jam, pot holes and road hogging drivers on Malaysian road.

• thepolygonal on Mar 20, 2015 at 5:21 pm

“Malaysia should allow cars to travel faster in order to progress towards becoming a developed nation”

Wow.. I didn’t know road speed limit berkadar secara langsung dengan nation progress.

Anyway I think higher speed limit in 3 lanes highways are good. The current 110 in north south express way is a bit dated especially along the long straight stretch areas… maybe up it a bit on safe areas to clear the traffic fast. Remain low speed in hazardeous areas.

• Before increase the speed limit they should solve the road issues like bunch of hole,rough road,which skyrocketly increase the accident cases and also educate ppl to drive fast in fast lane and drive slow in slow lane which ppl don’t always follow everytime :/

• Split Limits on Mar 20, 2015 at 5:34 pm

Hands up if you’ve seen cars looking destined for the scrapyards on our highways. How can these cars that are not maintained, having bumpers dangling out or held by duct tape be allowed on the roads? Similarly, look at that overloaded lorry overtaking on the fast lane,looking like it may tip over to one side when it corners. It must be a lack of enforcement here. These are all driver attitudes which have to be corrected first before allowing any speed limit increase.

I was being driven my colleague on the Autobahn last year in his BMW330i. He averaged almost 170kph on the fast lane to Munich but I felt very safe that I dozed off during the journey. The drivers there are so disciplined and curteous that they keep their distance from the vehicle in front of them and signal in advance before switching lanes. Not once, did I feel that I was in any danger.

Try setting your cruise control to 110-120kph on our highway and count the times you had to suddenly brake when some idiot suddenly jumps into your lane without signalling.

I’ve driven in France highways and the speed limit there is 130kph and it drops to 110kph in rain/fog/snow conditions. I can even set the autocruise to 130kph from toll to another toll 50km away without once stepping on the brakes.

Until Malaysians change their driving attitudes, the speed limit change will never be realistic or safe.

• kadajawi (Member) on Mar 20, 2015 at 8:13 pm

The theory is that by raising the speed limit, attitudes will change, behavior will change. Germans drive the way they do, with giving signal, with not overtaking on the slower lane, with keeping to the right (slow) lane unless overtaking, because otherwise it’s too dangerous with the speeds some drive.

Who knows, maybe that works in Malaysia too?

• Politicians Aren't Smart on Mar 20, 2015 at 5:43 pm

Just goes to show stupid politicians are everywhere on both sides. Higher speed limit on the highways = developed country?!

• yn7004 on Mar 20, 2015 at 6:09 pm

Car yes. Manner yes. Road yeaah. I’ll say 150 km/h is reasonable but of course, NO SPEED LIMIT FTW!

• ben yap on Mar 20, 2015 at 6:30 pm

Vivas and Kancils should be ban on highways.

they are actually motorcycles with 4 wheels.

raise the speed limit to 130km/h is just right.

• mastermind on Mar 20, 2015 at 6:30 pm

Where is human right….Where is SUHAKAM WHERE IS BAR COUNCILL???
    I suggest abolish the speed limit…our road …we have our right im pay taxx….HAHAHAHHA…
    ###FREEDOM MOVEMENT..
    #FREEDOM FOR DRIVER NO POLICE NO LAWS AND NO SPEED LIMIT…..

CHOOSE PR NOW…#FREEDOM FROM PAYING TAXES; GST, QUIT RENT,LAND TAX etc…
    VOTE 4 PAKATAN… NO SPEED LIMIT NO EXPRESSWAY….NO TOLL…NO LOAN…NO CRIME

• 150 will be too fast..should set at 130..110 is nothing now..even kapcai also can go until 160..btw today kena cucuk at 160 by Vios and finally gave way to him..i bet he is driving at least 180..

• fairuz on Mar 20, 2015 at 6:39 pm

who say malaysian car cnnot drive fast? last time i saw saga flx drove at 150-170.maybe die tengah sakit perut sgt nak cari toilet.and not to mention those kancil that were equipped with that “turbo” exhaust

• padanmuka BN on Mar 20, 2015 at 6:40 pm

Last time say limit vehicle speed.
    Today say higher vehicle speed limit

Tomorrow, no speed limit?

The govt ppl are just plain jokers…Their thinking is worst than 2 years old chimpanzee.

• Average Joe on Mar 20, 2015 at 10:18 pm

The motion was mooted by the PKR MP of Lumut. Not BN backbenchers. Kau nak mengutuk laju jer tapi tak baca habis…aparaa

• Pondan on Mar 20, 2015 at 7:02 pm

Whatca waste on rakyat resources to employ such brainless MP.

Gov should spend more time dealing with hard issues such as high nation debt, corruptions, ridiculous gov spending and all those real issue.

• All readers here would want a higher speed limit. However when it is suggested by BN minister, all must condemn, bash, spit on, and burn it at the stake.
    But if this same suggestion is given by PR, all will praise, create a new song about it, share this good news with Mkini, harakah, yahoo, FB, twitter, wechat, line, face-to-face, and even not so face-to-face. Oh well

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
  • Pondan on Mar 20, 2015 at 7:03 pm

With this kind of rubbish MPs, I’m wondering what kind of develop nation that we r talking about……..

• choha on Mar 20, 2015 at 8:03 pm

no wonder Malaysia ranks as one of the highest nation with accident rates…no matter how good the car, speed kills!
    let paul walker serves as lesson to all

• GERMAN CAR LOVER AKA JIAN on Mar 20, 2015 at 8:08 pm

Well their a lot of road accidents because of the driver behind the wheel and not because of the speed limit.To increase the speed limit, we need to have better roads.Since I am a person who goes above 200km/h on a daily basis I have to say certain highways in Malaysia are good enough to go above fast such as PLUS and LEKAS while the other ones are pure bad

• The thing is, 150km limit or 110km does not matter, for the past months driving rounds from PJ to Sepang:
    1) fastest vehicle – Lorry and Busses. If polis or JPJ just set a block between sepang and subang, every day hundreds tickets for lorry and busses
    2) 2nd fastest – MyVi , Viva, Wira modifed , Hilux/other double can, and the bravest rampit!
    3) occasion – those man in black car where all tinted with some badge
    4) rarely – Ferarri , Lambor

• SPEEDDEMON on Mar 20, 2015 at 9:28 pm

Speedlimit is ok but minimum speed is important,as u seen some XXXX people just driving at 40km/h -60km/h at fast lane…should implement the minimum speed limit to let our highway go smoothly!!

• With that mentality so pervasive amongst Malaysian drivers, I fear the safety of my life if they lift the speed limits on expressways in Malaysia.

• Having lived in Germany, I can tell you the system is quite comprehensive to ensure safety and freedom of no speed limit.
    No speed limit is only available on highway route going away from cities. As you approach a city you will see speed limit since traffic builds up in these area.
    The typical passenger car speed is 160+ km/h. The average speed shown in the article is probably due to the speed limit of trucks which is limited to 90km/h only.
    BMWs and Mercedes normally drives on the left (fast lane) at over 200km/h.

To ensure safety, safety checks on your car every two years is mandatory. And the regulations are very strict. This means cars sold in Germany are of higher safety level (i.e. more expensive to make) and the maintenance cost is higher due to the mandatory safety checks.
    If Malaysia can implement similar system then I see no reason why you all can’t drive with no speed limit.

• Average Joe on Mar 20, 2015 at 10:20 pm

In fact, 110 km/h has been the standard maximum speed limit for most expressways around the globe, including in the UK : 70mph or 113 km/h. Germany’s Autobahn is special case; do have a look at their highway specs and atomobile standards first before comparing. I wonder what is the PKR MP of Lumut trying to say. Is he saying that the UK too is not yet a developed nation simply because their speed limit is more or less like ours?

What we badly need is the enforcement of a minimum speed limit since there are many motorists driving ridiculously slow on expressways when there’s no hazard or bad weather or severe congestion ahead. These motorists pose danger to other motorists who have to switch lane frequently just to keep a safer distance away of them.

• khian on Mar 20, 2015 at 10:42 pm

Raise or lower doesnt matter.. as if anyone is even obeying the traffic rules at the moment. nothing will change except the road signs. welcome to malaysia. Sigh

• Fahrerlaubnis on Mar 20, 2015 at 11:09 pm

Talk about how good ‘die deutsche autobahn’ & the civic of the deutsche driver..there are some action taken behind it..strict n quite a lot polizei on the autobahn either with official police car or even in disguise car.do google n youtube it.the polizei even roam in the 2am in the morning and catch a overspeed car in front of me!lorries n trucks are banned on sundays on the autobahn.but all summons i got from their aes ranging eur30-80 depends on how fast u drove.but the main thing is-demerit point..go google ‘punkte flensburg’.they implemented it since 70’s..so,imo thats how the deutsche are quite discipline.dont say about blinker-its a norm for deutsche..give way when needed.the tech?yes, many dynamic speed limit signage on autobahn, thick layer of asphalt..better concrete layered in some section (unlike rough ns highway gurun stretch).so..just go with 130kph..but those enforcemnt n tech must be implement in short time after that.

• rchoo on Mar 20, 2015 at 11:37 pm

Here we are discussing about speed limit (maximum drivable speed). The consideration should be based on the road geometry alone, that is the circular curve, eye sight clearance, super elevation and of course if the area has cross wind or not? That being the case, Malaysia highway definitely can allow for higher speed maybe 150-170KM/hour, a lot of cars in Malaysia can travel comfortably with total control. Of course, if it rains or your car is not comfortable at high speed, you should then lower the speed, you should be able to judge. Note that we are talking about speed limit (maximum comfortable speed), i.e maximum comfortable speed for some cars, of course, some is only comfortable at lower speed due to many factors such as cars, health, weather etc.

• “As for the Autobahn, yes it’s true that some sections do not have speed limits.”

It comes with a price:

-Mandatory TÜV (PUSPAKOM) check every two years
    -Cars found not roadworthy are de-registered
    -Hefty fines for not keeping the safety distance
    -Hefty fines for overtaking on the wrong side of the road
    -All modifications need TÜV (PUSPAKOM) approval (including sportrims and tyres)

• Remus on Mar 21, 2015 at 12:11 am

With our current driving culture i dont think we’re matured enough for a higher speed limit.

• Boy Racer (Member) on Mar 21, 2015 at 12:13 am

As much as I love having a higher speed limit, it doesn’t mean that it equals to progressing towards a developed nation. I would not be surprised if it caused more road accidents. What we really need is to first educate and teach our fellow Malaysian drivers how to drive properly. Then only we can think about achieving a developed nation, higher speed limit, etc.

• Toyota Salesman Crying on Mar 21, 2015 at 1:28 am

Actually as a kimchi owner, I would support this.

When we only get RM35k for a 18 month old Elantra, it would be better if I total the car in a crash.

I just need to prey that all the airbags work, otherwise i kaput

• Rokuth on Mar 21, 2015 at 1:37 am

I say we have both! Have speed governors installed in cars to limit their top speed to 110kmh AND increase the speed limit. That way the government can claim that they are acting to save lives and proving to the world that Malaysia is a modern progressive country with a higher speed limit.

Yes, I am just joking…

• Myvi R on Mar 21, 2015 at 9:06 am

When is Myvi RS and Viva RS coming out to handle those kind of speed?

• Kg Steven on Mar 21, 2015 at 9:07 am

Speed limit should be increased to 140 kmh. That will be a nice cruising speed.

Then again enforcement should come down hard on road hogging and people who used emergency lane as another lane.

I realised many young driver always drive their perodua or godcar zig zagging and emergency lane like their own private track.

Like some poster have mentioned that it all boils down to educating drivers when they try to get their licence. Our method in training this folks to get license need to be revamped as the current system is considered not sufficient.

• Crash at 110km/h or 150km/h not much different. I suggest speed limit 130km/h. And minimum speed must 110km/h. Compound who Drive under 110km/h. Haha

• BLT_Club on Mar 21, 2015 at 11:57 am

Pay higher road tax and same toll to use the same highway as MyVi, Kancil, Vios and Saga. But speed limited cause these cars are unsafe at high speeds? WTH? Let the natural selection take place. If these ppl are dumb enough to drive fast in a crap car, who needs them around?

• Diesel Power!!! on Mar 21, 2015 at 12:41 pm

We still have more than 20 years car on the road, and they r talking abt 150km/h??? wat a joke!!!

They can come out this nonsense bcoz they r driving high end conti-car!!!

Make sure all the car equipped with all the necessary safety equipment such as traction control, Brake assist, airbags, abs, before coming out such a crazy idea!!

Make sure all the road are brightly lighted, no potholes firstlah!!!

• Diesel Power!!! on Mar 21, 2015 at 12:49 pm

Sometime i really wonder wat is the requirement to become a MP or work in high ranking gment related agency?

Can some1 list down all the superb suggestion by our intelligent ppl:
    1. Install speed limited to 110km/h in vehicle.
    2. Increase speed limit to 150km/h in highway.
    3…

• Ann hock on Mar 21, 2015 at 2:15 pm

I would like to suggest increase it to 120km/hr for engine capacity below 2L… and for car with 2L engine and above you can limit speed to 150km/hr.
    also maybe consider ban car and Motor with engine capacity 1L and below on the highway when public transport system is mature. iE all town connect by bullet train.

• wow…increase speed limit? serious ka?

wait until u see how fast the lorries & buses will travel then…

• mason_ on Mar 21, 2015 at 3:59 pm

150 km/j is seemly more dangerous..
    130 Km/j is probably more suited considering the high volume traffic in Malaysia roads..

• Tok Kok on Mar 21, 2015 at 4:28 pm

I think we truly want to go faster, is not to raise the speed limit up so high to 150. 130 is a reasonable cruising speed, even for entry level sedans such as the Vios and Almeras. Of course Kancils, Kenaris and such shouldn’t go so fast. Even with our current 110kph limit, we don’t see many of our little Peroduas pushing it.

Another thing is to raise the speed limit on certain roads. Sprint Highway’s road quality is excellent, but limited only to 80kmh, which is quite ridiculous. Sprint is the only one I can get off the top of my head, but I’m sure there are more such examples.

• Driving slow until yawn few times and the eyes get drowsy is way worse than driving fast.
    I drive old volvo and merc..110-120kmh feels nothing. Always yawn like watching frozen.
    Should saman according to car makes…speed gun catches myvi/viva/kancil/wira/charade/proton saga doing 150kmh should definitely saman. Conti stable cars like merc, volvo, bentley, caddillac should saman when driving below 120kmh on right lane. Then malaysia roads will be less traffic because no stupid slow drivers hogging right lane.

• unknownfreedom on Mar 22, 2015 at 2:38 am

base on the comments tons of crappy drivers spotted, the proposal has a point, at least autobahn works, but first please set up a proper driving schools to train these drivers 1st…….

then comes the problem of infrastructure design, 2 lanes become 3 lanes then back to 2 then 3 then 4 then back to 3, or 5~6 lanes from different direction merge into 3/4 lanes, genius design.

at least increase to 130, any new car including the cheapest 1 can reach tat speed easily once u put ur foot down.

and imo driving slow in left lane is way more dangerous than driving fast in right lane, obstacles blocking or lorry buses aiming ur ass in high speed

• Annoynimouse on Mar 22, 2015 at 9:57 am

This is about the only good thing heard from MPs in years… They can implement it, but the users have to be educated and re-educated on how to use the no-speed limit hiway or some will use it as an excuse to drive recklessly. The education should start with the MPs and the MP family members first…

• Diamond Lane is more important. Reduces the congestion and parking woes. Save on parking and toll fees. God how this makes sence. Promote the car pooling habit. So many people just drive to work and park there 9-5. For those who require their vehicles all day, sure you get stuck in trafic, but its gonna be at least 1/3 less.

• Maybe they should improve the quality of the highway before introducing higher speed limit.

• zeigler on Mar 22, 2015 at 10:59 pm

I think speed limit of 140kmh would be just nice…i drives my viva normally and with out putting much effort on the accelerator I can reach around 120 to 130 kmh…and I can easily handle it for such a light car so for bigger cars shouldn’t be any problem like accident Etc. So accident is really depends on the skills of thr driver and frankly speaking I been driving for 10 years And I have not face any accident.

• Ali Karim on Mar 22, 2015 at 11:22 pm

I agree with Lumut MP Haji Mohamad Imran. In fact I feel it should be raised up to 200kph. The only problem is that we need to educate some 80% nincompoop drivers the meaning of “IKUT KIRI JIKA TIDAK MEMOTONG”.

• SavvyKL on Mar 22, 2015 at 11:24 pm

I would suggest 1 year try run 120km in highway with 3 line minimum,than study accident rate, traffic flow, before permanant fix at 120km, over 130km some people may not able to handle if any emergency happens need stop.
    120km/h still nice speed already for our culture.

• fast n furious on Mar 23, 2015 at 1:31 am

At last, a MP who is saying the right thing!
    Whoever wants to drive slow can drive on the slow lane, or the old state road. Highway is for speed.

• chong on Mar 23, 2015 at 1:37 am

Yay… finally I can speed leagally and I wont fall asleep easily on the highway when there’s a AES speed trap…

• what speed limit? :-)

• CAL_V on Mar 23, 2015 at 6:09 pm

150km/h ?? Try it 120/130km/h first. Seeing those local made cars(older generations) with not much safety feature “flying” on the fast lane with 140km/h and above is quite scary. New one are quite a lot better, more safety feature and ASEAN NCAP stars, but when you’re saying how good it is compare to Japanese car or even European cars, there are lots of room for improvement (Exora is not a great car to drive on the highway, I really mean it.)

I think the first thing to improve is the driving etiquette and knowledge of Malaysian drivers. If you expect someone that can’t even drive properly on a city road (never use signal, use accelerator to control speed and never use the brake lights) to be driving with that kind of speed on highway, you’re asking for problem. And the driving test is so darn easy to pass or even bribe (don’t deny it, many have done it and I’ve seen it, they even have packages to choose from!), and it only consist of some really really short course and no highway test.

Not to offend lady driver, I’ve personally encountered many lady driver that aren’t focusing on driving, either on phone( holding the flashy iPhone on her steering wheel), trying to do some make up, finding something on the floor mat and etc, or some even cut into other lane without any signal as if they just don’t care(like you must let me pass!!!). They must have bigger guts than most of the guys. Just kidding, many male drivers drive like a maniac as well (driving 110km/h in housing area, how about the kids riding a bicylcle? Their life worth less than your time?).

And on highway, modified cars going insanely fast (they just fly by, like 200km/h?), is that even safe? There are fast drivers that are good at it, and some just driving recklessly. I’ve once asked few of my friends, why they always drive so fast on highway. The answer simply is “I can’t really control the gas, it just speed up that fast.” or ” I felt lots of headroom on the gas pedal, so I went all out, and eventually get used to it.”. All those are BS answer, can’t control? Ride a bicycle then or even walk, see if you can control your legs. I don’t recommend driving fast, and both my old Merc is not so comfy going that fast as well(usually doing 110, occasionally 120 when overtake or I can’t find a spot to cut back into mid lane),but slow hogs on the first lane, you’re meant to be bullied to learn a lesson, lol..

Comparing us to euro countries? Far from it, do it from the basics pls. Stop suggesting ideas that are not practical just yet.

What about the speed limiter suggestion? Didn’t work out right, and how about the existing AES system, according to one of the previous post here, there stated only 5 of the AES system were functioning currently. That’s ridiculous, I thought I saw a list long of spots having AES on the newspaper when they first launch it( I remember the one in the forest and one on the sea). Now what? They “ate” all of it? And the acquisition of the system from the 2 private company that cost is counting on Billion. Why not improvise what we have now to the best, then in the meantime suggest something practical to enhance it. Instead of launch, fail, waste money, ban.

This is so darn long, here’s your potato.

• My suggeston is you could increse it to 120km which is resaonable speed limit on all situations as some stretches are straight with less vehicle capacity.
    Next improve the safety features of the roads and improve enforcement on highways.
    Make defensive driving compulsary for all driving schools

• If you drive a proton or myvi, know your limits and keep to a safe speed ie. 110.

If you drive a sturdy mobile, its easy to fall asleep at 110kph, so 160 will keep you more alert and oso safer for all.

110kph is oso consider quite high speed for people who’s not good in driving. But maybe too slow for people who knows his stuff on the road. So how you justify 110kph as a safety standard?

Since only 10% of cars in Malaysia is capable of high speed, then perhaps the government need to review why the 2 national car brands are so lacking behind international standards since both national car brands makes up most of the 90% due to business engineering.

And since the 90% of everyday joe cars are not up to safety standards at higher but reasonable speed, does that mean the 2 national car makers are impairing Malaysia from moving our status upwards?

If the Malaysian highways are still not fit for speed above 150kph then please send real experts to find out why because Malaysian do pay a lot getting on the highways. If they cant even match international standards then…..

If an idiot want to do 150kph in any class of car he will do it with or without the speed limits. So will the speed limits really give you the glorified figures targeted as acceptable reduction in number of accidents?

• Concerned on May 03, 2015 at 4:09 pm

….Vehicles with a low top speed of less than 60 km/h as well as motorcycles and scooters with a small engine capacity are banned from the autobahn….