Peugeot 308 – this is how a GST pricelist looks like

10314000_842049265832449_4384472413024913928_n

Wonder how car pricelists are going to look like after the implementation of GST on April 1 2015? This pricelist for the yet to be launched 2015 Peugeot 308 has found its way onto social media under the P2CM Facebook group. Please note the ‘Est’ (estimated) disclaimer on the document as the car is not launched yet.

Basically you have the Nett Selling Price which includes inspection, handling and an RM50 number plate cost. The government’s 6% GST is then added to the Nett Selling Price. Then insurance costs are added on, of which the amount is already inclusive of 6% GST. If you have NCB, this amount will be different for you.

Finally, registration fee, road tax and ownership endorsement fees are added on. These three charges are not subject to GST as they are charged by the government so GST isn’t applicable.

2015 Peugeot 308 Spec Sheet

The new estimated price of just under RM140k might seem like quite a hike compared to the outgoing model’s RM119k list price, but this is not because of GST. The new 308 has significantly equipment levels including a class-first Dynamic Cruise Control feature, which uses a radar sensor to allow the 308 to automatically keep a pre-set distance from the car in front of it.

Other revealed kit include six airbags, ABS, ESP stability control, Hill Start Assist, Emergency Collision Alert, Emergency Collision Braking, 18-inch “Saphir” alloy wheels, LED headlights and fog lights, keyless entry, push-button start, reverse camera, Alcantara seats with electric lumbar and massage function, panoramic roof, six-speaker Arkamys sound system and an enormous 9.7-inch touchscreen that controls everything from multimedia, telephony, vehicle settings and even the dual-zone auto climate control.

Under the hood is a new engine which produces 150 PS at 5,000 rpm as well as 240 Nm from 1,450-4,000 rpm, all sent through a six-speed Tiptronic automatic transmission to the front wheels. The engine features a new turbocharger and piston designs, as well as an ECU that has been fine-tuned to suit our fuel quality.

GALLERY: Peugeot 308 at Glenmarie showroom

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• spongewai on Mar 23, 2015 at 1:44 pm

so this is call turun harga right?!

pls don’t lie to us

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 189 Thumb down 11
    • OMG…Wah the new P 308 so damn cheap…Walau, after GST, lagi super damn cheap…(sarcastic)

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 86 Thumb down 6
    • Farker on Mar 23, 2015 at 3:07 pm

Already high car price, now somemore tax 6%. This 6% might be increased to 7-8% if they said not enough money. Brace malaysian

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 5
      • kzm (Member) on Mar 23, 2015 at 4:07 pm

U forget they swap the 10% sales tax to 6% GST

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 36
        • JB_KIA on Mar 23, 2015 at 4:29 pm

10% sale tax is imposed on CIF (importer’s cost). 6% gst is imposed on selling price. so final price up or down depends so much on distributor’s profit margin. plz correct me, if needed. thx

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 3
          • Henry on Mar 23, 2015 at 9:25 pm

You are correct.

• JB_KIA on Mar 24, 2015 at 11:45 am

So by looking at the distributors’ margin, I doubt there is any price down after GST implementation.

• dugongx on Mar 23, 2015 at 10:49 pm

The question is why charge GST on Excise duty? That is tax upon tax or double taxation already. Bloody greedy bastards!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 1
    • Maser on Mar 25, 2015 at 12:53 am

There is no way this kit makes up for the proportionately bigger increase in price. The author is attempting to hoodwink us. This website is no longer objective, and impartial. It is simply a mouthpiece of the retailers ripping off the rakyat

• Khaisan on Mar 23, 2015 at 1:45 pm

Ministers still willing emphasize that car price will go down…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 81 Thumb down 5
  • Well, there you have it! Price cheaper? MAA mata buka cakap bohong.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 76 Thumb down 4
  • Amran PEKIDA Ori on Mar 23, 2015 at 1:51 pm

kan betul…mana ada turun.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 5
  • Amran PEKIDA Ori on Mar 23, 2015 at 1:51 pm

kan betul mana ada turun.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
  • joejambol on Mar 23, 2015 at 1:52 pm

im confuse

• Wasnt it RM118,500 for the non face lift model? 9K increase for the new car on Selling price?

• Prices on Mar 23, 2015 at 1:53 pm

Prices aren’t coming down anytime soon

• BLRincrease on Mar 23, 2015 at 9:09 pm

Even BLR also increase. Monthly payment for housing loan already increased by more than 4%.

• stupid msian cars on Mar 28, 2015 at 7:31 pm

To the joker who gave a thumbs down….please explain!

• Giveupmalaysia on Mar 23, 2015 at 1:55 pm

For downpayment 10%
    On top of 127k = 12.7k + 7.66k = around 20k..for the down payment instead of 12.7k..
    bank loan will base on the selling price without GST..

Like this sure P & P close shop.. how rakyat to come out additional money for the GST ??

• Exactly bro, I wonder how does it works? What if some give 100% loan, then the buyer finance the 6% as well? Plus interest will be more than 6%. Just saying!!

• Why no price drop after GST?

• Bare in mind, our ringgit is weakening
      1USD to 3.69MYR today
      Guess who has to foot the bill for currency losses

• alldisc on Mar 23, 2015 at 1:56 pm

7.6k GST on top of excise duty which is, how much again?

Clever government taxing on everything and double taxing and pretending everything is alright

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 5
    • cendol (Member) on Mar 23, 2015 at 2:00 pm

The 6% GST is on top of the existing 200-300% mark up on excise duty and tax duty.
      So ya, it is double taxing

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 63 Thumb down 4
      • Duty Structure on Mar 24, 2015 at 12:07 am

Bullshit 200% tax. For CKD cars below 1.8L the tax is 10% import + 75% excise duty + 6% GST = 91%

• I go to proton dealership couple day ago and they said better booking now before 1/4….. tima kasih la minister

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
  • cendol (Member) on Mar 23, 2015 at 1:59 pm

Then how can the minister keep on saying car prices will drop 1-3% after GST??
    Anyway , minus 1-3 % of out 300% is still 297% mark up from original car price.
    Go figure

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 2
  • Mann Bell on Mar 23, 2015 at 1:59 pm

car price will go down exactly 1 month before election… kerajaan mana ada mungkir janji

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 4
  • heybadigol (Member) on Mar 23, 2015 at 2:01 pm

Thats quite painful to see. Imagine an RM200k car would cost an additional RM12k after GST (assuming no changes to selling price). But is there any reduction in the selling price due to GST (perhaps some taxes previously charged pre-GST but since it will be replaced by GST, it has been abolished or reduced), or is the selling price the same, with or without GST?

• anepmat on Mar 23, 2015 at 2:07 pm

Actually, the old 10% sales tax are not mentioned in the brochure, they are put together with the selling price…so you don’t actually know how much is the tax…but GST demands that the value of tax to be printed..so now you know how much you are taxed…but like some article in the site has cover before..reduction of tax from 10% to 6% doesn’t guarantee price drop..since many things that doesn’t have tax before GST will get taxed…and then there is the depreciation of RM..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 3
  • buy used car better

From The Star
    “Buyers (of used cars) will not be affected by the prices as the GST will be imposed only on the dealers based on the profit from a sale.

“For example, if a used car dealer buys a car from a individual for RM30,000 and sells it to another for RM60,000, the GST will be imposed on the RM30,000 profit,” he explained. – Bernama

• 4G63T DSM on Mar 23, 2015 at 2:34 pm

Incorrect.

The governemnt wont care what sort of profit the dealers make. Just tax and tax. I wont put to much weight what these ministers say.

They are just going to tag on 6% on the final selling price. You think Kastam so stupid and let the dealers and consumers get off so easy ah…

Thats why I just bought a used car, picking car up tomorrow. Even the dealers are trying to offload thier inventories….I have never had so good followup and service from the used car dealers in my life before.

But you are only right to buy a used car BEFORE they implement GST. Its going to be 6% more expensive after.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
      • Change your last sentence to “Its going to be AT LEAST 6% more expensive after.”…

You’ll be lucky if it’s just 6.

• If buyers are lazy to find out this info, its the buyers’ fault for getting conned.
        Looking at the GST price and you can estimate how much the dealer is making.
        If they bulat bulat charge GST on total price, REPORT la..
        Dont need rocket science to calculate that

• harold on Mar 23, 2015 at 2:09 pm

one menteri said GST will make car price cheaper because only charge 6% compare to 10%.

but car sellers are hiking up the price to compensate the sale tax 10% imposed pre-GST

this menteri said the 4% (sales tax 10% – GST 6%) can be reimbursed from government if the car seller can prove the car was made pre-GST

even the car sellers are confused, let alone the rakyat..

• sellerr on Mar 24, 2015 at 11:46 am

of course they are ‘confuse’, especially anything that can give more margin profit

• razifhassan on Mar 23, 2015 at 2:12 pm

i though that GST will replace the sales tax. so it that mean that now each of vehicle have 4 type of tax? excise, import, sales, GST?

• cendol (Member) on Mar 23, 2015 at 2:13 pm

I just need some clarification here.
    Our Malaysian cars will incur excise duty which can be up to 50-300% of original car price.
    So will the GST be included into this 50-300% excise duty?
    If it is, It is double tax already. Tax on tax.

• I think Sales Tax was original already on top of excise duty (tax on tax)
      Apple to Apple wise, I think the calculation is correct

• 4G63T DSM on Mar 23, 2015 at 2:39 pm

Its even worst that that.

First layer – Excise Duties/Import Duties
      2nd layer – sales Tax

3rd layer – Bank loan (and Govn’t tax of banks profit), stamp duty, etc etc.

4th layer – Insurance (and again, the Govn’t tax on the insurance companies profit), and again, stamp duty…etc etc.

All these are coumpounded “taxes”.

I have been saying this all along…. go buy a used car…. 5 year old car and let depreciation eat 50% of the value….or even better, buy a Kimchi, Sam Loo says after 5 years the car only worth 20%….but the best satisfaction as not having to pay more tax to the government which doesn’t put it to good use anyway.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 1
      • Desperate Citizen on Mar 23, 2015 at 5:33 pm

If that is the case, there is no point buying a brand new car with that sort of financial burden.
        I should refurbish and repair my 12 years old car by this week.

• Kemiskinan Rakyat Malaysia

• abdullah on Mar 23, 2015 at 2:27 pm

All these high prices is because of Dr M Proton policy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 5
  • Amran PEKIDA Ori on Mar 23, 2015 at 2:29 pm

u buy car also kena GST,u make loan from bank also kena GST.hahaha. #fml.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
  • “Kerajaan tak pandai nak tipu rakyat.”
    Lol how irony

• lidatliau on Mar 23, 2015 at 2:39 pm

Not like this liau?

Rm127K -10%(sales tax) = rm115k
    New price rm115k +6%(GST)= 122k!!

New price shud be around rm122k incl 6% GST!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
    • Almera on Mar 23, 2015 at 4:18 pm

Look back at the previous Paul Tan article and you will get a clearer picture

http://paultan.org/2015/03/14/gst-impact-car-industry-malaysia/

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
  • this is totally %^#@&%$

• Gracke on Mar 23, 2015 at 2:53 pm

Stupid GST charge….Idiot government!!!!

• anti gst on Mar 23, 2015 at 2:58 pm

Haha, this car is seriously costly now…

• Who said price will go down?! Liars!

• Drop the excise duty, I dont mind paying the GST after that.

Excise duty that makes the car price up!!!!

• salgoodguy on Mar 23, 2015 at 3:06 pm

last time said sales tax (10%) will be replace by gst (6%)…plus minus we will get 4% decrease from selling price, now top up handsomely 6% somemore?…esok boleh pergi mengundi ke?

• I thought 160hp… Only 150hp?? So sad

• I wonder if they exclude sales tax previous from the net selling price, what amount would that be? As predicted, all new car prices are up, so go and argue with your minister now.

• At the end of the day, we are still paying 306% tax. So there is no way the price will fall unless we make the Ministers fall from their seats.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
  • zuchie on Mar 23, 2015 at 3:36 pm

see…i told you already b4 about cars buyer must pay more for GST..but you all thumb down my fact…

• zuchie on Mar 23, 2015 at 3:40 pm

The govemment can pusing pusing cakap ma…”Oh, it not GST…it because the car have more technology”…DA… Orang atas makan daging,orang bawah makan ikan masin.

• Got my 408T with huge discount (20K), with almost all the new 308 tech- 6 speed, new turbo, THP 165, ESC,7 airbag ,ABS…

i think is worth more then this New 308, except the design, touch screen and the lane assist extra 40k not worth it.

• paultan pls pls pls help us to educate our minister on the double tax they force car buyers to pay. this is really out of this world, really ‘cekik darah’..

• Bongcs on Mar 23, 2015 at 4:22 pm

Konek je yang turun

• Malaysia government!! Malaysia government!!! bullshit!!

• fade to black on Mar 23, 2015 at 4:40 pm

they see it turun.. we saw it naik… hahahaha

• I don’t mind the GST but only when our car prices aren’t insanely high…

• penipu besar.

• ProtonGSC on Mar 23, 2015 at 5:20 pm

Let BN supporters be proud to themself… so they can suffer more for blindly support.

Love your cronies Father DrM and his rubbish protection policy.

• blacklatio on Mar 23, 2015 at 5:21 pm

Can’t afford ? Jalan kaki lorhhhh…
    ( said one of those idiots)

• sudonano (Member) on Mar 23, 2015 at 5:52 pm

Looks like Datum Aishah was not pulling a fast one saying that prices were indeed going up.

Customs, as usual taking us for a ride. And it looks like this formula is gonna be applied to all existing cars. Fantastic!

• nabei on Mar 23, 2015 at 6:43 pm

this french car even rm70k i will neverbuy. Useless. reliabilty tarak and no rv

• Samad Jain on Mar 23, 2015 at 7:24 pm

Buy new car kena GST…
    Sell car oso kena GST…

Buy lottery kena GST…
    When win a lottery, will oso kena GST…

Next time mati…..sure kena GST.

Thank you, BN. You make the living and the dead really hard.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
  • GiveupMalaysia on Mar 23, 2015 at 7:46 pm

Those who vote in last election for them, your should blame yourself and nobody else. . Been given a chance to change for better but throw away….. even we manage to change if they don’t do what the rakyat want.. We do change back to them… show the rakyat the power to CHOOSE.. same as our live..who give the best benefit to rakyat .. They will get the ppl vote

• BuyWhatNewCarLa on Mar 23, 2015 at 7:53 pm

kimak… 1 car 4,5 type of tax n duty.. really damn cut throat price..

• ben yap on Mar 23, 2015 at 7:56 pm

when gov says:
    1) price of cars will go down = bullshit
    2) gst will help the country = bullshit
    3) rakyat will not be burdened = bullshit
    4) malaysia economy is going strong = bullshit
    5) petrol price go up and they subsidise a lot = bullshit
    6) petrol price go down and they don’t make money = bullshit

only real thing government say = none.

• ben yap on Mar 23, 2015 at 8:01 pm

RM127,963 for the 308THP includes excise duty & import duty, the rm7,677 GST is taxed on both the excise duty & import duty.

which means double tax?

• 1m4you on Mar 23, 2015 at 9:13 pm

If hisham buddy would purchase a nice audi cash purchace, hence its simple assumption we all should avoid the price post GST. Well kudos

• waiting answer from minister :

1. “jangan beli kereta kalau harga kereta mahal.”
    2. “u tak suka harga kereta mahal, u keluar dari Malaysia.”

#sarcasm

• Not very sure but did they exclude the sales tax from the before GST price?

• dugongx on Mar 24, 2015 at 12:13 am

I got a feeling demand for second hand cars are going to increase. Hence increasing the second hand value to cars. Demand for new cars will reduce followed by lower production/ import of new cars. There is only limited disposable income that regular working class ppl have.

• Gaviny on Mar 24, 2015 at 6:33 am

I thought the net selling price already has gst since this is ckd car ? All the raw material used to build the car is gst charged ?

Now they gst again the nett selling price means tax on tax? Last time I mention also many people say I ignorant so how does this work ?

• puterakupang84 on Mar 24, 2015 at 8:14 am

it is unfair to compare this new price with gst…to be fair PT must come out with the actual nett selling price for this model since the there are a lot of additional features in this model…for example if the new price for this car (without gst) RM120,000.00 , we have to minus 10%(SST) to know the actual price without tax…. RM 120,000.00 – 10% = RM 108,000…so the nett selling price include GST 6% must be RM 108,000.00 + 6% (gst) = RM 114,480, tq

• jimmy on Mar 24, 2015 at 9:23 am

just same spec and different outlook , price up more than 20k….., GST benefit to citizen?????

• Mamat on Mar 24, 2015 at 11:34 am

This is a completely new model so we cannot compare its price against the previous model’s price. Let’s compare car prices being sold now and the prices after April 1. Those without any change in specs.

• fazron on Mar 24, 2015 at 1:45 pm

Why no show the amount of import tax and excise duty for this car so we can hentam gst better. If gst just gst lah why continue with old tax.

• They should also itemise the excise duty paid on the car.

• Hearst Helmsley on Mar 28, 2015 at 6:16 pm

Tuu laaa Siapa Suruh kamu bodoh undi BN… Now sendiri suffer bcoz semua barang naik + gst lagi… Bodoh !!!

• Malaysia went bankruptcy already.

• william on Mar 28, 2015 at 6:53 pm

thought government say car price will drop instead

• Pm menyusahkan rakyat Sahaja

• Rakyat didahulukan, pencapaian diutamakan.

Sekarang dah x main kereta.. Ada jet baru….

• Anonymous on Mar 29, 2015 at 4:12 pm

I think the comparation should be made with cars that are already on the market. Comparing new models won’t show clearly the difference between the SST and GST.

• tanpa nama on Mar 30, 2015 at 8:15 pm

tak yah gdh2,tgu je pru14,tau kan apa pth buat..bising skrg x de guna nya

• tanpa nama on Mar 30, 2015 at 8:16 pm

tgu je pru14,tau kan apa pth buat