Uber offering supercar service in Singapore until May

uber-singapore-supercar-dream-drive-1

Of course, some of us have been lucky enough to be picked up in big Jags and Audis through Uber, but how would you like to get to your destination in, say… a Lamborghini Gallardo Spyder or a Maserati GranTurismo? You’d make quite an entrance, wouldn’t you?

Well, Uber has done just that in Singapore – with exotic car rental company Dream Drive as its partner, it’s added supercars to its service as part of a trial programme. Lion City dwellers can now request either a Gallardo Spyder or a GranTurismo to pick them up, through the Supercar tab on the app.

Limited free rides were offered last weekend, but now the charging starts. For the first 15 minutes of travel, you pay S$165 (RM442) for the Maser and S$200 (RM536) for the Lambo, and S$7 (RM18.75) per minute thereafter. The cars are available from 10 am to 9 pm daily until May 20, 2015.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• Farker on Mar 25, 2015 at 3:32 pm

Malaysia also not bad lah at least not need to take the smelly taxi

• Same Lorrr Penipu on Mar 25, 2015 at 3:46 pm

If Same Lorrr was running the Uber service in Malaysia, he will give only Camry and Altis to passengers. To his small mind, Camry and Altis are better than Lambo or Maserati.

Poor Same Lorrr and Sam Loo (ori1), they are now crying in their showrooms because Toyota sales are so bad.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 9
      • Same L0rrrr on Mar 26, 2015 at 2:10 pm

You can talkok whatever you want, but Toyota still best seller in Malaysia 2014.

Camry or Altis? is still better than pathetic Iswara/Waja/Wira/Persona/Exora taxi in Malaysia.

You think these minions got airbags/VSC/ABS? YOU WISH.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
        • xiper (Member) on Mar 26, 2015 at 8:04 pm

best passenger car seller is Honda not Toyota anymore, bring your Hilux to pick up passengers, more cargo space to store luggage too.

• Fookyoo on Mar 26, 2015 at 11:09 pm

So you think your altis got that?I mean the pre 2000 model?Fat hope,Beside the engine everything else for model above 2004 is crap big times

• Fookyoo on Mar 26, 2015 at 11:07 pm

even if the lambo driver nvr clean up also smelly la bro..

• Josh Ling on Mar 25, 2015 at 3:36 pm

$165/$200 for a 15-minute ride in a car with speed not exceeding 60km/h no matter where i go. no thanks.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 1
  • heybadigol (Member) on Mar 25, 2015 at 5:01 pm

Paying so much only to sit in a supercar with a stiff ride and going at the (low) speed limit. Not exactly worth it. If I wanted to be in a slow taxi, I would prefer to waft in the decadence of a Rolls Royce.

Won’t be long before Uber offers helicopter rides. That will really take off, pun intended. Actually, that might be a pretty good idea, provided you live near a helipad and your destination has one too.

• sepul on Mar 25, 2015 at 8:46 pm

Or you can just parachute out of the helicopter at your preferred landing spot, anywhere.

Jokes aside, we want such ride here too. Longer roads, faster taxi. Singapore too small to go fast.

• Kelvin on Mar 25, 2015 at 11:51 pm

Makes no sense to be driven in those cars at those prices.

• thepolygonal on Mar 26, 2015 at 11:04 am

…. unless it’s a fifteen minute ride from KL to Penang on a Lambo.

• Scott on Mar 26, 2015 at 5:07 pm

I honestly don’t see the point in this. When one gets into a supercar, it only makes sense that he/she would want to be driving it instead of being chauffeured around, worse still at low speeds. I would rather be chauffeured around in a Benz S-Class, Roll Royce or Bentley for that amount of money.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 0