Mercedes C-Class CKD prices revealed via REP list

Returning Expert Prg C Class CKD

Click to enlarge price list

A sign that it will be introduced soon, the locally-assembled Mercedes-Benz C-Class has appeared in Returning Expert Programme (REP) and Malaysia My Second Home (MM2H) pricelists on the Mercedes-Benz Malaysia (MBM) official website.

According to TalentCorp, the REP facilitates the return of Malaysian professionals from abroad to overcome the shortage of professional and technical expert in the country, towards creating a world-class workforce in Malaysia, particularly in the context of driving the Economic Transformation Programme.

Making one question whether loyalty pays, the returning experts get good perks, including the opportunity to buy one locally-assembled CKD car exempted from duties and taxes, with the exemption capped at RM150k, provided they don’t bring home a car with them. MBM is offering five CKD options – three from the W212 E-Class facelift range and two W205 C-Class choices.

The two CKD C-Class variants listed are the C 200 Avantgarde and the C 250 Exclusive. The same two variants were launched in CBU form in September 2014, with the C 250 AMG Line joining the family a month later. So it appears that the upcoming CKD range won’t include the sporty fella, not initially at least.

Standard non-REP prices for you and me are listed as RM269,888 for the 184 hp C 200 and RM299,888 for the 211 hp C 250, on the road without insurance, GST included.

The W205 C-Class is not included in the company’s latest GST price list, but the South Africa CBU C 200 Avantgarde used to be priced at RM285,888 and the C 250 Exclusive RM314,888. Presuming that specifications remains the same, we’re looking at savings of RM15k to 16k.

Both C 200 and C 250 are powered by 2.0 litre turbocharged direct injection four-cylinder units, paired to a seven-speed 7G-Tronic Plus automatic transmission. Power is sent to the rear wheels.

Malaysia’s base C-Class (a 129 hp C 160 variant was recently introduced in Europe) has 184 hp and 300 Nm, good for 0-100 km/h in 7.3 seconds and a top speed of 235 km/h. The 211 hp and 350 Nm C 250 does 0-100 km/h in 6.6 seconds and a limited 250 km/h top speed.

Plenty of avenues for you to see and learn more about the “baby S-Class” here. Check out our video walk-around and video review of the Merc, as well as a side-by-side comparo gallery of it with the F30 BMW 3 Series. Also head to CarBase.my for a detailed view at the spec, and compare it to the BMW 3 Series, Audi A4, Infiniti Q50 and Lexus IS.

CBU Mercedes-Benz C 200 Avantgarde

CBU Mercedes-Benz C 250 Exclusive

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Sam "Hailat" Loo on Apr 08, 2015 at 12:31 pm

Tiu…! Give them free also they don’t wanna come back lar…!

2 weeks later sure kena curi one…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 14
    • Prevve on Apr 08, 2015 at 12:49 pm

Give big discount Merc cars to fish them return here?

Why not give free Proton? On par with BMW, Volvo, Lexus you know!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 67 Thumb down 7
      • Gargantia on Apr 08, 2015 at 1:33 pm

All expert that leave Malaysia aldy live happily in the new country less racist, less taxes and more less unfair political.

Another idiots system made by our buffoon Bolehland !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 9
        • Where is Najib's Promise? on Apr 08, 2015 at 3:42 pm

What for they come back? The C class is USD$30k. The E350 wit a super powerful engine is US$50k. The E400 Hybrid is only US$55k.

The Malaysian living in the US just have to save 4 or 5 months pay to buy a E400 Hybrid immediately without any loan. that also, he gets pure CBU German, not the tipu Made in Malaysia CKD Mercedes that is Made in Malaysia.

FYI, people who use CBU Merc all say quality is 100x better than CKD Merc. My friend use CBU Merc in Malaysia alone with original battery say his battery lasted 4 years. Our battery? 1 year use also so lucky!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 5
          • Salambangi on Apr 08, 2015 at 8:08 pm

Dear REPS

Ayoyo.. why come back la… stay la is Ostolia, Kanada, and Amerika.

Cars are cheap what.. Gome there no racist… glass gleener… Education pree what…All cars good qualiti..

Some more no ploton…

• Expat on Apr 08, 2015 at 9:57 pm

I’m buying this instead of Iriz. The “Safer than Volvo” Proton leave to you Proton supporters. Enjoy

• C-Class on Apr 08, 2015 at 1:38 pm

I’ve been waiting for this since last year, went to C&C last year. They told me C-Class too hot sale already, no more stock. Need to wait until September then will replenish stock for CBU model. But now got CKD and some more I’m under REP, I’ll go book the Avantgarde spec now! The Executive spec looks too uncle-ish, the Avantgarde looks sporty!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 23
        • Reward "foreigners" on Apr 08, 2015 at 4:04 pm

TalentCorp treat Malaysians working in Malaysia worse than dogs. You should treat Malaysians who served the country with cheaper prices instead of a “foreigner” Malaysian who has been paying taxes to another Government.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 1
          • AcerMan on Apr 08, 2015 at 5:12 pm

‘Traitor’ are being treated better than ‘loyalist’
            How to have patriotism?
            Welcome to BolehLand

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
          • Pierre on Apr 08, 2015 at 6:33 pm

That’s why the stupid gov encourage all of us to work overseas first, then if still miss the nasi lemak and roti canai here, come back and get cheaper car too.

• Bristol on Apr 08, 2015 at 2:24 pm

On par with safety not in quality of material

• Same Lorrrr Lingerie Sdn Bhd on Apr 08, 2015 at 3:15 pm

That Merican guy is dreaming la. Nobody is coming back. Infact, more people are migrating and leaving Malaysia.

Btw, Omar, why can’t you give this low price to your fellow Malaysians who are loyal to Malaysia and who have stayed here all their lives?

You should give this cheap price as a reward for the people staying and contributing taxes in Malaysia.

Oh btw, Talent Corp, why don’t also you ask your boss Najib to honour his promise to reduce car prices by 30%.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
        • TalentCorp - More Loss on Apr 08, 2015 at 4:11 pm

Hundreds of millions wasted on the goons in
          TalentCorp. Fancy offices in Malaysia as well as business class flights to UK, US, Germany, Australia for a big rombongan to go to and convince students to come back.

Yes they get one or two to come back but it is far less than paying TalentCorp their slary which amounts to millions per year and their fancy business class flights.

Btw, you should reward Malaysians with lower car prices not some Malaysian who “migrated”

• Malaysia Built…

Must Buy… now existing A Class Mercedes is crying for zero value..

better than Honda Accord and Mazda6.

no need BMW 1.6 Kosong or Audi A4 Kosong

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 15
  • pok mang on Apr 08, 2015 at 12:43 pm

sad news to be a local expert in malaysia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 5
    • yeah, this is very sad for those loyal servants that never thought of leaving the country….

• Same Lorrrr Lingerie Sdn Bhd on Apr 08, 2015 at 4:46 pm

This is how they reward Malaysians living in Malaysia. Just like Proton, they sell their entire fleet of cars in Saudi and UAE for half the price. But to Malaysians in Malaysia, they sell double the price.

This is how Malaysians living in Malaysia are rewarded.

• Do we really need these?
    Our Proton is as good as BMW, safety features are on par with Volvo.

Suggest to start with all Minister change to Proton now!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 5
  • kereta_lembu on Apr 08, 2015 at 12:50 pm

Cars aside, I find it funny when such incentives are introduced to lure local talent that are working abroad back ‘home’ BUT at the same time so much is being neglected at ‘home’ that’s driving people to move abroad. How ironic!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 74 Thumb down 4
  • frank on Apr 08, 2015 at 1:00 pm

Why c250 only in exclusive variant? No avantgarde? Weird.

• heybadigol (Member) on Apr 08, 2015 at 1:01 pm

Thats very close to the CKD BMW F30 price. The 328i M Sport costs RM309k. Even though that’s slightly more than the RM300k for the C250 Exclusive, must remember that the F30 comes with the M Sport bodykit, whereas the C250 does not. A better comparison is the 328i Luxury which costs RM294k, which is slightly cheaper than the C250 Exclusive.

• therealmaserati on Apr 08, 2015 at 1:01 pm

For that little savings, i rather get the cbu unit

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
  • In the private sector, loyalty is bullsh*t. As long as they find u useful they will squeeze u dry. Then once useless, throw u under the bus. And make u take the blame for it

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
  • I also want the tax free car!!! I am a professional and have been loyal working in Malaysia for long donkey years. What is the necessity of bringing all this so called experts back home and give them what the true loyal Malaysians could not deserve? These expats have been happily working and leaving abroad earning big buck… never pay any taxes to the country while working overseas. And this is what the Talentcorp people call as loyalty???? B**LS**T la.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 71 Thumb down 4
    • C-Class on Apr 08, 2015 at 1:42 pm

Don’t be butthurt la.. People under REP can buy cheap tax-free cars, but you work only few thousands some more buy car with no tax free. I’m enjoying my tax free Bimmer and going to buy this tax free C-Class next. Sad to say.. Work harder next time la bro

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 24
    • Don’t angry. Give you free Proton, ok? You can choose from our range of “Safe as Volvo” or “Handling like BMW” cars

• nabill (Member) on Apr 08, 2015 at 1:16 pm

sadly , most will relate this posting to ‘who the hell want to come back’
    u might get a cheap c class , bt u might be prisoned under the new terrorism act with no charge,no lawyer…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 11
    • kaizen on Apr 08, 2015 at 5:22 pm

what the fcuk are u talking about here? are u buying the c for the use in your terrorism activities? or are u being terrorized in any form by your mama? come on lah nabil. u are like a person who does not deserve to be here in this forum. u should go and check ur machine gun or ur rocket launcher which will never take off as a result of ur absurdity.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 8
      • nabill (Member) on Apr 08, 2015 at 11:24 pm

obviously im not gonna try to explain..u seem to find it challenging to comprehend what i said…i hope ur not a supporter of a certain political party that is ruining this place n has ran this country dry , u sure sound like it !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
        • kaizen on Apr 09, 2015 at 5:18 pm

absolutely!. just bcoz u do not hv a point to uphold to. what i mean was, this is a forum for a car enthusiast. not a terrorist or extremist forum, or maybe u, just being kicked-out from there.

• RM80000++ of taxes.

I thought this car is energy efficiency vehicle (EEV) which claim to make a combine 5.3l/100km.

What happen to MITI’s NAP EEV incentives? Or there isn’t really any incentives afterall?

• Same Lorrrr Lingerie Sdn Bhd on Apr 08, 2015 at 4:48 pm

that is MAI bullshit. Don’t you know MAI kaki kelentong?

• wkaka on Apr 09, 2015 at 2:30 am

It’s all a farce, made up by a moronic, ass-kissing group of people. The only cars that will be given full EEV status would be from manufacturers that most people will avoid (Great Wall) or cars that only the rich can enjoy (E300/S400 Hybrid variants) to appease their financial supporters and cronies, and also to buy it for themselves.

Then again, I’m pretty sure most of you guys already knew that…

• waters on Apr 08, 2015 at 1:32 pm

So loyal citizens who have contributed thousands of ringgit in taxes year after year get nothing?

• How about commercial vehicle after gst??like a truck or prime mover.. non Info?

• CarzyMobilo on Apr 08, 2015 at 1:48 pm

How do you measure Loyalty?
    Certainly not fair if u only adore whom who left the country la, how about giving a good refund back to the already serving Proffesionals in Malaysia currently?
    Why so do you still have to create standards?
    Treat every1 equally.. Equality is much needed , not discounts on Property purchase or Luxury cars…
    I am very sure, if Equality starts blooming here…
    The ones who left will come back into Malaysia soon…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
    • Equality have nothing to do with loyalty. Only opportunity. Let me ask you. If ur company treats you equally well, but no bonus no increment. How long will you stay?

• CarzyMobilo on Apr 08, 2015 at 11:35 pm

nope i would’t stay in the same company but it takes a lot for me to flee of my Country la…
        N i am jus placing my judgement based on the REP programme…
        If you read the main purpose of REP programme, its to bring in our x-Malaysian back to Malaysia and serve this country… In return such rewards are mentioned… So there is were I questioned our stupid GOV’s system…
        They want to create malaysian loyalty with rewards…
        So i am again stating, its a bad move…
        Why aren’t Malaysian who are paying GST and yearly Taxes not appreciated? Y r we being neglected?

• C.P.MOHAN on Apr 08, 2015 at 2:33 pm

Would someone who achieved success, fame and wealth overseas willing to come back. Personally, I think not, with ‘goodies’ thrown in to entice them, they do not pass my standard of patriotism.

• cendol (Member) on Apr 08, 2015 at 2:37 pm

Those people in USA won’t come back because of this C-Class CKD.
    THeir C-Class CBU full spec only costs USD30000, they can pay cash with few months salary.
    In Malaysia, you need take out a 7-9 year loan for a Myvi

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 10
    • Amusing on Apr 08, 2015 at 4:44 pm

It is really amusing to see just how stupid people on this forum are. You clearly exemplify how much you do not understand how the car industry works!

Technically you are completely wrong, people in the USA are infact getting CKD C-Class too!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 7
  • eXistanZ on Apr 08, 2015 at 5:09 pm

Are they serious abt CKD? Its almost same as CBU. Whats the point built locally if the price cannot be cheaper? This is mere nonsense!

• Lol Malaysians who go overseas will never come back to this dump, i have many relatives including my sister who are doing so well and are happy in the US and Australia. Honestly the only thing they miss is the nasi lemak.

• Leafable on Apr 08, 2015 at 9:36 pm

Errr… Mercedes UK sell fully loaded C200 AMG only cost £26k (RM140K) with 6% GST should only be RM148k. Sorry Mercedes Malaysia wonder if you kindly explain to me where did that extra RM40k cost came from? Malaysia car assembly line workers suddenly earn more than the German counterpart?

Anyway no smart & bright students will want to migrate back to Malaysia with low pay salaries, high tax, race base policies, etc. Is there?

• old dog on Apr 09, 2015 at 10:58 am

Bolehland is practicing:

– An Idiot statement/announcement (by MP, any authority) a month to keep (rakyat) laughing not away..