Mercedes-Benz C-Class is 2015 World Car of the Year

wcoty 2015 01

The W205 Mercedes-Benz C-Class has been declared the 2015 World Car of the Year – the title win was announced at the ongoing New York International Auto Show. Stuttgart’s premium executive sedan was chosen from an initial entry list of 24 vehicles, followed by a short list of twelve and then, three finalists – the other two being the S550 Ford Mustang and Volkswagen Passat B8 (which was named European Car of the Year last month).

Shortlisted finalists included the F45 BMW 2 Series Active Tourer, Mazda 2, Hyundai Genesis and Citroen C4 Cactus (which picked up the 2015 World Car Design of the Year award). The full list of WCOTY vehicles were selected and voted on by an international jury panel comprised of 75 automotive journalists from 22 countries around the world.

On the Mercedes-Benz C-Class, one of the jurors said: “Taking its design and technological cues from the S-Class, the C-Class employs an all-new aluminium/steel hybrid platform and updated rear-drive powertrains that delivers levels of refinement, luxury, safety, ride and handling that challenge best-in-class.”

It’s the first WCOTY win for Mercedes – previous World Car of the Year winners were the Audi A3 (2014), Volkswagen Golf (2013), Volkswagen Up! (2012), Nissan Leaf (2011), Volkswagen Polo (2010), Volkswagen Golf (2009), Mazda 2 / Mazda Demio (2008), Lexus LS460 (2007), BMW 3-Series (2006) and the Audi A6 (2005).

The automaker also picked up two other 2015 WCOTY titles, the Mercedes-AMG GT bagging the World Performance Car award and the Mercedes-Benz S-Class Coupe taking the honours in the World Luxury Car segment, the latter its second title in a row (it won last year with the W222 S-Class). The BMW i8, meanwhile, took the 2015 World Green Car gong.

In Malaysia, the W205 was launched last September, and is currently available in C 200 Avantgarde, C 250 Exclusive and C 250 AMG Line variants. Read our review on the C-Class from the international media drive, and watch our video review of the C 200 Avantgarde. A CKD version is coming this year.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• cotyjug on Apr 03, 2015 at 12:18 pm

Where is Vios Altis Camry?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 6
    • Those cars are lousy, only sohai Malaysian love it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 12
      • S for Sohai on Apr 03, 2015 at 3:08 pm

Where is Saga, Preve, Suprima? Oh, they won the award of “Jaguh Kampung No.1” in Malaysia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 5
        • sohaitoyota on Apr 03, 2015 at 5:03 pm

Altis Camry dun have VSC all variants, only highest variant has. Vios dun have at all

Before you start with Saga, that’s old car, will be replaced by Iriz sedan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
          • Sohai Supporters on Apr 03, 2015 at 6:19 pm

Balik-balik VSC, haiz. You know that not all variants of Preve and Suprima have VSC, right? If Saga is old, why still sell the junk to the rakyat?

• estupido on Apr 04, 2015 at 10:43 am

You were born than straighaway know how to write?

Use your brain not butts

• You butthurt? Haha

• George Abdul on Apr 03, 2015 at 1:09 pm

Where’s Iriz? DrM global car… ophs I forget global 3rd world country.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 9
      • areyoublind on Apr 03, 2015 at 2:20 pm

Ady changed to PCC Proton Compact Car, get our fact right

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
  • nabill (Member) on Apr 03, 2015 at 12:38 pm

fully desereved…!
    although the new passat is gaining alot of praise from reviews too…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
  • sudonano (Member) on Apr 03, 2015 at 12:42 pm

Mercedes really deserved it. Having been in the new C and seeing both the Mercedes-AMG GT and new S class Coupe (that thing is amazing, the CLS and 6 series were beautiful, but the S class coupe’s rear was really a sight), Mercedes is really doing some amazing things. In fact, among the 3 Germans (MB, Audi and BMW), I would say Mercedes has been pushing the boundaries over the last few years. BMW is gonna be next though, once their new generation platform comes out, but only if they make real cars, not family MPVs that don’t make sense.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 9
    • Annoynimouse on Apr 05, 2015 at 9:23 am

I agree with you. The current C-class has everything just about right and Merc being Merc does things their own way without trying too hard to follow other trends. (even then, most people wont even notice the handling advantage the 3-series has over the Merc). The design of this C-class is so classy its makes the likes of the 3-series and Audi A4 look so “conventional” (to be fair the Audi is near the end of its life cycle). And you gotta love the interior as well. Although I personally prefer sharp edges bold designs in (eg. Lamborghini over Aston Martins), the C-class interior looks so elegant and modern at the same time and seems years apart from its rivals and from Mercs models which were launch only a couple of years before. Jaguar is on the move now, and to have the Brits back in the frame for this segment is exciting to say the least.

• C Class very much deserves it. Well Done MB !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 3
  • Jimmy on Apr 03, 2015 at 1:27 pm

Congratulations.
    So far, warranty claims and customer service have been satisfactory. Keep it up and please do not become arrogant when sale figure is up; do not repeat Proton’s step when they were in their zaman gemilang, and do not do what UMW did and what Mazda Malaysia is doing.

• spongewai on Apr 03, 2015 at 1:37 pm

congratz Merc C-Class

you deserved win and beat your rival

• noobsam on Apr 03, 2015 at 2:06 pm

Meanwhile, preve is still a kampung juara and Myvi still best loved car in Malaysia. oh yeah!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
    • ncpau on Apr 03, 2015 at 2:24 pm

Meanwhile Preve still got 5 star Australian NCAP while Myvi still stucks at 4 star Asean NCAP

Poor Myvi

• syiok-syiok on Apr 03, 2015 at 3:15 pm

If so good, why Preve is not World Car of the Year? Syiok sendiri tau lah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
  • cendol (Member) on Apr 03, 2015 at 2:26 pm

In other countries, a brand new Mercedes costs USD30000 and less.
    In Malaysia, its x10.

Forgive my ranting. I just can’t stomach Malaysia excise duty.
    I will drive my current car until it stops moving

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 3
  • heybadigol (Member) on Apr 03, 2015 at 2:34 pm

Congrats. Hope MBM brings in the CKD C Class to Malaysia double quick.

• Heard that the w205 CKD C Class will be launched in 3 weeks time. No price indication but would be around RM270k?

• Annoynimouse on Apr 05, 2015 at 9:26 am

Is it not here already? I test drove one from the official Merc dealer. Is it a CBU? I forgot to ask but the price tag reflects a CKD version. Dunno…

• Kim Jung on on Apr 03, 2015 at 3:09 pm

Damn! I thought my optima k5 was the world car of the year

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 11
  • Car of the year my ass, every country and state will have their own opinions. This was decided by some jews in new york.

• Hedgehog on Jun 24, 2015 at 12:55 pm

Well done MB! They have managed to tourn around their image of Old and Boring cars, to Young and Dynamic.
    I love the pacecars used for F1. Love the sound too.