DRIVEN: 2015 Ford Mustang 2.3 EcoBoost and 5.0 GT

Ford Mustang LA 13

Half a decade ago, the very idea of it going global would have sounded ludicrous, but here it is then – the 2015 Ford Mustang, finally trotting off to see the world in its fiftieth year of existence. How times have changed indeed, that the Blue Oval’s beloved pony is set to make that giant commercial leap beyond the shores of North America, and not just merely as a left-hand drive offering.

Despite the inherent lack of legacy beyond Stateside shores, presenting an icon beyond its natural stomping ground seems to be paying off even before the first vehicles have arrived in markets around the world (the first exports to Asia have just begun, to China and Korea) – initial response has been tremendous for a car few have experienced, in any incarnation.

Even in places where muscle cars and large capacity mills are somewhat of a norm, reaction has been immense – as of the end of 2014, the car has received more than 15,000 expressions of interest in Australia, which is set to be the leading market for the new pony car in the Asia-Pacific region (away from China), replacing the home-made Falcon when it arrives later this year. Makes you wonder why adding on RHD wasn’t done any earlier.

But, better late than never, and judging from the reaction, there are plenty who will buy into this steed, the legend (aided by the likes of celluloid folklore such as Bullitt and an example called Eleanor) and the appeal of owning a piece of Americana no doubt aiding things along. Europe, the UK and Asia will be destinations, and Malaysia is one of the countries where the car will be sold through official channels for the very first time, going on sale in early 2016. What can Malaysian buyers expect? We spent some time horsing around with the sixth-generation in California to find out.

Ford Mustang LA 4

It’s a very handsome car in the metal, the S550 in its Fastback coupe form – the profile is unmistakably Mustang, but the shape is far more fluid and flowy than the fifth-gen. Not much variation in size from its predecessor, which ran for a decade, but the new four-seater – measuring in at 4,784 mm long, 1,916 mm wide and 1,381 mm tall – is a bit wider (+40 mm) and lower (-38 mm) than the S197, even though both cars share the same 2,720 mm wheelbase length.

Despite the identical wheelbase numbers, the platforms are different – originally envisaged to utilise the older car’s platform, the switch to a new chassis came about as development progressed. The other biggest change is the move to a fully-independent rear suspension, ditching the live axle configuration seen on past ponies.

New bits include a new perimeter subframe at the front to stiffen the front structure and reduce mass while providing a strong foundation for more predictable wheel control as well as aluminium knuckles at the rear, which helps reduce unsprung mass for improved ride and handling.

There’s also a new double ball-joint front MacPherson strut system, which enables the use of larger, more powerful brakes – the company says that the new car will haul up far better than the old one. Standard brake elements for the EcoBoost are 320 mm x 30 mm vented front discs with twin-piston 43 mm floating aluminium calipers and 320 mm x 12 mm solid rear discs with single-piston 45 mm floating calipers.

Ford Mustang LA 2

The 5.0 litre, meanwhile, gets 352 x 32 mm vented front discs with four-piston 46 mm fixed aluminium calipers (an option for the EcoBoost, as part of the Performance Package) and 330 x 25 mm vented rear discs with single-piston 45 mm floating iron calipers. A Performance Package for the GT brings along Brembo six-piston 36 mm fixed aluminium calipers and 380 x 34 mm vented front discs.

The improvements come with a tradeoff, in the form of weight – these days, each new iteration of a model type from European manufacturers offer a lighter replacement, but the new pony is actually heavier than the car it replaces, with increases ranging from around 25 kg for EcoBoost models (base kerb weight, 1602 kg) up to around 90 kg for a base 5.0 litre GT (1,680 kg). Offsetting the gain is an improved level of handling, steering and ride over that of the S197.

Three engine options are available for the car, a 2.3 litre EcoBoost turbo four and two normally-aspirated mills, the familiar 3.7 litre Cyclone V6 and the 5.0 litre Coyote V8 – the evaluation mules were dressed with the two powertrains set to be sold in our market, the 5.0 litre V8 and 2.3 litre EcoBoost.

The 2.3 litre EcoBoost is the first Ford mill to utilise a low-inertia twin-scroll turbocharger to provide quicker boost response – the base form of the unit provides the basis for the powertrain equipping the new Focus RS, though that’s significantly reworked for the particular application. On the Mustang, output numbers are touted as 310 hp at 5,500 rpm and 434 Nm at 3,000 rpm, good enough to get the variant to the 100 km/h mark from standstill in 5.4 seconds and to a 240 km/h top speed.

The Coyote, meanwhile, has been given a number of revisions for its use in the Mustang – among the changes are a new cylinder head, new intake and exhaust cams with increased valve lift as well as stiffer valve springs, and the multipoint injection unit with twin-independent variable camshaft timing is now good for 435 hp at 6,500 rpm and 542 Nm at 4,250 rpm.

Transmission choices are a six-speed Ford/Getrag MT-82 manual or a six-speed SelectShift auto ‘box with paddle shifters, the ZF-based 6R80. If the gearboxes sound familiar, they are – both are also found on the Ranger T6 pickup.

As for limited-slip differentials, the EcoBoost automatic gets a 3.15 ratio unit, the manual a 3.31 (optional for the auto), with a 3.55 ratio available for both transmissions in the Performance Package. Ratios for the 5.0 litre are 3.15 (auto), 3.31 (manual), 3.55 (optional, both) and a 3.73 Torsen diff replaces the standard LSD in the variant’s available Performance Package.

The Mustang’s interior supposedly has nods to the past (and apparently derives design inspiration from aviation), but it will all be new to those here accustomed to the styling of European and Asian interiors – there’s a distinct retro feel about it all, from the symmetrical dashboard top and meaty centre console to the layout of the door cards and toggle switch bank on the centre console. I rather like it.

On the whole, the initial impression may feel blocky, but operational aspects of the switchgear are positive – great action on the toggles, for one, and the actuation placement of the gearshift is spot on. Elsewhere, there are differences in the central AC vent layout on the NA and EcoBoost models, as can be seen in the pix – the former has three vents, while the latter has two, with boost and oil pressure gauges taking up the space in between them (the gauges are part of the Performance Pack).

Base equipment includes HID headlamps with signature lighting, three-strip LED tail lamps (with sequential turn signals for the US model), cruise control, rear view camera, keyless entry and push-start ignition, manual adjustment front cloth seats and selectable-effort electric power-assisted steering (Standard, Sport, Comfort).

There’s also single-zone air-conditioning and a six-speaker audio system with SYNC – in its base form the communications and entertainment system comes with a 4.2-inch colour LCD display, which is likely to be that found on the Malaysian-spec cars.

Our Triple Yellow Tri-coat exterior/Ebony Leather interior EcoBoost mule was a Premium variant loaded with a Performance Package, meaning it came with the bells and whistles – powered leather-trimmed seats, 12-speaker Shaker Pro Audio System, adaptive cruise control and BLIS, dual-zone AC, eight-inch LCD touchscreen and 19-inch Ebony Black five double-spoke alloys and 255/40 rubbers (the baseline EcoBoost wheel is a 17-inch unit wrapped with 235/55 tyres).

Likewise the 5.0 litre evaluator – the Competition Orange/Ebony Leather unit was a GT Premium spec’d version, which upped the wheels from 18-inchers to 19-inch dark stainless premium painted aluminium wheels. No Performance Package on this one, which would have added the Torsen helical gear diff, Brembos, new front springs and different wheels.

Additionally, the 5.0 litre features an electronic line-lock (activated using the Mustang Track Apps feature) and, for the manual, launch control. If smoking tyres are your thing, the former – which locks the front brakes and releases the rear ones for a controlled burnout – is just the trick.

A mention about the four-gang toggle-switch pack – it’s only available on Premium models, and controls four selectable drive modes (Normal, Sport+, Track and Snow/Wet). There’s no damper control in the equation, but the modes offer a predefined powertrain and chassis-related calibration setting – Sport+ provides more responsive steering and throttle response (and on the auto, different shift points), while Track offers less intrusion from the ESC before intervention kicks in.

Standard safety kit includes ESC and seven airbags (front, side curtain, driver/passenger side-impact and driver knee) and Isofix points (known as LATCH in the US). Current literature mentions an active knee-airbag glovebox (which is supposed to debut on the Mustang) as part of the standard equipment list, so that sort of bumps up the airbag count.

Ford Mustang LA 44

On to the driving, which we ended up with manuals for both engine variations. The route, which covered a mix of city driving in LA and a variety of freeway and canyon roads, offered the Mustang a spread of terrain to stretch its legs – strict enforcement of speed limits meant there was little in the way of trialling the horse with absolute abandon for the most, save on parts of the run up to Newcomb’s Ranch on the CA-2 and the return drive to Chatsworth via the Big Tujunga Canyon Road, where thankfully no patrol cars were lying in wait.

The first and more substantial leg was done in the 2.3 EcoBoost, and from the get-go out from Sunset Boulevard there was already much to like – it didn’t take long to get accustomed to the size of the car, and all-round visibility was quite good, with only a few minor blind spots to contend with. Ambling along in the city, the mill showed good low-end tractability, with a light steering and cushy ride adding to the pluses – Hill Start Assist was a boon too.

Likewise out on the open road; the torque spread in general use holds up well, so there’s very little need to change cogs on the manual if you’re running at a consistent speed. Attempting fast on twistier terrain requires more work, both from engine and gearbox – the mill isn’t lazy, and the car is certainly quick enough off the line as its sub-six second 0-100 km/h time suggests, but the car feels somewhat ascetic in-gear, like there should be more in the way of grunt.

The soundtrack, or lack of it, is probably a contributor to things being the way they are – the sound symposer attempt at an aural show inside the car while you’re belting along doesn’t really have any real conviction to it, sounding like a half effort at best.

Ford Mustang LA 14

Granted, the need to appeal to a wider audience beyond the enthusiast crowd means things have to be kept sonically manageable, but it’s a tad too quiet, this, especially given the muscle-car context. Stand outside the car, stab the throttle, and you’re rewarded with a zingy, characterless sound, the hollow four-pot signature unmistakable. You can just hear aftermarket exhausts being plonked on to address that sonic sobriety.

Some thoughts about the rear seats – my co-driver hopped in to the back for a stretch on the Big Tujunga, and offered the view that while space was adequate and seating comfort acceptably good, it isn’t a place you want to be in for long periods. The electric steering is fast, but dull in feel; Sport was the best of the selectable steering modes, but still felt decoupled.

Elsewhere, things are decidedly better. Handling was a pleasant surprise – the front end has plenty of grip and the rear never feels skittish, even under heavy braking and into transitions. Some softness is evident, but the rear never wallows or unsettles in a corner, and there’s no Yank boat behaviour to be found here.

Other pluses include the precision and feel of the MT-82’s shifter, the clean, positive engagement of shifts a tactile delight. As for the brakes, the four-pot and larger disc combi of the Performance Package on the EcoBoost scores another plus, the system exhibiting good modulation and stopping power.

Ford Mustang LA 1

The GT’s overall balance is different, as one would expect – its nose-heavier nature means the EcoBoost actually betters it in turn-in and tracking aspects and is much nimbler handling-wise, but the big mill aces it in terms of midband energy and in-gear feel. There’s plenty of visceral appeal, be it the palpable thrum of the eight resonating off the seat or its growl as you stand on it. And it is fast.

Again, the exhaust could be that bit more vocal, but this then is a proper Mustang, or one that sounds and feels like it. It’s alluring for sure, and easily my pick of the two (needs a Performance Package though), but here its displacement – and price tag – means that it’ll be a non-starter for all but a select few, and so it is very much going to be an EcoBoost game with this one.

Irrespective of variant, when the Flat Rock, MI-built Mustang arrives it’ll be the most expensive model in the Ford Malaysia lineup. Word on the vine sometime back was that SDAC is aiming to get the EcoBoost in at under RM300k (whether or not that’ll still happen remains to be seen, given the significant increase in the US dollar’s exchange rate recently).

It sounds like a fair bit to pay for a Blue Oval job, but this is no mere one-trick pony – it’s an icon, this horse, even if has become all grown up and refined. The idea that one can finally get a ‘stang in a correct drive orientation must surely appeal, and the absence of legacy should only serve to help.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Anti Bully on Feb 07, 2015 at 11:30 am

RM300k price? What a joke by MITI crazy car tax system.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 31
    • Anti-Establishment (Member) on Feb 07, 2015 at 1:26 pm

Ford Malaysia never intended it to be affordable. It’s their halo car in Malaysia & as such it is priced to befit that status, like the Volkswagen Golf GTI or the Toyota GT86.

Why should they price it cheaply when they know it’s a car that only enthusiasts would consider?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 78 Thumb down 8
      • stupid msian cars on Feb 07, 2015 at 5:44 pm

Cars are supposed to be fairy affordable piece of metal but it is because of the super high duty and taxes that is killing the industry.
        I will say this again…and again….Msians will always be indebted the the banks no matter what car they buy cause it is overpriced.
        I paid cash for my 2 cars in NZ and it is never a burden there but back in msia its crazy. And I am amused that msians actually are not obligated to spend on cars as long they Ada muka. Ya loh… Otang bank for life LA….. Its actually quite a stupid thing to do.
        Amen.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 92 Thumb down 38
        • policeman on Feb 08, 2015 at 11:41 am

I should start a food blog – Malaysia’s #1 source for food news. You’ll come in and whine about imported food being taxed. “Why does a bar of NZ Cadbury chocolate cost RM20? In NZ it only cost $3.”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 19
          • stupid maian cars on Feb 08, 2015 at 8:49 pm

You must be an idiot.

Whining? Nah…. I just know how to manage my finance that’s all. And I am talking facts.

I am wondering whether you have actually worked and lived in a foreign country before. Cause you statement is full of shyte.

Well you can go all our to buy all your dream cars in Msia. Good luck to you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 53
          • Protonist on Feb 09, 2015 at 1:49 pm

What is so special comparing Malaysian car price and NZ’s? It is just same like you complain why imported durian in the UK priced freaking 15pounds!

Cars in Japan even cheaper, so what?!!

Tell us something different/new, e.g. you managed to buy car in Malaysia like you did in NZ (pay in cash).

Or tell us how you managed to live without a car in Malaysia if you can’t buy a car in cash?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 13
          • stupid msian cars on Feb 09, 2015 at 2:29 pm

You speaks truly like a jaguh kampung.

At least you have a title in Msia.

Go equipped yourself with more knowledge and education and be a wise and smart ass instead of what you are made of now.

Oh yeah, for your information i paid cash NZD80k big ones in NZ for really good cars. What makes you think I do not pay cash here in Malaysia for a local junk. Maybe you need someone to do some forex calculation for you.

Cheers!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 28
          • Protonist on Feb 09, 2015 at 5:10 pm

If you buy your car in cash here then good for you. Don’t talkok complain this and that about bank interest, high car price, otang (is this NZ english?) this and that. Those are none of your NZ business.

Don’t whine like a mid age lady.

Knowledge is not needed to discuss with loser can’t find a living in NZ end up come back Malaysia. Just like you don’t eat in toilet, you shit there!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 17
        • superbird #43 on Feb 08, 2015 at 9:53 pm

it’s unfair to criticise the citizens when actually the govt is at fault for not keeping up to the expectations….
          and not many ppl in m’sia is as ‘educated, privileged or perhaps influential’ as u r….
          so y not u just do us a favour and tell the msian govt & bankers in their face that they need to reduce the price margin of the cars to equal that of NZ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 11
          • stupid msian cars on Feb 09, 2015 at 7:24 am

In my opinion it is not about privilege ….. Its about knowledge, choice, consumer rights,

Share with you a good example. If I am not mistaken Sime Darby is the franchisee for Ford in NZ. Just Google and chech the selling price in NZ vs Msia. If Sime were to sell its cars with such high price as in Msia…..Sime can tapau.

And why they do this to the rakyat of Msia? Because they are gullible people. It has proven that Msians will spend no matter what price tag.

Imagine if we know that the govt is at fault and Sime is taking advantage in profiteering…we have a choice not to support. But are Msians fighting for this? No….all talk only. Imagine if sales plummeted…. What will they do and think of next?

To me the rakyat is at fault if they continue to support something that is not supposed to benefit them.

Just my 2cents worth of advice.

Sorry if I had been mean. That’s how I speak to those silly Kiwis who behaves like an idiot.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 14
          • Protonist on Feb 09, 2015 at 1:57 pm

Talkok stupid Malaysian think he has extra knowledge after took a long hours flight and spent some times with goats and kiwi.

Tell us how could you lived without car in Malaysia?

You think Malaysians like to buy expensive cars? You think Malaysians have no place to deal with their hard earned money?

Wanna ppl stop buying car because cars are expensive? Same like asking yourself to stop breathing when haze is around? Make any sense?

So care about Malaysia? Come back spend your money in the nation and contribute to the national economy lar…

talk is dirt cheap!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 18
          • stupid msian cars on Feb 09, 2015 at 2:24 pm

I feel so sad for you.

It’s sheep and not goats.

Yes knowledge is KING ….. something that you do not have unfortunately.

I don’t need to be back in Msia to contribute to the economy because there are plenty of idiots like you who are more then willing to contribute. You are the true hero! Just hope your job, your pocket is enough to maintain your heroism.

Good luck!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 19
          • Protonist on Feb 09, 2015 at 4:55 pm

If you are so irritated, don’t bother come back, don’t bother visit this website too. There is no information for your almighty NZ market.

Why bother save money living like a monk in NZ with goats and sheeps, come up spend NZD in MYR dreaming you are a king?

Pity this stupid Malaysian failed to making a good living in NZ, end up coming back here thinking he has a lot of knowledge (but he also buy a junk). Didn’t know NZ nice scenery and kiwi food can make a person turn into kiasu Singaporean-alike too.lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 17
          • stupid msian cars on Feb 09, 2015 at 5:05 pm

I take my hats off for you.

You are truly a champion and terror too.

You are terror because you cannot live without a car ..
            I know I cannot live without food and water la.

So there is a saying “never talk and fast at the same time”.

I have no personal agenda against you but the truth really hurts don’t they.

Well, you can call me a monk , a coward or whatever….. It doesn’t matter. As I know I am blessed. I have enough to feed my family, can provide really good education to my child, can live a civilized life, don’t need TI work for the bank my entire life and sometimes talkok as mentioned by you.

All the best. Msia is counting on you to spur the economy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 13
          • Protonist on Feb 09, 2015 at 5:17 pm

You are blessed because you can’t survive Malaysian life then you thought NZ is a better land.

Then you are blessed again because you can’t survive NZ life too then you have to come back Malaysia looking for living.

You are “so” blessed that you can buy a junk in cash that make you dream you can act like a king complain this complain that in Malaysia.

If you don’t need a car in Malaysia, why bother buying it in cash? Why not bring back your horse and donkey from NZ and show us you are the true king of NZ mountains?

Never knew living with sheeps is so civilized!!! lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 23
    • JustGetOverIt on Feb 08, 2015 at 1:21 am

Just get over it already…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 11
      • stupid msian cars on Feb 09, 2015 at 8:05 am

Just get over it? If you don’t fight for your rights and freedom you will never get it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 14
        • Protonist on Feb 09, 2015 at 2:01 pm

Fight? Did you come back place your vote during GE? Did you even join the yellow march?

You don’t even bother to spend your money here help out the nation economy. You have no place to ask ppl fight. Malaysians who live here everyday is FIGHTING EVERYDAY, while coward run away to goats and cows, and talkok about fighting.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 14
          • stupid msian cars on Feb 09, 2015 at 2:17 pm

Are you giving up already?!

Good for you.

Again, please get yourself more equipped with knowledge…it’s called SHEEP and not GOATS or COWS, you idiot.

You have a brain and put them into good use to think what’s best for you.

Another 2 cents advice…. go for English classes and anger management classes.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 17
          • Protonist on Feb 09, 2015 at 5:04 pm

Sheep goat cow dog donkey whatever it is, enjoy your days with animals in NZ. Oh wait, you live with so many animals? Are you staying in zoo?

Living with animals in NZ doesn’t make you have more brain/knowledge than anyone in Malaysia.

If you can make a good living in NZ, you wont want to come back. Same like I won’t wanna live with animals in NZ while I live with people here happily in Malaysia.

Take back your 2 cents you beggar from NZ. I can donate you NZD10 if you struggling to pay your electricity bill in NZ.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 16
          • stupid msian cars on Feb 09, 2015 at 5:21 pm

I really feel pity for you.

Brush up your English and re-read my posts again.

I wonder which ass mentioned that I am back in Msia for good…. Hmm….

No worries, if my two cents worth of advice is not good for you….you are not good enough to accept any advice……

Cheers.

And I do jot know why I am wasting my time talking to you. I wonder…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 10
          • Protonist on Feb 09, 2015 at 5:45 pm

If you are in NZ, then stick your ass with your animals back there. Whatever happened here is none of your NZ animals business.

If your 2 cents advice is not good enough for me, simply because I am smart enough not to listen to your bullshit, goatshit, sheepshit, donkeyshit, animalshit.

If you are already having miserable life in NZ, pls don’t bother trying spread it here to others.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 18
    • Jaseem Al Shammari on Mar 07, 2015 at 9:21 pm

2.6v ecoboost is priced at 121k riyal here in saudi arabia. Thats about 117k MYR with the current forex.

• 4G63T DSM on Feb 07, 2015 at 11:38 am

The Ecoboost is probably plenty fine and fast for most local buyers. But nothing beats a V8 especially for those that have owned one.

300K.

Mustang Ecoboost or Focus RS.

Show or Go.

Neither one is bad, but one is percieved as a castrated mule, while the other is top flight, best of the best.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 1
  • An eye opener to all the Ah Beng that fancy EVO so much….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 34
  • Aero (Member) on Feb 07, 2015 at 11:50 am

Looking forward to seeing the new Mustang here ! Ford couldn’t have chose a better time; the 2005 Mustang was okay, but it wasn’t good enough. The one before it was not good at all. But the current Mustang is incredible !

I hope Naza / Chevrolet can bring in the all-new Corvette C7 Stingray as well, another long standing American icon. Although I think the new Cadillacs are superb, I doubt they will sell here due to the competition from the Germans and Lexus. The only American cars that can succeed in Southeast Asia are sports cars like this… because they’re unique. Btw, most of current range of ‘American cars’ sold in Malaysia are hardly American at all. The Fiesta, Focus and Mondeo were designed in Europe. The Cruze, Captiva and Sonic are designed by GM Korea. The Malibu, Colorado and Ranger, I’m not so sure.

And as always, great review, Anthony !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 0
    • 4G63T DSM on Feb 07, 2015 at 2:09 pm

The current Malibu is a “Global” car.

Built on GM’s Epsilon 2 platform, it undepins European Opel and Vauxhall division cars (Insignia), and replaces the Epica (GM DAT) and American Malibu (Epsilon 1).

The Colorado and Ranger are mostly Asian built and marketed. These are developed with thier Japanese partners, Isuzu and Mazda. The Colorado is sold in the US but “Compact” pickups tend not to be popular against Full sized American equivalents like the Ford F150, Chevy Silverado 1500, and the Dodge Ram.

• Aero (Member) on Feb 08, 2015 at 1:21 pm

That’s some good info man, thanks for sharing !

Oh man, I totally forgot about the American trucks ! F150, Silverado & Ram; they’re the three ‘modern’ American icons, no doubt.

Ford sold more F150s than the entire population of Malaysia combined… twice. And that’s just the F150 !

• Rokuth on Feb 08, 2015 at 4:47 pm

Actually the Ford Ranger was developed by Ford Australia for the world market with Mazda’s assistance. The truck ended up being built in Thailand as it was cheaper to build there than in Australia.

The Chevy Colorado being sold in North America is actually a half generation ahead of the ones being sold in the rest of the world. They don’t even look alike as it was designed and engineered in the USA.

• Rokuth on Feb 08, 2015 at 4:38 pm

Nevermind the Corvette, they should bring the Camaro here to give the Mustang a run for its money!

• Aero (Member) on Feb 08, 2015 at 7:14 pm

Ahh yes, the Camaro, the Mustang’s arch rival. Thanks for reminding me about it.

But if I’m totally honest, the American car I’ve always wanted most is the Tesla Model S. If the Mustang is the embodiment of old school sports cars, the Tesla is the polar opposite with its engineering and technological excellence.

• Must-have on Feb 07, 2015 at 11:59 am

Come here my pony.

• Murica! on Feb 07, 2015 at 12:40 pm

So Naza, now its ur turn to bring the Camaro here!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
    • 4G63T DSM on Feb 07, 2015 at 2:13 pm

There has been one sitting in the Jalan Ampang Showroon for ages.

But GM needs to make a RHD version first. Which they don’t seem interested in.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Feb 07, 2015 at 9:50 pm

well, its GM, worse market planners ever…. if they used the opel or saab brand to break into the asian markets they would have fared much better…but no….their murica beliefs is that chevrolet is a much higher brand and rebadged daewoo’s are enough for us

• nabill (Member) on Feb 07, 2015 at 1:13 pm

from wat i read,it seems like an underwhelming drive…in the US , the Shelby and Boss 302 variants are offered and they come with comprehensive internal changes , and its quite cheap to buy there (sorry for opening up the familar can of worms!)….
    in north america , the Mustang is genuinely a volume seller …i dont think the ecoboost is offered bcos of asian and european tax sensitive markets , i think its bcos theres a big push in the US to reduce MPGs n so on….

• Hmmmmm.reasonable pricing.I hope our economy will be stronger.otherwise…..

• Rosdi on Feb 07, 2015 at 2:04 pm

Shut up already! Just take my money!!

• Pony Rider on Feb 07, 2015 at 2:23 pm

Can VW Golf R easily smoke this muscled pony?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 10
    • DonkeyKong on Feb 08, 2015 at 10:44 am

In any case, this looks better. Golf has become the ride of choice for ah bengs who love high-speed tailgating and doing late & sudden braking just because their cars can pull it off. 9 out of 10 Golf drivers behave like a-holes. Therefore, owning a Golf would definitely be more low-class than owning a Mustang

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
    • policeman on Feb 08, 2015 at 11:33 am

Yes, but once the VW Golf is being towed to a workshop to get it’s transmission fixed, the Mustang will smoke it.

• Actually what car also the Ford Mustang can smoke la since you put into this type of situation, even fastest car in the world Bugatti Veyron also will lose to Ford Mustang bcos break down mah. LOL

• Simplelista on Feb 10, 2015 at 10:59 am

True bro. I think this guy is a hater, nothing we can do about it. Clearly, even he meant to compare between Ford and VW, both of em got pros and cons. Even Veyron got slight issue sometimes. Moral of the story, any mechanical device or machine, will unlikely have problems eventually. Dont expect much it will lasts long.

• Passion on Feb 12, 2015 at 12:19 pm

Dude, your words got zero sense.. How can you compare Mustang with Golf GTI, they are totally different grade and class. If say so, even Lamborghini can lose to the Mustang as well if the Lamborghini break down. -,-

• sub-300k seems a little too optimistic from the prices we’re used to. My guess is they’ve going to market this as some sort of semi-exotic at somewhere near 400 or even 500k.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
  • cendol (Member) on Feb 07, 2015 at 2:57 pm

300k for this baby in Malaysia.
    It only cost USD30000 in USA for mid-spec.
    USA citizen can buy this car CASH with less than 1 year salary.
    Malaysia has higher standard than USA it seems.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 9
    • cOMMANDER on Feb 07, 2015 at 3:24 pm

Spot on bro.

I did some research sometime back and found out that if a Ford were to be a CBU Thailand-manufactured car, it’s price is really reasonable.
      For example, the full-spec Focus Mk3, cost about USD 25K (remember to add the necessary specs from the US website).
      Here the similar spec is sold at RM130K, which is quite reasonable but an ST which costs below USD30K is sold here at RM200K because it’s CBU Germany.

Although having a German/Spain/UK CBU would be good but I think having it manufactured in Thailand for ASEAN countries would be more cost effective.

• cendol (Member) on Feb 07, 2015 at 3:42 pm

USA citizen earns USD3000 as office boy, buys Mustang for USD30000 cash after saving for 1 year.
        Malaysia citizen earns RM3000 as office boy, buys Myvi full spec RM54000 , loan 9 years.
        Malaysia wins hands down.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 85 Thumb down 7
        • turun harga on Feb 07, 2015 at 6:44 pm

Be patient bro, Ismail Sabri bin Ab Yaakob will ask BN to turun harga, if not he will boycott.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 2
        • Which company give rm 3k for office boy? So nice?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 1
    • turun harga on Feb 07, 2015 at 6:42 pm

Bila Ismail Sabri bin Ab Yaakob mau BN turun harga kereta?

• 2.3 ecoboost premium with performance pack under RM300K, it’s so much more expansive than what it cost in USA. But…but….what the heck, just take my money NOW and give me the damn car!!!

• WWW(member) on Feb 07, 2015 at 3:13 pm

What can Malaysian buyers expect? Drag racing at sepang of course and lots lots of tire marks on Kesas, LDP and even federal highways.LOL! This monster can eat or smoke many wannabe modified junk cars in Malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 2
  • LOL yea bro. My Vtec YO civic type r fd2 also lose to this muscle car man. Salute this american icon. But price should be a total ripoff once it arrives here again! Poor Malaysians. suffer as car fans.

• seancorr (Member) on Feb 07, 2015 at 4:17 pm

Icon it is but the price will still play as a factor for most of the buyers out there. They will have to price it under RM300k to be honest since it’s just 2.3l 4 pot engine. Anything else above then people will start looking at a pre-reg God car called the GTR which eats supercars for lunch.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 1
  • sudonano (Member) on Feb 07, 2015 at 4:39 pm

I don’t see why not.

The Golf GTi and this all appear in the same affordable performance segment. Pricing above 300 will be madness.

Personally while I have been in Falcons with the
    V8, they feel heavy. Which is why I would go for the 2.3. Though having said that if it were my money I would get the GTI instead cause I prefer hot German designed hatches. If it were a manual I was looking for, the Focus ST. Would be interesting to see how many ford can put on the road, rather niche car.

• cendol (Member) on Feb 07, 2015 at 7:27 pm

It is a rather niche car because of ridiculous tax structure of Malaysia.
      If not, everybody will be driving Honda Accord as basic car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 7
  • Really on Feb 07, 2015 at 6:14 pm

Ford probably isn’t expecting to sell this in huge numbers here. The Mustang will act as a halo or hero car for Ford’s rejuvenation in Malaysia. It also shows Ford’s growing confidence.

You have to hand it to them for having the balls to bring it here. What other mass carmakers can boost of offering a car with a 5.0 V8 (mass, so premium carmakers like Merc, BMW, Porsche doesn’t count)?

• klata-klata on Feb 08, 2015 at 11:01 pm

The annual road tax for 5.0L car is just over RM10,000.

First they tax you on the purchase price, then they rip you off every year until you junk the beast early because few people are willing to cough up 10k every year.

• rizal on Feb 07, 2015 at 8:37 pm

malaysia gov..u sux! only cilaka kroni can get free AP enjoy good cars at dirt cheap price

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 15
  • Melvin on Feb 07, 2015 at 11:02 pm

Hei, if you buy that Mustang, please drive with extra caution… Be gentle with the accelerator.. Its a beast bro

• BigDaddy88 on Feb 08, 2015 at 9:17 am

https://autos.yahoo.com/news/top-10-least-expensive-coupes-for-2015-000736226.html
    Check out the link above. Coupes prices in USA. Base price without much options. I’m just going to take those cars for comparison that we could find here.

2. Kia Forte US$ 18,590 / RM 97,800**
    3. Ford Mustang US$ 23,600
    6. Scion FR-S US$ 24,900 / RM 243,030
    7. Subaru RBZ US$ 25,695 / RM 247,461
    10. Nissan 370Z US$ 29,900 / RM 370,055

Look at the price between #2 and #6. US$5.5k difference in the States but more then RM150k difference.
    Our government really love us …

So how much will the Mustang cost us?
    My bet, RM300k and above …

• the boss on Feb 09, 2015 at 11:25 am

but the FR-S and the BRZ is essentially the GT86 which is sold for RM 230,587 here in bolehland. Does this means Bolehland is cheaper than US?

• im your boss on Mar 08, 2015 at 3:19 am

DEI MACHA. If 24k US Dollars, its roughly 90k Malaysia ringgit. Thats what u get for the FRS/GT86 in US with the equivalent price of a stupid junk vios TRD.

• rizal on Feb 09, 2015 at 1:36 pm

this is a very reason not to pay income tax..never!

• MrPoppyplants on Mar 07, 2015 at 7:50 pm

Tax is easily calculated as seen in your example, anyone who can do simple mathematics can do it.

The reason for that huge gap in pricing that you see is the profit of the distributors here. Because the moment a model is classed as ‘exclusive’ or ‘luxury’, big players price it however they like, and the rest follow that ballpark figure.

• bukapintubayartol on Feb 08, 2015 at 11:23 am

“We spent some time horsing around with the sixth-generation in California to find out”

LOL … I get it… *wink*

• paparadzi (Member) on Feb 08, 2015 at 2:27 pm

The V8 is nice, but I will not pay the 5000 cc (over RM 11 000 per year) road tax, it is just not reasonable. The 2.3 is more practical here in Malaysia for a car that will not be driven daily.

If it can be priced below RM 300k then we can dream.

• dregen on Feb 08, 2015 at 3:12 pm

2.3 still underwhelming ??? i dont know how fast u r. but i do know one thing. one shouldnt drive carelessly over the legal limit just to show off their ego & danger other user. or else, Sepang, Batu 3, Pasir Gudang etc tracks open for rental hehehe

• itulah on Feb 08, 2015 at 6:06 pm

Itulah, BN.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 9
  • KarTiN (Member) on Feb 08, 2015 at 7:43 pm

Nice article and nice ride. It would be good to see these muscle cars on our roads, although four bangers without the vocal growl. Let’s home GM follow suits with the Camaro and even maybe the revival of the Firebird’s range too. Chrysler should also join the fray with smaller four cylinders for their Chargers and Challengers. Now all we need is some nice streets to drag or cruise. Yes, the Japanese versions and vw’s can also join in the fun.

• symusty on Feb 09, 2015 at 7:59 am

Ha, there’s a red one parked in front of my building right now. Its not a very small car…..and compared to the Camaro, Challenger, Charger etc, its small.

I can’t see American cars suiting our roads much because while an E-Class or 5 Series looks huge in Malaysia, here they are pretty standard in size because the roads are huge and the cars are too. Its ridiculous.

Not sure how cars designed for the American market will sell in Malaysia.

• thedarkside on Feb 09, 2015 at 6:49 pm

where have u been all this while my little pony. Big brother tiger with CFE engine already waiting to smoke you!!…keh keh keh.

• thedarkside on Feb 09, 2015 at 6:50 pm

where have you been all this while my little pony?? big brother tiger with CFE engine is waiting to smoke you!!! keh keh

• uslhwzero on Mar 04, 2015 at 12:38 am

WTF??? CFE….” maharaja lawak 2015″.. haha

• Bernard on Mar 05, 2015 at 2:36 pm

Americans really love their muscle cars…..and know how to make them look totally awesome!!

Our muscle car is of course a modified mustard yellow perodua kancil twin turbo with a mercedes emblem in front:)

Wonder which is faster?:)

• im your boss on Mar 08, 2015 at 3:34 am

A friend of mine recently went to the states. Rented the 2015 Mustang V6 Convertible at only 190USD for a week. That equates to RM700 a week. For that same amount of money, here in Malaysia, u couldnt even rent a MYVI!

• Johnson Burger on Mar 14, 2015 at 2:51 pm

So.. i heard you guys want to have a nice muscle murica car eh?
    GUESS WHAT…

i have dmax D: