Australia to get RHD Ford Mustang; will we get it too?

Ford-mustang-boss

In a bid to spin some good publicity after announcing the closure of its Australian manufacturing operations in 2016, Ford has confirmed that the Mustang will return to Down Under in right-hand drive form starting from, you guessed it, three years’ time. The RHD Ford Mustang has already been confirmed for the UK market, and the Australian confirmation that followed suit is a good sign for the rest of us who drive on the right side of the road.

Expected to account for less than 10% of total Mustang sales, News.com.au reports that Ford Detroit will be keen to sell the right-hand drive version in as many countries as possible to recover the substantial engineering and tooling costs involved in the conversion process. Word of a new road tax-friendly 2.3 litre EcoBoost engine further fuels the possibility of the American muscle car coming to our shores.

Ford is taking the global-route for the next-gen Mustang, which is meant to appeal to a much wider range than the US-centric current model (pictured above in top 444 hp Boss 302 form). Early full-bodied prototypes have already been spotted testing in the open, and reports suggest that the Mustang’s trademark live rear axle will finally give way to modern independent rear suspension.

The sixth-generation pony car will debut at the 2014 New York Auto Show next April, coinciding with the Mustang’s 50th anniversary. Traditional V6 and V8 engines will still be the new model’s main choice of engines, with the cleaner and more efficient four-cylinder engine reserved for select markets, which, we hope, will include ours.

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• Simon on Jul 18, 2013 at 3:38 pm

Mustang BOSS: The real bosses car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 0
  • CKD Master on Jul 18, 2013 at 3:46 pm

We will get Protong Mustikiers soon…..

• King of Proton on Jul 18, 2013 at 3:49 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 122
      • We know the Preve is the king of the road! U can post the same comment on every car brands fan club or Top Gear coz is the best way to promote ur car. Let see those ang moh opinions.

• flat_tire on Jul 18, 2013 at 7:53 pm

rebadge it as Proton Kuda then..

• I know it’s a very good engine, the 2.3l ecoboost, but I feel that it’s a wee bit sacrilegious to put a 4-cylinder in a mustang, or any pony/muscle car for that matter. I kinda feel it the 2.3l deserve a new body style and name, a revival of the Capri perhaps. Not to say it hasn’t been done before, the 3rd gen mustang did get a 2.3l turbo 4.

• lonelyobserve on Jul 18, 2013 at 4:39 pm

The straight four EcoBoost engine is meant for fuel economy for Mustang. But most people perfer Mustang’s big V8 NA engines for its power and roaring exhaust sound.

• Dru-Zod on Jul 18, 2013 at 5:04 pm

It will sacrilegious in the US but on these shores, it should be well accepted as consumers are introduced to the pony.

• frenzyaustin on Jul 18, 2013 at 6:08 pm

Like giving a female a d*ck because it’s easier to pee. Sounds right but doesn’t feel right.

• Awesome man. I have a mondeo 2.0 ecoboost and it already has tonnes of power. This 2.3 ecoboost will be economical and loads of fun. Hope it comes to Malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
  • Chris on Jul 18, 2013 at 5:26 pm

Just read at some other sources saying the 2.3L ecoboost will be offered in USA as well, but it will not be a base model, as the spot is for the NA V6.

Following current mustang price, let say the ecoboost goes for 26k, with the current exchange rate, CBU for 2.3L… we’re looking at a 190k ringgit pony car?

• kambinganas on Jul 18, 2013 at 9:08 pm

More like RM290K. Unless Thailand starts manufacturing and assembling it.

• Chris on Jul 19, 2013 at 8:29 am

Maybe, but I’d like to be optimistic. I lost the link to the source I read yesterday, I remember it says the 2.3L ecoboost will be offered as a premium model, not the base model.

Now checking the pricing of this year’s mustang in MustangHeaven, minus off the delivery charges, it’s 22k for base model V6 and 26k for premium. I’m just making a wild guess thinking the ecoboost might cost around 26k.

That’s 83k ringgit after conversion (yeah, think how nice it would be if we can have a mustang for 83k…), a 2.3L CBU would be 90% excise 10% sales 30% import(?) so effectively 130% tax? (someone correct me if I’m wrong).

That ends up 191k + whatever it cost to ship here + whatever Ford decide earn from poor Malaysians, *if* they decide to bring one in.

• that would be around the same price as mondeo…i think it would be priced slightly more than that…

• cosmotegod on Jul 19, 2013 at 12:35 pm

More like RM390K.. A car that middle class college kids drive in the states will become super luxury here. Price it close to Toyota 86 sudah la. There’s your direct competition.

• tishaban on Jul 18, 2013 at 6:05 pm

So a 2.3l boosted engine with more than 300hp (rumored)? Can I have it with the manual transmission please?

• lonelyobserve on Jul 18, 2013 at 7:02 pm

Current model of Mustang in US has 6-speed manual transmission (Getrag MT82) as standard equipment and 6-speed automatic (Ford 6R80) as optional.

• Furqan on Jul 18, 2013 at 6:40 pm

IMHO it’s not a true Mustang if it doesn’t have a V8 motor

• LOL..all only know how to say nice nice nice..but in fact..no one dare to buy american cars..tok kok la

• Billy on Jul 18, 2013 at 8:33 pm

I always love Americans’ cars. Sadly, it’s too expensive back in here.. For instance, Chevy camero. Sigh.

• Eddie on Jul 18, 2013 at 9:31 pm

Oh yeah bebeh

• paparadzi on Jul 18, 2013 at 10:13 pm

A Mustang is not much without its V8, but that is better than nothing. Price will most probably be high even for a 4 cylinder model, however that is still far in the future. Maybe it will come after 2018 (GE14). There is still hope.

• Fahmi on Jul 19, 2013 at 12:19 am

The legendary 4-pot Mustang SVO is a “true” Mustang… So Mustang and four-pot is an “old friend” absent for 2 generations..

Though admittedly turbo’s in 1980’s are far more “wilder” than today’s turbos…. Nevertheless Ford Mustang is always my favorite…

• A Mustang starting from USD22k to triple of the base price depend on the engine and variant. SHELBY is top of the model.

In US a basic stang not more expensive than Mazda6 2.5. RM190k is more that possible but greedy make it impossible even at RM300K.

• I don’t think it will be cost effective for Ford/Auto Connexion to bring this here. They probably would be massively undercut by the AP kings (if they still exist then) who bring it here via Australia. The reduced import duty will be in full effect by then.

• steve on Jul 31, 2013 at 8:09 pm

every guy working in the mines will sell there ss ute and buy one of these with the super charged v8

• Fazil Jafar on Oct 22, 2014 at 1:38 am

GUYS ! MUSTANG do will exist in Malaysia . check out ford.com so it proves that there is EcoBoost engine with 2.3L . Americans gotta be kidding of MUSTANG !! It is the amazing wich a car has a soul of the ride . GREAT !!!!