2015 Ford Mustang to get 2.3L four-cylinder in Europe

2013 Ford Mustang

Yay or nay, say what you may – it’s not going to change Dearborn’s confirmed decision to offer the sixth-gen Ford Mustang (2012 fifth-gen V6 model pictured) with a turbocharged 2.3 litre four-cylinder engine in Europe, where larger engines such as V8s are highly taxed.

Edmunds.com reports that the unit in question is derived from the turbocharged 2.0 litre EcoBoost found in the Focus ST. It is understood that up to 300 hp will be on tap – a 50 hp jump. However, traditional buyers on the Continent will be glad to know V8 options will still be offered.

Ford will even reportedly build in RHD for the UK – which gives us Malaysians a sliver of hope, at the very least. Unsurprisingly, the US will not get the four-pot engine; continuing instead with the familiar V6 and V8 line-up. Quite a number of Stateside reports actually show dismay at this!

It isn’t as much of a departure from tradition as you might think – the Mustang SVO of the 1980s also used a four-cylinder engine, that also displaced 2.3 litres, and was also turbocharged. Then again, that one doesn’t quite pop into your head instantly when you think of a Mustang, does it?

This one does though, and as you correctly guess, produces somewhat more than 300 ponies.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• tikus on Mar 08, 2013 at 6:19 pm

Wow!! If this wild beast with 300hp hit Malaysia.Sure sell like hot cake.And Jap fans for Evo and etc will blow away.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 8
    • we will be blown away by how slow it hits 60, how often it visits the gas station and how terrible the handling is.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
      • eeeriz on Mar 10, 2013 at 12:19 pm

Ben, I couldn’t agree more with you if the engine is V6. It will take ages to reach 160kmh, and by that time all jap superheroes (evo, sti, etc) have passed by long time. I think the culprit is gearbox.
        But let’s see what 4 pot turbocharged engine can do this time..

• yeah, i’ll blow away itself off the road due to how shitty its handling to handle its enormous hp.

• frenzy on Mar 08, 2013 at 6:20 pm

Mustang without V6/V8 is like a man without d*ck

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 5
    • JackeyDeck on Mar 08, 2013 at 9:42 pm

“ejaculation” in m’sia can be quite expensive with such a big dick. lol

• frenzyaustin on Mar 08, 2013 at 10:38 pm

By the way we can buy this car and swap in a Shelby V8 init.

• there will be some penises who will tell you that our petrol is still the cheapest in the region so why not?
        look for this ‘stang at a naza near you.
        haha

• shawal on Mar 08, 2013 at 7:12 pm

Ford can produce europe specific rwd puma/lynx/capri with their know how expertise , 2.3 litre seems adequate for a gt86 potential rival

• I agree, if they really are serious about Europe, they should at least make some effort(and money) to re-style the Mustang into a new version of the still-gorgeous Capri. If they could go further, shorten the chassis so it could fit in European roads, the Mustang is still a rather big car. And I think the Capri name is much more familiar in Europe.

But I do not think it would be a GT86 rival. 2.3l I4 300bhp is over-powers the NA boxer engine of the Toybaru, and it’s turbocharged, so there will be a noticeable lag in responds compared to the instantaneous throttle of the Little Japanese coupe. Add to that the curbweight of the lightest Mustang is at 1,500kg compared to the 86/BRZ 1,150kg, this means the Hachiroku will be much more natural and agile through the corners where it excels. and I don’t think you could make a Mustang to that weight even with a lighter engine ,without downsizing its size, which will not pleased the muscle car fans, or making the body out of exotic materials, which will increase the price, out of the 86’s league and buyers. Most likely this car would compete with the Nissan Fairlady or even the Porsche Boxster.

• silwen on Mar 08, 2013 at 10:56 pm

This should be significantly cheaper than either a Porsche or Fairlady, reasons being that this is not a sports car, it’s a muscle car. The engineering and technology that goes into the car being able to corner quickly is spartan. It’s good in a straight line though. I expect it to be under RM250k; in the US it starts at USD22K (26k for the premium), this is just above the US Camry. If we extrapolate such data, then I’ll actually expect it to be circa RM200k. Then again, after certain persons have cuts here and there, and an AP, import and excise duties, who knows?

It’s certainly not classified as a sports car though, but it sure is pretty.

• shawal on Mar 10, 2013 at 11:19 am

yeah, ford right now is aiming globally, 1 car for each segment to appeal worldwide , fiesta, focus, modeo/fusion , kua/escape ,
        A mustang with a V8 is not suited to many places , a v8-less mustang is not wanted by many people ,
        And a FWD car can’t be as fun as a RWD 1 (focus ST) , and currently Ford has only 1 RWD platform which is the mustang,
        If ford is serious about selling affordable fun cars like the MX-5, or the toyobaru, they have a good chance to do so , start from a blank sheet of paper and revive the capri name, is has a strong following in the UK & australia

• lotsa american hardcore muscle car fans will get mad on this :p

• JackeyDeck on Mar 08, 2013 at 9:40 pm

THE AMERICAN MUSCLE !!!! Sure love to see this car running on malaysia road one day ~

It won’t be cheap though, if it is to be available in m’sia… price probably would around RM300k-RM375k, maybe even more?

Anyhoo… i probably start with 86 before getting on to this bad boy ~

• JackeyDeck on Mar 08, 2013 at 9:45 pm

THE AMERICAN MUSCLE !!!! Sure love to see this car running on malaysia road one day…

I guess the price would be around RM300k-RM375k… so, better start with 86 before getting on to this bad boy ~

• Sam Pooh on Mar 08, 2013 at 10:39 pm

Resale value no good. How many times must I teach you Malaysians? Avanza way better handling, comfort suspension, safety and sporty.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
  • Well… it’s so ugly..

• theanswer on Mar 08, 2013 at 11:40 pm

2.3L 4 cyl is too small for this car. maybe they can use 3.0 V6.

• You realize what you saying?

Read about the capability of the engine before speaking all those nonsense about bigger engine = better.

• it’s not about the engine capability… it’s about the shear driving pleasure when driving a mustang… 2.3L turbocharged is not the same as a 3.0L V6… it lacks symphony…

• kadajawi on Mar 09, 2013 at 9:36 pm

Doesn’t matter. An American muscle car needs a big V8. Giving it a 4 cylinder, no matter how powerful is just plain wrong. That’s like Pamela Anderson with small breasts.

• Chris on Mar 09, 2013 at 9:40 pm

Not quite. If I want a 2.3L 4 pot, I’d take one in a Focus RS.

It’s fast, yes, but it’s giving the wrong image. Mustangs are all about muscles, torque, low revving grunty NA V8, a V6 already seems watered down.

Well if you just want a car that looks like a mustang with a 300hp engine like old V8 does, and doesn’t care if it feels right or not, more power to you.

• PauKaya on Mar 09, 2013 at 9:07 pm

posers cars? with no v8

• sAmloo on Mar 11, 2013 at 10:06 am

That is one ugly piece of slimy green poo. It make Toyota Camry look like princess.

• Sammy on Mar 11, 2013 at 10:39 am

P*** off Jap lover! This is an American icon and you were still swimming around when these cars were icons and poster cars. A Camry is deff out of this league, uncle!

• BlackBJQ on Mar 11, 2013 at 2:34 pm

Just being sarcsm bro..

For sure he is trolling our dear Mister Sam LOO..