Ford Focus ST – the GTI challenger arrives, RM209k

The ongoing launch of the third-generation Ford Focus has brought about a pleasant surprise, the arrival of an additional model, one that’s bound to get the enthusiasts going. As the headline already suggests, it’s the scorching Focus ST model – the car was introduced by Sime Darby Auto ConneXion alongside the 2.0 litre Focus Sport hatch and Titanium sedans a while ago.

Malaysia is the first market in the ASEAN region to launch the ST. The introduction of the barnstormer – only available as a five-door hatch here – is pretty fast, considering that the car’s market debut was announced in June (it made its global debut in Paris two years ago) and deliveries only begin from this month. There’s an estate version of the form, but that’s unlikely to see the light of day here in Malaysia.

Exterior kit is made up of an ST Sport styling kit (body-coloured side skirts, front and rear diffusers), with other elements including a high gloss black front grille and an ST rear spoiler. It sits on 18-inch alloys and specially-developed 235/40 Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric rubbers.

The ST is powered by a 2.0 litre Ti-VCT EcoBoost mill offering 250 PS at 6,500 rpm and 340 Nm at 1,750 rpm, and performance specs include a 0-100 km/h time of 6.5 seconds and a top speed of 248 km/h. It’s paired to a six-speed manual transmission, with specially-revised gearing.

The engine emits a distinctive soundtrack through a newly-enhanced sound symposer, which relays the engine sound directly from the intake into the cabin. The exhaust system, with a unique twin hexagonal centre exhaust tailpipe, has also been tuned to deliver a meaty growl when you gun the car.

A comprehensive range of driver assistance features make their way on – there’s a variable ratio Sport Steering System, which reduces steering sensitivity when driving in a straight line and increases sensitivity when cornering. The EPAS has also been specially calibrated for the car, and detects and counters torque steer using a more aggressively pitched version of Ford’s Torque Steer Compensation (TSC).

Elsewhere, the ESP features three distinct modes – drivers can turn ESP on for a tuned version of the system found throughout the Focus range. Next, a reduced or wide-slip mode disables traction control and activates ESP only when absolutely necessary. Finally, ESP can be switched off altogether, if you’re into that sort of fun.

Other items include Torque Vectoring Control (TVC), which applies brake torque to the inner wheel through a corner to reduce understeer and Cornering Under Steer Control (CUSC), which applies torque to create yaw torque based on the vehicle’s understeer behaviour prior to ESP, both in power-on and power-off conditions.

The ST gets a unique tuned suspension, of course. The rear suspension has been revised, with a number of new parts developed specially for the car, uprated suspension knuckles and an all-new anti-roll bar design among them. Ride height is lowered by 10 mm over the base Focus, with uprated shocks and springs in tow.

Other kit includes six airbags, capless refuelling system, a sunroof as well as a specially-designed steering wheel, gearshift and pedals. The cabin also features darker headlining and trim on the pillars. Incidentally, the ST here is offered in what is called the ST2 trim level.

For Malaysia, four exterior colours are available, these being Panther Black, Race Red, Spirit Blue and the ST signature colour, Tangerine Scream. The car’s customised Recaro seats has its bolsters decked in matching colours, including that of Tangerine Scream (the Panther Black body colour gets its bolsters dressed in Race Red).

Of note is the pricing of the German-made CBU unit – the Focus ST enters the scene at RM208,888, on-the-road with insurance. The car comes with a three-year/100,000 km warranty as well as Ford’s Extended Service Plan (ESP) maintenance programme, good for three years or 60,000 km.

If you want one now, it’ll take about two to three months for the car to get to you; global demand is high, so it’s bound to be an exclusive machine selling in limited numbers here.

From a stick shifter point of view, it’s significantly cheaper than the Renault Megane RS 250, and where it is, more than takes the fight to the base Volkswagen Golf GTI, rivalling the Golf R and Scirocco R for output. Interesting times, indeed.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Davincci on Sep 13, 2012 at 7:55 pm

Another good car!

• mentari driver on Sep 15, 2012 at 4:12 pm

Yup test drove one earlier today..
      Funny story at traffic light come a young guy on the new F30 328i..
      Side by side..
      Then light goes green the BMW got smoke..
      Wheel spin kaw-kaw..
      Saw on my rear mirror he tried to chase..
      But due to Ford’s awesome handling/ride; the BM cannot cope up..
      Seriously didnt expect it is a good car..
      Wow..
      Ended up sign up 1 unit..
      But have to wait few months for arrival..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 10
      • Come on, this is an ST. You wanna try pitt against my M3? We shall see who got smoked. Stupid comment, bashing BMW. Handling is better? Oh puhlease.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 27
        • Pemerhati 1Malaysia on Sep 16, 2012 at 1:18 pm

Come on..
          wow u so dumb..
          to tell the guy race against bigger displacement/cc..
          this is a 2L..!
          so its a fair fight with BM F30 328 (2L) also..
          whom pay road tax RM380/year..
          i think the person proved ST is better then BM in terms of acceleration..

where else M3 is 4L CC which pays road tax more then RM4K…

go figure..
          its just like to tell some one with PhD degree to fight with someone whom owns general Ba/Bsc Degree…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
          • Exactly you stupid dumb! Am being sarcastic, ST is a hot hatch while 328 is an executive sedan. Oh geez, i give up. Go ahead and buy ST by the bundles, who gives a f.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 33
          • If you wanna compare, do it against another hot hatch like Golf gti, pug gti, etc. otherwise put the normal ford focus sedan next to 320 and compare. And dont make generalization, oh ford is faster and better than bmw because ST smoked 328i. And cheaper. If you’ve never driven a rear wheel drive car, dont say ford handling is better, because you have no inkling what you’re talking abt. Cabish?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 18
          • mentari driver on Sep 17, 2012 at 12:42 pm

Oh..
            No need being defensive.
            Its not like auto bavaria paid you to promote them such aggression..
            Well just saying my point when I test drove and it proves to be better :)

• @ Beng – for someone who don’t give a f, u certainly mumble a lot…. If u can’t take harsh criticism, don’t make one….

• amirad on Sep 18, 2012 at 8:22 am

Seems like some rear wheels drivers have some form of superiority complex.

• I agree. By the way, BMW has never been known for making sports cars, neither in Rally nor in formula. They make good passenger cars which have comfortable interior with lot of safety. This is where they are good.

• civictoda on Sep 18, 2012 at 3:35 pm

iyo…kalu M3 want to show to car like ST oh puhlease. you belong to another league brother…if ST want to challenge u thats like pieace a cake…so feel too cocky here…its no match…

• If the car spin kaw kaw, means it will not take off fast. Moreover I m sure this car is equipped with LSD so this won’t happens. And how sure are you that the BMW guy is racing with you? Clearly you are bullshitting…

• mentari driver on Sep 18, 2012 at 5:59 pm

tak bullshit. tak baik bullshit. because the BM was my best friend.. it was fun.
          anyway already bought the car and waiting patiently for arrival; seronok.
          well u all talk so much (sorry type so much); but dont buy.
          i understand; tak de wang so just type seronok-seronok.

• If BMW cannot compete with ford focus ST, why it is so expensive??

• Pemerhati 1Malaysia on Sep 22, 2012 at 1:15 pm

thats is because of the brand.
            harga mahal pun tak semestinya bagus :)
            rosak memanjang tepi jalan :)

• TurboMan!!! on Sep 25, 2012 at 4:47 am

This forum is getting rather interesting.

Every car brand has a bunch of bashers.

You have Korean Bashers
            Proton bashers
            BMW/Merc Bashers.

But one thing for sure, the way those bashers write, make them look like bitter inarticulate imbeciles. And i would like to emphasis on “inarticulate”.

As usual, i blame the education system.

• Bro, does ur st already arrive, becoz hardly to Find one on road

• Why the front looks like that???

• Kanchana on Sep 14, 2012 at 12:24 pm

The front view is so so, the side view looks tough.

The twin exhaust pipes in the middle make its back view is just like my Garfield …. so sexy with its two peanuts there.

• mentari driver on Sep 15, 2012 at 12:46 am

awesome car; better than Renault 250..
      bet this machine can kick F30 328i/C250 CGI bye bye..
      good work ford…

awesome machine…

• BMW BEST on Sep 15, 2012 at 10:35 am

Don’t care,F30 328I still better in term of comfort and the looks.

• John Player Special on Sep 15, 2012 at 1:00 pm

if you dont care why are you here?

• BMW BEST on Sep 15, 2012 at 9:07 pm

Because I love cars,so I am here.

• Pemerhati 1Malaysia on Sep 16, 2012 at 11:04 am

no la u here becoz u just another keyboard warrior :)

• Pemerhati 1Malaysia on Sep 16, 2012 at 11:03 am

ish.. apa lak better.. BMW (buang manyak wang) nanti asyik2 rosak tersadai je tepi jalan..
          lets face the fact: open your eyes see mostly BMW je tersadai tepi jalan/tepi hi way.. kalau mau comfort nanti rosak tersadai apa bikin.. hurm…

• BMW BEST on Sep 16, 2012 at 11:46 am

Oh really?Had you ever afford one of them?Keep bashing the bad side of BMW,but you probably like driving a Myvi only,and you keep saying BMW is buang money.Wake up la,now who is keyboard warrior?Keep saying only.

• Pemerhati 1Malaysia on Sep 16, 2012 at 1:22 pm

ala u bising2
            penat2 promote BM u dapat royalti ke?
            ada ke BMW german tu kisah ke u bising2 di forum?
            rasa2 pun u just guna Kancil cakap banyak :)

• To BMW BEST…As though you own a BMW. Dreaming is free. Serve yourself.

• Bmw tak best- overated, but if u buy it for the branding, so be it…

• No doubt going by specs and also by your experience this looks to be a very good machine. But as I know, R 250 is best in its class, people have test drove it worldwide. Renault specialize in making light and powerful engines. Please do test drive one R 250 to see the difference.

• Renault 250 is a reference.

• kingston on Sep 13, 2012 at 8:12 pm

RM209k??Wow!This is the rival for the golf gti which has the same price but with 43 more hp than the gti,that is seriously worth considering.

• the problem is MANUAL…
      TRAFFIC JAM MAAA….AHHHHHHHHHHHHH!!!
      …and DSG shift faster.

• Zippy Polo on Sep 13, 2012 at 11:47 pm

DSG not so reliable ….

• 2 years experience with my VW DSG ! good quality and solid car but last month my car breakdown bcoz the DSG Mechatronic problem ! this is my second time to left my car in SC for repair my car ! imagine when u shift R but go to front ! front of me is the wall but lucky is still far…if near?!accident !

• civictoda on Sep 18, 2012 at 3:32 pm

i agree…dsg not so reliable. i notice if i use the dsg(manual mode)tends to jerk when car is slowing down(downshift itself)and sometimes not so responsive.

• ttkeric on Sep 14, 2012 at 12:32 am

aiya small boy. this is real car not your ps3 punya one la.

• fireblade on Sep 14, 2012 at 9:51 am

you must be a gay or 15year old kids.considering high performance car in auto? are you joking? I bet you never drive manual before.

• nowadays, almost all supercar use auto la, Moron!!

• amirad on Sep 16, 2012 at 10:56 pm

And there’s a very good reason for that. Most supercars are driven by professional atheletes, hollywood artists, rappers, fashion designers, politicans, businessmen and the likes. Us true average joe on the street practical car lovers can only afford a manual tranny Ford ST.

• pirlo on Sep 17, 2012 at 8:28 am

u dont undestand the feeling of driving high end car, pressing down the C pedal while shifting the gears in H pattern.

• I think they have semi auto. Racing is all about changing gears. Auto will be a joke. But semi auto yes, it is fast.

• Auto for girls

• pelar on Sep 14, 2012 at 8:09 pm

I drive a manual 86. Stuck in traffic everyday. I invite lusty stares without fail. On a more serious note, as I need to shift to 1, each time I cross a hump, drivers behind me must be annoyed. However, no one honed at me yet and a few smiled at me with thumbs up when they overtook me.

• pirlo on Sep 17, 2012 at 8:25 am

auto is for sissy

• Apa apa sahaja on Sep 13, 2012 at 10:43 pm

maybe on straight line..
      but dsg equip with launch control..

hot hatch is not just about power on paper : hp/nm..
      its about the ride… handling.. refinement… enjoyment.. elegance.. poshness…
      of coz enjoyment…

which mostly vw gti has all the while since mk5 gti..

got sit and test drive both..

also best question is how is ford after sales..
      nanti jadi macam alfa: kereta hebat tapi support out and jadi syok sendiri..

hurm….

• Storm on Sep 14, 2012 at 10:46 am

And you think VW after sales is good??

• junior driver on Sep 14, 2012 at 4:02 pm

support so far so good.
          so far their premium 5 years roadside + warranty give u hotel stay if car breakdown..

• Anon Kneemas on Sep 15, 2012 at 7:06 am

Handling, refinement and overall fun-to-drive – Yes. But elegance and poshness? – in a hot hatch? Maybe in the luxury sports sedan category.

The GTI is a very versatile and talented car granted, and the VW interior build quality is the benchmark. But the ST is not without its talent. The torque vectoring has to be felt to be appreciated. In 1st and 2nd gear corners (autocross setting especially), the front end grip and traction is quite relentless and the rear is just so adjustable with the throttle (almost like a RWD). Flogging the ST reminds me of the old school Citroen ZX Volcanes, the ones with that novel passive rear steer mechanisms. I think the GTI lacks that nth degree light-on-its feet playability – it just feels a little bit more sombre (a lot of fun, but more serious).

Try both and judge for yourself.

• jbmsia on Sep 15, 2012 at 2:27 pm

“which mostly vw gti has all the while since mk1 gti..”

there, fixed it for you :)

• theanswer on Sep 14, 2012 at 12:26 am

i think this one more likely to become megane rs rival..not gti. manual vs manual.

• Harakah on Sep 14, 2012 at 3:05 pm

if compared to megane cannot lah.. i mean cannot beat megane !.. this car is between golf gti and megane rs.. :-)

• Harakah on Sep 14, 2012 at 3:16 pm

of forgot, this car should be place side by side with the big brother of golf gti ITS GOLF R yaww :-) .. 2.0L, AWD, 250HP/350Nm breath out yaww..

• Fantastic! We need more hot hatches on the road! Good job, SDAC!

• Alpha on Sep 13, 2012 at 8:31 pm

A really good car.But should’ve been made a 2-doors la.Hehe.

• bbibli on Sep 13, 2012 at 8:40 pm

altis is overpriced, civic is with outdated sohc engine, sylphy/sentra / engine has less power, elantra only 1.8, no 2.0, polo sedan only 1.6, ST is overpriced too..left only pug 408 and preve…waiting for k3…haiz~

• Wrong comparisons bro.

• evoqR on Sep 14, 2012 at 2:35 am

what’s wrong? all are C segment cars. only different some are n/a engine and some are both n/a and turbos like pug and preve and turbo only ST. jetta is not included as it’s far expensive and GTI is C hot hatch

• fireblade on Sep 14, 2012 at 12:22 pm

still wrong.

• pelar on Sep 14, 2012 at 8:14 pm

To be plain, the cars’ aural effect, throttle response, steering feel, brake time, detailing and stiching, bodyroll are all very different.

• lol then no cars are eligible to be compared. look like clever but still stupid

• kokau on Sep 15, 2012 at 12:51 am

just talk cock everyone can, give me table of any similar cars that can be compared with those features

• Wrong cos you should be comparing those cars to the standard Ford Focus and not the ST.
          Compare this ST to other hot hatches la …

• japfan on Sep 15, 2012 at 12:53 am

yeah wrong ones bro. jap cars are ultimate driving machines you know. vios TRD can smoke M5 anywhere anytime

• pirlo on Sep 17, 2012 at 8:34 am

hell yeah. vios TRD equipped with tuned suspension, bodyki, leather seats and.. and.. vvti!

• its more comparable to Peugeot 308 turbo facelift. I mean the normal version of focus not the ST.

• danedz on Sep 13, 2012 at 8:45 pm

Why there is no photo of right hand drive version???

• YeapyEvo on Sep 13, 2012 at 8:46 pm

I will wait for next gen Golf GTi at this price, better service support and interior quality albeit lower hp.

• Mario Gomez on Sep 14, 2012 at 1:05 pm

Yes bro!!
      i will also wait for the Mk7 Golf GTi..
      this car looks ugly,so i think the Focus RS will be more uglier

• kevin on Sep 13, 2012 at 8:47 pm

im agree wat kingston has say.. but the quality and tech of the car still cant bet VW~~~~

• HitMan on Sep 13, 2012 at 8:49 pm

no dual clutch ???

• Jeff lim on Sep 13, 2012 at 8:50 pm

Pls consider bringing in the handsome focus st wagon. Niche market but I love wagons.

• ST version also CBU from thailand?

• Got Eyes but blind... on Sep 13, 2012 at 10:38 pm

You my friend should get your eyes checked, the article clearly said it is CBU from Germany..

I guess some people only look at pictures…

• Erik Sprott on Sep 13, 2012 at 9:15 pm

Thought the price would be at least 15% lower than the gti per prices in the US and Europe

• Archer on Sep 13, 2012 at 9:29 pm

Where this cbu come from us or europe? Im not sure if china got ford plant

• jab, strong, fierce! on Sep 13, 2012 at 9:56 pm

aww, Ford, this isn’t a really bright move as you should price it between 160~170k and you’ll get bunch load of GTI’s owner hopping bandwagon in a jiffy. please get rid of the rocket-launch-center-console in the next revision as it isn’t flush with the rest of the well designed interior

For now, most of us will stick to our GTIs, why so? read this and you’ll get the answers – http://www.automobilemag.com/reviews/driven/1210_rivalry_hatched_2013_ford_focus_st_vs_2012_volkswagen_gti/viewall.html

• disgusted on Sep 13, 2012 at 9:57 pm

This car is YUMMY. However, in USA, the price is $24K. In UK, it’s GBP21K inclusive of tax. Here, our BN govt wants RM209K !!! Vote wisely before we are taxed to death.

• sepul on Sep 13, 2012 at 9:58 pm

this truly is unexpected… even tho i can never afford one for sure, but just for the sake of enthusiasm.. WOW

• polo saga on Sep 13, 2012 at 10:07 pm

the legend is back now!!!

• I really hope to see there will be a shoot out or review on all the hot hatches. VW GTI, RENAULT MEGANE, MAZDA MPS, FORD FOCUS ST, SUBARU STI HATCH, HONDA TYPE R,

• Mario Gomez on Sep 14, 2012 at 1:08 pm

VW Golf GTi sure will win

• i don’t think so Mario… the GOLF R will win..

• junior driver on Sep 15, 2012 at 12:39 am

Scirocco R better :)
          but at that price close to RM300K go for F30 awesome ultimate driving machine!

• Focus st is rated better than golf gti- only slightly whereas megane RS is more hardcore. My vote goes to Focus for overall marks.

• shawal on Sep 13, 2012 at 10:32 pm

it shuld’ve include the ICE (with satnav & reverse camera) shown in studio photos , make it a bit more special
    manual is fun, except when there’s traffic jams after a hard day’s of work
    a Twin clutch makes more sense for our market

• Sime Darby? I will prefer VW Malaysia, they do a better job here…

• tricycle on Sep 13, 2012 at 10:43 pm

automatic transmission is better for market capitalization. better yet introduce a DSG derivative to this model…

shift stick is good but it lacks practicality in daily driving

• Darren Yeo on Sep 13, 2012 at 10:55 pm

Wow, this is so unexpected. Could be the first ford sports model to grow in Malaysia

• Dr Mamak on Sep 13, 2012 at 11:00 pm

Middle gay exhaust, sure won’t go down well with anti lgbt crowd.

• Anon Kneemas on Sep 15, 2012 at 6:54 am

I don’t see ‘centrally mounted exhausts in cars’ in the recent DOE issue LGBT spotting guidelines? I suppose you find cars like the Zonda as ‘gay’?

• dRwh0 on Sep 13, 2012 at 11:00 pm

Lazy to answer..just paste it for reference.. “Of note is the pricing of the German-made CBU unit – “

• Anthony, please don’t forget to include Mazda 3 MPS for the pricing comparison. I wonder why Mazda can be so competitively price but ford can’t.

• artworks on Sep 14, 2012 at 4:16 pm

Focus ST hv alot electronic helping cornering
      MPS dun have.

• Anon Kneemas on Sep 15, 2012 at 6:52 am

Focus ST has a lot more goodies than the M3MPS. Also having driven both, I found the ST to feel more refined (feel of the controls, gearbox, interior etc) than the M3MPS. By the way, the many reports of crazy torque steer in the M3MPS are not exaggerated.

• I drive an MPS and I don’t have a problem with torque steer even when you floor it at the corner. It has a Advanced Torque management system and LSD which make it easier to control. A driver will need to know how to handle and make use of the features.Thats where the fun is. You will need to have a bit of experience in handling this type of car. For those who still think it has monster torque steer even with all these features, clearly this type of car is not for them.

• civictoda on Sep 18, 2012 at 3:27 pm

mazda 3 MPS is a good car. most powerful in its catagory….but mpg fail! better with GTI and ST.

• Will- Mazda mps is more of an Ah Beng car- the inside looks cheapo…

• arcana on Sep 14, 2012 at 12:01 am

wah…..30k more than its rival cousin the Mazda 3 MPS….kinda pricey ford, since both have turbos, manual and are CBU units.

• Josh Ling on Sep 14, 2012 at 1:12 am

A German performance car at 209k? Wow….that’s some serious deal here.

• Tycoon88 on Sep 14, 2012 at 1:18 am

Very nice marque! price reasonable compared to RCZ

Ford has outdone themselves this time round! congrats!

• beatnik on Sep 14, 2012 at 8:22 am

Yahoo!! good! more choices for enthusiasts.. some may put off with the lack of dsg, but come on.. you need the manual shifter to truly enjoy the car. Healthy power, great ride and handling.

Some may say too expensive.. just wait for recond units :) at least the price is better buy than the megane and gt86.

• pelar on Sep 14, 2012 at 7:59 pm

Beatnik, the driving dynamics for front wheel drive & rear wheel drive cars are totally different. There is no comparison
      at all. U really have to drive 86 for a few days before you can feel how balance the car is compared to a megane.

• omanjedi on Sep 14, 2012 at 9:39 am

Nice…very nice…that’s how a hot hatch supposed to be…MANUAL GEARBOX….DSG is only for pussies

• _xXx_ on Sep 14, 2012 at 9:40 am

As usual Malaysians get screwed big time for buying new car. This one is no exception. It’s only about RM75k in the US.

• tax aware on Sep 14, 2012 at 10:49 am

Yeah, fuel price in us oso about 1 dollar per liter for ron 97, forgot bout that

• who cares the fuel price is high? the difference of RM100k for that car in the US is enough to buy you expensive RON97 for more than 20 years.

pls don’t try to tone down the shitty issue of malaysians having to buy expensive cars. it’s a fact and we’re living with this bullshit.

• moon- i suggest u go live to uk and people moan about high petrol prices most of the time. Be thankful you are living in Malaysia, if not…belah!

• fabulous….except that in UK, this car is about 5000 pounds cheaper! So once again, sime darby is overpricing.

• Cheah Tat Cheong on Sep 14, 2012 at 10:19 am

Did they forget to shut the bonnet properly? Or is that the so-called German build quality? Cheap looking graphics inside too.

• macroman on Sep 14, 2012 at 10:24 am

what an ugly car for rm200k. GTI or MEGANE RS pls tq

• Mario Gomez on Sep 14, 2012 at 1:11 pm

Yes is damn ugly,even French’s Megane RS 250 better than this

• civictoda on Sep 18, 2012 at 3:25 pm

yup it does look ugly. but if you choose white or black it does look more promising…if yellow damn ugly…

• seems like MPS3 and GTI have a new rival…

• i really dont get it why people always complaining manual car will be dreadful in traffic jam. its not that cars are made like 80s/90s european cars anymore. clutch pedals of modern cars are suprisingly light. most of it hydraulic assisted.

the other day i was reading vw cars forum and people there are complaining that some cars (polo if not mistaken) are not equipped with hill assist. what’s wrong with using handbrake? isn’t it covered in driving licence test? yes overall curriculum could be better but if you cant even properly execute basic driving technique, how can you drive? you took the auto test one issit?

i think manual transmission does contribute to this car ‘competitive’ pricing. take out DSG and VW could easily shave 6-8k of their price. peace of mind comes free though…

• _xXx_ on Sep 14, 2012 at 12:21 pm

dun tell me dunno how most malaysian passed their driving test…thru hardship ok? :)

• lonelyobserve on Sep 14, 2012 at 2:11 pm

Correct. Manual transmission is always RM2K~R8K cheaper than conventional automatic transmission, CVT and dual-clutch transmission on the same spec vehicles.

• lanbr on Sep 15, 2012 at 12:30 am

cvt only cost 25k for flx, DSG cost more, you must not spoil these gears or else your pocket get burned

• Fredo on Sep 17, 2012 at 8:58 am

bro, its actually nothing wrong with manual tranny…but its just a trend that more people are preferring an AT or something like the DSG for a daily practicality…i dun mind having an MT for a weekend but i still prefer an AT for a daily workhorse

• Proton user on Sep 14, 2012 at 11:14 am

i’m wondering why is the ST sign looks similiar with Subaru’s STI…

• janjidicapati on Sep 14, 2012 at 11:51 am

ah 209k .. out of reach..for me at least

• who care traffic jam. not all leave in KL

• Cheah Tat Cheong on Sep 14, 2012 at 2:34 pm

You mean “live in KL”? Your English is as ugly as those ST seats…

• MrMitnick on Sep 14, 2012 at 1:59 pm

Car looks fugly, manual? that is so yesterYEAR!!! another petrol guzzler on our roads, for me,i will choose new coming soon,VW MK7 GTI hands down, try compare gear shift with the VW DSG, DAS AUTO yo!!!

• sepul on Sep 14, 2012 at 2:41 pm

this one is for enthusiast bro.. u dont like it, dont buy it

and manual may be yesteryear but many europeans still choose manual because it gives the best driving feel, and less complicated to maintain

• lonelyobserve on Sep 14, 2012 at 2:54 pm

If manual transmission so yesterday then why Europeans still prefer it?

• Harakah on Sep 14, 2012 at 3:13 pm

Nothing can beat DSG.. But all of them talk cock say DSG are not reliable lah ape lah.. They didnt drive and maintain it and sembang macam selalu pakai golf gti je.. setakat bace forum mengadap 24jam baik xpyah !!

• pelar on Sep 14, 2012 at 8:04 pm

harakah, you are self delusional. dsg
        failures are well documented.

• DSG clearly now has a problem. Full of complaints..

• I own dsg car- not perfect and i hope it will be reliable after warranty habis….

• Anon Kneemas on Sep 15, 2012 at 6:49 am

Having driven one I found the Focus ST’s manual box a peach – short shifts, direct feel, relatively light clutch. And believe me, with the ample torque this car has, you’d find yourself rowing less than in a Kancil. The manual box fits the car’s personality.

• zainal abidin on Sep 14, 2012 at 2:44 pm

Very nice indeed. But considering the price I think it should come with a 5 year unlimited mileage (or 150,000km) warranty period. Unless the owners rarely use their cars. Not too sure about the low profile 235/40 18″ tires though.

• Johnny on Sep 14, 2012 at 4:41 pm

It arrived faster than I thought..

• u mad bro?? on Sep 15, 2012 at 2:05 am

How about vauxhall astra VXR?? its 2012 model…please someone bring back opel and vauxhall to malaysia..peace yo

• The price to own this car in the US starts from USD 24,495.00. Our ‘beloved’ government really had conned and forced us to buy low quality, unreliable and unsafe cars so that all their cronies can fill their pockets.

• Anthony, if compare with Mazda MPS 255hp and 380rpm/3000, which 1 is better in performance?

• A Yasir on Sep 15, 2012 at 3:46 pm

Anthony Lim, a few questions :
    – SDAC confirms that there will be no estate versions for the ST?
    – does the ST comes with telescopic and reach / length adjustable steering?
    – confirm MY models comes with sunroof ( because the cars in the pics doesn’t seem to have one )?

• is this a AWD?LOL i cant any info about it

• how come no one complain that honda type R’s have no auto trans?

• ah beng on Sep 17, 2012 at 12:44 am

See link below. Ford focus ST is the winner of hot hatch back.

http://www.autoexpress.co.uk/car-reviews/14541/ford-focus-st-vs-rivals

• anonymous on Sep 17, 2012 at 1:30 am

seriously, the front grill is hideous…

and with such a large part of honeycomb plastics…i sure hope they don’t break easily

• people who buy vw especially Gti are stupid..they pay eccesively for stupid engines and ugly design,.my 2009 focus can beat Gti handling any time..cannot wait to trade in my old focus and cooper s to get this new awsome focus ST..oh god pls help me to own this st ASAP to throw smoke over stupid gay AT golf R (Not golf Gti bcz too lower specs)..

• amirad on Sep 18, 2012 at 8:27 am

Why such hostility between GTi and ST. Let’s celebrate our differences. We are all into this for the love of driving. And I want both of them.

• civictoda on Sep 18, 2012 at 3:22 pm

hey dude, cool man. the car beats the golf r. one review says golf r better for straight line. ST have good reviews on its handling…so vw lost its both cars r. scirocco cost about rm280k. what the hell???very expensive. save around rm80k and u can smoke the car. Ford please stay ahead of all car makers especially vw. not to make enemies but vw has been on road for too long. its time to have a new road king.

• Utusan on Sep 18, 2012 at 3:26 pm

hello niko brader oi, yes you can compare it with golf r but definitely la the golf r win handsdown.. DSG equipped with 4WD = halleluyah !! 5.5s 0-100 for golf r and 6.2s for ford ? what the fcuk ?? choose other car please :-) ..

• halo bro Utusan…ST anytime can overtake R at the corner, R get smoked again..and again so on & so forth, ST’s superb tech. no need 4wd la..2wd enough already la to fire smoke on R..maybe can consider R to joint 4wd Landcruiser gang masuk hutan pakai tayar lipan…kah kih kuh

• Utusan on Sep 20, 2012 at 6:03 pm

hallo bro Niko again, ST take 6.2s to reach 100km/h, while R only 5.5s to reach.. that figure are so far.. 4WD grip around corner bro.. bila masa ST nak potong R even from the starting point already loose ??

• Bell&Ross on Sep 18, 2012 at 12:11 am

can’t live with the looks. however, would consider one if they do bring in the estate

• Whatcar on Sep 18, 2012 at 5:28 pm

Am very disappointed with SDAC PJ. Went there and was told that i cannot test drive the ST! All this talk abt testing drive the car (mentari driver) and wheel spinning, smoking bmw, better than gti la, all total rubbish. I aint buying a car which i cant test drive no matter how good a lot of people hearsay. Sales sucks, after sales even worse. SDAC, wake up!

• camon la bro, golf R juru also cannot test la..they give jetta only..waiting period more than 6 month..no need to test la,experts tested it already & gave award somemore…go buy j-pop or k-pop cars la bro..haha, peace no war

• Whatcar on Sep 25, 2012 at 12:30 am

What camon? If i wanna buy a RM 200K car, I sure wanna test drive it. I tested drive my beemer several times before deciding to buy it, and it costs way more expensive than this ST. WTF? This is the common mentality of msian. You see, if we allow this, just like we allow the gov to con us, fool us and rob us on broad daylight, they’re just gonna continue doing it and soon it will become a norm. Don’t allow it, speak up your mind! We’re the King, not them. It’s our freaking money. Condemn them to hell until they provide a test drive, then only anyone of us can buy one. Otherwise, ZERO SALE! Get it?

• amirad on Sep 19, 2012 at 11:53 pm

Ya lor. Where did this mentari fella get his test drive on the ST, summore can race with beemer lagi. Very intriguing. Also went to PJ SDAC also no test drive available for ST. At least FA Wagon let me test drive the golf GTi and this car is supposed to compete head to head with GTi. I am sure serious buyers will compare this car side by side before making decision. Or else we just have to trust The Stig. If the Stig can lap this car faster than the GTi, then ST is sure the winner. Can we make our decision based on that.

• half-Blood Prince 'Perak" on Sep 20, 2012 at 6:51 pm

Ford Focus ST, Golf R, CountryMan Cooper S JCW which one you guys prefer!!

• kayel on Sep 22, 2012 at 1:58 pm

maya karin looks stunning with the ford focus st…the other 4 model is no where to the beauty of maya….

• stBMHow on Oct 14, 2012 at 11:06 am

There is no test drive car for ST after i made a number of trips to showroom.This mentari guy is just talking to make himself feel like stupid dumb fellow. I am so doubtful if he really buy the ST. If he really bought it, he shall have taken 9 stupid years of maximum loan. Eat roti at home but acting like rich so called ” sport car” driver.