2012 Ford Focus ST with 247 bhp to debut at Paris show

The focus on Ford’s stand at the upcoming Paris Motor Show will be the third-generation Focus. Although the Blue Oval has already wheeled out its C-segment global car earlier this year in Detroit, this will be the “formal launch” and the first time that the complete line-up of three “production-ready” bodystyles (five-door hatch, sedan and wagon) will be displayed together. Will we see a slightly different car from the Detroit showstar? September 30 is the date.

The world premiering star of the cast will no doubt be the Focus ST, which is dubbed the “global performance version” of the new Focus. The hot hatchback will be on sale in early 2012, while the rest of the range will debut in Europe and North America by early 2011.

What we know now about the Focus ST is that the range topper (for now) will come with a 2.0-litre four-cylinder turbocharged EcoBoost engine with 247 bhp (250 PS) and “an addictive sound”. Power wise, this puts the ST on equal footing with the Renaultsport Megane 250 and higher than the 223 bhp five-cylinder car it replaces. A six-speed manual is almost a certainty, but will the ST come with a dual-clutch Powershift option?

The old ST was quite subtle in looks, but this new car has gone the other way. A huge “mouth” takes centrestage up front while the rear features a central twin exhaust that’s interestingly shaped. This special launch colour is dramatically called Tangerine Scream.

More pics and a look at the cabin after the jump. Click here to see videos of the Focus at Detroit.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=1499]

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• mr.young on Sep 15, 2010 at 3:43 pm

FUUUUUUUUUUUH.got da mean looks.haha
    OMG TOYOTA ESTIMA RIMS .__.

• @mr.young
      Ford has been using that Y-spoke rim design for a couple of years already.
      Even the Mk2 Focus ST from 5 years ago had them.

• Zidane on Sep 15, 2010 at 3:52 pm

Why can’t we get this type of car here at a moderate price?

Why do we have to settle for Satria Neo? Swift? etc….

Come on GOMEN. Your policies are making the choices we have rubbish. limited. and very ridiculous.

I’ve been eyeing this car since it first started with the Ford Focus RS (150 units).

You ask us to work hard but you ask us to work hard for us to sponser your car tax.

When are you going to grow up.

I WANT THIS CAR!!!!!!!!!!!

• Peter on Sep 15, 2010 at 5:10 pm

Then work hard la…

So how much do u think it should be selling???

Less than 100k???

Then continue dreaming…

• Zidane on Sep 15, 2010 at 8:02 pm

Work hard will not get you anywhere.

It is work smart that will get you somewhere.

• chuakz on Sep 15, 2010 at 9:44 pm

work smart n work hard will get you sumwhere….anyway….if u wan RS….NAZA brought in 2 I think

• Zidane on Sep 15, 2010 at 10:21 pm

The price is ridiculous.

Rm328k

• droll on Sep 17, 2010 at 8:57 am

yes but people bought it. i saw one unit at shangri-la KL car park 2 nights ago.

• DICKYBIRD on Sep 16, 2010 at 11:28 am

work smart and hard also will not get you anywhere near this car in bulihland, you have to know who also! lol

• Amiran on Sep 15, 2010 at 3:56 pm

Ford must have missed Jag so much… and this one radiator grill did the job to fill the ‘lost’ very well.

• alldisc on Sep 15, 2010 at 3:57 pm

previous focus ST in orange was delicious. this one yulks!!

• heh heh on Sep 15, 2010 at 4:05 pm

i notice F430 Scuderia’s front being slapped into the front look.. kinda weird..

• mitlanevo on Sep 15, 2010 at 4:09 pm

so HOT!!!

• shawal on Sep 15, 2010 at 6:07 pm

Extremely desirable!!!,

• ryantjk on Sep 15, 2010 at 8:21 pm

the bonnet, from the side, somehow looks like a myvi to me…

• bystander on Sep 15, 2010 at 10:19 pm

look like a transformer inspired car, i’ll choose crx look over this anytime!

• Anti Proton on Sep 15, 2010 at 10:53 pm

bad colour

• will-kill-for-exclusivity on Sep 16, 2010 at 12:39 am

rear end looks VOLVO-ish

still looks good

• Srotong on Sep 16, 2010 at 8:22 am

a ‘beef up’ version of ford fiesta

• agreed….fiesta on steroid…but it looks better than current focus which has weird looking windows towards the rear end, especially the 5 door hatchback…this looks better

• That was horrible ugly(certainly?

• DICKYBIRD on Sep 16, 2010 at 11:26 am

with a face like that, look for it in Iron Man 3!

• handsome*dude on Sep 16, 2010 at 2:28 pm

bring it on!!! first come the hot & interesting FORD FIESTA~~ and this FOCUS ST comes in would be a fair an good competition with the GOLF GTI ~~

goood goood!!

• droll on Sep 17, 2010 at 8:57 am

so now that the old car has been kicked out due to tougher emission standards, what’s different in this engine?

• JonLing on Sep 17, 2010 at 9:26 am

Front look needs some time to get used to, and some parts are a bit too complicated and messy to me. Other than that, it’s an eye-catching hot hatch. And I can’t wait to see how the RS variant would look like when it comes out in the future….

• pomen_gtr on Sep 17, 2010 at 4:50 pm

poisonous toad???

• dukenborg on Sep 17, 2010 at 11:14 pm

Here’s the question: How is it that Naza can bring in examples of the Ford Focus ST when the local official Ford dealer can’t? Ford Malaysia, how la?

• mata katak on Sep 18, 2010 at 12:21 pm

the color is pretty much ah beng-ish…Just my personal opinion…..

• imexa on Sep 18, 2010 at 1:31 pm

big ‘mouth’ similar to 3008….the colour makes it look desirable n nice shaping on the exhaust…when coming???

• quak58 on Sep 19, 2010 at 3:38 pm

Hmmmm looks interesting. Have the current ST. This one’s interior is a hell of a lot better then the current generation. Front has a more ‘racing’ look on it. Got to say, the definitely when the same plastic surgeon as Astins go to.

More power and a smaller engine. Might look into getting in. Hmmmmm……

Side profile still looks the same as current model.