2015 Ford Mustang – exports to Asian markets begin

All-New Mustang Going Global

The Ford Mustang has been confined to the North American market since its introduction way back in 1964; outside the region the only way you could have one would be to import it yourself. The new 2015 model, however, deviates from this tradition – the pony car is now leaving on the boat to international markets straight from the Flat Rock plant in Michigan for the first time, through official channels.

Units of the S550 Mustang are currently headed to Asian markets like China and Korea; Europe is set to receive its first cars in the middle of this year. And unlike all its predecessors, the latest model will also be available in right-hand drive for the first time, expanding its reach to another more than 25 countries including the United Kingdom, Australia and South Africa.

Us too – by the end of the year, Malaysians will be able to walk into Ford dealerships and drive out in a Mustang, in either 2.3 litre EcoBoost turbo four or 5.0 litre naturally-aspirated V8 flavours.

Cars destined for export markets have to undergo a series of homologation steps to comply with the standards of the destination countries. The cars receive finishing touches at the homologation centres at each port, including proper customs documentation and tracking, as well as underbody coating and documentation in the countries’ native language for certain vehicles.

“Preparing these vehicles for shipment to their final destination is critical to satisfying both customer and regulatory requirements for our markets around the world,” said Ford Trading Company director Gerald Schoenle. “We want our customers globally to know that their Ford vehicles will meet emissions, safety and road-worthiness requirements.”

Ford now employs around 3,000 people at Flat Rock, working at full capacity in two shifts to produce the Mustang and Fusion (known to us as the Mondeo). Additionally, another 100 jobs have been added at the Port of Portland to support exports to Asia Pacific and beyond.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Gonna have 1 of these

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 2
    • Jimmy on Jan 21, 2015 at 9:24 pm

Mas-tank, that is how it is pronounced. Without the k sound.

• Same L0rrrr on Jan 22, 2015 at 12:06 am

If fuel consumption is bad but power is delivered, it is still fine.

Too bad we have some local models with terrible fuel consumption yet no power is seem. I wonder the cars actually leak fuel by design.

Buy the car also boost the oil industry. How clever is this design concept!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 12
  • Maserati(Official) on Jan 21, 2015 at 4:46 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 162
    • Your comment is absolutely childish and stupid

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 102 Thumb down 6
    • LatukBandar on Jan 21, 2015 at 5:47 pm

i’ve prepared a very simple list of jew stuff for you to boycott.

Facebook (founder are jews)
      Intel – PC/Mac (jew founders)
      Google/Android (both founders are jews)

when you’re done coming out from the cave, maybe I can add a few more to the short list.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 81 Thumb down 5
    • Semi-Value (Member) on Jan 21, 2015 at 6:55 pm

henry ford hated jews…did u know that? lol….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 1
      • Sharm on Jan 21, 2015 at 9:14 pm

Yeah he even wrote a 1000-page book titled the International Jews revealing their agenda to control the world.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
    • kzm (Member) on Jan 21, 2015 at 7:27 pm

Obviously that maserati is trolling to make some people angry to certain grup of people.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
  • If reach Malaysia, sure kena tax duty kaw kaw……

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 2
    • Henry on Jan 22, 2015 at 8:51 am

Tentu lah, but the big market for this car in this region will be China and Australia.

• dodgeviper88 on Jan 21, 2015 at 4:54 pm

Malaysian students in US should buy one in RHD configuration, use a couple of years while studying there and then import back to Malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
  • Mustanglover on Jan 21, 2015 at 4:56 pm

Oh God! Palpitation. Fainting…

• seancorr (Member) on Jan 21, 2015 at 4:58 pm

It ain’t gonna be cheap when it arrives here even in its base form. If the Toyota 86 price is anything to go by I’d expect this baby to start from above RM300k for the 2.3 litre EcoBoost model…sigh pobably get a recond one for that excellent exhaust growl.

• akoo (Member) on Jan 21, 2015 at 5:02 pm

just wondering, they drive the car to the shipyard.. are they will reset the mileage on the car before handed the car to the customer?

• BOYRACER on Jan 21, 2015 at 5:50 pm

Most modern cars have what they call “transport mode”.When the cars are in this mode the car will not have the mileage reading on the dash.It is blank and (depending on manufacturers) the radio,air cond doesnt work (our local bmw is an example).Some also have speed limiter(the vw beetle tops at 35km/h).While most works on the mileage reading only.Thank god at the air cond works.

• BOYRACER on Jan 21, 2015 at 6:07 pm

Most if not all modern cars have a feature called “Transport Mode”.When in this mode the mileage reading on the dash doesn’t appear.It is just a blank space.While in this mode (depending on manufacturers) most will not have the radio working(Honda)air cond not working (BMW) speed limiter (VW BEETLE tops at 35km/h) At least the air cond is working.
      Once the cars reached their respective dealership,they will be reset to normal.

Not related topic,watching the video especially when they drive the cars onto the ship gives me a sense of deja vu..

• seancorr (Member) on Jan 21, 2015 at 6:50 pm

It’s just a short distance from the cargo lorry to the ship and from the ship to the yard which is usually next to the ship’s berth and that’s it…off to the showroom. No car I’ve ever owned new has its trip computer reset to zero. My latest ride (CKD/SKD whichever you think is right) had a mileage of 8km which I think was part of the QC @ the factory and the dealer taking it out to fuel up and back.

• BOYRACER on Jan 21, 2015 at 10:18 pm

Yes..that is correct.However the cars used to be driven from the port yard to the dealer.That add another few kms(at least here in kch).Now most of the cars are loaded onto trailers to be sent to the dealers.

• MacchaGreen on Jan 21, 2015 at 5:40 pm

Let’s play guess the price!

I’d say around 700k for the 5.0

• ScourgePrime (Member) on Jan 21, 2015 at 6:00 pm

It must be cheaper than Jaguar F-Type V6 for 2.3 Ecoboost engine.

• ScourgePrime (Member) on Jan 21, 2015 at 6:00 pm

It must be cheaper than Jaguar F-Type V6 for 2.3 Ecoboost engine.

• Well a few years ago the Camaro SS was a sold here for just under RM500k.

• Razo duh! on Jan 21, 2015 at 7:18 pm

Yup…I can say 2.3l is 300k++ and 5.0l is between 500k-700k or more, I guess? X3

• superbird #43 on Jan 21, 2015 at 7:35 pm

dont worry, the value will depreciate rapidly over time.

• Mojo6 on Jan 22, 2015 at 1:45 pm

And that is when I’ll get it… 2nd hand!! muahahahahaha! Otherwise, it’ll continue to be just a damn dream!

• car-fans on Jan 21, 2015 at 5:47 pm

I got one unit already – in my dream :)

• cendol (Member) on Jan 21, 2015 at 5:50 pm

Ford Mustang ‘K’ specs, K stands for kosong, brand new will be selling for RM568k, inclusive of government taxes, car price RM200k, tax RM368k.
    Thank you government

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
  • komarad on Jan 21, 2015 at 6:05 pm

should CKD’ed it…

• My dream car is finally coming… Buttt I can’t afford it.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Jan 21, 2015 at 6:56 pm

recond guys….ford sime darby….u may start your competition on who brings this car here first

• Aero (Member) on Jan 21, 2015 at 7:29 pm

Will we get the unique turn signal lamps ? Or will we get the usual yellow / orange / amber lights ?

Here’s how the turn signals look on the new Mustang. Pretty cool and creative.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4aAKF3L-TFM

• Potong Hero on Jan 22, 2015 at 12:38 am

Just some weeks ago I saw the PLUS truck signaling the warning board then I think why there are no car signal blinking like this….and now there are actually like this

• reader on Jan 22, 2015 at 11:23 am

lori tanker bawak minyak…sudah lama pakai signal macam tu… but..on yellow/amber lah…

• Work harder, earn more, pay tax and get your dream car

• Work harder, earn more, pay more tax to go into 1MDB and PKFZ and submarines and NFC cows, then buy your dream car so can help AP holders and Proton management to buy Lamborghini’s. That’s the life. Remember not to throw it away by voting for opposition.

• nighttrain on Jan 21, 2015 at 9:15 pm

Sigh.. Another car the local distributors will claim as low volume luxury model. Which is not true.

• Walao later sepang and even our famous highways in kl will turn into american dragstrips. Burnouts everywhere, LOL. This MUSCLE car will attract lots of attention. Built quality definitely better than the useless ckd hondas and nissans here.

• This will smoke EVO!!!!

• darkermarker on Jan 21, 2015 at 11:46 pm

i hope Malaysian wont mispronounce the word Mustang…..

and sounded like “Musang”….

• Potong Hero on Jan 22, 2015 at 12:34 am

Let’s rebadge this to Proton Musang then…haha

• eagletalon on Jan 22, 2015 at 1:39 am

Americans like to make large cc engine to increase hp. Instead, europeans prefer turbo or supercharge to increase engine power.

• Annoynimouse on Jan 22, 2015 at 8:33 am

Now who’s the lucky few that’s going for the 5.0l V8s when the Stang arrives at our shores? The road tax is going to cost you a motorbike. But then again, what’s a Mustang without its V8…
    If indeed the sales here is successful, then it will open the floodgates to other makes… Picture a RHD Camaro and the Dodge Challenger. Ooooh…

• Goforcar on Jan 22, 2015 at 8:36 am

Saw this car in US last year March. It is just awesome!

• panjang on Jan 22, 2015 at 8:42 am

correct me if i am wrong but The stock tune is to run on lower octane fuel which is in the us right?

Which means if they tune it to run on at least ron95 for our market,it will produce more horse.

• You’re still stuck in the 80s!!! They already used ecoboost 2.3L Engine !

• panjang on Jan 22, 2015 at 9:39 pm

Bro,u should read more fact before acting like u know averything.
        Just search what octane rating the fuel that is available for sale in the US.

• I want to buy one and name it ‘Pendekar Mustang’.

• Baja Lapis Seng on Jan 22, 2015 at 3:26 pm

Dream machine for the blue collar worker in the manufacturing plant that deserve some reward for years of hard work and savings.

But sampai Malaysia terus become expensive boy toys for the rich. Thank you, tax and duty.

• TheDean on Jan 24, 2015 at 7:54 am

Boy, the yanks really sound unexcited about their iconic mustang being shipped globally in that video. It’s like ‘we’re forced to sell, and we don’t have to like it’