2015 Mazda 2 1.5 launched – hatch and sedan, RM88k

We’ve seen the car at regional motor shows, we’ve seen the brochure and price list, we’ve seen the spyshots, we’ve even driven it; now, it’s finally here. We are of course talking about the new 2015 Mazda 2, which makes its Malaysian debut in both hatchback and sedan forms, fully imported from Thailand. The unveiling took place at Mazda’s new body and paint repair centre in Glenmarie.

Firstly, we’ll kick things off with the prices. Or rather, price – both the hatch and sedan will retail at RM87,956 on-the-road with insurance, inclusive of a three-year/100,000 km warranty and a three-year/60,000 km free service package.

Measuring 4,060 mm long, the hatch is the longest car in its class, beating the next longest, the Kia Rio, by 15 mm. The 2,570 mm wheelbase is also among the longest, putting it on par with the Rio. On the other hand, its width (1,695 mm) and height (1,470 mm) are par for the course for the segment.

The sedan is 260 mm longer at 4,320 mm – oddly, this makes it among the shortest B-segment sedans on the market, beaten only by the Mitsubishi Attrage (4,245 mm) and the Proton Saga (4,278 mm). The four-door is also slightly taller than its five-door sibling, at 1,495 mm. Boot size is 220 litres for the hatch, 410 litres for the sedan.

The shapely exterior features Mazda’s Kodo design language, with sharp hawk-eye reflector headlights (we don’t get the fancy projector units with LED daytime running lights, unfortunately), a large five-point grille (body-coloured accents on the hatch, grey on the sedan), a long bonnet and a pert, almost Alfa Romeo-like rear end for the hatch. The sedan gets a slightly longer Mazda 3-esque notchback – not a bad look at all.

Inside, you’ll find a minimalist interior with a cockpit-like sweep around the driver, circular air vents (plus a “hidden” central air vent) and an instrument cluster that features both analogue and digital gauges, borrowed from the Mazda 3. The look is made classier with black-and-red fabric-and-leather upholstery (leather also features on the dashboard), while the steering wheel gains telescopic adjustment in addition to tilt.

2015 Mazda 2 35

Nestled under the bonnet is a 1.5 litre high-compression, direct-injected SkyActiv-G petrol four delivering 114 hp at 6,000 rpm and 148 Nm of torque at 4,000 rpm. Putting the power to the front wheels is a six-speed SkyActiv-Drive automatic transmission. New to the Mazda range is a Sport mode for the gearbox for quicker response. The Mazda 2 is classified as an Energy Efficient Vehicle (EEV).

Kit count is impressively high, including two-tone 16-inch wheels, fog lights, keyless entry, push-button start, automatic air-conditioning, paddle shifters, an MZD Connect infotainment system with a seven-inch touchscreen and an iDrive-esque Commander Control knob, Bluetooth connectivity, a six-speaker sound system and even a head-up display. Navigation is a RM1,200 option.

2015 Mazda 2 Launch 2

Safety-wise, airbag count is limited to two, but ABS with EBD and brake assist, Dynamic Stability Control (DSC) and Isofix child seat anchors are all fitted as standard. Disc brakes on this Thai-built car are fitted all around as well, uncommon for the segment – cars built in Japan come with rear drums.

Lastly, the 2015 Mazda 2 is offered in four colour choices – Soul Red Metallic, Metropolitan Grey, Snowflake White Pearl and Aluminium Metallic. The locally-designed bodykit shown in some of these pictures isn’t available right now, but there are plans to offer it in the near future. You can view the full specifications and equipment for both the hatch and sedan models on CarBase.my.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Why u cut the projector headlamp?!

this headlamp so ugly, u tot still 1990?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 308 Thumb down 11
    • Captain Obvious on Jan 22, 2015 at 7:19 pm

Japanese carmakers, at least in Malaysia are a funny bunch. What is the selling point of the Mazda 2? Obviously the DRL and projector headlights, they take them out. What is the selling point of the Honda HRV? The 17inch great looking rims, they take them out. What you think we Malaysians are? Stupid?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 275 Thumb down 14
      • ProtonGSC on Jan 22, 2015 at 8:15 pm

Bermaz no different from UMW… Too proud and egotistical.

MAI/MAA/MITI are same running by cronies.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 103 Thumb down 23
        • Honda City better on Jan 23, 2015 at 5:06 am

Honda City is a better choice:
          – Looks better(Kodo design doesn’t work on small cars)
          – Roomier(Bigger in every dimensions)
          – Touch panel aircond
          – Rear aircond
          – HDMI socket
          – 2 more speakers
          – 4 more airbags
          – 4 more horsepowers
          – 5 years unlimited mileage warranty
          Most importantly this Mazda 2 comes with no projector headlamps with DRLs which leaves it nothing to shout about

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 123 Thumb down 61
          • Cruise Control on Jan 23, 2015 at 5:20 am

One more thing you left out, Honda City has cruise control which the Mazda 2 doesn’t

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 94 Thumb down 6
          • Same L0rrrr on Jan 23, 2015 at 11:26 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 126
          • KKZOOM on Jan 23, 2015 at 1:48 pm

Hello…. !!! don’t compare City with a global car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 32
          • Where is Najib's 30% Promise? on Jan 23, 2015 at 6:34 pm

Government is yet to honour their promise.
            More than a year ago, Najib promised every single of the 30 million Malaysians that he would reduce car prices by 30% if we voted for him and his BN party before the elections.

Najib swore that BN always kept their promises and we Malaysians had nothing to worry about BN not keeping their word. He told us not to trust Pakatan and he firmly said he would match Pakatan’s manifesto of reducing car prices by 30%. Nearly ALL BN Ministers kept on saying that we could trust BN and we should not trust Pakatan.
            More than a year has passed, nothing has reduced. Infact, car prices have gone up! See VW and Toyota for example.

All the car companies in Malaysia are eventually owned by the Government. UMW for Toyota, Honda by DRB, BMW, Hyundai and Ford by Sime Darby. Virtually every single company is owned by the Government (GLC).

So, if they want to reduce car prices, they can. But they don’t want to. They blame the car brands but we Malaysians know that nearly ALL car brands are owned by the Government. It is up to the Government to just give the order to reduce prices.

How can we trust Najib, BN and UMNO if basic promises like this they cannot keep? This is just a basic and simple promise. What about bigger promises of tackling corruption, improving healthcare and education?

Has Najib lied to us?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 129 Thumb down 26
          • Maserati(Official) on Jan 23, 2015 at 6:54 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 200
          • Operation-Manager (Member) on Jan 24, 2015 at 12:50 am

b segment such a small car, msian only affordable for below 75k b segment.

How many 90k city vios almera “2” sold?

Those affordable won’t spend 90k for a small car.
            +20k = c segment
            +40k = d segment

• Alright. Since this is a comparison game, let’s compare.
            1. Paddle shifters
            2. Rear disc breaks
            3. Live feed meter(projected)
            4. 14:1 compression engine
            5. Nicer interior design
            6. 6 speed automatic – I don’t even know how they even bring in a 6 speeder at this price range. Note that CVT is not everyone’s cup of tea.

Obviously, Mazda is trying to make this a drivers car. Where as city in an all rounder car. I’m sick of everyone saying this car sucks because this car is better. I might as well compare this with a bummer.
            For those that complain the headlights. Seriously? Do you even need the DRL? You should be glad they remove the DRL and not taking off the 4 disc brakes or the traction control..
            yeah rear aircon.. its not even powerful enough to cool down anything Geez..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 70 Thumb down 2
          • Mazda 2 Junk on May 27, 2015 at 1:43 pm

This is global car???

Many sohai here want to compare a lousy pondan mazda to the Honda City.

Of course Honda City better,this car is boring,drink fuel like we drink water and sampan handling.

Go go Honda City!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 23
          • Are you sure? 44l full tank can go for 500km for urban drive. How bout your city?

• Honda City for Car of the Year 2015 again on Jan 22, 2015 at 8:40 pm

Might as well get the Honda City V spec, roomier, looks better, more powerful and with 6 airbags not 2. Also with 5 years unlimited mileage warranty and better after sales service too!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 156 Thumb down 23
        • autodriver (Member) on Jan 22, 2015 at 9:48 pm

No doubt City is much roomier than Mazda 2, but don’t get fool by the number of horsepower only. This Mazda 2 is “direct injection” engine which better tech and powerful than City in real. And the skyactiv 6 speed gearbox has a quick gear changing than many of its competitor. City has not way to climb over this Mazda 2 in live.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 90 Thumb down 56
          • Littlebear on Jan 23, 2015 at 7:21 am

Direct injection may not be best suited with our lousy Euro 2 fuel due to high sulphur content. In the long run, it may harm the engine especial direct injection type.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 24
        • RicoT on Jan 22, 2015 at 9:58 pm

Wait for a while longer and Honda City Hybrid is here.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 9
        • angrybird on Jan 22, 2015 at 10:11 pm

Last time people said the light looks like angry bird’s eye so now why complain again?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 9
        • KKZOOM on Jan 23, 2015 at 1:51 pm

idoit!!! you will never get theaward…
          is meant for fools like you in South East Asia. Grow up will you!

• seancorr (Member) on Jan 22, 2015 at 9:54 pm

Changing the rims is easier than changing the headlight set and I bet it ain’t gonna be cheap for ori set but yeah they should have taken out the HUD and possibly the rear disc set and replace it with 6 airbags and those good looking DRLs.

The 3 year FOC service ain’t bad but I rather have a 5 year warranty just in case something pricey breaks down out of nowhere.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 5
        • I would prefer if they didnt take out anything. But if I did, Brothers is always there for your headlamp upgrades. HUD and rear disc brakes on the other hand….

• They should price it at $89,999 but make it 6 airbags and projector head lamp and LED DRL.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 6
          • RIcoT on Jan 23, 2015 at 12:38 am

Everyone are wishing for what you said, but it cannot be done with the price you mentioned.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 14
          • KKZOOM on Jan 23, 2015 at 1:58 pm

It can never please everybody perhaps for a change say something nice about the car.

• seancorr (Member) on Jan 24, 2015 at 9:05 pm

Just came back from their showroom…this article makes no mention about the included reverse camera?

• kington on Jan 23, 2015 at 9:55 am

And they give you lots of chrome here and there… to get that “expensive” feel…….

• Great Hocus on Jan 22, 2015 at 7:35 pm

expensive … wont sell

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 17
    • Al haffi on Jan 22, 2015 at 10:46 pm

omg, these headlamp so hideous, i just skip to read the comment after glance of the sky rocket price tag.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
    • car-fans on Jan 23, 2015 at 9:18 am

Long,

Mazda Msia thought we all can easily ‘fool’ – that’s why giving such head-lamp! They ‘suck’ consumer when they can! Then another ‘touch-up’ version for another ‘suck’!

• KKZOOM on Jan 23, 2015 at 1:55 pm

Everything comes with a cost and to balance the price to be competitive. Why not talk about most of the things that others don’t have rather than to stick to the headlamps. I don’t see your grannies and papa complaining on the headlights
        during their days. Phew!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 9
    • Deus Ex on Jan 24, 2015 at 11:25 am

Let’s just hope they don’t nerf the CX3 as they’ve done here. Doesn’t bode well at all….

• Raikkonen on Jan 25, 2015 at 4:44 am

The amount of Honda salesmen here.. Is too damn high!

M2 – Japan CotY 2014, what did City/Jazz win?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 4
      • KKZOOM on Feb 02, 2015 at 1:31 pm

Yup…. You’re right. Don’t waste your time with these fools who can’t even diffrentiate a bolt from a nut.

• kzm (Member) on Jan 22, 2015 at 6:08 pm

Nice!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 36
  • Phucker on Jan 22, 2015 at 6:18 pm

is it possible to get the sales man to change the headlamps to the projector ones with LED DRL? maybe get the lights from singapore and then fit it onto our cars.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 6
    • Mika Mazda Supporter on Jan 22, 2015 at 6:27 pm

Hope that ckd version Mazda 2 will fit with projector headlamp and daytime running light.

Hope so laa.
      ckd Mazda 3 skyactiv will launch soon,plan to buy this nice car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 13
      • Phucker on Jan 22, 2015 at 6:47 pm

really gonna have CKD mazda 2? if so, when?

• Captain Obvious on Jan 22, 2015 at 7:12 pm

Knowing Bermaz and their speed of doing things, most probably in year 2020.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 7
        • wunderbard on Jan 22, 2015 at 7:29 pm

The car is CBU, but if read the article properly.. it is CBU Thailand. So it won’t make much difference in price when compare to CKD or CBU Thailand. So why still want CKD pulak??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 3
          • RicoT on Jan 22, 2015 at 10:04 pm

CKD with Skyactive, entitled for EEV special package, may be priced cheaper or priced about the same with Honda City with projector & DRL included, heck maybe with 6 airbags too. Only then it will be the best contender with Honda City. Why not CKD?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
          • Mozilla Chrome on Jan 23, 2015 at 10:58 am

Well..explain CKD “EEV” Jazz/City..

• Mika Mazda Supporter on Jan 22, 2015 at 6:20 pm

I found that hatch back version of Mazda 2 Skyactiv is more nice.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 8
  • bujingyun on Jan 22, 2015 at 6:20 pm

absolutely a better car compared to sam loo toyota vios

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 96 Thumb down 4
    • Semi-Value (Member) on Jan 22, 2015 at 9:12 pm

sam loo is not impressed by the rear space though from the photos above

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 3
    • Also a much better car compared with Ah Beng’s Iriz

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 23
  • Steve Lee on Jan 22, 2015 at 6:22 pm

Why is the front grille color-coded to the car color? I thought they were supposed to be red no matter what exterior color the car is

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
  • The head lamp doesn’t match this sporty angry bird.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 2
  • Maliny Honda on Jan 22, 2015 at 6:24 pm

I drive Honda City 2014 and i can say this Mazda is beautiful.
    But my mind tell me about ckd version Mazda 3 Skyactiv.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 7
  • “We Dont get the fancy projector headlamp!” But thats the most attractive part for Mazda 2!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 4
    • RicoT on Jan 22, 2015 at 10:08 pm

Bermaz knows it cannot beat the City in terms of price and equipment, yet it could out sell Toyota Vios, therefore, priced there to compete with Toyota Vios G. Mazda 6 spd auto vs. Toyota 4 spd auto, who has better spec?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
  • Why some HB rear bumper got reflector but some not.
    The assembly team forget to fix it?

• sepul on Jan 23, 2015 at 11:00 am

That is actually the rear fog lamp. But the white car has them in these pics and the red one does not, so I’m wondering too.

I’m also scratching my head why Bermaz put the reflector headlamp over the projector ones and only 2 airbags, and is more expensive that Fiesta 1.5.

• Jeremy on Jan 22, 2015 at 6:35 pm

wow. very very high specification! Leather seats, start stop technology, sport mode with manual mode, soft touch materials on the dashboard, fully automatic air-cond and even heads up display and 114hp! 6 speed auto for a B segment, one of the very few in the market. for 88k it’s quite reasonable to me! but the biggest turn off are those ugly ass headlamps. why took out those gorgeous Bi Xenon headlights with LED daytime running lights? if they managed to stuffed so much into this car, why cant they also include the gorgeous headlamps? I seriously dont get it

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 112 Thumb down 4
    • Mika Mazda Supporter on Jan 22, 2015 at 8:22 pm

spotted this lor..
      http://paultan.org/2015/01/22/2015-mazda-2-1-5-launched-hatch-sedan-rm88k/2015-mazda-2-girls-2/

Really????

• sepul on Jan 23, 2015 at 11:01 am

Actually the projector ones are LED, not xenons.

• sudonano (Member) on Jan 22, 2015 at 6:45 pm

No projector headlights and no side and curtain airbags? That would have made this complete.

Highly doubt it will be CKD cause of the part where AAT is so close to Malaysia and the Malaysian demand is unlikely to meet the cost of setting up local assembly.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
    • Mika Mazda Supporter on Jan 22, 2015 at 8:26 pm

really for Malaysia version?
      projector head lights lor..

http://paultan.org/2015/01/22/2015-mazda-2-1-5-launched-hatch-sedan-rm88k/2015-mazda-2-girls-2/

• KKZOOM on Jan 23, 2015 at 2:02 pm

it comes with a price, are you gonna yup yup yup again if the price is high??

• AVH (Member) on Jan 22, 2015 at 6:52 pm

Was fortunate enough to see one on the move back in Sri Petaling just now, a showroom test drive unit. I have to say it is a suprisingly nice car, didn’t sit inside, but it looks like its wrap in some fine materials. I was also impress by the 7in touch screen, its bright and in direct view and really bring the entire ‘premium’ feel. Wasn’t taht irked by the headlights, I still think it suits the car brilliantly. But the two things I am slightly put off, it was parked next to a Myvi at the time which gives an impression of its size, or the lack of it, its almost dwarf by it, haven’t sit in it yet, but it dosen’t looks like the most spacious of hatch, and also the lack of a six-airbag option is a real bummer.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 5
    • beamed on Jan 22, 2015 at 10:24 pm

Yes, myvi is much more spacious, more spacious than Preve,
      buy myvi!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 30
  • Diss-illusions on Jan 22, 2015 at 6:58 pm

HI Jonathan,

Noticed that there was another version with blacked-out rims, roof and skirting, as well as colour-coded rear-bumper ‘diffuser’ in the photos but no mention of it in the article. It’s the one to the left of the hatchback in the first photo.

What is this version? Or just a simple optioned-out version?

• Jonathan Lee (Member) on Jan 23, 2015 at 1:44 am

That car is fitted with a locally-designed bodykit – not available yet, but there are plans for it to be offered further down the line.

• Tom&Jerry on Jan 23, 2015 at 3:03 am

I thought that was the official mazdaspeed body kit???

www.mazda.co.jp/accessories/mazdaspeed/demio.html

Near future…. meaning Q4 or within next few weeks? LOL

• Diss-illusions on Jan 23, 2015 at 3:51 pm

Thanks!

• roxas on Jan 22, 2015 at 7:03 pm

i would prefer soft touch with fake stitching, u will be headache of the leather peels off adter some time on the dash.. which is an obvious area to look at

• Marieta on Jan 22, 2015 at 7:10 pm

88k…so tempting..but it’s only has to airbag !! Oh why !!

• ScourgePrime (Member) on Jan 22, 2015 at 7:15 pm

Lets see if its durability and engine service cost…..

• spongwai on Jan 22, 2015 at 7:15 pm

one word, WHY??

we want to see fancy LED headlight…

but haihz

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
  • Almost perfect except the fancy projector headlamps and 6airbags !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 2
  • No cruise control ? haizz

• yipyong on Jan 22, 2015 at 7:40 pm

Wow..interior and finishing looks good than HRV…hopefully bermazz don’t spoilt my gonna be CX3.especially the bloody projector.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
  • yipyong on Jan 22, 2015 at 7:55 pm

Eh yang ada diffuser depan tu bodykit apa plak? mcm gaya concept car..

• if i was in the market looking for a city car, i’ll go for the suzuki swift.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 37
  • rear light using bulb or led lamp?

• shawal on Jan 22, 2015 at 8:31 pm

CKD it…
    put back the projector headlamps with LEDs…
    up the airbag count at least up to 4
    add in cruise control….
    maintain the price if u wish….

410 litre of boot space for the sedan is a welcome surprise…

• Walao, even Saga is longer. Spec nice but can’t beat Cit.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 9
  • 정남 on Jan 22, 2015 at 8:57 pm

…wha? No projector headlamps?

That’s a bummer :/

• MrDiezier on Jan 22, 2015 at 9:03 pm

How about Driven make a match up between this car segment…and we’ll see how it goes…

• Semi-Value (Member) on Jan 22, 2015 at 9:09 pm

asking my machai to kidnap vincent tan…make him recall all the cars and fit it with side and curtain airbags….

ps… if it doesnt happen that means me and him strike a crony deal la…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 5
  • Looks nicer than the Honda Jazz and Ford Fiesta.Very race car like interior. Looks promising. Well its up to the preference of the public.

• Im sorry to say it looks great but the space is way too CRAMP !!! Hardly any space left. A Honda Jazz or Myvi easily outspace Mazda 2

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 12
  • good it comes with spare tyre. Definitely a nice car for my wife soon

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 9
  • stupid msian cars on Jan 22, 2015 at 9:35 pm

Kereta buruk…harga lagi buruk. Sesiapa yg beli memang beruk. Msians are a lot of suckers being sucked their hard earned money for something thats supposed to be reasonable but freaking overpriced in this country. Whole life indebted to the banks. Gila.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 24
    • Hidden due to lowcomment rating. Click here to see.

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 181
    • takNakP1 on Jan 23, 2015 at 1:07 am

the success of bolehland education and society the breed majority want to look COOL mentality.

what to do. majority willing to pay more tax for the G to suck.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
  • Krasher on Jan 22, 2015 at 10:43 pm

What’s wrong for giving customers’ the projector headlamp with DRL? Does it hurt the margin so much?

• nabill (Member) on Jan 22, 2015 at 11:17 pm

i was thinking , if only the Iriz had a proper auto box and few fancy things here n there it wd surely be a competitor to the mazda 2 , the Iriz has a better interior space from the looks of it…in my honest and humble opinion , the mazda 2 eventually is a better car than the Iriz , but is it more than rm20k better ?? definatly NOT….but then again im not a buyer! but the manual Iriz 1.6 premiuim really looks very appealing…
    i still think the Jazz is the main competitor…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
  • CyberPatrol on Jan 23, 2015 at 12:09 am

Mazda 2 (2015) certainly lost it lustre and signature without fancy projector units with LED daytime running lights. However my guest it will be included for next facelift. But put those things aside for new Skyactiv engine maybe a trade off to be considered.

• darkermarker on Jan 23, 2015 at 12:44 am

Introducing the new 2015 Mazda!!
    with 1990 year spectacular headlamp design!!!

Must be “turn-back-the-clock” design

• takNakP1 on Jan 23, 2015 at 1:10 am

hmm.. japan build with rear drum brake. Thai’s with rear disc brake. sales psychology? this region buyer will buy this over another brand because of rear disc brake?

if you Google about rear drum brake vs disc break, with today technology it may different not much with small & low power car. the driver matters most.

• rickyll (Member) on Jan 23, 2015 at 8:09 am

Once again, the rakyat are being short changed. By omitting the projector headlights and curtain airbags, Bermaz must be treating Malaysians as fools who would non the less accept whatever Bermaz is dishing out. The only way to let Bermaz eat its own pie is boycotting the car for the time being until Bermaz fulfill the rakyat’s wishes, afterall there are still many other choices in the market.

• Chaos on Jan 23, 2015 at 8:10 am

Really ah Bermaz? 2 airbags only…no projector lights…too many better looking and safer cars

• Kyosho on Jan 23, 2015 at 8:36 am

Funny one of the M2 at the lunch comes with projector and DRL

• tungulelong on Jan 23, 2015 at 8:56 am

$88k people will take city or 208 peugout

• ya kinda disappointed with the headlamp…make it look like its some rm50k car, not worth rm88k

• myvi 2015 is the most superb design in 2015.. *sarcasm*

• Peter on Jan 23, 2015 at 9:38 am

Qualify for EEV. However, price not much better than current B segment cars. What is the purpose to qualify as an EEV then? Just like City, qualify as EEV but price not reduce.

• I was about to say the same thing. I read older post about EEV and one of its objectives is to make Malaysia the regional automotive hub of EEV. But this car is fully imported from Thailand. Again like you said, what is the point of EEV?

• Berann on Jan 23, 2015 at 10:24 am

The sedan design looks like a bit out of proportion for me. Looks small and cramp inside.. Mazda 3 looks better and Mazda 6 best..Waiting for CKD Mazda 3 and pls price it under 110k :)

• cramp interior car selling RM 88K.

The mazda is dreaming and sell at RM 88K which is higher than the H/T/N.

what a joke for this cramp interior car.

• KKZOOM on Jan 23, 2015 at 2:04 pm

well, very good… your score is 1% out but you make the 99% good… what the heck are you waiting.
      learn your statistic

• Since it wont sell good, why dont just add few thousands and get us 6 airbags and projectors, position it like Pug 208.

• sepul on Jan 23, 2015 at 11:09 am

Jonathan, there is a pic of the Mazda 2 with the projector headlamp, and another one shows the engine which from the look of it, is the SkyActiv-D diesel engine. Are the two images from the same car?

Are they planning to bring diesel Mazda 2 as the range topper? That is nice!

• Sparcov on Jan 23, 2015 at 11:13 am

Mazda 2 buyer group are different compare to honda City and toyota Vios.

This is similar to the group of buyer looking for Peugeot 208.

so there is pro and cons of all this brand

Personally, Mazda are more sportier this is especially true since the launching of Mazda 121, demio and so on.

• Someone DD on Jan 23, 2015 at 4:10 pm

when City don’t give you earthdream you dont complain, even they give it to Chinese market. When City Vios dont give you HID you dont complain, it first positioned to be so low enough for its poor outlook and its 4AT. When vios make like a Alien looking car you dont complain, because it is still for Ah Beng. And you all dont believe Mazda always best handling in its class, Mazda 2 win city jazz vios iriz myvi swift almera, mazda 3 win focus and golf, no need to mention T and H. Mazda 6 i even dont need to comment. It dont have big space because it is for driver (still bigger than tiny Polo), you dont buy a B class hatchback to fetch your family. Cheapest best B class for family is City. Mazda car will have its own customers, who feel like owning a T H N is too meaningless, Mazda gives you lifestyle, not RV….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
  • Mazda utk UiTM on Jan 23, 2015 at 11:14 am

xsuke mazda, kereta budak UiTM.

Salesman Mazda yg bagitahu ramai budak UiTM beli Mazda!!

Kalau accident kereta Mazda pun budak UiTM

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 24
  • abepedes on Jan 23, 2015 at 11:41 am

how about iriz vs mazda 2?

• Iris Tak laku on Jan 23, 2015 at 2:39 pm

Iris “kenal makan kau kau” by small Axia.
      The New facelift but old power plant Myvi ” Dia pun tak berani’ fight.
      “Jangan banding” Iris vs Mazda2 or Jazz.
      “Kasih Muka sikit” to Ah Beng (Member) The proton supporter, He already became the Turtle Head & hidding in Bangladesh.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 11
  • in 2010 I bought Mazda3 over Civic and others becoz they throw in all the good specs in the model.. now seems that Bermaz is also slowly becoming greedy like UMW and Honda.. 2 airbags and reflector headlight I think unacceptable.. while I like Mazda very much,, I think City is still the best currently in this class.. unless buyer opt for other priority i.e. design, etc

• Phucker on Jan 23, 2015 at 3:48 pm

I think you are right. everyone chooses different cars according to their priorities. so it’s weird seeing so many adults dissing each other’s preference with such childishness. Car nuts might choose M2, family guy might choose Jazz…Sam loo only chooses vios. just preferences. but

• Aaron on Jan 23, 2015 at 12:36 pm

The headlight does look a little bit putting off. The design is just doesn’t match to the nice car. If the design can be like the clean design headlight of the City, it can be accepted. In fact, I prefer the City halogen headlight compared to most projector headlights out there.

• Jimmy on Jan 23, 2015 at 12:52 pm

Arrogant and ignorant.

• my M3 is better in every aspects. gonna smoke this little guy later.

• The rock on Jan 23, 2015 at 3:51 pm

Still manual air con, 2 air bag, rear mcm city only using drum, not worth.

• I love Malaysians.

“The most attractive part of the 2 is the projector and LED DRLs”.

Yet, if it was with those stuff and 6 airbags and was at RM99k they’d call it daylight robbery.

• abg misai on Jan 23, 2015 at 7:36 pm

I was about to book this car earlier, fortunately decided to wait for the car to launch first to see the actual model and specs. Now I am going to change my mind.

BTW, in the article did mentioned about paddle shifters. But I see no paddle shifter at all in all those pictures posted in the article. Mind to shed some light?

• Terence on Jan 24, 2015 at 6:13 am

Paddle shifters are there, test drove one yesterday

u can see in this photot – http://paultan.org/2014/08/25/driven-2015-mazda-2-japan/sony-dsc-1393/

• autodriver (Member) on Jan 23, 2015 at 8:19 pm

I am start wondering since when Malaysian are so much demanding and also double standard. This Mazda 2 is selling at about 88k and it include first in its class head-up unit, auto start stop (I-stop), advance tech like direct injection engine and skyactiv 6 speed (gear shifting is very quick and smooth which I experience in CX-5) and etc. Yes, it has few parts let down where missing of DRL and projector headlamp with only 2 airbags. Btw there are many cars higher price than this offering 2 airbags, so not big deal.

I saw real car today at showroom. Overall it was really a good car with this price if compare to Almxra, Vixs, Cxty, Jxzz, Fixsta, Pxlo etc. Except the cabin space, it was biggest let down where it similar to Fixsta but much smaller than Jxzz. The back seat facing height issue due to C pillar angle lead to limited headroom for 175cm passenger.

Overall it is a good option for those who plan for new car as this car has feature with advanced tech.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
    • When you pay for the car, you have the right to demand every little things. Is not about Malaysian or foreigners. If we are Malaysians does not mean we cannot be demanding. If no demand how to improve? Yeah, if car manufacturer don’t improve and continue to be ignorant, their car won’t sell because Malaysians are not dumb.

• dugongx on Jan 23, 2015 at 10:44 pm

OMG 16 inch wheels on 185 skinny tyres!!

• Car cars on Jan 24, 2015 at 9:32 am

gd car. Not sure why so many people keep focusing what is lacking. For the price and material used. Consider good. People looking at drivers car shouldn’t focus on space

• This car won’t sell. Kedekut, padan muka, cut this cut that. We cut Mazda 2.

• Levin on Jan 25, 2015 at 3:11 pm

The hatch version at 88k is gonna get some serious competition with the latest Jazz. For 88k, I think the 2 is slightly overpriced and despite having a lot of accessory, it only has 2 airbag which is kinda sad. I’d rather have more airbags than accessories as safety is upmost important for a car this size. And also, with all the fancy stuff inside, I’m kinda shocked to see a handbrake at the center console. Why move backwards on such an advanced car?
    Also, I noticed that the meter console and steering is very similar to Honda CRZ.
    If this car was priced below RM80k, it will be more attractive. And Mazda should consider bringing in various specs instead of a single spec and expects everyone to live with it.

• TS.Lim on Jan 25, 2015 at 6:55 pm

Hi guys, I just test drive this new mazda2 and just want to share with you all.
    In short, the biggest disadvantage is only the interior space. Other features are quite nice and impressive for this price, and CBU from Thailand seems doesn’t comes with very good quality (but still acceptable).
    The one I liked most is, the sports mode! Turn it on, and this car become super-responsive and fast! Really fun to drive it!
    By the way, Jonathan, do you have any idea of the figure for 0 to 100 sprint? I can’t found any over the internet. I guessed it might be about 9.5 to 10sec.

• TS Lim on Jan 25, 2015 at 8:40 pm

I have test drove this car today. Overall is satisfied, only interior space is disappointing. I like most the sports mode, everything become fast and super responsive!
    Jonathan, any idea about century sprint figure of this cute supermini? I can’t found any over the internet.

• twwwwwwwww on Jan 25, 2015 at 10:42 pm

I saw a projector headlamp on this image, wonder why is this appear ??
    http://s1.paultan.org/image/2015/01/2015-Mazda-2-girls-2.jpg

• Potential for lalabeng modify vroom vroom

• big disappointment on Jan 26, 2015 at 7:36 pm

i dun give a damn how many airbags.. the most potong thing is no led DRL and projector head lamp and put paria normal yellow lightbulb as DRL. i rather not turn it on if i were driving… wat an embarassment!

• Ali Karim on Jan 26, 2015 at 11:57 pm

They didn’t have the time to mop the warehouse floor!?

• another driver on Jan 27, 2015 at 12:32 am

BERMAZ should seriously thinking of CKD this Mazda 2, make it more price worthy to the consumers.

• DontTellYa on Jan 27, 2015 at 12:56 am

I also test drive yesterday. From B segment car, the performance I can say so far is the best (Compare City/Vios/Polo/Almera). Yap, downturn is the interior space but design wise, quite attaractive (at least my kids sit inside, they like it).Price, abit high but when compare to Sushi/hotdog car, I believe is value buy. Also heard, it has good petro consumption (EEV?) 2 airbag, safety wise low? I don’t think so. I remember there’s a Nissan saleman did comment in front of a customer: When you drive your car above 100KM/H, how many airbag also will not safe your life (unless your drive Ferrari/Porsche/etc, maybe still have chance to survive).

• adamma on Feb 02, 2015 at 10:24 am

Polo – German Car, not Japanese Car.. Mazda 2 is the best beside Polo? It is True??

• DontTellYa on Jan 27, 2015 at 1:02 am

Add-on. Forgot to mention i-STOP and Head-up display, good for saving petrol and new look. Suggest on head-up display, if can remove the grey panel and direct project into front glass, that will make the car superb futuristic.

• December 2014 Auto Sales in the USA
    Mazda2 159 units
    Honda Fit(Jazz) 6450 units

• KKZOOM on Feb 02, 2015 at 1:50 pm

hi dude,,, that’s is the older version of M2. it has not launch in USA. You fools are f#*king lucky to
      get the chance to condemn than to please

• Johnny on Jan 27, 2015 at 2:02 am

Rm88k for a car like this? Abit too high no? But looks like the Audi A1, probably be a good alternative. Lol

• bystander on Jan 27, 2015 at 8:26 am

Guess what, Australia’s Mazda 2 use the same Halogen Headlights as Thailand’s and Malaysia’s, with no option for Projector Headlights at the moment.

• car-fans on Feb 23, 2015 at 10:53 am

Mazda M’sia trying to ‘suck’ consumer RM while they can before face lifted it for round two for another ‘suck RM’.

• ky12345678 on Jan 28, 2015 at 8:59 pm

It does not matter any brand of the car. If they do not bring in the best spec to Malaysia. Do not buy them. We have the power “not to buy” so all of them buck up and offer Malaysian good spec car or face loose out in the market.

• this car really looks like s*** without projector headlamp…
    i was planning to buy this car,and now this happen==

• KKZOOM on Feb 02, 2015 at 1:52 pm

yuk yuk yuk…. you talked S#*t, if given HID, you will look for other things to complain. You know why?
      You never learn how to appreciate…..

• shadow on Feb 11, 2015 at 9:06 am

Your real joker… You buy car or you buy Headlight?

• seancorr (Member) on Feb 01, 2015 at 6:25 pm

Okay I finally got to test drive the Jazz and the Mazda 2 HB model with 5 occupants so simulate full load. There is no way the Jazz can beat it in acceleration. The Jazz CVT does not have rapid response conparing to the 6 speed AT in the 2. Furthermore the car’a interior is way better than of the Jazz which feels more plasticky and cheap.

Now to the downsides…lack of 4 airbags and the interior space (I can cross my legs sitting behind with 2 other guys) plus boot space confirm lose to the Jazz and its warranty is 2 years shorter than the Jazz.

But thats about it, the Mazda has reverse camera included and the GPS option is cheaper by more than half comparing to the Jazz. The 3 year free maintenance is also a plus.

Somehow my initial positive thoughts of the Jazz has diminish quite a bit no thanks to the cheap interior but it’s one of the best options if you are using it as a family car no doubt. The Mazda 2 is clearly designed as a drivers car just like how BMW is to Benz but there difference there is those 2 have similar safety spec =]

• haji Ibrahim kasim on Feb 02, 2015 at 9:14 am

Syukur dapat kereta ini. Ini semua kerana kita negara maju syukurlah adik adik. Beli dan pandu. Jgn cakap saja

• kusboo nair on Feb 02, 2015 at 9:16 am

Haiya my bf want to buy me this car. Say skool cute and look like me. But I dun like such cheep car. I looking at merc or.bmw cute cars. Anyone got those car for me go riding with u.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 16
  • I listen to u BULLSHIT here!!!

• lalann on Feb 08, 2015 at 8:41 pm

Yes this car comes with reverse camera as standard, which Vios and City does not offer!

• try to escape from using flash on the interior paultan. it makes the black look dredfully greyish. ive seen the car already and those picture off paultan and not on brochure of the interior looks terrible in comparison

• Hudson LEE on Apr 30, 2015 at 12:19 am

If you drive a BMW 320, you will notice many interior similarities found in the Mazda2 (and it cost only one third that of a BMW). Mazda2 has nteresting features not found in other B cars today include the Active Driving Display (Head-Up Display), the Reverse Camera and Idling Stop System with a 0-100kph in 9 seconds makes it probably the best City car today. I read with concern some of the comments but I suppose everyone is entitled to their own opinion. The best will be to go to a Mazda showroom and see for yourself. I am getting the sedan. By the way, Toyota may rebadge the new Mazda2 as the next-generation Yaris hatchback for the North American market.

• Dont compare mazda 2 to honda city, honda city 2015 is one of the ugliest looking car, i love more on the previous version city, …2015 city has no sanse of style, looks terrible, like uncle’s car….