2015 Mazda 2 brochure leaked – full specs revealed

10911496_592138430930581_1594190258154416231_o

An enterprising Mazda dealer has already leaked the brochure for the new 2015 Mazda 2, with full specifications – it seems that the new B-segment hatchback and sedan, built at the AutoAlliance Thailand (AAT) plant in Rayong, will finally make its local debut very soon.

As expected, the equipment levels pretty much match the tentative spec sheet released last October. Outside, the 2 gets the higher-end two-tone 16-inch alloy wheels and front fog lights, but there’s one omission that stands out.

The earlier spec sheet listed daytime running lights, which made us assume they were LED ones that come with the fancier projector headlights. It now appears that the headlights will actually be reflector units, with the DRLs being regular bulbs.

10923461_592138597597231_7831507705435126675_o

The interior is very well equipped, coming in with keyless entry, push-button start, auto air-conditioning, black leather upholstery (with a red stripe running down the middle of the seats, like on Indonesian-market models), an MZD Connect infotainment system with a seven-inch touchscreen, Commander Control knob and six speakers, and even a head-up display. Not even our Mazda 3 has the last one.

Under the bonnet is a 1.5 litre SkyActiv-G direct-injected, high-compression four-cylinder petrol engine, delivering 114 hp at 6,000 rpm and 148 Nm at 4,000 rpm. The mill is mated to a six-speed SkyActiv-Drive automatic transmission with paddle shifters, and is equipped with i-Stop automatic start-stop.

Safety features are just about par for the course in the segment – two airbags, but ABS with EBD and brake assist, Dynamic Stability Control (DSC) and Isofix child seat anchors are all fitted as standard.

Both sedan and hatch share the same kit, and will also retail the same – a price list surfaced on the Internet recently, listing a sticker of RM85,470 on-the-road without insurance, with navigation mentioned as a RM1,200 option.

Four colours will be made available – Soul Red Metallic, Metropolitan Grey, Aluminium Metallic and Snowflake White Pearl, and a three-year/100,000 km warranty and a three-year/60,000 km free service package was listed in an oto.my ad.

We’ve driven the 2015 Mazda 2 before, and you can read our impressions here. You can also check out our coverage of the Indonesian-market version, as well as the world premiere of the sedan at the Thai Motor Expo last November.

Mazda 2 Hatch at the 2014 Indonesia International Motor Show
Mazda 2 Sedan world debut at the 2014 Thai Motor Expo

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• But the projector headlights is one of the main attractions for this car IMO

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 91 Thumb down 6
    • 2 airbags?! on Jan 16, 2015 at 5:15 pm

Might as well get the Honda City V spec, roomier, looks better, more powerful and with 6 airbags not 2. Also with 5 years unlimited mileage warranty and better after sales service too

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 125 Thumb down 40
      • no thanks mr salesman

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 59
        • Operation-Manager (Member) on Jan 16, 2015 at 9:59 pm

Fact:
          Cx5 cbu 160k
          Cx5 ckd 130k

3 cbu 140k
          3 ckd 110k

2 cbu 90k
          2 ckd 60k

Learn from ben yeoh -slow slow motion management, those buy cbu mazda really sohai.
          Buy hrv 120k lagi sohai.
          Buy city 85-90k full spec oso sohai.
          Buy vios full spec 90k best in sohai.

mazda 2 cbu 90k SURE WIN city ckd 85k 90k
          Low spec Almari 60k city 70k vios j 70k will not affected before mazda 2 ckd come true.
          Fact also tested 2 is more powerful than city

Hrv indon 65k.
          Jazz langkawi 36k hit 500 bookings a day.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 38
          • Mazda 2 CBU from Japan then ok but this is from Thailand la. Can’t consider it as CBU, same quality as CKD here and Bermaz don’t plan to CKD the mazda 2 here so the 88k price tag gonna remain.
            Mazda is not that popular here and no matter what its sales won’t be higher than Nissan, Honda or Toyota

HRV indo at 65k is kosong spec. The current spec also so many complain imagine if kosong spec come to bolehland.

Jazz langkawi cheapest also 60k… where you get the 36k figure from??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 3
          • Mazda 222222 on Jan 17, 2015 at 11:49 am

Mazda 2 cbu or ckd also,terrible quality shit.
            Honda City is still better car and worth to buy.

tak payah layan those Mazda supporter.
            As Same Lorr said,sale figure will tell.
            City and Jazz will continue to shine in 2015.
            Mazda 2??Think Proton Iriz.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 22
          • Semi-Value (Member) on Jan 17, 2015 at 1:57 pm

no regrets…cbu mazda much better quality than ckd

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
          • Mazsudah on Jan 17, 2015 at 3:20 pm

Its only a Mazda.. and a Mazda 2 only… so who really cares if its leaked or bocored ?

All part of a sly marketing scheme by car companies these days.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
          • the quality of CKD Mazda’s are terrible..i wud’ve gone for the cbu cx-5 if i had the choice even tho i have to pay for the 15k premium

• Same L0rrrr on Jan 16, 2015 at 5:57 pm

A bit expensive Mazda B segment, people waiting to buy…

Cheap and sounds good Proton B segment, no one interested.

Why? All about BUILD QUALITY.

You wont’ go wrong with sushi cars!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 12
        • steven see on Jan 17, 2015 at 10:50 am

Your son also using proton saga black color,what explain you?

• Same L0rrrr on Jan 17, 2015 at 7:06 pm

You can bullshit whatever you like about me. As i said, no junk allowed at home.

Junk always attract pests, disgusting!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 11
          • T is real junk and moving coffin!!!!

• Koreanbutt on Jan 17, 2015 at 11:31 pm

Sam always fart in front of others but denied it. Why having proton need to Malu?

• low inflation on Jan 16, 2015 at 6:01 pm

city might not b as powerful as this coz bigger n heavier, but city has all features.
        however, those who wan this car becoz of its sporty appearance.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 29
      • Boring Honda City on Jan 16, 2015 at 8:54 pm

Honda City such a boring A to B car.. rear suspension is a joke, bouncy for rear passenger. My family got one latest generation City, body roll thru corners, boring drive train..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 10
        • The current City has slightly better handling but firmer suspension compared to Vios or Almera which has a softer suspension. You want a good handling car with low body roll, go buy an Iriz or Fiesta for yourself instead of using family car then.

• Mazda 222222 on Jan 17, 2015 at 11:52 am

I drive new Honda City also.
          and Mazda 2 is one of the worst car i ever seen.
          sorry lah give me free i also dont want.

sell Mazda 2??Think Iriz.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 28
          • Why you always ask people to think Iriz?

• Same L0rrrr on Jan 19, 2015 at 2:54 pm

He ask people to think Iriz, not BUY Iriz.

When you think of Iriz, you will grateful of your current non-proton.

When you buy Iriz, good luck man + no eyes see!

• Honda City?!! on Jan 16, 2015 at 9:03 pm

The City is not even in the same class as the Mazda2. The City is naturally a bigger car. Don’t you guys sell the Honda Jazz? Compare apples with apples.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 14
        • IrizX on Jan 17, 2015 at 9:09 am

What you smoking??? Mazda 2 is a B-segment car just like City. The Mazda 2 sedan is HCity. The Mazda2 hatchback is HJazz.

It IS Apple to Apple. Just that the key points of both cars are different and market also.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
        • Mazda 222222 on Jan 17, 2015 at 11:54 am

Yes,City and Jazz better than this Mazda.

City and Jazz??Think Axia/Myvi
          Mazda 2??Think Iriz,preve,suprima s

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 14
        • shadowsniper on Feb 03, 2015 at 7:31 pm

Honda City and Toyota Vios is same segment with Mazda 2.

• Just test drove the Jazz. For a claimed 120PS engine, it sure huffs and puffs up the Penchala hills. Turned me off from the otherwise great car.

• Maserati(Official) on Jan 16, 2015 at 5:28 pm

The big question here, is where is Najib’s promise to reduce car prices by 30%. Already 1 and half years have passed by since the last General Elections.

The price of this Mazda is still high for Malaysian standards.

If Najib cannot keep simple promises like reducing car prices, I really don’t know about all the other macro economic promises he has given about the country!

Najib clearly promised that he would reduce car prices if we voted BN in the last election. He swore that BN never went against their word and always kept their promises.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 64 Thumb down 50
      • najib on Jan 16, 2015 at 10:45 pm

dude… 30% reduction is over 5 years period… don’t always blame government for every new car launched… why not you blame those carmakers making more profit? look at the petrol price drop, does it make any difference for kopitiam owner to reduce pricing? they are not and keep blaming this and that now…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 25
        • wayangkulit on Jan 17, 2015 at 10:04 am

welcome to Malaysia ;)

car expensive blame government
          car spec no good blame government blame manufacturer
          car break down blame manufacturer
          car want service blame manufacturer too expensive
          cannot make enough to buy higher end car blame lower end car not safe

everything must be spoon fed or free

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 8
      • phua chu kengkang on Jan 17, 2015 at 1:02 am

Please don’t shows your stupidity by using use cut and paste comment. Talk something relating to the car lor!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
        • steven see on Jan 17, 2015 at 10:52 am

Ya, somemore keep.thumbs up his own comment together with sam

• Boooo mazda, we want the cool headlamp not this 1990’s design

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 6
  • frustrated guy on Jan 16, 2015 at 4:26 pm

oh no, same width as my 2014 honda city. I’m so regret of my purchase, should have waited for mazda 2. mazda 2 equipped with leather seat, paddle shifters, head up display, 7in touch screen, i-stop and many more… I hate my decision.. Honda city 2014 will die once mazda 2 is launched

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 65
    • The car is not out yet in the metal but looks like you assume this car is much better than the City? Generally Mazda cars might have large exteriors but does not translate to interior space thought.
      It was announced months earlier that Mazda 2 will be launched soon so you have to blame yourself for not being informed about it when shopping for a new car.
      However the brand here is not as popular compared to other sushi brands so although it might steal some sales from the big 3 but not by much. The specs looks ok but sadly only has 2 airbags and its signature projector lights with led DRL also missing.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 8
    • Mazda 222222 on Jan 16, 2015 at 5:37 pm

Sales figurevwill tell!!
      City is the best selling Honda in 2014
      and will continue the glory become best selling non national car this year.

Honda City vs mazda 2 is like Perodua Axia vs Proton Iriz!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 25
      • Mazda 222222 on Jan 16, 2015 at 5:39 pm

Once Mazda 2222 launch,it will like Perodua Axia versus Proton Iriz!!!

1 Proton Iriz equal to 10 Perodua Axia

Go Honda City,thrash this Mazda

Proud 2014 City owner

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 43
        • Mazda 222222 on Jan 16, 2015 at 5:41 pm

This car will like Iriz,hard to sell.

everywhere is City and this car will hard to spot even one.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 33
          • carlies on Jan 16, 2015 at 7:06 pm

This guy is shiok sendiri too much.

One ordinary small sedan City why make you so proud?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
          • Mazda 222222 on Jan 17, 2015 at 11:58 am

I dont like big cars,small sedan/hatch back normally my choice.
            Mazda 2??Not even in my mind.

Axia comes into my mind and i will buy it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 12
      • Honda City?!! on Jan 16, 2015 at 9:06 pm

If the Honda City is that good, then why are you so afraid of the Mazda2 and feel the need to make such comments here?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
        • Almera on Jan 17, 2015 at 10:26 am

No need be afraid. Mazda 2 sales will be low as It’s a niche brand with good looks and drive but other than that poor NVH, crampy interiors, less practical and very little service centers. Doubt the sales will even come close to half of Almera.

• Nice spec, but safety cant beat City.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 12
    • mangata on Jan 16, 2015 at 6:34 pm

Haha! Well my friend..don’t be fooled by length..I ha ve sat in the new city and mazda 3 n guess what?! The new city is soooo much bigger than mazda 3..I’m afraid the mazda 2 will be even more cramped..but the specs for mazda 2 look good especially the head up display is simply awesome..honestly mazda..how hard is it for you to give 6 airbags!!! !! You guys gave a freakin head up display which might be less functional in daily life but not 6 airbags!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 6
    • IrizX on Jan 17, 2015 at 12:10 am

I seriously doubt you own a City, Mr Mazda Salesman. External width doesn’t tell any story. Mazda cars is always smaller than the competition. Reviews already shown it. Mazda is not meant to compete with City, Vios or Almera. Those are pratical mass market car. Mazda is a fun car. It’s real competion is Ford Fiesta Ecoboost. People who wants a pratical car which is spacious will not want a Mazda, and people who prefers a fun car to drive won’t look at the big 3 Japanese boys either.

• mazda2junk on Jan 17, 2015 at 10:57 pm

What? Competitor to Fiesta Ecoboost?
        Hahhahahahahahahhahaha
        hahahahahahahahahahahahahaha
        hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahah
        hahahahahahahahahahahahahah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 9
        • Best real life example of Honda inferior complex. Cannot admit that other cars are better in certain places.

Honda City is a mummy’s car, big, roomy, fuel economy while the Mazda 2 is build on a fun factor criteria, just like the Fiesta. Practicality wise, Honda City wins hands down. Building cars with passion, that you have to give credit to Mazda.

• in fact i want to comment some on Volkwagons CNY promotion…. :~

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 8
  • No projector Head lamp.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 1
  • the omission of 6 air bags is a let down and I always feel DRL integrated to non projector headlight to be weird

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 4
    • ProtonGSC on Jan 16, 2015 at 4:49 pm

DSC good job.

UMW will die, hoping the low spec will equip with DSC too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
    • wayangkulit on Jan 16, 2015 at 5:04 pm

yeah 6 airbags to 2 airbags, reduction of 300%
      hence in a car accident the survival rate drops by 300%

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 17
      • phua chu kengkang on Jan 17, 2015 at 1:07 am

if all those 6 airbags using takada brand airbag don’t say abt survival lar bro!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
  • Soemthing like ford focus sedan..but of course ford doesnt care about rear person legroom..so thats a nono..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
  • jemah on Jan 16, 2015 at 4:42 pm

KENAPA LAMPU DEPAN DIA TAK NAMPAK GARANG MACAM AUTO SHOW INDON TU? WTF

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 7
  • Oh please, safety feature is below par.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 10
  • We need 6 airbags and the nice, eagle-eye headlamps!!! Say no to the old-school reflectors!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 5
  • Maynard James Keenan on Jan 16, 2015 at 4:53 pm

This car…. Such a tiny little ba$tard

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 12
  • John Doe on Jan 16, 2015 at 5:00 pm

Seems the sedan model is eye catcher than the hatchback model.

Is this a good buy? I plan to buy for my daily drive to office. Hm…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 10
  • Mazda Angry Bird on Jan 16, 2015 at 5:01 pm

them lights!!! looks like anyone buying this car will need to shell out abit more money to get aftermarket headlamps

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 6
  • roxas on Jan 16, 2015 at 5:03 pm

only 4 colors? thanks to malaysian, we dont get those funky colors. all white n grey only.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 7
  • JeremyNg on Jan 16, 2015 at 5:09 pm

Damn ! they bring the cost down by replacing projector headlamp ……… The projector headlamp make the car look better and will even perform better than reflector type during night time

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 3
  • Corporal on Jan 16, 2015 at 5:11 pm

Waiting for the same ppl that comment on Honda(City/Jazz/HRV) posts about reduced specs and overpriced compared to Thai/Indo car to give same comments here.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 8
  • No surprise with the specs, car here is more expensive. City still better value buy, follow closely by 2.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 6
    • Mazda 222222 on Jan 16, 2015 at 5:44 pm

Yes City so popular,got reason one maa..
      (just like new Perodua Axia)
      Own one now and you will always happy.

Proud Honda City E 2014 owner.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 20
      • Honda City?!! on Jan 16, 2015 at 9:13 pm

Wow! Such a proud City flag waver doing his best to make people buy a City in a Mazda thread.

I read somewhere (I think it was from a UCLA student newspaper) that statistically, City drivers are so uncoordinated, bad and notoriously unaware of their surroundings as they drive. That probably justifies their need for 6 airbags.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 9
        • Cantona on Jan 17, 2015 at 10:37 am

Oh man… looks like you need to buck up on your english dude. You got the wrong meaning from such a sinple article…
          I read the same article before and it says city drivers as in people driving inside the cities like Kuala Lumpur…. not Honda City drivers..
          #Facepalm

• Honda City?!! on Jan 18, 2015 at 9:20 pm

Oh man… You’re a bigger liar than I am. There’s no such publication or article… ROFLMAO!

• Cantona on Jan 19, 2015 at 10:57 am

My point exactly to show the absurdness you are commenting here. Can’t even sense sarcasm??? Yup… IQ must be low…
            #Brain atrophy #Low IQ # Facepalmx999

• seancorr (Member) on Jan 16, 2015 at 5:32 pm

Lol I like the fact that Mazda thinks 2 airbags is a great feature that they go great lengths to advertise it when the industry standard is 6.

Take out the HUD and leather seats and fit those 6 airbags to achieve 5 star safety rating la…aiseh.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 11
    • maz3zoom on Jan 16, 2015 at 6:36 pm

ya the HUD is very gimmicky , leathers should be on option with the navi. i prefer the 6 airbags too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
      • Acrix on Jan 17, 2015 at 10:41 am

Totally agree. The HUD is gimmicky and its not eye level so you still have to look down slightly to view the speed. Should take off the HUD and leather seats and give 6 airbags and the signature projector headlamps with led DRL instead

• Ah Beng (Member) on Jan 16, 2015 at 7:07 pm

Yah! 5 Star like Proton Iris.
      Let’s see Iris more or the Mazda 2 more OTR.

• steven see on Jan 17, 2015 at 10:55 am

Seancorr, do you mind put yours inspira photo rather than f30 photo. Be yrself lah bang.

• wtf the only reason I want this over the Fiesta / 208 is because of the lights.
    BTW I don’t get why ya’ll are complaining about it having only 2 airbags. The 1.5 Fiesta has 2 airbags but a lot of people still buy it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 15
    • Myvi 1 airbag with 90 degree bendable b-pillar oso sell like hotcake.

Just some Honda inferior complex la.. dun worry~

• Malaysian, they love to complaints.
      And i see there’s a lot of salesman here.

• wayangkulit on Jan 16, 2015 at 8:46 pm

Because Malaysians has become kiasu and kiasi

They think more airbags equates to immortality
      Salesman has played a role in it as well

However they forgot that airbags proper name is SRS airbag which is Supplemental Restraint System
      In other words supplementing other restraining system that may have in a vehicle. Most commonly seat belts.

And the saleman also didnt tell them that each airbags triggering algorithm and logic is unique and proprietary.
      Thus may perform differently under different situation and varies from manufacturer/model
      Hence a 6 airbags model programmed with inferior crash patterns/logic may not necessarily be safer than a 2 airbags model programmed with better logic and of course under the right condition

But the typical kiasu minded Malaysian will think 6 airbags confirm better than 2
      And we havent go into diminishing rate of return yet.
      Oh well..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 16
      • So you mean to say all the cars with 6 airbags sold in Europe and states are potentially dangerous so if that is the case why was it made compulsory then? Without a minimum of 6 airbags the car cannot be sold there so your logic and argument is really flawed.
        During an accident many factors come into play and not all accidents are full frontal collisions, it could be a moderate or small overlap collision in which the momentum and force might not only send your head moving forward but sideways at an angle to hit the side door panel, or the rebound from hitting the front airbag could send your head sideways to the side window/panel and that would lead to injury.

http://www.iihs.org/iihs/ratings/TSP-List

Take a look at the IIHS videos here and you will see my point. All the cars tested comes with side and curtain airbags and in each of the video the crash test dummy head actually made contact with the side airbags so which is to say the side airbags reduced the risk of head injuries compared to just front airbags. This is just talking about frontal collisions and the purpose of the side airbags will be more apparent in side collisions.

It is not about kiasu or kiasi but to promote awareness of safety. Overall having 6 airbags will be safer than having 2. Monetary losses or a damaged car can always be replaced however a life lost can never be replaced. If you can afford a car with better safety features like ESP and 6 airbags it is better to get one rather than regretting a loss of life should a bad accident occur. Accidents can occur at anytime, any place whether by our own fault or by others so won’t it be better to be safe than sorry?

• wayangkulit on Jan 18, 2015 at 12:26 am

Please show me evidence that 6 airbags is compulsory in EU and USA
          In the UK there’s no direct laws pertaining to airbags

“In the United Kingdom, and most other developed countries there is no direct legal requirement for new cars to feature airbags. Instead, the Euro NCAP vehicle safety rating encourages manufacturers to take a comprehensive approach to occupant safety; a good rating can only be achieved by combining airbags with other safety features.[66] Thus almost all new cars now come with at least two airbags as standard”
          Source: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Airbag#Regulatory_specifications

Im aware of 2 being compulsory in USA

Yes its potentially dangerous, have a look at takata airbag recalls.
          “The air bags, made by a major parts supplier, Takata, were installed in cars from model year 2002 through 2008. Some of those air bags could deploy explosively, injuring or even killing car occupants”

Ford alone has 500k vehicles affected
          “According to a Dec. 18 statement, Ford is adding an additional 447,310 vehicles to the recall. This brings Ford in compliance with NHTSA’s call for a nationwide recall, and brings the total number of affected vehicles to 538,977.”
          Source:
          http://www.consumerreports.org/cro/news/2014/10/everything-you-need-to-know-about-the-takata-air-bag-recall/index.htm

“In vehicles with side airbags, it is dangerous for occupants to lean against the windows, doors, and pillars, or to place objects between themselves and the side of the vehicle. Articles hung from a vehicle’s clothes hanger hooks can be hazardous if the vehicle’s side curtain airbags deploy.[77] A seat-mounted airbag may also cause internal injury if the occupant leans against the door.[78][79]”

The examples you given were conducted in a controlled environment
          However in the real world its different
          According to National Highway Traffic Safety Administration in the USA where 2 airbags were being made mandatory.
          “About 3.3 million air bag deployments have occurred during that interval, and the agency estimates more than 6,377 lives saved and countless injuries prevented”
          Source:http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Airbag

3.3 million deployment and about 6377 lives saved.
          Thats less than 1%

Please dont con people by telling them having airbags no need die ok?
          Please also dont con people telling them 2 airbags is not safe and undriveable ok ?
          Sure it will minimize injurries and death but its not like you gona die driving a car with 2 airbags
          Even EuroNcap says they RECOMMEND and dare not say MANDATORY.

• Although it is compulsory to have 2 airbags and recommended to have 6 airbags try looking at the specs given for all cars being sold in the Europe and States. A simple search and you will find only the cheapest variants of certain car models in each car manufacturer will come with 2 airbags while a small upgrade in price to a more expensive variant will lead to 6-7 airbags. Some cars are fitted with 6-7 airbags even at its cheapest variant.

The rapid incorporation of SABs into the U.S. automobile fleet has led to their availability in as many as 89% of 2009 model year vehicles [Highway Loss Data Institute, 2008].

This shows that in the States alone since 2009 only a small fraction of cars does not come with side and curtain airbags. Although not compulsory but 1st world countries have opt to fit their cars with at least 6 airbags from 2008 onwards although not legally required to do so except for certain cars at the cheapest variant.

In the United States, NHTSA estimated that air bags had saved over 4,600 lives by September 1, 1999

By the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration’s own estimates, airbags have saved nearly 28,000 lives since 1998, that’s more than 2,300 people a year. NHTSA calculates that using a seat belt and having an airbag reduces the risk of death by 61 percent.

Airbags and other improvements to car safety have saved at least 2700 lives and the Australian economy nearly $20 billion since the early 1990s. In that time, 36,000 drivers and passengers also escaped serious injury thanks to safety advances.

Your wikipedia source states 6377 lives saved between 1990-2000 and 3.3million airbags deployed. I have provided a few more references above to increase the number of lives saved. While i do agree that the statistics of lives saved is less than 1% but you did not take into account the amount that escaped serious and life threatening injuries in the statistics which numbers well into the tens of thousands.

Have you ever sit down to consider what is the statistic of injury/death due to airbags vs lives saved/reduction of fatal injuries?

National Highway Traffic Safety
            Administration (NHTSA) estimates that airbags installed in automobiles have saved more than 10,000 lives as of January 2004. NHTSA also confirms that 238 people have been killed by airbags in the years 1990 through 2003, and many airbagrelated injuries have been reported. But because 10,000 is a much larger number than 238, it is generally agreed that airbags are a good thing.

No doubt the first generation of airbags in the States manufactured from 1990-1998 were potentially fatal as they were built to be bigger and deploy more forcefully due to drivers in the States failing to wear seat belts at that time. A majority of the case of deaths are due to not wearing safety belts thus after 1998 the 2nd generation of airbags manufactured in the states follows european specs which are of smaller and has less force as awareness of wearing safety belt has risen. Number of cases related to airbag fatalities has drop to zero after 2007.
            http://www-nrd.nhtsa.dot.gov/Pubs/AB0707.pdf

On the Takata issue, it is due to the unscrupulous nature of the company providing defective airbags which hopefully will not happen again.

Hanging hooks are potential missles in the case of side airbag deployments but what about objects like tissue box, dolls, decorative items etc which people normally put at the front dashboard and behind the back seats which is more common than clothe hooks? In a collision above 60km/h those items have potentially 10 times the force/weight and would fly and injure passengers has not been taken into account which is why it is not recommended to place any such items in the car.

http://www.autosafetyexpert.com/Assets/Docs/article-airbagdefects.pdf
            This is a good article related to airbag injuries and ways to prevent it which should be read.
            It is also especially important to make sure baby seats are not placed in the front seat as it could lead to potential injury should an airbag deploy.

With airbags and seatbelt there is a reduction of 61% chance of potential fatal injury or death thus it is recommended to have a car with at 2 front airbags.
            IIHS tests may be in a controlled environment but it shows the way side airbags reduces the risk of injury from a front impact at an angle and side impacts which would apply in a real life scenario.

My comments here are just my 2 cents and in no way am i saying or forcing my opinions on anyone that you must have a car with 6 airbags or you will die in an accident so please do not twist my words. Having 6 airbags is still statistically and potentially safer to both you and the passengers even in the rear.
            As cars in malaysia with 6 airbags normally comes at a premium thus i would say if you can afford the premium you can consider about it.

Cheers!

• wayangkulit on Jan 19, 2015 at 10:57 pm

So now you changed your stance on the mandatory number of airbags and its potential danger?

The majority of my comment was in response to your earlier statement which reads
            “So you mean to say all the cars with 6 airbags sold in Europe and states are potentially dangerous so if that is the case why was it made compulsory then”

If you go and reread your own statement it is as if airbags are flawless.
            Which is not true, and then you change your stance to quote the same article and says there are potential danger with airbags deployments.
            And then goes on to say the benefit of having airbags far outweighs its flaws

My stance has never changed from the beginning,
            1. I never once said airbags were useless even in real world it translates to less than 1% benefit hence i made a comparison between 2 and 6 and not 0
            To further strengthens my argument, im quoting my earlier statement”Sure it will minimize injurries and death but its not like you gona die driving a car with 2 airbags”
            2. I never said airbags were flawless either, thus I pointed out the defects in takata airbags which they estimate were installed in 8.7 million vehicles potentially endangering 8.7 million driver or 17.4million people if you include side passenger
            3. I also pointed out that airbags are called supplemental restraint systems commonly used with seatbelts in my earlier comment which you then show me that 61% potential reduction in lab test.
            Did I not point it out earlier?
            So you mean its fact if it comes out from you and not from me ?

I did not include potential life saved/injuries because there werent any real world statistics given, thus we can go round and round discussing how much potentially saved/injuries averted

I dont know about your agenda here which seems personal/ego related, but my agenda here is simple.

-Airbags are not flawless and thus people should be aware of its limitations.

-Airbags are not standalone devices and has to combined with other safety measure to be effective e.g seatbelts, collapsible steering columns, car body that absorbs or deflect energy

-The number of airbags is not an indicator of safety. It must be considered on a holistic level.Yes 6 MAY NOT be better than 2, I give you this analogy to strenghten my point about airbag numbers.
            Which is safer if you have to choose one car, 6 airbags in a Kancil or 2 airbags in Mercedes S class?
            2 airbag which are from manufacturer that has no defect vs 6 takata defect airbags?
            Thus it is the quality of airbags and its proper application that matters.

• As i did not expect this to be a debate i did not go into the details of how the airbag functions in my first comment and just generalized it in the layman terms. As you give more detailed points so did i and in no way have i changed my stance.

The main objectives i will continue to highlight would be:

1. My first statement about 6 airbags being compulsory was wrong on my part as i assumed it was compulsory as 6 airbags is a standard among 90% of the cars offered in the States and Europe. Now although its not compulsory by law, car manufacturers opt to offer it as standard for most of their cars even for the cheaper models. 90% is a big majority and can’t be denied that in the next decade it could reach 100%.

2. Airbags are still safe especially the side airbags where having more is better. Why that is so is further strengthened by the fact that 40% of accident injuries are due to side impacts and 30% of accidents involve side collisions which is the reason why 90% of cars in States and Europe has it as standard from 2009 onwards although they are not legally required to do so. Although there is a risk involved in using airbags the benefit far far outweigh the risk it poses.

3. Airbags and seatbelt goes hand in hand to provide safety together which was highlighted by you and i totally agree on that point. However now the main topic of discussion is whether 6 will be better than 2 and you bring up the analogy on chassis of the car. Based on point number 2 above, will the passengers inside a Kancil/Mercedes with 2 airbags fare better or worse than Kancil/Mercedes with 6 airbags then? Passengers inside the car will only survive should the chassis withstand the force of the collision no matter the type of car, but should the chassis stand up to the task then which passenger will be at higher risk of injury if compare 2 vs 6 airbags? Now honestly which car would you rather be in and lets say its not using Takata airbags?

4. Did i ever mentioned that having 6 airbags guarantee survival and 2 airbags is guarantee death? All i was saying was having 6 would be safer than 2 but there is no guarantee of survival just that the probability increases with 6 provided it is used properly as is with 2 airbags.

Your analogy was good about quality use of airbags and not quantity however none of us will know the quality of airbags in our cars but what we can do is know about the other safety features of the car like number of airbags, ESP, chassis strength. If a consumer has awareness about the safety of a car and the priority is to get the safest car within his budget, he would have checked through NCAP scores or even IIHS. Now my question would be; Given the same car under the same condition in an accident be it frontal or side impact, would the passengers fare better with 2 or 6 airbags?

Let me give you some results of ANCAP scores for the same cars with different number of airbags as an example.
            Hyundai I20(2010) 2 airbags: 28.33/37 4 stars
            Hyundai I20(2010) 6 airbags: 34.07/37 5 stars
            Ford Fiesta(2009) 2 airbags: 28.62/37 4 stars
            Ford Fiesta(2009) 6 airbags: 34.45/37 5 stars.
            In both cars, the side impact scores increased with 6 airbags compared to 2 airbags. Don’t you think this raises the possibility that 6 is safer than 2? Just think about it…

Which strengthens my stance regarding having 6 airbags would be safer than just 2. Although it does not guarantee survival but it does increase the probability or survival in certain conditions so if you can afford the premium of getting a car with better safety features, go for the higher variant.

On a lighter note… My only agenda is to raise awareness of safety and nothing to do with personal or ego. It is just that in my opinion having 6 is better than 2. This has been a good debate and i did learn a few new things from all the articles i read which was interesting. Hopefully people that read our long posts would be able to benefit from it and raise their interest in car safety be it from seatbelts, airbags, chassis or ESP.

• Airbag debate!! on Jan 20, 2015 at 3:27 pm

@Alan
            If you gave the ANCAP scores right at the beginning comparing 2 airbags to 6 airbags you could have settled this debate long before the need for all the essays!! Lol.

From my point of view, Alan is dead set on 6 while wayangkulit on 2. Anyway it has been an interesting read from both sides and from a neutral perspective Alan gives a more convincing argument with his evidence especially at the end. Loved the link provided by Alan on how to use airbag safely especially for infants and short people.
            Would love to see more such debates in Paultan and not just mindless bashing and personal attacks as many people can learn from it because i know i did.

• wayangkulit on Jan 21, 2015 at 7:12 pm

Neither did i expect it to go into a debate and it was messy as we had to wait for authorization

I see the pattern where we disagree in an argument i had with some one over fuel efficiency some time ago. Ill use that as an analogy over our debate.
            I argue based on real world usage while you based on lab test results e.g NCAP

Person X claims using 10-15 cycle
            Car A uses 6l/100km
            Car B uses 6.6l/100km
            So if he uses RM300 fuel per month Car A will save 10%xRM300=RM30
            Thus in a year he will save RM360 and in a year year ownership RM360x5= RM1800

I argue no not neccesarily as the 10-15 is a lab/controlled condition and thus not neccesarily RM360 pa or it could use more fuel pa
            Because different people and different usage pattern on a daily basis.
            I argue fuel efficiency savings must be measured in the real world usage over a period of time.
            We also know car tends to sip more fuel say on the second or third year of usage.
            The 10-15 only test an engine once and supply the results.
            Thus in a real world Car A may not neccesarily be more fuel efficent than B.

Similiar pattern here with our 6 vs 2 airbags argument?
            Where I said 6 MAY NOT neccesarily be better than 2 and alot of factors comes into play and you then argues based on controlled results by NCAP

Now for argument sake then, Ill play along and says 6 is definitely safer than 2
            Now based on my calculation
            2 x 3 = 6
            Thus a car with 6 airbags is 3 times safer than a car fitted with 2

Thus the NCAP rating of said Hyundai I20 2010 with 6 airbags score should then be calculated as 28.33 of a 2 airbags hyundai x 3
            Thus should score a maximum of 37 or more
            Because we are now 3 times safer as per calculation given its the same manufacturer, same model, same year?

• I agree that a controlled test done in a lab may not necessarily translate to a real world situation when many other factors could come into play and having 6 airbags does not mean its 3 times safer than having 2.

Based on the Hyundai I20 NCAP test the 2 airbags scored 12.27/16 in side impact test and 6 airbags got 16/16 in the side impact test while the results for front impact remains the same for both.
            This would mean that the side airbags might not play much of a role in a frontal collision except for small overlap collisions but it would be more significant when it comes to a side impact.

So even if an accident happens in the real world the same car with 6 airbags could potentially offer better protection than the same car with 2 airbags especially if side collision is involved.

Thus i stress the point where if a person can afford the more expensive variant with more airbags like Iriz/Jazz/City, they can go for it but it does not mean that the variants with 2 airbags is not safe. While the Asean NCAP results is questionable, i really think consumers should at the very least check out the ANCAP results and IIHS and see the strength of the chassis of the cars they are interested in before purchasing. After checking through IIHS scores, a big majority of cars fail the small overlap test despite having very high frontal offset scores in ANCAP or EUROCAP which is an eye opener.

• https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AzOCzESlLlY

Just to add on a video demonstrating a side impact with and without side airbags.

• Raikkonen on Jan 19, 2015 at 2:12 pm

Why do people downvote @wayangkulit ‘s comment when he is absolutely right?

Know your facts people, SRS is SUPPLEMENTARY. Not meant to be the end all. Try crashing without your seat belts on, 20 airbags also won’t inflate.

• Acrix on Jan 19, 2015 at 2:57 pm

Generally for most Malaysians the awareness to buckle up the seat belts in the front is high and most drivers would buckle up. It is only the rear passengers that fail to do so.
          In this case it is wayangkulit that assumes malaysians does not buckle up thus rendering airbags useless in an accident thus he gets the downvotes as he assumes wrongly.

Another would be for him he argues that 6 airbags is not important and its a con from car manufacturers. In this case looks like Alan argument is more convincing over wayangkulit thus more downvotes.

Or its due to him calling malaysians kiasu and kiasi lol.

• Airbag debate!! on Jan 19, 2015 at 4:13 pm

Such a hot debate going on from top to bottom of the post.
          Would love to see if wayangkulit has anything more to reply here or at the other comments at the bottom as Alan has now countered each of your comments.
          It was really interesting to read and i too have looked up some of the articles cited by both. From what i read its still safer with more airbags although the risk of injury is there. Light injury > serious injury/death so thanks Alan i shall look for a car with more airbags next time.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Jan 16, 2015 at 10:02 pm

fiesta had 6 airbags initially brother

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 4
  • At least make the projector headlamps an optional extra. please la bermaz

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 1
  • Maserati(Official) on Jan 16, 2015 at 6:02 pm

looks great !!

this is good news to malaysian automatic industry as the low income earners and the poor people have more option than the usual T and H brands, and also less Proton / Perodua on the road

Poor Malaysians deserve better cars than T, H and P+P brands that are flooding (no pun) the road now…

• maz3zoom on Jan 16, 2015 at 6:33 pm

That DRLed projector headlamp make Mazda 2 quite a looker , its compliment the whole sporty looks. Without it , feel kinda “off” to me

But really auto climate , cruise and that HUD , even mazda 3 dint get those..

• Driver on Jan 16, 2015 at 6:35 pm

Coming thru… Lots of honda sales team here ror….

• azhar on Jan 16, 2015 at 6:51 pm

Should have trade a fabric seat for projector headlights..wrong move Bermaz!

• nabill (Member) on Jan 16, 2015 at 7:18 pm

So now the lights is a major deciding factor in buying a car???
    Im not defending mazda bt its not logical….
    I believe when real buyers who actually buying, see the car in metal n test drive, i highly doubt the halogen lights will b a priority…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 18
    • yamete-yamete on Jan 17, 2015 at 9:12 am

The looks of the car IS the deciding factor for me.

• Raikkonen on Jan 19, 2015 at 2:17 pm

Try driving with projector headlamps. Try bi-xenon, HID, and whatever.

I still think HALOGEN, REFLECTOR bulbs are best for visibility.

• Sammy on Jan 19, 2015 at 5:10 pm

Hmm… I beg to differ.
          HID or better lighting system are well worth the premium if you ask me.
          They give much better visibility in the dark.
          Only if you talk about foggy situation, in which “yellow” light has an edge. Thats why they still have a non-HID fog lights to compliment the main.

• Sammy on Jan 19, 2015 at 11:47 am

Is the style bro.
      Mazda is doing well because of it.
      Practicality? The cramp interior stand no chance.

• andrewkwting (Member) on Jan 16, 2015 at 7:29 pm

MAZDA, YOU FORGOT TO PUT IN THE ARMREST!!!

• Urzu3 on Jan 16, 2015 at 8:08 pm

if the price didn’t change from current one, the design of this new mazda2 makes it looks much more expensive.. didn’t it?

• Simple as that, the young ones will go for the Mazda 2, those who has family will go for City.

• Matrix on Jan 17, 2015 at 9:14 am

Exactly…tried to convinced wife to wait for Mazda 2 last year, but she want big space and big boots to store her shoes and dunno what. Nothing will beat a Honda in terms of space….so i gip up and got her the City. Happy car owner. LOL.

• Sahipul on Jan 16, 2015 at 9:05 pm

As always for Mazda, no auto-cruise, thumbs down!

• IrizX on Jan 17, 2015 at 9:16 am

Yep…critical features like auto-cruise does not cost much to implement, it’s more important than touch screen and other useless gadgets.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Jan 16, 2015 at 10:03 pm

i rather not have that HUD, 6 airbags better…projecttor headlamps also please…thats why made the mazda 2 looks great now it just looks meh like something u buy if u don like syed mokhtar

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 8
  • John doe on Jan 16, 2015 at 11:04 pm

Sayonara Vios. This mazda will rule the road for sure

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 12
  • BrianXYZ on Jan 16, 2015 at 11:06 pm

Safety features like MyVi only. Better get MyVi and save some money. The i-stop feature is really useless especially in a traffic jam.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
  • LeJohnZ on Jan 16, 2015 at 11:19 pm

in my opinion the headlights doesn’t really matter to me . Since my family owns a vw Jetta which has projectors and an old car with reflector . I don’t find that much difference while driving on the highway at night . However xenon is a whole other story

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
    • There IS difference. You might have small scale Jetta toy car kid.

• Experia on Jan 16, 2015 at 11:32 pm

No one cares about driving dynamics ?

CVT vs conventional 6 Speed paddle shifter, which one will be fun ?

• What a CVT?!!! on Jan 17, 2015 at 7:47 pm

I can bet you a CVT is not for driving fun. My wife has a CVT and it is such a drone. They are built to make grandma-style driving easier.

• panjang on Jan 16, 2015 at 11:48 pm

I was expecting more hp from the skyactiv engine.Well i think this particular skyactiv engine focussed on fc.

• Thai boy on Jan 17, 2015 at 12:08 am

You can disable i-stop by a touch button when u choose the same with DSC another button for it

• mazda 2 gets 2 airbag, nobody bats an eye

proton, toyota, honda etc get 2 airbags, everyone loses their mind

• yamete-yamete on Jan 17, 2015 at 2:26 am

Sorely disappointed. One of it’s selling point “exterior design” is gone. No longer has tht appealing looks. Thank god I didn’t book it.

• IrizX on Jan 17, 2015 at 9:18 am

Yeah, i was hoping it looks like Mazda 3, but somehow, lose that trademark design…maybe car too small to put that design in…

• crAnky on Jan 17, 2015 at 2:37 am

shut up and take my money.

• raytsk on Jan 17, 2015 at 8:49 am

nice car nice price nice spec… about safety feature… yes below par but is useless to have all good safety feature if u drive like a bulls… DRIVING ATTITUDE BROS~~drive safe haha~

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 18
    • Semi-Value (Member) on Jan 17, 2015 at 1:59 pm

u can be the safest driver in malaysia but all it takes is one idiot to t-bone you and you’re good as dead…then u will appreciate the side airbags

• A lot of ppl get killed in car accident despite driving safely.. its because of “Other drivers” mistake from “other car”..

Why the hell car manufacture install side airbags since we are only driving front and back? its to protect from side impact

Y there are ppl still having the dxmn axx thinking as long as they drive safely, they are always safe…..??

• Think again on Jan 17, 2015 at 7:50 pm

If you think that side airbags will protect you if someone T-bones you then you are sorely mistaken.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 14
        • 4G63T DSM on Jan 17, 2015 at 10:21 pm

Why is that? Care to explain?

Side airbags have been proven to improve your survivability in a side collision.

• wayangkulit on Jan 18, 2015 at 12:50 am

“But cars that currently offer side airbags represent the new wave of occupant protection. Engineers say that designing effective side airbags is much more difficult than designing front airbags. This is because much of the energy from a front-impact collision is absorbed by the bumper, hood and engine, and it takes almost 30 to 40 milliseconds before it reaches the car’s occupant. In a side impact, only a relatively thin door and a few inches separate the occupant from another vehicle. This means that door-mounted side airbags must begin deploying in a mere five or six milliseconds!”
            Source:http://auto.howstuffworks.com/car-driving-safety/safety-regulatory-devices/airbag4.htm

If a car Tbone you from the side and hit your door and triggers side airbags it has less than 6 ms to deploy
            Still think it will cushion u in time?
            Strong enough to absorb all the energy?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 10
          • @wayangkulit

Why are you so against side airbags??

Here is the remaining part of the article you so conveniently left out in your link which is rather important in this side airbag topic and to all those saying side airbags are not necessary.

Until recently, most of the strides made in auto safety were in front and rear impacts, even though 40 percent of all serious injuries from accidents are the result of side impacts, and 30 percent of all accidents are side-impact collisions. Many carmakers have responded to these statistics (and the resulting new standards) by beefing up doors, door frames and floor and roof sections. But cars that currently offer side airbags represent the new wave of occupant protection.

Shocking isn’t it??? A big percentage of accidents and accident related injuries are due to side impacts so won’t it look like side airbags are important???

To be of maximum protection in the event of a collision, the side airbag needs to deploy to full size within 10 milliseconds of impact. With our seat cover on, the side airbag deployed to its maximum size (in three laboratory tests) in an average time of 8.4 milliseconds.
            http://www.escapegear.co.za/side-airbags

http://www.google.com/patents/US7695013
            Under this patent for an airbag, full deployment of the airbag occurs between 3 to 20 milliseconds. So yes, the side airbags could be deployed faster than 5 milliseconds.

• wayangkulit on Jan 19, 2015 at 11:21 pm

Please read my above reply to your earlier comment.

I’ve got nothing against the efficacy of airbags.
            I’m here to increase people’s awareness of what an airbag can do and what it cannot do

Side impact injuries are greater than frontal or back?
            Not surprising and common knowledge
            Did you not see the article on why sideairbags are harder to engineer that i posted?
            Frontal and rear end collision(in a sedan at least) are less dangerous than side collision is because there are CRUMPLE ZONES engineered in front and at the back of a car while the side has only inches of metal to separate the driver and whatever that impacts from the side.
            I can also tell you the accronym and which company invented the beefing up doors, floors, and floor section.
            It was Volvo in 1991 which is called SIPS(side impact protection system)
            They were also the first to implement a curtain airbag.
            See the same logic that comes out from me is being met with negativity from you.
            I wonder if you have any bone to pick with me.

Thus my stance has never change either, to tell people of airbags limitation.
            Frontal airbags are more effective than side airbags because it works in conjunction with CRUMPLE ZONES in the front and seatbelts to provide safety
            While side airbags has potentially less life saving potential because theres very little crumple zone seperating the occupant and the point of impact.
            And I gave the example of being t boned from the side because i wanted people to undertstand the limitation of sideairbags because if metal cannot stop/absorb what is intruding into the cabin from the side, fat chance that airbags would.
            Thus a stronger side door, panel, and SIPS working in conjunction with a sideairbag is more beneficial than having sideairbags alone.
            Again SUPPLEMENTARY and WHOLISTIC view

The patent you showed me?
            Please also show me how many car manufacturer paid the inventor of that patent to have those airbags installed in their cars.

• Hmmmm… this will go on and on so let’s redirect back to the main issue which started this. So a Mazda 2 with 2 airbags and another Mazda 2 with 6 airbags. Which would be the safer car?

You say side airbags has a potentially lower effectiveness compared to frontal airbags. Like you said, potentially… but at the same time there is no denying that it does grant additional protection. Basically the entire point of this is to compare the SAME car with SAME chassis having and accident in the SAME conditions. Which would fare better? 2 airbags of 6 airbags? That is the entire point that i am trying to address here.

I give you 2 examples:
            Hyundai I20(2010) 2 airbags: 28.33/37
            4 stars
            Hyundai I20(2010) 6 airbags: 34.07/37
            5 stars
            Ford Fiesta(2009) 2 airbags: 28.62/37
            4 stars
            Ford Fiesta(2009) 6 airbags: 34.45/37
            5 stars.
            In both cars, the side impact scores increased with 6 airbags compared to 2 airbags. Don’t you think this raises the possibility that 6 is safer than 2 under the same conditions?

• Imo it won’t guarantee that you’ll walk away without a single scratch,but it increases your chances to survive so that you can walk away in the first place. Better to have it than not.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Jan 17, 2015 at 11:47 pm

no 100% guarantee….but a 5% chance of surviving is better than 0% of surviving….stop defending ur car mazda salesman

• Think again on Jan 18, 2015 at 9:29 pm

I’m not defending a Mazda and I’m not a Mazda salesman. Side curtain airbags deploy from the top of the window to protect your head from hitting the window in the event of a collision. On a front impact, you have a good chance of surviving. On a T-bone side impact you are hit from the side of the door with very little in the door to protect you, meaning the car or truck or SUV bumper with huge chrome bars is going to kill you regardless of whether the thin side airbag protects you or not.

I’m not selling a Mazda so get real.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 10
          • wayangkulit on Jan 19, 2015 at 1:23 am

Malaysians are a strange lot when comes to logic
            If metal cannot stop a vehicle from intruding into a car’s cabin as a result from being t-boned from the side, I dont know what makes them think airbags could.
            Maybe they think airbag is made with some sort of Godly material that can stop another vehicle from intruding into a cars cabin.

Its also funny that they ask for more airbags because they care about safety but never ask for stronger chasis or a well designed chasis to deflect/absorb the impact

Lets not introduce them to multi stage airbags
            They’ll make it into a more Godly than Godly normal airbags.
            They’ll say cars without multi stage airbags are movin coffin

Perhaps local salesman havent got any model fitted with multi stage airbags to sell yet
            Thus havent con them with how safe/Godly multistage airbags are yet.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
          • Side airbags are added safety and protection against you head and torso hitting the side windows or panels. I don’t think anyone is trying to imply that its a god material stronger than kevlar and nothing can penetrate it. As it says, its to protect against impacts and blunt force injuries. No vehicle can withstand T-boned by a larger vehicle or any vehicle at high speeds would most likely kill anyone inside regardless of safety features.

That is in the extreme setting but what about lower speed impacts? Having side airbags would most likely increase the chances of survival provided no projectiles intrude into the passenger cabin.

If you call malaysians strange then won’t you be stranger to be against additional safety measures?? Even if millions of airbags are deployed and only 0.5% leads to saving lives, those are still lives saved.

Having more airbags does not guarantee you will survive an accident but it increases the chances of survival in certain conditions.

On another note… if a car buyer is really concerned about safety, they would have checked through NCAP or even better IIHS to see if the car chassis is good or not. The IIHS top safety picks are all safe cars with good chassis to withstand even small overlap collisions.

• wayangkulit on Jan 19, 2015 at 11:43 pm

Again I see evidence that the same logic that comes out from you is OK while its not OK if its from me.

I’ll quote you
            “Side airbags are added safety and protection against you head and torso hitting the side windows or panels”

Did i not define SRS as SUPPLEMENTAL RESTRAINT SYSTEM?

As per the dictionary SUPPLEMENTAL can be defined as
            1. Something added to complete a thing, make up for a deficiency, or extend or strengthen the whole.

Thus did I not say airbags are added safety ?
            See the same pattern here?
            So its ok if you define it as a supplemental safety device while its not when its from me.
            Funny la you

More evidence here
            “No vehicle can withstand T-boned by a larger vehicle or any vehicle at high speeds would most likely kill anyone inside regardless of safety features.”
            So its OK if its from you, and if its from me you’d say Im anti airbags and anti safety addition

here’s more evidence
            “If you call malaysians strange then won’t you be stranger to be against additional safety measures?? Even if millions of airbags are deployed and only 0.5% leads to saving lives, those are still lives saved.”

Oh and in which of my post did i point out that those lives saved are not lives saved?

Again, I gave an example were there’s little chance airbags could have avert any projectiles into the cabin and not non projectiles never did I once said it MAY not work with non projectiles.
            In my opinion if say a strong kick or a strong bump from a motorcycle there’s possibility that the metal/door can stop the projectile from intruding thus tthere’s potential that if an airbag deploys it will further absorb any impact.
            Here’s your statment
            “That is in the extreme setting but what about lower speed impacts? Having side airbags would most likely increase the chances of survival provided no projectiles intrude into the passenger cabin”

• Thai boy on Jan 17, 2015 at 9:08 am

The i-stop can be disable on a touch button as well the DSC, the sedan no longer looks narrow and downward pointing nose it looks naturally cool and not out size if parked among the likes of vios and city

• Hui Chua on Jan 17, 2015 at 12:40 pm

No more nice headlight, im off

• Halogen headlights with DRL….what a joke, macam motorbike under broad daylights. Gonna cancel my booking.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
  • CyberPatrol on Jan 18, 2015 at 5:48 am

Hot debate of more airs bags than 2 airbags should provide better survival of passengers. But review for report of test crashes were done on fixed value of speed of crash with an assumptions driver follow driving road speed rules and there are thresholds or stress of car frame and air bags can absorb object impacts. Beyond that, it takes a miracle to survive

Next take, the day will come of clearly have road safety to 99% when only self-drive vehicle (c/w air-bags) are on the road and human do not have control on vehicle and car speed only 40-60KM/h city and 80-120KM/h highways. At least car accident cause by human error or reckless driving behaviour are taken off in the equation and best of all everyone has a chauffeur driven car. I’m dreaming that day will come..

Coming back to this topic, I hope the local distribution will revised down the price if they want to quantity of sales instead of quality (premium customer). I read good review by PT team, just a test drive and the 2015 M’sian economic (oil price and weak ringgit) improves will seal the deals.

• car looker on Jan 18, 2015 at 8:03 pm

Anyone know what is the 0-100 acceleration of this new Mazda 2?

• slowest on Jan 18, 2015 at 9:23 pm

15 sec?

• 0-100 factory claimed time is 8.7seconds. But I doubt it’s that quick, that’s almost into hot hatch speed. haha

http://www.automobile-catalog.com/car/2015/2085785/mazda_2_1_5_skyactiv-g_115_i-eloop.html

• azhar on Jan 19, 2015 at 9:49 am

under 9 sec for 113hp engine…for 89hp engine its under 10sec..it is quick!

• Sammy on Jan 19, 2015 at 10:16 am

I was thinking to buy one earlier…
    Now I am not so sure anymore.

And why no Blue colour?

• FancyGirl on Jan 19, 2015 at 2:55 pm

Hm.. I pretty like the exterior design of this car but with that range of price, i would definitely go for Polo Sedan because it has strong chassis which is more safer than Mazda 2 if accident happened.

• It depends on personal preference, some people concern about design of the car but some people concern about safety issue. Personally, I’m more concern on car safety because my life is important than everything.

• At least mazde and honda are competitive. …gg wp to those who bough vios with kosong feature …

• Lonely Planet on Feb 06, 2015 at 3:32 pm

buy both cars lo