Mazda 2 Sedan unveiled at 2014 Thai Motor Expo!

Mazda 2 Sedan Thailand 21

Yup, it’s the car everyone’s been waiting to see take the stage at the show – it’s the new Mazda 2 Sedan! The booted version of the fourth-generation Mazda 2 hatch is Hiroshima’s answer to the likes of the Honda City, Toyota Vios and Nissan Almera.

Whether your breath is taken away by its looks or not (compared to the Mazda 6 and Mazda 3), there’s little denying that it’s a far cry from the outgoing model – for once, it no longer looks like a hatch with a boot grafted on.

The 1.5 litre SkyActiv-D-engined version is Thailand’s first diesel-powered Eco Car, and it has been approved for Phase 2 of the programme. The numbers to beat are 23.3 km per litre and 100 grams of CO2 per km – the 105 hp oil burner, when connected to a six-speed auto with i-stop stop/start system, does 26.4 km per litre in the Japanese cycle.

Mazda 2 Sedan Thailand 8

The automaker’s AutoAlliance Thailand plant, where the car will be built, is set to expand its production capacity, and Mazda Powertrain Manufacturing will begin making SkyActiv-Drive six-speed auto ‘boxes in January. Thai assembly of the SkyActiv-D 1.5 clean diesel mill is set to start in Q4 2015 when its new engine plant in Chonburi begins operations.

At that point, it will collectively make Thailand the first country outside Japan to undertake comprehensive production of Mazdas (including gearbox, engine and vehicle assembly).

When the new Mazda 2 Sedan launches in Thailand early next year, it will be equipped with features such as MZD Connect, HMI touch-screen with Commander Control knob, Active Driving Display, i-stop and i-Eloop regenerative braking. We already have a good idea of what the Malaysian Mazda 2 Sedan will feature in terms of equipment – provisional specifications came about last month.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• Jimmy on Nov 28, 2014 at 5:49 pm

2 airbags kah, murid-murid darjah satu sekolah rendah ma2da Malaysia?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 1
    • Looks out of proportion on Nov 28, 2014 at 6:24 pm

It looks out of proportion, I think the Kodo design only works wonders on the Mazda 3 and 6, not on smaller cars. The Mazda 2’s C-pillar looks awkward which makes the back looks really high and bulky. Small cars with Kim Kardashian’s butts aren’t really nice though.

Still the Honda City will still be the best B-Segment car which excels in terms of design, space, gadgets and price. Bermaz will definitely ripped off the car and put a high price tag on it.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 70 Thumb down 9
      • W204 C63 AMG on Nov 28, 2014 at 7:23 pm

I beg to differ. Mazda’s always look better without a boot lid. 6 wagon looks better than 6 sedan. 3 hatchback looks better than 3 sedan. And the same with the 2 too. But of all the iterations of the kodo design, the 3 sedan is the ugliest, whereas the 2 hatchback is one the best along with the 6 wagon.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 29
        • Harvester on Nov 30, 2014 at 9:10 pm

You’re an idiot. And thankfully, in the minority that thinks so lowly of the Mazda designs.

• salambangi on Nov 29, 2014 at 7:08 pm

Kodo design language is out of proportion in Mazda 2. Just follow the kodok (Thai girls) design- nice butts, big boobs, leggy, and highly desirable not to mention good RV.

• gary gary on Dec 03, 2014 at 10:08 pm

Come on lah Mazda.. not even an armrest? What is this?

• Gorgon on Nov 28, 2014 at 5:49 pm

At one glance, it is nowadays quite confusing when u are looking at Mazda 2, 3 & 6..especially from the rear

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 7
  • hazardous on Nov 28, 2014 at 5:50 pm

honda city all the wayyyyy….vios?? in tong sampah. lol

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 77 Thumb down 9
  • kimi fan on Nov 28, 2014 at 6:02 pm

will be hot topic to discuss when come into Malaysia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 19
    • Anti CO2 on Nov 28, 2014 at 8:21 pm

you mean when it comes into Malaysia in year 2020 right… while waiting for our G to sort out the clean diesel.

• Urzu3 on Nov 28, 2014 at 7:26 pm

the more i saw new car unveil at our neighboring country, the more i rasa geram menunggu… gggggrrrrrrr..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
  • PocketIn on Nov 28, 2014 at 10:03 pm

Rear Disc Brake at least, better than those in drum

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 6
  • mmwww on Nov 28, 2014 at 10:17 pm

I just wished the Mazda 3 and Mazda 2 has a longer boot to emphasize the sedan silhouette.

• hahahaha on Nov 28, 2014 at 11:27 pm

Halogen headlamps?

• 2ltr bottle on Nov 28, 2014 at 11:30 pm

Is that iriz’s rims?

• toretto on Nov 29, 2014 at 12:00 am

bring cx3 to malaysia plz…

• mada2 on Nov 29, 2014 at 1:26 am

i wondering how tight izit to sit at the back while mazda3 already made me felt i’m obese guy, so conclusion a guy who sits with 3 girls in the back of a mazda2 is the luckiest man on planet!

• roxas on Nov 29, 2014 at 1:34 am

tis pic looks like last gen hyundai elantra
    http://paultan.org/2014/11/28/mazda-2-sedan-unveiled-2014-thai-motor-expo/mazda-2-sedan-thailand-1/

• The rims look hideous to me

• eh..forgot one more function… i-skip…next time ye mazda..

• Old dog on Dec 01, 2014 at 8:37 am

Rear got the Mazda 323 feel…

• Leonardo on Dec 01, 2014 at 8:41 am

It is difficult to get a good proportion when you start with a Mazda 2 hatchback. Furthermore it has shorter wheelbase compared to Mazda 3 and 5. So the Designers would have a very difficult time to get everything just right, like Honda City. Unless both designs were developed side by side, the hatchback and sedan, many compromises had to be made. It is also made more complex with shared components.
    Historically Bermaz Motor had positioned their vehicles and spare parts quite expensive, as compared to those in the same segment. I think this time it is no exception, as the OTR price will be in the 60-70k region.

• GadgetFreQ on Dec 01, 2014 at 9:45 am

AWESOME!!!! Exterior… Where is the interior shoots? I can see 3 headrest in the rear… Now I’m waiting the price & the Malaysian specs. With this design, I don’t need to add extra bodykits… stand-out on its own..

• A much much good looking B segment indeed!
    Hiroshima here I come..

• truely malaysian on Dec 02, 2014 at 11:48 am

Nice car + pretty girl (to be confirmed)…

• Long necked alien on Dec 04, 2014 at 8:21 am

Hi BerjayaAuto, when this mazda2 gonna launch in malaysia? My purchased car plate can’t wait too long…