W222 Mercedes-Benz S-Class launched in Malaysia

W222_Mercedes-Benz_S_400_Hybrid_000

Mercedes-Benz Malaysia has introduced the W222 Mercedes-Benz S-Class in Malaysia – the new flagship arrives here 10 months after its debut in Hamburg, and the local charge is fronted by the S 400 Hybrid, which is set to go the local assembly route. Three other variants will be available to order, these being the S 500 and S 63 AMG as well as the S 400 petrol, all CBU units.

UPDATE: The S 400 L Hybrid has been launched in locally-assembled form, for RM588k. It gets full duty exemptions under the 2014 National Automotive Policy. Click here for more info.

First up, the S 400 Hybrid, which is powered by a 3.5 litre V6 CGI engine as found in the S 350 CGI, with 306 hp at 6,500 rpm and 370 Nm at 3,500 to 5,250 rpm; here, it’s paired with a 27 hp and 250 Nm electric motor integrated between the engine and the 7G-Tronic Plus gearbox. Performance figures include a 0-100 km/h time of 6.8 seconds, a 250 km/h top speed and a combined fuel consumption of 6.3 litres per 100 km.

The S 500 wears a 4.6 litre V8 offering 455 hp at 5,250 rpm and 700 Nm at 1,800 to 3,500 rpm, and it’ll manage to get to 100 km/h from standstill in 4.8 seconds, with combined fuel consumption rated at 8.6 litres per 100 km. As for the S 63 AMG, its 5.4 litre V8 is good for 585 hp and 900 Nm, and it’ll do the century dash in 4.4 seconds.

W222_Mercedes-Benz_S_400_Hybrid_007

The international launch report has covered much of the W222 in detail, so we’ll just recap the main points and identify the salient features, as well as those for the Malaysian-spec cars.

The S-Class is available in two looks, regulation and AMG Sports Package, the latter consisting of a bodykit, 20-inch multi-spoke AMG alloys, cross-drilled brake rotors and brake calipers with ‘Mercedes-Benz’ lettering for the exterior and corresponding AMG trim for the interior. We’ll be getting the base form look for the S 400 Hybrid, while the S 500 will come dressed in the AMG package.

The Malaysian W222 will get LED Intelligent Light System headlamps as standard (it’s actually an option, and replaces the stock LED High Performance units), and likewise, a 590-watt, 13-speaker Burmester Surround Sound audio system is fitted in place of the base 10-speaker system.

Elsewhere, you’ll find an Air Balance perfume atomisation package and Thermotronic climate control – with two additional zones to improve thermal comfort – in the kitbag, in addition to a twin-spoke multifunction steering wheel wrapped in Nappa leather, DVD player and rear head restraint cushions.

W222_Mercedes-Benz_S_400_Hybrid_036

The S 400 Hybrid will be equipped with an Airmatic suspension, while the S 500 will come with Magic Body Control. The system – an option for eight-cylinder models, but ticked for the Malaysian model – adjusts the hydraulic suspension automatically in anticipation of uneven terrain.

The interior features a double screen instrumentation binnacle design, with 12.3-inch high resolution TFT screens in 8:3 aspect ratio utilised for both displays.

As for space, the W222 offers 12 mm extra headroom, 14 mm more shoulder room and 10 mm more elbow room for the front occupants, as well as additional 14 mm in rear knee room and 9 mm increased shoulder room for the rear occupants, despite the wheelbase dimensions remaining the same as the outgoing W221/V221 long wheelbase model.

A total of five different configurations for the rear seat are available for the V222 long wheelbase model, with the top of the line being an Executive seat, with a backrest angle adjustable by up to 43.5 degrees, allowing occupants in the rear to concentrate on work or relax in comfort. The rear seat configuration for Malaysia is a three-seater one.

The CKD S 400 Hybrid is going to have lots of tech bits – it will feature Driving Assistance package Plus, which the S 500 of course has. The package comprises Distronic Plus with Steering Assist and Stop&Go Pilot, Brake Assist BAS PLUS with Cross-Traffic Assist, Pre-Safe Brake with pedestrian detection, Pre-Safe Plus, Active Lane Keeping Assist and Active Blind Spot Assist.

Also in the electronic mix are Adaptive Highbeam Assist Plus, Attention Assist, Crosswind Assist and Night View Assist Plus. As for airbags, the S-Class is equipped with eight as standard – Malaysian cars feature the seatbelt bag, which is an option, as stock fitment.

A firm price tag wasn’t revealed at the launch as details are still being confirmed, but MBM says that the locally-assembled S 400 Hybrid will go for under RM900k, with a slight increase over the old CKD W221 S 350’s RM840,888 price tag, so the math isn’t too difficult.

The interesting bit is that since the car is locally assembled, it should qualify for tax exemptions under the new NAP, so there’s a potential for a lower price. Pricing for the S 500, meanwhile, starts from RM1.08 million, while that for the S 63 AMG begins from RM1.6 million.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• maserati boss on Mar 25, 2014 at 1:04 pm

mehh camry is much better buy than this overpriced crap!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 78 Thumb down 169
    • Same Lor on Mar 25, 2014 at 1:55 pm

The S class are to show status: I am rich, so what?

Camry is to show: you know I am rich, that’s all.

Kimchi is to show: you must know I am rich and I have taste?!!

Proton is to show: I must looked rich. If ppl don’t acknowledge it, my awesome preve still can tapao anyone.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 94 Thumb down 26
    • Obama on Mar 25, 2014 at 4:27 pm

“S 63 AMG begins from RM1.6 million.”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
      • Same Lor (Member) on Mar 25, 2014 at 4:48 pm

Never buy S class in Malaysia. S class is God of Depreciation. Today RM$900,000k, in 5 years time, it become RM$150,000.

That is why you see so many S class on the road now. It is good value. Most people, instead of buying a Camry or an Accord, just use the same money and buy a 5 year old S class.

Adding to that, all S class Datuk owned. Well maintained. Nearly every part, Datuk will change in the 5 years. So, in 5 years, secretly, you are getting a brand new S class.

So why bother with Accord or Camry when you can get the best limo in the world for peanuts?

Only buy a S class if you are super rich and don’t care about RV.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 70 Thumb down 11
        • Cetak Tak Mati (Member) on Mar 26, 2014 at 12:42 am

what bullshit are u talking about a 5 years old s class that are bought at 900k brand new will still have value around 300k-400k

150k S Class are 9 years old S Class idiot. from the way u post its obvious u are full of urself and delusional

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 14
          • Same Lor Ori on Mar 26, 2014 at 1:35 pm

“Bullshit”, “idiot” etc… These are the typical words used when people so scare others look down on him.

The Inspira is the best for you, Proton should give one to you free because the “Smart” Guys Get It!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 8
        • That’s exactly what i was wondering. 150k for a 5 year old S class? Are you mad?
          You can’t even get a 08 C class wagon for that price.
          And also we use RM, Not $…what the fck is “RM$”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
        • Please find me a 5 years S class for RM150k …. I willing to pay for it

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
        • Chinaman killer on Apr 10, 2015 at 12:40 pm

Depreciation argument is for ppl who cant afford. You must be a sohai somewhere who think buying a 6-7 year old S-class would do you any good. Do you even know how much it cost to maintain a new one let alone an older version?? Your mentality is shallow.

• Cetak Tak Mati (Member) on Mar 26, 2014 at 12:39 am

boss my ass , obviously u know shit about cars.

the different in technology ,refinement , quality , performance , safety is so far beyond that big econobox camry lah

• mah ker hi on May 30, 2014 at 2:34 pm

Yes you keep driving your Camry .. Overpriced is to keep cheapos like you away from ever seen in it

• mh370 on Mar 25, 2014 at 1:07 pm

Umno order 30 unit already

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 85 Thumb down 81
    • Lim guan eng pun suda trade in beli ini maaa

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 98 Thumb down 42
      • zaharuddin on Mar 25, 2014 at 2:01 pm

PG 1 on this black color

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 11
        • trololol on Mar 25, 2014 at 4:30 pm

Lim guan eng order 1 only for the entire office. Umno order 30, each for everyone in the office tiada ada sama sekali..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 56
          • brandon on Mar 26, 2014 at 6:09 am

Umno beli tapi tak show. beli bagi hadiah u pun tak tau

• contender on Mar 25, 2014 at 4:04 pm

Lim Guan Eng punya S-class is now an old model already lor ….one generation behind. Malu lah as Mentri Besar !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 16
        • Lam kuang engg on Mar 26, 2014 at 12:14 am

Apa mau malu..Kereta sahajalah..yang penting rakyat …u faham????

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 8
        • Lim Guan Eng Ori on Mar 26, 2014 at 6:12 pm

penang byk duit la kawan.. i must buy this car.. gth with the rakyat hahaha!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
          • hahaha true also.. i never trust that Lim family.. tipu sana sini.. but this car is really nice!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 7
  • Sam Loo Ori on Mar 25, 2014 at 1:09 pm

This car RV surely hailat after 1 year. Can trade in for 150k at most. Better get lexus ES…luxury with super RV.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 69
  • All the big tawkey can change new limo. Must be a waiting list

• This is the true ‘the boss is back’!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 0
  • S class, packed with latest technology. Shame that its the number 1 in terms of depreciation.
    While camry is the opposite, technology that would make nokia 3310 look innovative but thanks to herd thinking depreciation is a minimal

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 18
  • cool but the price in msia is so high… bravo to our GOVT

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 15
    • Can you show me a country where a S-class is ‘cheap’?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 4
      • Same Lor on Mar 25, 2014 at 2:02 pm

In UK, the S class is sold at 62k pounds where people generally earn 40k-100k a year.

In Malaysia, the S class is sold at 888k where people generally earn 40k-100k a year.

People in MY buy S class to show luxury while people in UK buy yacht.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 76 Thumb down 6
        • so why middle class people in UK are not buying s-class?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 10
          • mmaker on Mar 25, 2014 at 3:17 pm

People in uk likes to drive, not to be driven by the driver. If u go to uk you’ll see a lot of bmw m3 and m5, and porche too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 4
          • Cetak Tak Mati (Member) on Mar 26, 2014 at 12:43 am

still mmaker why uk middle class not buying m3 , m5, porsche and s class? get it? malnourished sub human?

• Dont be naive, I bet u aint goina buy that 62k pound S-class. Its bare back with 17 inch rim. Its start from 62k not at 62k. Added up all the goodies offered by MBM it should be around 120k-130k pound. And mind you, not all Europeans are willing to pay 100k for a car as their insurance and road tax is high. So, most of them with middle to high income will resorted to bare specced luxury cars while their Malaysian counter part driving high specc’d luxury car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 5
          • Najib on Mar 25, 2014 at 5:03 pm

And their income tax also..

• powderful on Mar 25, 2014 at 5:10 pm

Tru dat.

Most Europeans save their money to go for vacations…and not for ‘expensive’ cars.

And..no..they don’t like Camry* and frickin’ Sam Loo will be frustrated there since ‘RV’ of a Camry in EU countries are virtually nil, nada, zilch, tarak, yilek, mei you…

* Americans love their Camry ‘cos ‘Muricans know nuthin’ ’bout cars…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
          • Same Lor (Member) on Mar 25, 2014 at 5:20 pm

Talk kok lah you. Even if they spec the car maximum also, it will be 80k pounds. 80k pounds is a far cry from RM$900k.

Also, our S class will be CKD.

Most white people, even millionaire also don’t waste their time with luxury cars. Its only important to Asians. That is why Ferrari, Porsche and Mercedes kowtow toMalaysians, Singaporeans and Hong Kong people. Asians like to show off. Even no money also, car must gaya.

White people, even multi millionaire also, you see them drive Ford Focus or Renault. Even Minister in Britain also drive normal car like Mondeo.

White poeple got nothing to prove. But we Asians, always, must prove something.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 12
          • Cetak Tak Mati (Member) on Mar 26, 2014 at 12:47 am

erm hello delusional Same Lor these 900k high spec s class are CBU

and btw in few years time when the S class CKD rolls in they would probably go as low as 600k+ exactly what S Class predecessors went through

get your fact straight you are a man full of rhetoric and bullshit . people like u are always talking as if u know everything yet in reality ur worldly knowledge are so pathetic

• SingKaLan on Mar 25, 2014 at 4:36 pm

Please also elaborate me their roadtax and insurance compare to MY.

• powderful on Mar 25, 2014 at 5:37 pm

Actually…Roadtax is CHEAP. Insurance is KILLER.

Yesterday when I was young (ca.19) in Yoo Kaye in the ’90s, I bought meself a Golf Mk II for 2k (then MYR12k) quid. The cheapest insurance quoted was 3k GBP(then MYR18k!!!!!) If I was 30y.o, maybe my quote will be ‘only’ GBP800( then MYR4800).

Cars cheap to buy but expensive to maintain unless you DIY. But when you DIY, you ain’t got no FSH and tarak Full Service History means Sam Loony Loo’s fave phrase will drop.

• Same Lor Not Member on Mar 25, 2014 at 5:30 pm

So, what is your point? It is cheaper but people in UK not fancy on that. It is still cheaper to own, right?

SingKaLan, so you think Malaysian road tax is cheap? It is RM4380 every year, RM21k++ for 5 years. Somemore, roadtax/insurance is roadtax/insurance, car price is car price. After all, it is still easier to own a S class in UK rather than in MY.

With same amount of 1 S350 MY (RM840,888), you can buy 2.38x S350 in UK (RM352000).

I buy a UK S350(RM352000), spend extra RM200k (RM200k, not RM200!) for CO2 tax, road tax, insurance this and that. Still RM290k cheaper than MY S350 (yet to include road tax, insurance everything).

RM290k cheaper, not RM2.90, BraDa!

• powderful on Mar 25, 2014 at 6:02 pm

Everybody knows this MY prices vis a vis the whole world car prices been beaten to death. Like flogging a dead horse. I guess you peeps are young ‘uns huh…?

MY is NOT a country for car lovers. It is for other things besides. Cars….ain’t so. Blaming the gomen is a neverending thingy.
            Topple this fella, new fella also same, maybe worse….janji is easy, ‘tepati’ and ‘capati’ sounds the same but different…!
            My advice, study hard or work hard and go overseas. Get a nice job whatever and buy that ‘nice’ car. Balik MY time cuti jer….and maybe kawin orang ober-si also. Then, once your money in the kitty is okay, pulanglah…….

And then you’ll realise TWO things :
            – Cars ain’t so important.
            – Thank God hospital fees are cheap in MY, especially the Gomen ones. Even SJMC is murah compared to ober-si!!!!

I did all of the above. Used to drive very very ‘noice’ cars overseas. Now I just ramble along in an e90 jalopy that I bought with cash that can get me an e90 M3, same age in the UK (15k GBP) and a MyVi(that I can get a Golf Mk VII ) to go to the shops with.

Life ain’t just ’bout FANCY cars. Read about ’em, think ’bout ’em, dream ’bout ’em…but ain’t no NEED to buy ’em!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 2
          • Cetak Tak Mati (Member) on Mar 26, 2014 at 12:52 am

blabla thats why people like u can never afford S Class in Malaysia and in UK

only can talk nonsense without facts

if u want to compare the price of the S class first compare the same s Class with the same option package i went to both mercedes UK and mercedes Malaysia tick the same option i get around 90k pound for malaysian 900k spec thats about 600k rm already not including insurance. while its true tax in malaysia for cars is high but cost of car ownership in malaysia is bloody cheap compared to many other countries

and chances are if u cant afford an S class in malaysia u cant afford an S class in UK either

so yea this car is not average people like u , i dont get with malaysian self important delusional folks so obsessed to prove that they have bigger penis than others with cars with their non existence talent LOL

• silver on Mar 25, 2014 at 6:58 pm

yes s calss in uk is cheaper but its not as cheap as u think as most things are add on. like speakers and paintjob and stuff. Even in the uk its considered a luxury.. not forgeting the price of diesel and maintainance cost… you got to be rich to buy one in the uk as well…

• Exactly, but sadly there are some delusional ppl who thinks cheap car in UK means everyone is driving. These ppl didnt get a fact checked that S-class driver are in what social class. In UK, there are the high elite.

• AVH (Member) on Mar 25, 2014 at 1:41 pm

I saw one unit cruising up the LDP towards Curve and alarmed I took a shot and sent to PT, thinking it was a spy shot. Turns out, there are W222s on sale in Malaysia due my lack of knowledge on the record market. What an elegent machine amongst other cars. There’s a sense of prescence or aura, something I initially thought lacking compared to the old ,and immaturely criticize it.

I’m surprise how much optional features are stock in the Malaysian spec, kudos to that MBM. Considering how much of an innovation this is, I’am sure those who can afford it wouldn’t mind the sligh price increase. That said, out of curiosity, is there an S300 version of the W222? Most models of the W221 I noticed carries a S300 badge and probably the majority of S-class sales.

• There’s a S300 BlueTEC Hybrid with 2.2l displacement and 224PS, but appartently not for Malaysia:

http://paultan.org/2013/05/16/w222-mercedes-benz-s-class-official-details/s-class-model-figures/

• Commenter on Mar 25, 2014 at 1:45 pm

So after CKD will declare as EEV and will get taxes excemption?

• longjaafar on Mar 25, 2014 at 1:48 pm

Is the S350, CKD version, priced at RM888,888 as stated in the article?
    I thought it is much lower than that.

• Uncle Lim on Mar 25, 2014 at 1:55 pm

Meh.. my son will have to lelong his car for 10k and buy this car.

Beautiful and sexy.

• zaharuddin on Mar 25, 2014 at 2:01 pm

Waa

• taiko on Mar 25, 2014 at 2:16 pm

for this tag price only whom who born with the silver spoon hv dream come true.for those who born with the gold spoon absolutely it’s not on their list.mine only afford japs recond with the unreasonable price. CHEERS to boleh land!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
    • really? on Mar 25, 2014 at 3:16 pm

if u can afford to buy a RECON u should be able to afford a NEW car instead..it’s your choice to buy recon..so why whine?

• James on Mar 25, 2014 at 2:17 pm

If you drive this out : semua orang mata merah loh.

• taiko on Mar 25, 2014 at 2:18 pm

recond japs + unreasonable price + 9yrs instalment + 1 month warranty CHHERS!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
  • Marieta on Mar 25, 2014 at 2:40 pm

engine bay look cheap..to many plasctiky

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 9
  • roti canai (Member) on Mar 25, 2014 at 2:55 pm

there needs to be a cheaper model.

• There is a cheaper model, its called the A-Class, C-Class & E-Class.

• Cetak Tak Mati (Member) on Mar 26, 2014 at 12:55 am

i mean what he meant is something like entry level

roti canai i think yes they will bring cheaper version of the new S Class but not anytime soon probably right before the mid life cycle comes they will come out with a stripped down CKD s class at sub 600k like they always do in the past

• Bro chill. There is S400 petrol coming. Its goina be cheap because it is powered by 3 litre twin turbo. So my guess for the pricing is at RM688K. This S400 is expensive because it is hybrid and powered by 3.5 litre CGI engine.

• ryanit (Member) on Mar 25, 2014 at 3:43 pm

damn expensive, for the price like this I prefer jag or maser

• Painter on Mar 25, 2014 at 3:56 pm

Does it come installed with Apple’s Carplay like they announced overseas?

• kinda moving property…

• sudonano (Member) on Mar 25, 2014 at 4:26 pm

the ultimate badass car, especially in black.

The last one looked good. This is even better.

tax exemptions for the hybrid, that ought to be interesting though!

• Kangkung MAS flight on Mar 25, 2014 at 5:16 pm

Show me the Money!!!

• Syameer (Member) on Mar 25, 2014 at 5:23 pm

For that kind of price tags, I’d rather go for something more exotic, i.e Maserrati, and Bentley. Mercedes Benz is too mainstream.

• Cetak Tak Mati (Member) on Mar 26, 2014 at 12:56 am

unfortunately for that kind of money u cant get BRAND new Bentley

musalnne goes for 3m

continental gt and flying spur are around 2m

so at this price point nothing come close except the half decade old designed 7 series , xj and a8

• with tat money, i can buy 1 vios, 1 myvi, 1 preve, 1 suprima and 1 city and a terrace house. everyday drive different cars. i can also spend 20k to modify my vios, full tint, loud exhaust, big spoilers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 15
    • silver on Mar 25, 2014 at 7:07 pm

for the bares400 hybrid all you can buy with the money is a terrace house… unless you live somewhere far awat. don’t think you could fit in all this cars that you bought in this terrace house though

• Go home kid.. U are drunk.

• powderful on Mar 26, 2014 at 10:22 am

Yeah…go buy yerself a good education first, get a nice job which earns you 350k/annum and then think whether you want a frickin’ Vios in lieu of the W222. This car ain’t for folks like you. If you hafta debate the price, ya can’t afford one ‘niways…..

• hahahaha. some people take internet comments too seriously. ok la you win la huh, i drive an ahbeng vios…. i cannot afford european cars laaa. hehehehe

• Penang CM on Mar 26, 2014 at 6:07 pm

my latest ride!!!

• Dear Kids, If we afford to buy a Mercedes S-class, we dont even bother about the RESALE VALUE! So, Pls leave that lame topic behind.

• Mercedes Forever on Mar 27, 2014 at 12:16 pm

I saw a silver color Mercedes S Class Coupe on a towing car passed by Jalan Bangsar towards city centre direction. Anyone knows where the car gonna display? Thanks.

• Is it a good buy ? as I am getting my MM2H 2H2014. Heard it is abt RM400k. I plan to find a Malaysian driver to shuttle me between Singapore & KL on the weekends and school holidays (small family of 3 with kid). Not much choice for me on the MPV front except Serena Hybrid. Would definitely go for an Alphard Hybrid if they ever start CKD production. Will it happen soon since news on local agent will start selling the model?

Need advice.