Facelifted Mercedes-Benz S-Class finally arrives!

It was back in April 2009 when Mercedes-Benz announced the facelifted W221 S-Class and it’s now finally here in Malaysia in less than a year. Three variants of Mercedes-Benz’s updated limo are available – the S300L, the S350L and the S500L – all in long wheelbase form and locally assembled at a plant in Pekan, Pahang.

No big changes to the world’s most successful limo, but the visual updates are significant enough to be spotted, especially at night. This is because the facelifted S-Class gets plenty of LED lights, two strips up front (one replaces the fog lamps, another is in the headlight cluster that also doubles up as indicators) and a double square arrangement for the taillights, which vaguely resembles the figure 8. The radiator grille is slightly more angular now, so are the front and rear bumpers, leading Mercedes-Benz Malaysia to call the design “edgier”. Chrome strips at the front lower lip and just above the rear number plate are subtle and tasteful.

Inside, the clamshell between the front seats that houses the phone buttons now opens to the left, allowing easier operation for the driver (it was quite illogical previously), while the steering airbag module is now smaller and covered in Nappa leather. More wood is used than before and like the exterior, chrome strips are added in places like below the arm rests. Cars that come with entertainment systems get larger rear LCD screens (8″, previously 7″) with better contrast ratio. Switchable ambient lighting comes in three hues: Solar (yellowish), Neutral (white) and Polar (bluish).

The latest S-Class comes with some new technology. Distronic Plus (Merc’s clever proximity cruise control), which works in conjunction with Pre Safe Brake, are now joined by Adaptive Highbeam Assist (auto dips the high beam in the presence of oncoming cars), Night View Assist Plus (infrared camera now with improved pedestrian detection), Attention Assist (drowsiness detection system) and Blind Spot Assist. The latter works much like Volvo’s BLIS, but the warning light is built in the mirror itself, not inside the cabin.

The gadget that will wow occupants most is Splitview, which allows the dashboard LCD screen to show different content to the driver and front passenger. For instance, the front passenger can watch a DVD while the driver uses the screen for navigation – simultaneously on the same screen. Not all of these kit are standard across the range though, especially if you order the “entry-level” S300L.

The 3.0-litre V6 (231 bhp/300 Nm), 3.5-litre V6 (272 bhp/350 Nm) and 5,461cc V8 (388 bhp/530 Nm) all maintain their outputs but are claimed to have 7% better fuel consumption. The standard transmission is Mercedes’ 7G-Tronic auto ‘box. Prices range from RM649,888 for the S300L and RM835,888 for the S350L, to exactly RM1 million for the S500L. Impressively, Mercedes-Benz Malaysia already has 60 orders in hand as of this morning.

More pictures after the jump.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=862]

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• MonfereBlogspot on Feb 25, 2010 at 2:44 am

(Off Topic)

If we put a tv tuner in the car to tune tv through our car's LCD (like in Taiwan) will it kena saman?

• Wira 1.8(A) DOHC UK on Feb 25, 2010 at 2:51 am

first.?

good limo… haha

maybe one day i can buy it, but if i choose i prefer BMW. hehehe

• Mazda 3 MPS + ANTI P on Feb 25, 2010 at 2:59 am

sheer class excellence

• I prefer the pre-facelift tail lights. It's still looks good though.

• tamaki on Feb 25, 2010 at 3:13 am

1Milion for S500L !!! Mercedes-Benz Malaysia already has 60 orders in hand as of this morning. I'm not brag i'm the 1 of 60.

• xavier lert on Feb 25, 2010 at 3:14 am

audi aspired

• Anonymous on Feb 25, 2010 at 3:35 am

Too late ma. Grey importer already bring this baby to Bolehland.

• alfarabi on Feb 25, 2010 at 3:45 am

its amazing how malaysians can own one of those!

• theanswer on Feb 25, 2010 at 3:48 am

superb engineering..but i wont buy one since i love to drive but this car will make me like like a chauffeur.

• Neutral on Feb 25, 2010 at 3:51 am

wowie! wondering how busy P1/P2 operator assembly about 160k-200k cars/year vs 3-5k cars/year Mercedes Plant at Pekan (these figures are my estimation only) and end up Operator Merc bonus are double/triple or more compare to those 2 huuu..

• Rover on Feb 25, 2010 at 4:10 am

My company Range Rover in the UK had the spilt screen LCD. My son was blown away by it and I have to say I was pretty impressed too. I am back in Malaysia now and am back to driving my old Perdana v6. No complaints though..

• NilsoN on Feb 25, 2010 at 4:22 am

just saw 1 in workshop today!nice!~

• heckler on Feb 25, 2010 at 4:33 am

why is it nowadays S class, & series all floowing lexus tail paip? Even Hyudai Elentra has gotten it… ran out of idea?

• abidbest on Feb 25, 2010 at 4:37 am

somehow the backside of the car looks like bentley CGT..

• the S350 and S500 both have tv tuner

• Babelon on Feb 25, 2010 at 4:54 am

OMG…this is really my dream car!

• dodgeviper88 on Feb 25, 2010 at 5:12 am

I would very much prefer the front fog lamps with the running lights. To me a fog lamp is much more functional than some running lights. Plus they already have a running light in the headlamp it self.

• dukeKTM on Feb 25, 2010 at 5:23 am

the car has tv tuner if it was equipped…its optional function and can be retrofitted..but the screen will turn black automatically when vehicle moving except rear screen…for safety pupose…

• Brera on Feb 25, 2010 at 5:31 am

If only taxes in this country is not that ridiculous high…

• put at least at center dash board or at passanger side visor..if put at driver side visor..sure kena saman

• ThienWu (Member) on Feb 25, 2010 at 5:38 am

Prices range from RM649,888 for the S300L and RM835,888 for the S350L, to exactly RM1 million for the S500L. .. mampu tgk je la…

• subhero on Feb 25, 2010 at 6:07 am

off topic

none police will saman dis car . im very sure of it. n verysure from 60 unit already book. more than 60% number plate will be single number. so?.. police never berani saman even their put LCD 40" .

malaysia law.

wow.. its look nice. still wonder when year i can buy it.. i like the display people at night. .

cool..

• sonyman on Feb 25, 2010 at 6:07 am

i wonder if the car can drive itself to the destination, since you pay about 1million to it. hahaha. no need the ahmad to drive around… because the owner buy such a fantastic car cannot drive then the low paid driver gets to enjoy the technology and go woo girls with it….

• This is one ugly car… what is wrong with MB. Suddenly they have lost the plot…

Only C class looks a bit decent. E class looks awful…

• mduan on Feb 25, 2010 at 6:19 am

wow.. great.. this big monster has a lot of features..

• MoFaz on Feb 25, 2010 at 6:42 am

Brera said,

February 24, 2010 @ 9:31 pm

If only taxes in this country is not that ridiculous high…

i don't care if those cars are taxed heavily, it will affect only the rich. what's more important is to ensure the poor and regular people have enough foods, education and healthcare.

• Paul Tan on Feb 25, 2010 at 6:45 am

That all-red tail lamp looks so American.

• -.-lll on Feb 25, 2010 at 7:25 am

This car actually looks more dull than the previous version. The tail light and the LED light on the front bumper really looks bad.

• Mazda 3 MPS + ANTI P on Feb 25, 2010 at 8:30 am

Netz said,

February 24, 2010 @ 10:17 pm

This is one ugly car… what is wrong with MB. Suddenly they have lost the plot…

————————

i disagree. this is the best looking merc. the c class is like a honda city.

• proton is such a crappy car, with benz, no wonder all the CEO, mahathir and gang have absolutely no idea what it is like to drive in a proton.

• JULIAN_LEE on Feb 25, 2010 at 3:26 pm

BMW better, got Mini Kooper

• Wak Kordi on Feb 25, 2010 at 3:46 pm

i'll buy one…. 20 years from now. then it'll cost me what? less than 50K maybe. yeehaa. i'm going to buy s class bebeh.. sementera tu berangan je la.

• Seriously on Feb 25, 2010 at 5:23 pm

xavier lert said,

February 24, 2010 @ 7:14 pm

audi aspired

God, enough of the "audi aspired"/"follows audi" rant. LED intergrated headlights or any LED day-time running light are more of a necessity of safety than just a design or in most of your cases an "Audi-only design" Sheesh.

• lanwm on Feb 25, 2010 at 5:49 pm

A8 or this

• droll on Feb 25, 2010 at 5:59 pm

so how do you tweak the controls on the splitview to load a DVD without interfering with what the driver is watching? are there separate passenger-side controls?

• Danny Tan (Member) on Feb 25, 2010 at 6:47 pm

droll, front passenger can do it via remote control

• redwings on Feb 25, 2010 at 7:23 pm

off topic

none police will saman dis car . im very sure of it. n verysure from 60 unit already book. more than 60% number plate will be single number. so?.. police never berani saman even their put LCD 40? .

malaysia law.

wow.. its look nice. still wonder when year i can buy it.. i like the display people at night. .

cool..

————————————

You can get this car in the next 10yrs. Depreciated 80%-90%, i guess. Hope it still within your budget.

• mu_77 on Feb 25, 2010 at 8:03 pm

Haha.. with tht price i want to buy Nissan GT-R..This is meant for CEO's, Director, Datuk, Tan Sri….etc Haha….

• Learn to drive using a Kancil… then buy big cars. That's why many accidents on the road. (Sorry of the point here)

• Mazda 3 MPS + ANTI PROTON ULTRAS said,

February 25, 2010 @ 12:30 am

Netz said,

————————

I have sat in S Class, Driven the new E Class E300 and The new C200 Kompressor. Frankly S Class is overated. The interior not impressive at all. Looks cheap for a million dollar car. C Class looks and feel like a real MB.

• The meaning of ugly… Just look at the steering wheel and dashboard.

• DaveDiablos on Feb 26, 2010 at 2:01 am

Ahh… the Splitview LCD, Range Rover has one…

• used non national ca on Feb 26, 2010 at 5:30 am

Wow!! Seem like having space technology in this car.

Probably will get one, once the price depreciate to rock bottom 15 – 20 years from now.

But may not be able to afford the maintenance pulak…..

Dream on……

• Mazda 3 MPS + ANTI P on Feb 26, 2010 at 8:21 pm

Netz said,

February 25, 2010 @ 4:10 pm

Mazda 3 MPS + ANTI PROTON ULTRAS said,

February 25, 2010 @ 12:30 am

Netz said,

————————

I have sat in S Class, Driven the new E Class E300 and The new C200 Kompressor. Frankly S Class is overated. The interior not impressive at all. Looks cheap for a million dollar car. C Class looks and feel like a real MB.

———————————————

I think is due to the fact it has a minimalist design approach in contrast to the previous messy layout of past S-Klasses. The current C-class really does look and few like an MB, of the mid 90's where mercedes were known for poor quality and high unreliability. I am a BMW fan and I hate most mercs, but i think the s-klasse is a very nice car, that's how highly i rate it. Of course, i still prefer the Audi A8, as it was the car in Transporter and the engine stilll starts after it had dropped into the water XD

• http://www.etoday.ru/uploads/2008/01/15/mercedes_…

i found this online somewhere, it says its the new concept for the next s class, looks intersting though! check it out.

The newly launched S look refined and finally like an S should look.

• the last best looking S was the w126 300SEL.