Volkswagen Group dominate World Car Awards

The Volkswagen Group went home happiest at the recent 2010 World Car Awards. The main World Car of the Year gong went to the Volkswagen Polo, VW’s Bluemotion eco banner took home the World Green Car award and Audi’s R8 V10 was deemed the best performance car. The only award VAG didn’t win was the World Car Design of the Year, which went to the Chevrolet Camaro.

59 automotive journalists from 25 countries around the globe played jury, and they chose VW’s B-segment supermini over 29 other nominees. Announced in the New York’s Jacob Javits Center, the annual WCOTY awards recognise the year’s most outstanding vehicles based on merit, value, safety, environmental impact, significance, and emotional appeal.

Meanwhile, VW’s BlueMotion brand consisting of the Golf, Passat and Polo, got the green car nod over finalists Honda Insight and the Toyota Prius. “It is not necessary to add an electric motor and a heavy battery pack to achieve class-leading efficiency. Based on Volkswagen’s common rail diesel engines, the BlueMotion models are among the most fuel-efficient vehicles on the market. In fact, the Passat BlueMotion can travel just about 1,000 miles on one tank of fuel in the European cycle. As far as internal combustion engines go today, these models are the ultimate you can get,” the jurors explained.

For the World Performance Car title, the Ferrari California and Porsche 911 GT3 were the front runners alongside eventual winner Audi R8 V10. Previous winners were the Nissan GT-R in 2009, the Audi R8 in 2008, the Audi RS4 in 2007 and the Porsche Cayman S in 2006.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• congratz VeeDub!!! MUUUUUUUUAKSS

• staff on Apr 05, 2010 at 5:57 pm

haha… i thought the last car on the top picture is waja.. haha

BTW… its good to hear this news…

• F430 (Member) on Apr 05, 2010 at 6:34 pm

Good job VW!

• paultan fan on Apr 05, 2010 at 6:40 pm

Volkswagen kuasai Jerman dan China market. Tapi kenapa di malaysia jualan Volkswagen ni slow jer

• guanerrr on Apr 05, 2010 at 10:14 pm

bcoz malaysian are mostly poor. They only can buy poor car like proton.

• Littlefire on Apr 06, 2010 at 9:25 am

Bukan poor, tapi kereta import semua kena tax gila…

• Tax is not the issue…
          If you have money, why need to worry about the tax?
          By the way, there is no such thing as Malaysian is mostly poor.
          I can see many young Malaysian drive luxury cars nowadays.

• khaix19a on Apr 06, 2010 at 8:36 am

jerman dont ask why lah…because their own country…and their own national car….

• Alan Ng on Apr 05, 2010 at 6:40 pm

Hope Proton or DRB gets the assembly deal soon:)

• jamal on Apr 05, 2010 at 6:41 pm

VW please partner with proton stop this H and T menace in this country.

• goodaymate! on Apr 05, 2010 at 6:45 pm

Craving for Pasat #R36 wagon…. wondering how much does it cost in Malaysia

• Aariz on Apr 05, 2010 at 10:35 pm

In Europe the R36 costs about RM215.000 including 19% VAT…

But you will hardly see a R36 in Europe. Those who can affort a 300hp car will buy a Jaguar, BMW, Mercedes or Audi.

The R36 is made for the muti-millionaire who don’t like to show other people that he’s rich… ;)

• VW will be worlds local car, kick toyota’s ass

• rulered on Apr 05, 2010 at 7:10 pm

Hopefully their plan to establish a plant here would come true, so that VW would be a bit affordable locally. Good things must be shared. I share the same opinion that going green don’t mean we have to be on batteries, diesel is actually a viable option (plus the car have sound too :-) ).

• mystvearn (Member) on Apr 05, 2010 at 7:25 pm

no hatchback of the year title? golf gti did not win any titles?

• ismail on Apr 05, 2010 at 7:33 pm

We were approached by the world’s No.1 brand for a JV
    and yet we told them to go fly kite.
    Mana itu CPS enjin ranking ?

• It’s really all in the name of national pride:P

• for a thing called pride. it sure as heck is expensive.

we paid a hell lot for it.

wonder will i ever get a tax rebate for this…..

• National Pride is not the main issue here but to protect ….u know whom

• Aariz on Apr 06, 2010 at 5:56 am

You have to see the positive side:

Because Volkswagen wanted to buy P1, Proton couldn’t be that bad, could be?

All P1 needs is some improvement, the technical & manufacturing base is okay… ;)

• Black Dog on Apr 06, 2010 at 11:58 am

VW want to buy P1 more for the national car status to enter the Malaysian market. They have the best skills in the world, why they need P1?

That’s why foreign car makers always look for Naza, P1, DRB bcos of TAX purpose only! Where got open competition??

• venven81 on Apr 05, 2010 at 7:56 pm

VAG alwaz rocks! leavin others trailing… muahaha

• guanerrr on Apr 05, 2010 at 10:16 pm

I think the Proton should be sold 51% to VW then you can own the world best car.

• whugnef on Apr 05, 2010 at 10:24 pm

VW..car of the year..my god…hope their plan to set up their CKD is coming true…GOLF GTI here i come!!

• VW superbly crafted car!!

• swoosh3553 on Apr 06, 2010 at 7:31 am

Wow…. am sure glad to be part of supplying pressure sensors to VW… Go Sensata!!!
    :-)

• rexis on Apr 06, 2010 at 9:41 am

VW oil burners totally pwned hybrid. Omg 1600km one full tank. That’s the kind of thing that deserves biodiesel, not some dated locomotive mud lorries which pay kopi to puspakom to pass them every year.

“It is not necessary to add an electric motor and a heavy battery pack to achieve class-leading efficiency.”

I am so agree with that, rather then combine the lesser of both world and complicates things up, why not just concentrate in one class and make the best out of it, and you maintain one engine, not two.

This applies to pure internal combustion and pure electric.

• XiaoXuet on Apr 06, 2010 at 11:30 am

VW technology surpasses many…. What can we say….. VW owns AUDI, LAMBO, PORSCHE and even BUGATI – it was the VW CEO that gave life to the Veyron too

Proton was close to being theirs too… almost got the DSG in my Persona !!

• Mazda 3 MPS on Apr 07, 2010 at 9:09 pm

congrats!

• pelams on May 03, 2010 at 5:11 pm

congrats vw!