GALLERY: Volkswagen Passat B8 shown at Das Event

Volkswagen_Passat_Malaysia_Preview_ 016

The ongoing Volkswagen Das Event, which kicked off last night, also saw the new Volkswagen Passat B8 being previewed – it’s the first time the car is being shown in Asia.

You shouldn’t get too excited by this though, because unlike the Golf GTE, which is due to make its Malaysian market debut next year, the eighth-gen Passat – which was unveiled in July – isn’t arriving here anytime soon.

Some notes about the preview car – the left-hand drive unit is a diesel example, shod with a 240 PS and 500 Nm 2.0 litre TDI, one of nine direct-injected and turbocharged four-cylinder engines available for the car globally. It’s also equipped with 4Motion all-wheel drive.

The new Passat, which sits on the automaker’s modular MQB architecture platform, is quite the looker in the metal, and the display car’s bright cream interior, replete with wood panelling, is easy on the eye. It’ll eventually get here, the B8, but it’s anyone’s guess as to when – toward end-2015, perhaps?

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Chongyew on Dec 10, 2014 at 6:19 pm

Screw the DSG issues. I WANT THIS CAR! *LOL*

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 10
    • LOLOLOL on Dec 10, 2014 at 6:56 pm

Yeah. Screw the dsg issues. After that you will be screwed by the dsg vw for the best few years. Lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 5
      • Same Shit Different Day on Dec 10, 2014 at 11:58 pm

Model baru ?

ada apa apa apa perbezaan?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 12
        • Maserati(Official) on Dec 12, 2014 at 3:46 pm

VW still has not sorted their DSG issues. This B8 will be good overseas but when it comes to Malaysia, it will stall and breakdown like all other DSG VWs in Malaysia.

VW in Germany already in black and white admitted that their DSG cannot be used in hot countries like Malaysia or countries where there is bad traffic jam (like Malaysia).

VGM Facebook does not like. So many complaints even from 2014 models VW cars with DSG errors and breakdowns.

• Totally agree with you. Just get my new B7 on 27th Feb 2015 and 24hours later mechatronics failure according to VW mechanics. Make a complaint and person in charge says its not their fault. She said, ” We are just a dealer, you have to write in officially to VGM and the omly thing we cando, we try to repair the car.” What kind of after ssles customer service this particular dealer provides. They are the vendor and it is not their responsibity for any defective ptoduct.

• I dun really get it, they way u people talk as though the DSG cannot be solved. Come on bro, it is like when a person makes a mistake, u condem him/her for the rest of their life. Everyone needs a chance to improve. I can see that VW is improving. It takes time but slowly they will become better.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 12
      • dsg..dsg..dsg….eveywhere ppl just mentioning this name like it is a bad word. Every technology has some issue because it involves a complex calculation to make it work perfectly. As I can see VW is trying to give their best to solve the technical issues. *thumbs up for them*

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 14
        • Because this problem is still major issue even for 2014 model. My officemate already got warning letter by boss because he took so much MC and EL just to repair his Passat car. If your are his friends, can you just ignored this problem?

• LOLOLOL on Dec 10, 2014 at 6:58 pm

Yeah. Screw the dsg issues. After that you will be screwed by the dsg & vw for the next few years. Lol

• 500Nm is too much anyway. Better buy a 120Nm Camry. It’s safer too, as the top speed is only 140km/h.

• Ahahaha on Dec 10, 2014 at 7:29 pm

Screw the condom, I want to go in raw
      #juststupidpeople

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
    • RIcoT on Dec 10, 2014 at 11:06 pm

YOLO!!

• yhwach on Jun 17, 2015 at 6:30 pm

only the paint job is brilliant..!

• LOLOLOL on Dec 10, 2014 at 6:55 pm

Lol. Typical of vw. All show but cannot deliver. This is vw signature. Das NATO!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 11
  • jolly_idiot (Member) on Dec 10, 2014 at 7:07 pm

OMG. I see the future problem of this car. DSG!

Btw, I don’t own a VW and initially would like to own 1. But after so many -ve comment and feedback throughout everywhere, I drop my plan on VW.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 7
    • are you an astrologer or something? Don’t simply accuse that it is going to be a problem in future. You were seeing a lot of negative comments previously about VW because the cars was affected with DSG issues. Only certain models and years. New VW cars with DSG have no problem with gearbox so far. If you always rely on negative feedback, I don’t think so you will own any car, because even ferrari got problems.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
    • Jimmy on Dec 12, 2014 at 3:44 pm

so hebat ah u can predict future. I think VW cars have an excellent performance. Seriously I can feel the power when I went to genting that day with my friend. He is using VW golf GTI. That was the best feeling ever, conquering the road and it was amazing. But he was driving safely laaaaa…hahaha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
  • Veli Worried on Dec 10, 2014 at 7:09 pm

Nice but I still won’t touch it with a 10 ft pole.

Not only questionable reliability, but also bad RV.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 7
  • Anti-Fuel-Price on Dec 10, 2014 at 7:16 pm

Holy Santa Maria…… 500Nm torque Reaaaallliiiii Diesel Power!!!! Diesel Euro 5, cepat mali oooiiiiii…… We Malaysian arse is fully ready to drive this Passat.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
  • applegreen on Dec 10, 2014 at 7:36 pm

ugly

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 20
  • DonkeyKong on Dec 10, 2014 at 7:41 pm

VW should be moving to new DSGs with these MQB cars. Let’s see if the old problems are gone for good. But for this top-of-the-line brute with 4Motion, it’s most certainly employing a wet-clutch DSG unit. Must be delicious to drive with so much torque and traction! Perhaps they’ll bring it in only after we have Euro 5 diesel nationwide after September 2015..

• Very good looking car :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 8
  • sudonano (Member) on Dec 10, 2014 at 8:14 pm

Putting aside the DSG issues, this or the new generation Fusion, are pretty much the best in class. 508 is close, but the FL is a bit meh.

• Gaviny on Dec 10, 2014 at 8:15 pm

Launched malaysia 1.8 , spec less than taxi in Europe ,price like BMW,

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
  • in europe, they will buy this in manual instead….hence not much issues…vw’s tdi + manual transmission are well proven combo

• seancorr (Member) on Dec 10, 2014 at 9:38 pm

VGM is gonna soldier on with the B7 Passat for at least another full year so we might probably see it in 2016 in CKD mode and hopefully with a diesel engine to boot and can we have one with at least half of the features advertised in Europe? *sarcasm*

• Wan low inflation on Dec 10, 2014 at 9:41 pm

din mention it wil b dry clutch or wet clutch? if dry one then all d best to d owner!

• another breakdown and months at sc waiting happen

• german car loverr aka Jian on Dec 10, 2014 at 10:18 pm

There is a hell a lot of Passat B7 lately. I hope the B8 suceeds the B7 wit flying colours.The B7 is flooding the road like Myvis

• zamer on Dec 10, 2014 at 10:21 pm

crazy 500Nm torque for a FWD..that is double than current 250Nm..
    wonder how it pull from standstill..

anyway, i thought the meter cluster is all LCD screen…how come this version is taken from previous passat? and overall the dashboard 85% identical from previous B7 and B6.

did they really make it all new or just facelift?

• kubota on Dec 11, 2014 at 12:20 pm

4Motion la dei… read la….

and before this car comes.. already so negative.. wait till it launch la first.. aiyoyo macha….

• alldisc on Dec 10, 2014 at 11:23 pm

want to know why not anytime soon? because DRB had invested a lot in bringing assembly jigs and equipment for the current Passat and it is not yet to make the breakeven point.

this is just a normal scene in malaysia. why is it Sentra N16 stayed in the market for 10 years? same goes to Satria Neo.

Why is it now Avanza not assemble here anymore? its all related.

• Heskey on Dec 10, 2014 at 11:32 pm

Can get a 2-year old passat for less than RM90k. Is it a good buy?

• No more Value on Dec 10, 2014 at 11:58 pm

You orang nak cheap german car, ini lah yang what you all need. Want to have a cheap german car and expect the quality of BMW, Mercedez….. No such thing la brother. Even reliable Toyota also only have 2 airbags for most of the model.

Conclusion–>Perfect not exist(at least in Malaysia)

• Semi-Value (Member) on Dec 11, 2014 at 12:12 am

it looks too ordinary to make me ignore the potential dsg problems

• kubota on Dec 11, 2014 at 12:22 pm

because you are not special.. not extraordinary..

go and see the car and test first.. the unique is in the car sometimes..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 9
      • Semi-Value (Member) on Dec 11, 2014 at 8:26 pm

what is unique? the chance to experience alfa romeo quality in a german car

• moving moving on Dec 11, 2014 at 12:56 am

Simple is nice.
    i like the simple design~~

• Heng Lee on Dec 11, 2014 at 3:52 am

500Nm? How much does a Camry have? 120?

• The B8 VW Passat front ok rear looks like face lifted B7…..dashboard looks like 70’s …if its the same dsg GB…..Malaysians please stay away. We just hope that VW walk the talk…la not some PR rubbish. ….I almost bought a VW Gti….but the German brand that I bought also have its own sets of problems…..German car quality is not like what it used to be. Germans engineer don’t want to admit that their car quality is not good. Japs manufacturer admit their mistakes by recalling their vehicle…..may be the Germans think we Malaysian are not that important market. Guys we need to speak up….if you have problems with ur German made car make noise in the internet or newspaper. ….tell the world. …..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
  • bendspear on Dec 11, 2014 at 8:42 am

Das Boring

The exterior is boring , the interior is too

• Colin Wong on Dec 11, 2014 at 11:22 am

Came back from Seoul, saw a few of the new model. Got to say they look nice. Not “uncle” looking like the current model.

• alzzy on Dec 11, 2014 at 7:38 pm

VW is dead in Malaysia, their reputation is just as bad as Proton, you dare to buy?

• LokKee on Dec 12, 2014 at 12:53 pm

Hey, Proton is more worse than VW.. At least VW is trying to improve their after sales service and product quality unlike proton. I choose to believe VW once again.

• beware of 5 Years warranty scheme, you should read carefully b4 U buy! Rubbish after sales service , also read more of VW forum, then u will realize what is rubbish!

• Matthew on Dec 12, 2014 at 12:45 pm

Hey dude, do you have any bad experience with VW?

• Mango on Dec 12, 2014 at 4:08 pm

Well.. most of the people beware about the bad after sales and 2+3 Years warranty but i can see VW is improving all the time and improvising their after sales quality currently. Just give it some times and see what will happen next.

• New Passat cluster meter on Dec 11, 2014 at 9:29 pm

I thought the new Passat B8 comes with all digital LCD cluster meter? https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6Q2ld5_YRFA

• The car looks nice overall in real live.. I’ve seen it in real life here in California.. Definitely looks better than the current generation in Malaysia

• kumar on Dec 12, 2014 at 2:57 pm

i see Jar Jar Binks.

• My new Passat was delivered on 27th Feb 2015 and it breakdown by next day. Exacty 24 hours and it is still in the workshop until now. No updates available from VGM or the JB dealer and they are still trying to find the fault. Customer service is extremely poor and what a letdown and mistake for me to buy a VW without heeding friends advive.

• mannesman on Mar 02, 2016 at 10:52 am

my passat doesn’t have a problem at all.