2016 Mazda MX-5 now 25% more efficient than before

mazda mx-5 2015

Devotees of the manual transmission will (sort of) have a reason to gloat about the merits of shifting gears yourself as Mazda has announced that its stick shifter-equipped MX-5 is 25% more fuel efficient than the outgoing third-generation NC model with the same transmission.

With the six-speed SkyActiv-MT manual gearbox, the 2016 Mazda MX-5 records an EPA-estimated 11.4 km/l and 14.5 km/l on city and highway runs, sequentially. As for the optional automatic gearbox, the MX-5 puts down an even more impressive figure of 11.4 and 15.3 km/l for city and highway cycles, respectively.

mx-5 11

With Mazda’s ‘Gram Strategy’ weight saving mantra, the 2016 Mazda MX-5 loses roughly 68 kg compared to its manual-equipped predecessor. The new ND-generation MX-5 comes powered by a 1.5 litre high-compression direct-injected SkyActiv-G four-cylinder petrol engine pushing out 129 hp and 150 Nm of torque. The US-spec 2.0 litre mill with 155 hp and 200 Nm of torque is also featured.

The latter engine choice is, reportedly, the one earmarked for Malaysia when the roadster goes on sale in the country in the near future – exact power figures remain a mystery. Unfortunately for enthusiasts, the CBU-from-Japan junior sports car for Malaysia is expected to be made available with a sole choice of a six-speed SkyActiv-Drive automatic gearbox.

Gregory Sze

An “actor” by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• Sam L0rrrr on Apr 28, 2015 at 3:10 pm

Can it run 25% faster too?

• sepul on Apr 28, 2015 at 3:38 pm

Faster than the old car, in essence, yes.

Greg,

How about an article on how cars in Malaysia is priced? What are the factors, how the tax are calculated into the selling price of cars, why the price difference with many other countries when compared using exchange rates, etc.

I think it would be an interesting read.

• Sam Loois on Apr 28, 2015 at 4:17 pm

I second this

• Same L0rrrr on Apr 29, 2015 at 10:18 am

Better buy our 86.

Handing? 86 better
          Power? 86 better too
          Outlook? 86 sexier no doubt.

Normally the guy will be driving 86, then get a MX5 for his wife/gf.

86 or MX5? you won’t go wrong with sushi cars!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
          • Miata is King on Apr 29, 2015 at 4:14 pm

Pfft! You would do better selling real estate. It suits you.

• Same L0rrrr on Apr 29, 2015 at 4:45 pm

Car and house? You can’t live normally lacking anyone in Malaysia.

Everyone is looking for basic daily need (house, car, food, clothes), but not everyone spend their money wisely.

• Miata is King on Apr 28, 2015 at 3:45 pm

You don’t know what the MX5 is about Bro. It’s about balance not brute force. Watch the UK Top Gear review on the MX5 by Richard Hammond. It is on YouTube. It will change everyone’s perception on the car.

Uk’s advance orders for the car skyrocketed after that review aired.

• Same L0rrrr on Apr 29, 2015 at 4:39 pm

If you trust Top Gear review so much, let me ask you which one is the Top Gear’s car of the year 2012?

Nah… Wanna play double standard??? lol

• Miata is King on Apr 29, 2015 at 6:50 pm

The award should really have solely gone to Subaru who engineered the car. Toyota did what it does best, stuck their badge on it and named it after the year 1986, when they lost their mojo.

• it’s manual. ofcourse you can make it run 25% faster :3

• Arell on Apr 28, 2015 at 3:34 pm

The 25% efficiency u save on fuel cost, Mazda will earn you back by 50% higher than industry spare parts cost. Mazda spare parts are really over 50% other car parts!

• tokmoh. on Apr 28, 2015 at 10:35 pm

This somewhat true.

I’ve been researching Mazda 2, my findings not too encouraging.

See specs of course syok, got Skyactiv direct injection, 6sp auto, i-stop idle start-stop, HUD, etc.

But, due to istop, gotta use deep cycle battery, Bermaz price RM680. Maybe can use normal battery, but istop won’t work. So if wanna save fuel, gotta use RM680 battery. Apa ke-maslan-an ni?

Satu lagi ke-maslan-an Mazda 2: 185/60/R16 tires are non-existent here. Some owners reported only can find at Bermaz, selling RM500/donut. Of course, can change wheel to other sizes, just saying if wanna play stock, nokharoooom mahal gle.

Some local owners have converted to LED DRL and headlamps, it’s been quoted SGD 2,200/pair. Some say in Japan it cost RM 4,600/pair, so wanna have it here, add that with shipping, distributor, tax, installation, etc etc, can’t imagine how much more mark up it gonna be.

I dunno edi whether I’m reading parts prices for RM88k B-segment car or D-segment Conti flagship. Sure, Bermaz give 3-years free service, but beyond that, good luck to owner’s wallet.

• Hikaru on Apr 28, 2015 at 3:41 pm

They are bringing in the 2.0 litre so that they can sell this mid-range roadster as a high-ish end roadster and charge accordingly.

By the time taxes are paid, it would not make any sense. Anyone would be better off with a 2nd hand Porsche with that kind of money.

Welcome to Malaysia.

• Fahmi on Apr 28, 2015 at 3:42 pm

The MX-5 is best enjoyed with manual transmission, slick shifting, balanced clutch, though based on previous SkyActiv Mazdas, the auto should be not bad either..

• Anti tongkat on Apr 28, 2015 at 4:01 pm

The price should be 25% cheaper but sadly it will be ‘rewarded’ with 100% car tax here. Thanks to P—-n.

• Uvnice on Apr 28, 2015 at 6:35 pm

Mazda Malaysia is so stupid to bring in ONLY auto transmission.

Btw, can we make special order like 2 series with Mazda to bring in manual MX5?

• seancorr (Member) on Apr 28, 2015 at 10:44 pm

If the old price of the previous MX-5 is anything to go by, this fella will rival the 86 in terms of price.

I’ll humbly wait for Honda Malaysia to launch the S1000 here…if it ever reaches our shores officially. Else I guess can see how much the S660 will retail in the grey market…

• heybadigol (Member) on Apr 29, 2015 at 9:55 am

Of course you can make it run more efficient, it just means you go straight to top gear ASAP, so no funny business redlining the engine. In fact dont even push it past 2k RPM. But I doubt anybody buys a Miata/MX-5 for fuel efficiency. Its primary function is to provide as much fun as possible to getting from point A to B.

• FLICKER on Apr 30, 2015 at 7:53 am

Where’s the Mazda announcement link?

• Since its so difficult to get one with a manual transmission. people should realized that people who buys a auto are not car guys and their women only knows how to drive auto. So have your own garage and learn how to build a car. its easier that way. overtime you buy a car, you just have to buy parts and swap the transmission yourself.