PLUS testing a new gateless gantry toll system?

Plus-gateless-gantry-02

Remember when we said that Projek Lebuhraya Usaha Sama Berhad (PLUS) was planning to introduce a gateless gantry system for electronic toll payment starting in 2018? You’re looking at what could be first pictures of the highway concessionaire actually testing the system.

We were passing through the Batu Tiga toll plaza when we noticed two PLUS-liveried Proton Sagas (with card-like devices taped to the windscreens) repeatedly driving through a closed SmartTAG gate without slowing down, while a group of people were taking notes. This could mean that PLUS was seeing how fast the system could read individual devices in succession.

Previously, it was mentioned that trials using a Mitsubishi-based system utilising microwave transmission technology have been conducted at the Batu Tiga toll as early as 2008; the sighting of this test would indicate that the trials have been resumed, or at least are still ongoing.

Plus-gateless-gantry-01

Last year, PLUS said that it was targeting 100% electronic toll collection (ETC) at all its toll plazas nationwide with a gateless gantry toll collection system (like Singapore’s overhead Electronic Road Pricing gantries), where cars may simply drive through and be charged electronically without the need for slowing down.

Its CEO Muhammad Fuad Khusairi has said that it was studying several such systems running in other countries, adding that the move to a Multi-Lane Free Flow (MLFF) system using Radio Frequency Identification (RFID) technology would reduce congestion at toll plazas.

“Under the system, a gadget or sticker will have to be installed on the windscreen of vehicles. The toll will be calculated using the Radio Frequency Identification or RFID system. There will also be a CCTV network installed on the gantries. The system will be able to tell the amount that needed to be deducted electronically from the vehicle owner’s account with us,” he told reporters.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• sudonano (Member) on May 12, 2015 at 7:01 pm

Actually, what about the BET gantries that have been set out on the NPE heading from PJ towards Sunway?

• Regina on May 12, 2015 at 9:39 pm

Those are for busses to use – RapidKL Bas Ekspress Transit.

http://www.myrapid.com.my/news-events/announcements/2010/rapidbet

• I see I see… so BET is for commercial busses and MLFF is for cars.

• bodow on May 14, 2015 at 11:04 pm

Sorry to say this, but the owner of the System Integrator providing the toll system is a VERY STRONG PR supporter and member.

• High budget on May 26, 2015 at 2:35 pm

Bang…everything need to be politicized kaa?? people nak jd maju tp still mentality like this..serupa ckp saya berak dlm sluar..gov salah..

• Jimmy on May 12, 2015 at 10:58 pm

Cekap barulah untung banyak, sepatutnya.

• Why the need to test such system. Just end the PLUS term and open all gates.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 12
  • Not that SMARTag on May 12, 2015 at 7:11 pm

Hopefully PLUS takes into account the issues SMARTag faced before implementing the gantry system.

1. The display will fail.
    2. Short battery life. Compounded with issue no.1, you won’t know when your SMARTag will die.
    3. Different detection sensitivity, especially with tinted cars.
    4. The jam at SMARTag lanes isn’t due to slowing down the car, it’s because idiots will enter the lane with insufficient balance.

I hope the system is the bill-your-account system so I won’t have to worry about topping-up. However, knowing Malaysia, there will be a lot of assholes trying to go through the gantry lanes without the RFID device. I wonder how they will detect and deter this? Anybody know how Singapore did this?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 16
    • SkullJuJu on May 12, 2015 at 7:28 pm

Sorry to say this but you’re just unlucky with your SmartTAG.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 21
    • Singapore Government will compound the offender. Their LTA, TP, HDB are linked, no one can run away from it. ERP, Toll, summons are revenue of the SG Government. Different from MY, toll, AES, summons are revenue of private entities.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 5
    • drMpower on May 12, 2015 at 7:48 pm

This rfid thing need no battery
      Its a passive reader where a reader is placed at a certain placement
      It reads a radius through radio frequency application
      And it picks up a sticker or tag which u will need to stick or put on ur dashboard
      The system will charge u at the customer database directly.
      The system then will notify u the balance is up etc etc

A pretty old but working technology.
      If pakatan wins and bail out the hiway then this is pointless

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 9
      • Even pakatan need money to run the country, if they win. They will not let the toll fees gone just like that.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 5
        • jorek on May 13, 2015 at 7:54 am

Ya lor…should be no charges on public parking in Selangor the most developed state in Malaysia but you can see all the penguatkuasa saman kereta without scratch & win’ parking coupon.

• superboy on May 13, 2015 at 9:10 am

They run it, not waste it, so in fact the toll fare and system is ridiculous in malaysia.

• RFID is awesome. Dubai uses one called salik. just stick it on the window like a sticker. To topup just use sms. Just drive as usual at the gantry.

• Low Budget on May 13, 2015 at 12:45 pm

RFID tags only works if the windscreen is clear and transparent, but most of our vehicles windscreen are heavily tinted. Many original windscreen from the manufacturers are also quite dark thus render RFID tags useless.

• rfid also need to see ah? what to see? rfid use radio frequency wave lo. not camera.

• http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Electronic_Road_Pricing

Singapore using Cashless system only not like Malaysia can pay by cash, touch n go or Smart tag.

So there’s no enter into wrong lane problem.

• Singapore using Cashless system only not like Malaysia can pay by cash, touch n go or Smart tag.

So there’s no enter into wrong lane problem.

http://en.wikipedia.or/wiki/Electronic_Road_Pricing

• Malaysia2000 on May 12, 2015 at 10:03 pm

Singapore has cameras above their ERP tollgates. If the RFID scanner sees no IVU (In Vehicle Unit) The camera gets a signal, it takes a photo of license plate and mails a fine to your house. Lol gotta love singapore and fast law enforcement.

• Low Budget on May 13, 2015 at 1:00 pm

Malaysia toll operators can also use camera to take pictures of our car license plate, but unlike Singaporeans, Malaysians can easily buy and use false car reg. plates

• Leanprocess on May 12, 2015 at 8:40 pm

#notthatsmarttga – in sg they use camera , for Singaporeans , you will got the ticket in 3 days , not more not less, if you are Malaysian, make sure you prepare the correct change in SGD at the check point.

• Low Budget on May 13, 2015 at 12:39 pm

Singapore is a small island and no Singapore motorists dare ‘gate crashed’ the system. The enforcers will nab the offenders in no time.
      We are much more mobile than the Singaporeans and it is not easy for the law enforcers to catch us, just look at the latest plea by the PDRM to the motorists to pay up their traffic summons, so far they just give empty threats and many traffic offenders just ignore them, it is like catch me if you can but I don’t believe you will.

• Billy on May 12, 2015 at 7:12 pm

Government should consider to fine those driver that causing the jam at Smart Tag lane (due to no smart tag, not enough value, smart tag no battery etc) during rush hours.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 21
    • Low Budget on May 13, 2015 at 12:54 pm

Fine? I had encountered the problem of using SMART tag with the gate open at the entry point and then the gate refused to open at the exit point, the fxckers at the toll plaza office had accused me of entering the toll booth illegally, and asked me to pay a FINE, in order to let me pass, they also took my card away for check.
      Few months later, they return my card through mail and also refund the amount I paid for the FINE, what a fcxd up administration!

• If im travelling at 250kmh past the gantry, will it still detect me? How about 260kmh?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 47
    • Have the system linked to pdrm to serve ticket for speeding or wreckless driving automatically.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
    • darkermarker on May 12, 2015 at 10:45 pm

if you travel at that speed, I am afraid that you might not survive to see that you have paid or not….hahahahah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 0
  • Tc Soo on May 12, 2015 at 7:40 pm

SmartTag won’t work. Other countries use Rfid transponder, the card just stick on the windshield. 250km/hr also can detect. Every card need to register with saving account, set your prefer auto topup amount when balance hit $10, $20, etc. Simple as that.

• aussiefan on May 12, 2015 at 7:59 pm

Why not make it like aussie where everybody passes something like a goal post & fares are charged to their credit cards?

• dodgeviper88 on May 12, 2015 at 8:02 pm

haiya very easy, just get rid of all tolls problem solved :p

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 3
    • Sounds like you want other taxpayers (a lot of us in east Malaysia don’t even have highways to pay toll on) to subsidize your “free” highway construction and maintenance.

It’s like electricity ~ you should pay for what you use.

What you should be asking for is transparency and accountability in the highway contracts.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
  • wiwiwiw on May 12, 2015 at 8:14 pm

Why not just abolish tolls? Problems solved.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 3
  • old dog on May 12, 2015 at 8:20 pm

gateless? good luck with the MyVi club speed over..

• Caught cheating? Charge the cheaters when they want to renew road tax.

• Gold Avanza on May 12, 2015 at 9:34 pm

Reason to extend toll concession. Very predictable.

• Regina on May 12, 2015 at 9:40 pm

I just hope they use Lithium Ion batteries for gods sake! Super annoying to keep changing that 9V battery T_T

• CalvinNG on May 13, 2015 at 9:28 am

Good idea throw away a non explosive battery and put a very unstable possible easily explosive battery into smartTag have you not seen enough phone going flame… Now lets picture that the phone is your car… Do it like SG hook the device to car battery if the car battery dies the car aint going anywhere…

• sure this project can implement same as Singapore,what i mind cost for device very highest because this project related with police department same as Singapore.

• sure can implement ka..cost device very highest.

• The abolition of the cash lanes at this toll plaza clearly did not solved the congestion poblem…forcing motorist to use cashless actually made e jam worse as many forced to buy new cards at the toll and commercial vehicles stopped longer as they need the receipts for company claims..its really unfair and anti competition to motorist

• JAKIM FLOURISH MALAYSIA ECONOMY on May 12, 2015 at 10:52 pm

Question: When was the last time Malaysia always behind Singapore?l
    Answer: Always

• annoy_namous on May 13, 2015 at 8:05 am

Question : How to manage one single office in the building and how to manage all office in a building? Answer : Used brain and do not put your brain below your feet. Think first.

• Sparcov on May 13, 2015 at 8:20 am

Changing smart tag battery is not a problem

9V panasonic evolt can last you 8 months for daily usage at least 4 times.

• Annoynimouse on May 13, 2015 at 8:44 am

So after this, all illegal races on highways will be rolling starts…

• fauzi on May 13, 2015 at 9:43 am

ketinggalan zaman….baru nak buat…

• thepolygonal on May 13, 2015 at 9:43 am

Wait.. this thing comes hand in hand with the number plate recognition thingy to catch the untagged cars… that means… they probably will impose the standard number plate format again which has been put on hold last year. Hmm…

• Veneno on May 14, 2015 at 8:25 am

it would be so fcking better if the gov get rid of all tolls actually..

• doraemon on May 18, 2015 at 8:04 am

no need to pay the tolls are the best option for malaysian since now we have to bear GST. Remove toll would still remove some of our burden.

• doraemon on May 18, 2015 at 8:05 am

no need to pay the tolls are the best option for malaysian since now we have to bear GST. Remove toll would will remove our burden!!!!

• Ahah! System will linked soon with PDRM..In future, speed trap also can easily identify you by your RFID tag + Image from camera…