Ops Warga Asing sees 152 summonses issued to foreigners, 3 cars seized in hour-long operation

jpj roadblock-2

The Road Transport Department of Selangor (Selangor state JPJ) has issued a total of 152 traffic summonses to foreigners operating motor vehicles during an operation titled Ops Warga Asing. The hour-long operation, conducted at Persiaran APEC, also saw three cars seized by the department.

Selangor state JPJ director, Datuk Valluvan Veloo, commented that said summonses were issued for various offences – ranging from driving with an expired road tax, operating a vehicle without a licence and possession of “doubtful” driving licences. The reason for the seizure of the aforementioned three cars remain unclear. A total of 316 vehicles were inspected during said operation.

Additionally, the National Anti-Drug Agency (AADK), present during the operation, has detained three Malaysians after they tested positive for substance abuse while the Immigration Department of Malaysia has apprehended a Pakistani, a Filipino and an Indonesian after it was discovered that the three did not possess any form of travel documents.

Ops Warga Asing was deployed by the department after complaints from the public about foreigners driving recklessly in the area began to surface.

Gregory Sze

An “actor” by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• Abu Sayur on May 13, 2015 at 5:39 pm

Saman those idiot Singaporean that drive like dare-devils on the road. They think they come to Malaysia can break all the rules and above the law.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 1
  • This is malaysia.. We always see foreign worker driving car and motorbike all around. How the hell they got the license so easy (or actually they do not have license)? Please put enforcement here. I saw a lot reckless van driver is bangla and they are risking other people life.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
    • AntiRacist on May 14, 2015 at 2:09 am

You and your racism will destroy this beautiful country. And believe me or not, it IS getting destroyed.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 10
    • XcuseMe on May 14, 2015 at 10:39 pm

I can see more local people driving recklessly than foreign workers; law & order should equally apply for all not only foreigners. We should not pointing to any specific race or nation. If you ask any foreigner (from any nations) what they dislike in Malaysia, the one and only answer is traffic condition/drivers specially bikers (refer to The Expat Magazine); and everyone knows those bikers belongs to which race or nation.

• seancorr (Member) on May 13, 2015 at 6:09 pm

I’m still waiting for JPJ to come to my place in Puchong and launch an operation called ‘Ops Warga Malaysia’ to nab farking clowns on bikes who do stunts on the road without helmets or lights and these includes students in bloody school uniforms.

And while they’re at it please also nab families with kids on bikes. I mean the whole family one on bike without helmets and a baby sticking out on the left or right hand side of the bike whereby the mom is only using one hand to carry. That’s mad, can’t they just ferry the family in two rounds? One slight mistake and the whole family will end up under someone’s Hilux.

I’ve previously reported this to JPJ and guess what they did? One bloody road block after my complaint and that’s it. No more after that.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
    • Merzlover on May 13, 2015 at 6:56 pm

Those are barbarians from zaman batu.

• Holofanboi on May 14, 2015 at 10:44 am

LOL seconded! I knew someone was bound to comment on the insane bike stunts in Puchong!

I swear they could just do it anytime, being daylight OR peak rush hours. And this is taking into consideration that im only in Puchong once a week!

• Merzlover on May 13, 2015 at 6:55 pm

Bila duit sudah tak da…apa-apa pattern pun keluar.

• u should’ve look how they drive in Cyberjaya..how many deaths due to accident over there and how rude they are in our road..

• Samad Jain on May 13, 2015 at 7:06 pm

hahahahahha…

Is this even news from JPJ???

Every drivers know about this….ages ago….

• Outstationer on May 13, 2015 at 9:26 pm

No foreigner should be allowed to drive on Malaysian roads at all. We should do like Middle East – No local driving licence pass, forget driving here. Sorry, that includes the Mat Sallehs as well. No exceptions. Even me myself from outstation have to take “driving lessons” from locals to get adapted to the roads, what more a foreigner?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 18
    • Michael on May 14, 2015 at 9:21 am

Yeah, those darn mat sallehs with their comprehensive driver licence training. Darn them for following the road rules, speed limits, indicating when they change lanes, wearing their seat belts and getting in your way when they won’t run the red light.
      Sorry folks, the worst drivers on Malaysian roads are… Malaysians.
      Cheers from an Australian WITH Malaysian license.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
  • thevictim on May 14, 2015 at 1:05 am

good job my car was hit by foreigner last week at cyberjaya near MMU, and he has no licence.. give them some lessons

• ramalan on May 14, 2015 at 4:08 am

Please do this on a regular basis.
    Constant checks will rid our roads of scums be it local or foreigner.
    Kids riding around housing estate
    w/o helmet & licence should not be excluded. Its high time JPJ and the police flex their muscles! !!

• 4G63T DSM on May 14, 2015 at 6:53 pm

Wait. I dont brain this. why ops warga asing only.

Should be Ops Everyone drive safely.

You mean during Ops Warga Asing, a local rempit with no license get away free?

Or only warga asing get summoned…local rempit caught with the same dragnet can settle on the spot izzit?