UMW Toyota issues a recall for Lexus NX over a potentially faulty ABS actuator – 255 units involved

lexus-nx-driven-28

UMW Toyota has announced that it is recalling 255 units of the Lexus NX sold in Malaysia – the recall aims to rectify a potentially faulty anti-lock braking system (ABS) actuator on these particular vehicles.

The issue concerns the improper shape of a component inside the ABS actuator – Toyota Motor Corporation (TMC) says that there is a possibility that a resin component could be damaged during its press fitting assembly, leading to the creation of minute resin fragment(s) which could become stuck in the actuator.

If this occurs, the oil pressure control may be delayed when the anti-lock brakes are activated, causing a loss of vehicle stability and increasing the risk of a crash.

UMW Toyota says it has received confirmation from TMC that there are approximately 255 units of the Lexus NX – manufactured from November 2014 to March 2015 – are affected by this issue. It was not disclosed if the exercise involves either the NX 200t or the NX 300h, or both.

The company will contact all affected customers to carry out the necessary corrective measures on their vehicles. Should a vehicle be equipped with an affected ABS actuator, the ABS actuator will be replaced with a newly manufactured one at no cost to the owner. UMW Toyota adds that no other Lexus models sold by it are affected by this issue or are involved in this “special service campaign.”

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Migrated Owner Review on May 27, 2015 at 3:02 pm

But the Car is like nearly RM500k. At this price also still can have recalls? Glorified Toyota still got problems huh?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 42
    • MeToo on May 27, 2015 at 3:09 pm

You rather they keep quite and dont recall?

If that’s the case Proton is the best car in the world.. never had recall issues.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 7
      • AcerMan on May 27, 2015 at 3:24 pm

P1 different. If got problem, you call them and not they ‘recall’ you. :-p

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 3
        • Beng P1boy on May 27, 2015 at 3:42 pm

Proton too busy with services.

Because P1 still the best car manufacturer on earth. DrM make all of kampung people own a car if not all of them still riding bicycle !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
        • Bomoh on May 27, 2015 at 4:12 pm

Proton produce hundred car in day and you cant expected they have time to check one by one for you. If you found any/many problem you should call them instead they call you.Recalling?

• rally_fan (Member) on May 28, 2015 at 9:29 am

proton has done many recalls in the past, im sure if you do a search on paultan.org.. you will find the story. all car companies do recalls.. and recalls are usually most urgent and compulsory when it affects “safety”. if not.. they are usually done silently.. dealt with by the manufacturer during servicing..etc. there is no such thing as a perfect car.

• Obviously (Member) on May 27, 2015 at 3:11 pm

Your point? The Porsche 918 is even more expensive and was recalled for electrical wiring issues. Cars are made by humans and humans sometimes make mistakes.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
    • AcerMan on May 27, 2015 at 3:17 pm

No la…only $287-372K. Got recall better than keep quiet or worst even lie to consumer

• Porsche just issued a recall for the 918 Spyder, which costs over a million dollar to own; Ferrari recalled the 458 Italia before; does that mean they’re as glorified as a Toyota? Stop making yourself look dumb.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 0
    • ben yap on May 27, 2015 at 4:03 pm

wakakakaka…. kena flame by others kaw kaw….

• No Choice! on May 27, 2015 at 3:06 pm

They got no choice because HQ in Japan making a recall.

The local CKD Camry actually got lots of recalls but because TMC don’t oversee it, UMW also tutup one eye.

Actually all Camry in Malaysia got lots of recalls.
    All the more, it is known as the “Moving Coffin”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 8
    • Macai logic on May 27, 2015 at 4:17 pm

Power window rosak = Non-safety issue = No need recall.

Memang genius punya logic.

• Anti-pati on May 27, 2015 at 9:20 pm

Power window setakat tak boleh nak bukak memang bukan safety issue nak recall buat apa?

Dekat US pun dia takkan classify masalah tu utk recall.

• Areyousure on May 27, 2015 at 3:06 pm

Who is the lucky ones? Hehehe

• kington on May 27, 2015 at 3:16 pm

Since the last major recall from Toyota, GM, Honda and Nissan many car makers are taking the opportunity to issue recalls even for potential problems. Yes recalls are still a taboo issue, but compared to death caused by potentially their fault, they’d rather do recalls.

• sammy on May 27, 2015 at 3:31 pm

I think cars are just getting overly complicated nowadays, with all the electronics and stuff. If this trend continues, we are likely to see more and more recalls.

• kington on May 27, 2015 at 4:36 pm

Yup, precisely. Cars that are rather basic with minimal tech are hard to come by, except for the 86 and MX-5.

• giovannie on May 27, 2015 at 3:44 pm

wow.
    already 255 units of Lexus NX SOLD..

Hats’s off to LEXUS Malaysia giving respect to malaysian customer, you really care for them.

• carazy on May 27, 2015 at 4:04 pm

I was wandering, if somebody bought a grey import cars, how a car company recall the affected car? Are we as a consumer to be blame of buying a car from other parties? What happens if the car (grey imports) have some serious issues but not recognize to be recall? If it involve someone life, what happens?

• Dodge on May 27, 2015 at 4:30 pm

Same lorrr where are you… We’re waiting for your crap…

• Sam L0rr said never go wrong with Toyota, meaning sure the Toyota or Lexus owner moving to coffin

• They try very hard for years to keep Toyota and Lexus apart but kantoi by this…the recall should be issued by Lexus and not Toyota.

• Other manufacturers recall because they are forced to. Proton recalls because they want to show others they are same level as other manufacturers, not because they want to fix the problem.

• It is good that now every automobile companies are doing long term research. in their products to ensure safety & durability.