Koenigsegg One:1 unofficially sets Suzuka lap record

Sometimes it’s amazing what you can do without even trying. See, Koenigsegg recently took its ballistic One:1 to Japan’s Suzuka circuit to share it with “clients and partners in a more personal sense,” and it’s done a lap in 2:17.57, unofficially beating current leader Nissan GT-R‘s 2:18.36.

Consider the following. Factory driver Robert Serwanski had never driven at Suzuka before. They only had half an hour on the track, and Serwanski did 20 laps, all with a passenger beside him. The One:1 was running on a “standard setup” with factory tyres and only minor aero modifications. It wasn’t even running on E85, the Koenigsegg high-power fuel.

“Our best recorded lap time in this half-hour slot was 2:17.57,” said Christian von Koenigsegg. “This is from our own data-logging system, connected to the car on the day. It is not an official time and has no external standing.”

What does Serwanski have to say? “The car performed extremely well but there’s no doubt that with more time invested in getting to know the track and the optimal setup, it could go much faster.

“We had to take care of the brakes a little. It was an oversight on our part, but we didn’t put new pads in before shipping the car to Japan and we didn’t bring fresh pads with us. Hard braking was an issue as a result, which will influence the speed at which you approach a corner.

While we were carrying an extra person in the car in all of our laps, this wasn’t a big factor. It does affect your steering and braking at the limit, but we were not at the limit today. The confidence to be at the limit requires a lot more knowledge of the intricacies of the track and that only comes with hours and hours of time on the tarmac.”

The Koenigsegg One:1 is so called because of its one PS per kg power-to-weight ratio. Its 5.0 litre twin-turbo V8 produces a staggering 1,360 PS, or exactly one megawatt. Peak torque is 1,371 Nm, and all of that goes to the rear wheels via a seven-speed dual-clutch gearbox.

The numbers aren’t official, but the company reckons the six-unit-only monster can do 0-100 km/h in 2.8 seconds, 0-400 km/h in 20 seconds and a top speed in excess of 440 km/h. Watch it race an eight-tonne Volvo truck here – no kidding.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• 1MDB (Malas Dolop Bodoh) on May 29, 2015 at 3:15 pm

This car is nothing compared to our Proton. Our Proton is at par with BMW and Volvo. So, our Proton can beat this Koenigshit flat.

Oh, don’t forget, our education system is also on par with Oxford University of the UK. Our graduates can build a better engine than this

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 16
  • Bra and Panties Promoter on May 29, 2015 at 3:47 pm

Hello there Koenigsegg, my name is Sam Loo. I am better known in this forum as either Same Lorrrr or Sam Loo (ori1).

My Toyota sales are oficially ZERO. Whatever UMW sells is actually to Government departments. We salesman now got no money. Can I come and work for you guys?

Selling bra and panties at night quite hard to survive alone.

• it takes a 1300hp carbon car to beat a datsun by 1 sec, makes the gtr a hell a lot more awesome..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
    • armandd on Jun 01, 2015 at 12:13 am

The Koenigsegg driver was driving casually, with used brake pads, a passenger and standard tyres, what do you expect? Oh, and it didn’t even use the E85 fuel, which means it’s power on that day wasn’t 1340hp, but around 1100hp only. The GTR is fast, but this is on entirely new level of fast.

• Gberd on May 29, 2015 at 4:03 pm

The only regret is that I don’t have enough money to buy this car.

• shawal on May 29, 2015 at 4:17 pm

at that price, i expect it to be at least 5 seconds quicker without really trying….

MAybe they should really go for it..

• Lets see it take on the GTR V-spec Nur (when it comes out).

• heybadigol (Member) on May 29, 2015 at 7:03 pm

Somehow it doesn’t look very fast. Engine is rather quiet too, but I suspect the driver wasn’t exactly gunning it. I’m sure if he gave it full throttle, it’ll be way quicker. Anytime I see someone driving on Suzuka, reminds me of the amazing video of Ayrton Senna drifting, and heel & toeing the Honda NSX (in loafers and white socks) on the same track. What a driver, and what a car that was.

• Obviously (Member) on May 29, 2015 at 7:07 pm

It’s hard to compare without knowing the specs of the GT-R and the driver that set the other record, but this One:1 was definitely not at its peak. It actually had a few handicaps.

Not using the E85 blend to fuel this beast would mean that its hp rating would only be around 1100hp thereabouts.

In the interest of brake pad preservation, the brakes were not used aggressively, so that means the car was driven quite beneath its limit.

Driver unfamiliarity with a circuit really impacts lap times. I’m quite sure that their fastest lap time was set on one of their later sessions, perhaps the last one.

And that passenger is dead weight.

• now let’s see how fast regera can lap ’round the suzuka