VIDEO: Mazda MX-5 50:50 weight distribution proven

Putting its money where its mouth is, Mazda USA has come up with this video. It’s a balancing act that the new 2016 Mazda MX-5 Miata pulls off with ease thanks to the the fourth-gen roadster’s perfect 50:50 weight distribution (with driver), not to mention the ND’s ‘Gram Strategy’ weight reduction of over 100 kg.

“Having the weight distribution 50:50 makes the car behave more predictability and more constantly. Weight is the single most important factor in developing this car – when you’re trying to make a car perform well you do it with brute force with lots of power and big tyres or you can go completely the opposite way and reduce the amount of work that the car has to do respond to the driver’s input by making it lighter,” explains Miata product manager Dave Coleman.

The US-spec Mazda MX-5 is powered by a 2.0 litre Skyactiv-G engine with 155 hp and 200 Nm, paired to either a six-speed manual or six-speed auto. There will also be a more focused Club version that adds on 17-inch alloys, limited-slip differential, Bilstein shocks and shock tower brace, along with styling bits. Headrest-mounted speakers – pioneered on the original MX-5 – are back courtesy of Bose.

If Driving Matters to you, the new MX-5 would be one hell of a desirable car. It’s coming to Malaysia, but…

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• gaviny on May 29, 2015 at 1:37 pm

i remember top gear testing the real 50-50 distribution with their africa station wagon trip, on the raft scene

• Dr Dogter Heart-beat on May 29, 2015 at 2:16 pm

Would put my money into a new audi TT this round, for this segment. or what about the bigger toyota gt86 with 50:50 weight distribution?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
    • Obviously (Member) on May 29, 2015 at 3:51 pm

The Toyota 86 doesn’t have a perfect 50:50. Close, but not perfect.

• Same L0rrrr on May 29, 2015 at 2:22 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 136
    • khoogoop on May 29, 2015 at 4:01 pm

Then p2 is stronger leech coz still no VSC in new models

• 50:50 RV on May 29, 2015 at 7:15 pm

Prove it.

• tokmoh. on May 30, 2015 at 12:37 pm

Sendiri berak tengah jalan, tak mau mengaku.

Why don’t u ask your superiors to sacrifice their bonus a little bit, and put those money into giving ESC, 6 airbags, latest CVT, 6, 8 speed Aisin gearbox, that’ll guaranteed to increase your sale.

• What is Lionel Richie doing there? =D
    I find the 50:50 distribution experiment there was so dumb, although, we can tell that it is entire a show to convince potential buyers, as all driver will have different body weight, certainly, the 50:50 describe here was base on test/development driver’s weight alone.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 9
    • W204 C63 AMG on May 29, 2015 at 4:19 pm

Although technically the mx5 is a front engined car, but the engine is mounted so far back in the bay, that it almost qualify as a mid engined car. That engine is mounted low too, coupled with the driver sitting so low, so yes, regardless of what weight you are, it will still have a near perfect 50:50 weight distribution.

• tokmoh. on May 30, 2015 at 12:39 pm

Even with different driver’s weight, if the fulcrum is adjusted right, it’ll still balance.

• Janji najix tak ditunaikan,penipu Rakyat! on May 29, 2015 at 2:50 pm

This ratio mean what?going to fight against Toyota Trueno 86 at japan for drifting balance?No way legendary 86 can beat by this MX5,come on.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 13
    • 50:50 RV on May 29, 2015 at 7:16 pm

Seems to me that you are the one who is not 50:50 distributed.

• heybadigol (Member) on May 29, 2015 at 3:15 pm

A lot of BMWs have perfect 50/50 wieght distribution. Don’t see them making such a big fuss about it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 13
    • 50:50 RV on May 29, 2015 at 7:16 pm

Where’s the proof?

• Gaviny on May 29, 2015 at 8:32 pm

Watch YouTube, top gear Africa special river crossing, the 528i sits flat on the raft, the Volvo dips headfirst

• Bozo U on May 30, 2015 at 6:53 pm

Seriously – you call drifting a fully loaded car on a make-shift inflated raft, pure 50:50 weight distribution? Are you seriously comparing this to a fulcrum balance?

• ugly

• iseconded on May 30, 2015 at 10:29 am

every angle of this roadster resembles a giant mekong catfish minus the whiskers..

• Wtteoh on May 30, 2015 at 4:01 pm

Below is an email to bermaz to convince them we are drivers who appreciate good old stick shifts. Hope it’s helps all of us.

Hello bermaz,

I’m an existing Mazda user and have been interested in cars for many years. I believe a car should bring us enjoyment in driving and also ownership experience and my Mazda 6 hasn’t disappointed me so far.
    It is with growing excitement that I read about the new mx5 and its imminent launch in Malaysia. A lightweight roadster with 50:50 weight distribution would be a joy indeed to drive. Unfortunately I hear rumors that Bermaz will only bring in the automatic version.
    This is the perfect car for Mazda enthusiasts such as myself and the six speed manual gearbox is the ideal gearbox to match the mx5’s playful character. There would be many more cars sold compared to the previous generation if manual gearshifting is made available as an option. Even better if the price is lower than before.
    I hope Bermaz will do what is right in the eyes of all driving/Mazda enthusiasts.
    Thank you.