COMOS: no mercy for abusers of EV charging bays!

cygnet-tow-0005

For regular abusers of designated parking bays, these photos posted by COMOS EV rental service to its Facebook fan page should serve as a warning not to attempt to hog these parking bays because they won’t hesitate to get the city council to tow your car away. That’s what the owner of this chrome Aston Martin Cygnet had to experience first hand.

It’s a sad thing to admit but Malaysians aren’t really known for respecting reserved parking bays. We see crucial facilities such as disabled parking bays being abused everyday, not to mention parking lots that are reserved for hybrid and electric cars in places like shopping malls and the airport.

It’s even more crucial for EV parking bays not to be abused because the cars need to park there to use the charging facilities. For the COMOS EV rental service, returning a car to a designated parking bay and plugging the charger in is vital to the service because if it’s not plugged in, billing will continue.

https://www.facebook.com/comosmalaysia/posts/460362204127496

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Sam "Hailat" Loo on Jun 01, 2015 at 5:29 pm

WTM 1… Chromed thru and thru…

Some royalty’s car being offered for COMOS photoshoot demo…? Or the former just showing arrogance and ignorance…?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 2
    • publicitystunt on Jun 01, 2015 at 10:23 pm

maybe its just a publicity stunt by the founders of the co. ? for all you know, maybe the car belongs to them in one way or another and it is not hard to arrange for your own car to be towed to send out a message…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 10
      • Albert on Jun 02, 2015 at 6:37 am

I think this EV project will not work in Bolehland.For a start,people will park without authorisation.Then,the vehicles will disappear gradually,or in bad condition.
        This Syed Zainal should just get a big AP like Naza and Westar,get the chinamen to help sell those recon cars,shake legs,tour around the world,instead of this countless headache project.
        Some people here simply IGNORE rules/laws.They have a shithole mentality.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
        • Abusing of EV parking not only involves COMOS designated parking area, it actually involves most of the EV designated parking bays. For instance, it’s very nice of the Jaya 1 shopping centre in section 17 to provide up 6 EV parking bays at their car park area and it’s very nice of them to also provide charging bay to go along with it. Unfortunately there is some dumb plus ignorant moron that parks their hybrid car there as well. When I say hybrid, it’s just hybrid and not those plug in hybrid. I’m not sure which part of hybrid and EV that they do not understood. Worst of all, there is once even Toyota Harrier abused that parking space. Here the management provided some state of art and wonderful facilities for EV to save the environment but here at the same they do not enforce clamping or locking down for those that abused the parking space.

As what Malaysias’s are famous for, cakap tak serupa bikin….Showcase of huge signing board of ZON TUNDA, ZON KUNCI TAYAR KENDERAAN (this applies to everywhere) but not even a single car has been clamp. If yes there is then maybe just for few months. (hangat-hangat tahi ayam). Few months down the road everything is back to square one.

Worst of the worst will be those imbecile that abuses the parking bay done specially for the disable (Orang kurang upaya, OKU)

• BeemerFreak on Jun 01, 2015 at 5:29 pm

Very good, such imbeciles should be taken off the road. Such designated lots are for its intended purpose and should rightfully be served as so.

Should tow more often…..Double parkers too, inconsiderate nonsense.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 0
    • GT3 (Member) on Jun 01, 2015 at 10:40 pm

I bet the owner thought that normal people could not differentiate between COMOS EVs and normal super-compact city car. LOL

• Hopetobebetter on Jun 01, 2015 at 5:31 pm

Tow those healthy people park their car on disable parking as wel.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 0
  • Haaa DSS punya kereta. Aiyoo, datuk seri also don’t know how to park properly ka..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 2
  • Is chrome a legal body colour in MY?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
    • MeToo on Jun 01, 2015 at 6:00 pm

Not legal for regular Joe…

Legal if you are some Datuk Seri etc…

The Malaysia way…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 67 Thumb down 3
  • Lpost on Jun 01, 2015 at 5:55 pm

rich people with poor attitude and mindset.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 0
  • Papagoines on Jun 01, 2015 at 6:21 pm

Waaa… got cygnet in Malaysia?

chrome summore… sure got berbakul kena sumpah on the road

• RicoT on Jun 01, 2015 at 6:24 pm

Wreck Comos EV charging bay vandalism inkambing!

• Anonymous on Jun 01, 2015 at 6:29 pm

usually this kind of big boss, have a lot of driver, macai or assistant, doesn’t mean is the owner itself driving ~
    btw, is just a small mistake, and I guess this is the first time happen only…
    the actual owner did a lot of charity, having 300 orphan in Malaysia and raise them until college, and helping east coast rebuild their home for free, without much exposure in public ~
    Just forgive him la ~

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 71
    • What r u implying? Its ok to kill 1 after u saved 300?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 2
    • BigBalls on Jun 01, 2015 at 8:21 pm

Even if he cured AIDS, he should still be punished by all means.

-BigBalls-

• macaikambing on Jun 01, 2015 at 8:33 pm

farrrrrrrcical this macai kambing..
      still want to polish the assssa..

stupid remain stupid. no matter how much money you have.. if don’t have brain.. their car deserved to impounded.

• soooo, the boss seats at the back of the ‘aston cygnet’ right….yeahhhhh

• RegretBuyingAFord on Jun 02, 2015 at 4:33 am

MY FRIEND..

if u want to kipas this dato’s backside, don’t put your name as anonymous, dato dunno where to come find you to give you his angkat sampah contract.

give la full details, dato come cari you one.

• That disgusting chrome Cygnet deserved to be towed regardless. Could you get any more tasteless?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 0
  • karipap basah on Jun 01, 2015 at 6:39 pm

rich with money….but damn bloody poor with upbringing….

This is the classic case….money cant buy you everything. hahahahah…

Kasi malu brand Aston Martin saja…..

• seancorr (Member) on Jun 01, 2015 at 6:51 pm

I got sick of seeing idiots parking in OKU parking lots. Even if I reported it to the guards, they don’t even clamp those buggers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
  • spongewai on Jun 01, 2015 at 7:30 pm

this WTM 1 chrome Aston Martin Cygnet i see lot of time otr especially Pavilion

now get towed by truck, bagus

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
    • 4g63tdsm on Jun 02, 2015 at 9:26 am

Oh was that a Cygnet? I see it all the time around Pavilion. Thought it was a tarted up iQ.

What a looser….

I suppose it was a free Cygnet (didnt AM give some of them away with some AM models?) because I thought no one would be as daft to actually buy one. After seeing what it did… I now think that the owner was stupid enough to buy one.

• Really on Jun 01, 2015 at 8:08 pm

Oh my, that Cygnet sure is ugly! Too much money to spend on a rebadged Toyota, so no problem lah to pay for the fine. Good riddance!

• Anonymous on Jun 01, 2015 at 8:57 pm

What ARROGANCE…! Clearly the space is not yours to park… can even see the small car taking up TWO spaces…! Looks like money doesn’t buy ‘consideration for others’…! Bloody shame… proof to show how the rich have poor upbringing.

• this vip owner must be screaming and shouting like a wild animal

• Leafable on Jun 01, 2015 at 9:52 pm

Served him/her right. I love COMOS (but not the hourly rate though). They should run the enforcement department get rid of the dirt.

• petrol head on Jun 01, 2015 at 10:18 pm

buying a aston martin cygnet is one dumb thing to do.. but park it at reserved parking bay for EV is even stupider .

• sudonano (Member) on Jun 01, 2015 at 10:30 pm

Serves him right.

For parking there and for buying a glorified Toyota iQ.

• Dumber on Jun 01, 2015 at 11:01 pm

No surprise, the car looks dumb and sure the owner will be one. Shoot me.

• aiyoyo on Jun 02, 2015 at 12:48 am

dato sunny, why part until like this?

• RegretBuyingAFord on Jun 02, 2015 at 4:28 am

kesian la this jinjang joe (seen him before.. even if i didn’t, the chrome gives it away)

he wanted to gaya lebih, bought an “ASTON MARTIN”, but he’s not a reader on PaulTan, didn’t know it’s just a Toyota iQ.

then now paying installment mahal, 300k for “ASTON MARTIN” badge and leather seats, and let’s not forget which crony fella for the #1 plate. Summore he E-Z payment plan the 10k for the chrome sticker from Brother’s Outlet in Kepong.

please kesian him, really couldn’t afford the RM 5 parking tepi jalan.

have some compassion la bros, when your down and out but still gotta get around town, he parked at the bays also to take LRT la.

marilah kita kesian dia ramai ramai.

HAHA

• setsunaf on Jun 02, 2015 at 7:29 am

So same comment will appear again that DBKL short of cash and no other important things to do. Retarded and selfish rakyat

• alldisc on Jun 02, 2015 at 8:38 am

aston martin? nahh… thats just the badge. its toyota iQ underneath. all to the last bolt.

• nasi padang on Jun 02, 2015 at 8:52 am

first look i tot it was a MSIAN beloved MYVI. LOL

• Johnny on Jun 02, 2015 at 9:51 am

One of those rich people who think they are beyond the law.

• Don’t tow only this car parked at wrong area. Please tow all the cars have parked in illegal and left unattended.

• DSG Fanboy on Jun 02, 2015 at 11:07 am

how about friday noon illegal parking?

• kennytkl on Jun 02, 2015 at 1:38 pm

no saman for the illegal number plate??

• Technically its not abuse if the charging stations were not yet ready. Charging pakai wireless kah?