Takata airbag issue – BMW recalls 420,661 cars in the US, Ford and Chrysler add to list by expanding recalls

airbag

Last month, parts manufacturer Takata Corporation acknowledged that a defect exists in its airbags and agreed to expand its recall on defective airbag inflators to a record 34 million vehicles in the US.

Following on this, automakers with models covered by this expanded scope have begun issuing recalls for affected vehicles. Last last week, BMW announced that it was recalling 420,661 vehicles in the US equipped with problematic Takata driver-side front airbag inflators.

A total of 20 models are involved in the exercise – according to news reports, the list is made up of 2002-2005 model year 325i/325xi/330i/330xi; 2002-2005 model year 325xi/325i Sports Wagon, 2002-2006 model year 330Ci/325Ci/M3 Convertible; 2002-2006 325i/330i/M3 Coupe, 2002-2003 M5/540i/525i/530i, 2002-2003 540i/525i Sports Wagon and 2003-2004 model year X5 3.0i/4.4i.

The reports add that BMW’s voluntary recall of these vehicles raises its total of affected vehicles to 420,661 from 140,696. On a related note, we called BMW Malaysia to find out if any cars were involved – the company says that no local cars are affected by a recall.

At the same time, Fiat Chrysler Automobiles (FCA) and Ford also added more vehicles to that already identified as having issues pertaining to airbags – FCA said it was recalling 4,066,732 vehicles from the 2004 to 2011 model years that are equipped with a dual-stage driver frontal airbag.

As for Ford, its expanded safety recall on vehicles equipped with Takata airbag inflators now covers 2005-2014 Ford Mustang and 2005-2006 Ford GT (for driver airbag inflators) and 2004 Ford Rangers/2004-2006 Ford Rangers built at separate plants for passenger side airbag inflators. This brings the total number of Ford vehicles recalled for Takata airbag inflators to just over 1.5 million vehicles to date.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• tiffany on Jun 01, 2015 at 6:06 pm

Germans and Americans are so slow..

I think Toyota was the first to act..
    followed by others Japanese small players.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 9
    • Beng P1boy on Jun 01, 2015 at 6:28 pm

Hahahaha thought you all P2 supporters Proton are Better and Safer then lousy BMW and Volvo !!!

Eat this junk P2 supporters ! Proton the best car in World !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 12
      • Hmm… Why only Proton no need to recall one? Their cars are too good? Doubt it. Even real BMW also recall

• for proton..

U call them, they dont call u.

• unich on Jun 01, 2015 at 10:50 pm

Liar liar liar
            p1 got recalls last time, but not on safety parts

• recall on Jun 01, 2015 at 11:27 pm

Yeah, P1 very safe, no need to recall on safety

• readmorepls on Jun 01, 2015 at 11:40 pm

Since when p1 got recall on safety?
            Get your fact right

• If like this better go for p1

• bestintheworld on Jun 02, 2015 at 12:21 am

You don’t know Proton is the only carmaker in the world that don’t recall on safety meh?

• Desperate shiatee brand SA, sales very bad meh?
            Why must recall for nothing?

• koarg on Jun 02, 2015 at 8:02 am

Stupid syok sendiri p1 basher, if they are not affected, why must recall?

• Jilbaber (Member) on Jun 02, 2015 at 6:49 am

Proton use Takata airbag ke ? last time I check they use Autoliv..

• safetyno.1 on Jun 02, 2015 at 8:36 am

Tau takpe, p1 bashers butthurt coz p1 dun need to recall

• heysay on Jun 01, 2015 at 8:55 pm

So.MITI can actually say p1 is better than bimmer safety wise, for now

• Same L0rrrr on Jun 01, 2015 at 10:41 pm

Now you can claim proton is safer than BMW, as they didn’t recall the airbags.

No airbags how to recall?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 22
          • securityguard on Jun 01, 2015 at 10:48 pm

Lol only Vios after gens still got only 2 airbags no VSC

Coming saga gen 3 from Iriz would prolly at least 2 airbags with VDC

• swanbag on Jun 01, 2015 at 11:11 pm

No airbags but got swanbags

• swandouc on Jun 01, 2015 at 11:41 pm

Yeah swanbags are those in sportivo TRD
            Kahkahkah

• OMG, supporters are telling us that Proton used swanbags in their cars? No wonder no need to recall

• tnhgarbage on Jun 02, 2015 at 7:54 am

Wow too bad even bimmer has to recall. I thought only Toyota and Honda junkies

• Same L0rrrr on Jun 02, 2015 at 1:31 pm

Vios is Toyota’s cheapest model.
            Proton cheapest model Saga after gens also 2 airbags no VSC, so what??

If you not happy with Vios safety spec, you can choose Altis/Camry. If you can’t afford them, at least don’t pretend they don’t exist.

Want 6 airbags with VSC, go get Iriz lar. You get what you pay for.

• Newcomer on Jun 01, 2015 at 7:00 pm

Well, they still dislike or hate Toyota because of their stupidity. They should have known this only apply to some company, not the Toyota worldwide

• Who cares about other countries? Bolehland people only care about cars in here, not in US, UK etc

• Proton supporters are Toyota’s No.1 bashers

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 11
        • red3er on Jun 02, 2015 at 7:55 am

Proof?

• Same L0rrrr on Jun 02, 2015 at 12:51 pm

They knew they are driving junk, they knew Toyota is much better but they don’t have enough money. Their money spent on either Proton awesome fuel consumption or legendary build quality.

Thus they turn to hatred (and imagine their Proton is F22).

simple logic.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
          • red3er on Jun 02, 2015 at 7:00 pm

That’s not proof

• Untung Manyak Wang on Jun 02, 2015 at 8:49 am

34 m units recall
      Cost per unit recall, USD 100 (estimate)

34,000,000 * 100 = USD 3,400,000,000

:p

Got extra money can buy second largest air supplier stock.

• Takata not for human use one

• Boleh! on Jun 01, 2015 at 9:20 pm

Why no one scold BMW for the recall?
    Why? Toyota kena kau kau for the same recall, where are all the barking?

• Malaysian Boleh on Jun 01, 2015 at 10:37 pm

Masuk kerja bangun lewat,
      minum teh sembang Wechat,
      banyak sibuk reply Whatsapp
      Masuk website search paultan
      Tulis comment suka suka
      Lepas geram dibelasah bos
      Janganlah mu diambil serious
      Lepas gelak bolehlah blah……….

• tedent on Jun 01, 2015 at 10:55 pm

Because BMW is luxury brand
        Toyota Lexus is rubbish brand
        Go figure

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
        • Asia BMW on Jun 01, 2015 at 11:25 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 153
          • lolerd on Jun 01, 2015 at 11:46 pm

Butthurt go and prepare to go for recall is better LOL

• pitybutthurt on Jun 01, 2015 at 11:48 pm

BMW has bad days, Toyota has worst

• lexusbiscuit on Jun 02, 2015 at 12:00 am

Toyota is rubbish, rubbish is still rubbish. It cannot be luxury

• Lagi boleh on Jun 02, 2015 at 11:05 am

Ouch… Kena gigit….!

• protong on Jun 02, 2015 at 1:33 am

Yes, the truth hurts but have some pity to the supporters lah. Later they butthurt how? Everyone knows Proton is rubbish, including Africa people, only supporters here think it’s a sports car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
      • badattitude on Jun 01, 2015 at 11:01 pm

The airbag workers like to eat sushi 5 times a day, then playing with big smartphones layan awek, chat about *** in stores, very lazy to work.

They should be sacked!

• toyotanoquality on Jun 01, 2015 at 11:49 pm

Same goes for Toyota quality nowadays

• protoncrapquality on Jun 02, 2015 at 12:12 am

Get your facts right. Proton workers don’t eat sushi, they eat nasi lemak. That’s why quality like nasi lemak bungkus

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 47
          • messef on Jun 02, 2015 at 7:57 am

Since when the comment talked about p1 workers? It’s about the so called ‘global’ quality airbag maker. Now no quality.

• Macai Boleh on Jun 01, 2015 at 11:19 pm

Those dogs went to sleep when they heard the word “BMW” instead of “Toyota”. They only eat, sleep and bash Toyota. They cannot bash BMW because they are an Asia’s copy

• 2ndcardealer on Jun 01, 2015 at 11:51 pm

You sure butthurt Toyoda owners, pity you. Go and sell your Toyoda rubbish to Same Lorrrr. He maybe the last person that will give high RV for Toyoda

• junkyard on Jun 02, 2015 at 1:39 am

Nah, no dealers will accept Proton except for scrap metal. Better sell your Proton junk to junkyard. There are no RV for Proton

• 2ndcardealer on Jun 02, 2015 at 8:57 am

Pity altis 2013 is only 68k, closer to Nissan RV. Where got good RV?
            Hahahahaha

• kerrata on Jun 01, 2015 at 11:56 pm

Orang bilang kerrata Toyota ugly, rupa macam catfish

• syiok-syiok on Jun 02, 2015 at 1:46 am

Ya, catfish but sendiri buat lebih baik drpd syiok sendiri Mitsu/Honda clone copy, memalukan negara

• kerrata on Jun 02, 2015 at 9:07 am

Preve is not clone, myvi frog yes

• Same L0rrrr on Jun 02, 2015 at 12:55 pm

People buy Proton not because they are good/safe, because they are CHEAP.

A Saga owner would go for Vios if they have RM80k. A Suprima S owner would go for Civic if they have RM130k. Enough said.

Common sense.

• laterregret on Jun 02, 2015 at 7:02 pm

You go wrong with sushi coz of killing airbags!!!!!

• noToyotapls on Jun 02, 2015 at 7:58 am

So now new Toyota cars save or not?
        Can anybody confirm?

• sepul on Jun 01, 2015 at 10:18 pm

We should put the blame to Takata for supplying defective parts to car manufacturers. And nearly all major brands use Takata airbags.

This is indeed a great history in automotive recalls.

• Sandiwara (Member) on Jun 01, 2015 at 10:38 pm

Why nobody request we need 10 airbags as standard?
    I would love to see those who insist on more airbags to sit inside one of those affected vehicles when the airbags deploy

• notosushi on Jun 01, 2015 at 10:57 pm

The problem here is QUALITY, where is the quality of the so called jepunis brand, already thrown into deep sea?

• Sandiwara (Member) on Jun 02, 2015 at 12:41 am

Ive long argued here that quantity of airbags means jack all about safety when you have no quality
        And all the safety equipment in a car will not safe any life if the driver is a moron

The quality of Jepunis brand has been dead long ago, murdered/drowned by dumb CONsumers who con the shit out of themselves
        You wont find the same Jepunis quality in mass produced products any more
        The last man standing in a pool of mass car manufacturer which is Toyota is declining in its quality aspect as well
        All thanks to dumb consumers

Ill give you something to ponder without pointing fingers or divulging too much

Car components manufacturers operates on a very very lean profit, some where in the region of a few percent
        They need very very high volume to stay alive some where in the region of 70-80% of plant capacity usually on 24/7 basis

In order to satisfy consumer’s demand for more features at a modest price, car manufacturers will always press the component manufacturer for better pricing
        In order to satisfy consumer’s demand for faster facelift/new car model, car manufacturer will always press the component manufacturer to reinvest in new production machines
        In order to satisfy workers demand for a 5 day week, component manufacturer has to pay extra for work done on satuday and sunday
        Or run a 4 crew 3 shift production cycle which is extremely costly
        In order to satisfy stringent government regulations on environment, e.g. the disposal of waste materials, more expensive banned material substitutes has also led to increased in production cost

That is a very very basic explanation of what happened to quality
        However the problem with today’s consumer is they want more but pay less
        They benchmark products by quantity but not quality, the product has more gimmicky features with less quality sells more than product that has less gimmicky features but better quality assuming both are at the same price bracket

The Germans other than VW has held the quality department a bit better because one German car can easily buy 2-3 jepunis car
        In other words, good things no cheap, cheap things no good
        If you want both feature and quality prepare to pay a premium
        If you want both features and cheap price, prepare to get lousy product
        At the end of the day car manufacturers are only business entities that caters to consumer’s demand/requirement

• kadajawa on Jun 02, 2015 at 1:55 am

How come Langkawi got cheap car but good quality?

• Sandiwara (Member) on Jun 02, 2015 at 2:03 pm

So car models sold in Langkawi were fitted with special edition better quality spare parts?
            Thats something new to me

• kadajawa on Jun 02, 2015 at 3:01 pm

No, there are fitted with the same parts but with cheaper price. Why?

• Sandiwara (Member) on Jun 02, 2015 at 4:09 pm

And I guess you’re well aware that you are asking a stupid question?
            Langkawi has got cheaper price due to tax structure and car manufacturers has no control over it
            The cost of production for a car remains the same assuming that the assembly plant, components plants remains the same i.e. they come out from the same factory and the difference in selling price is due to taxes

• Cortanut on Jun 02, 2015 at 10:04 am

You may drive like a saint but get banged by a moron end up the moron survived and you died cause the moron car had better safety features.
          Your point being paying for more expensive car will have better quality and safer. Even BMW is affected by airbag recall so by your logic we can only be safe in a Porshe, Rolls Royce, Bentley, Jaguar, Lambo, Ferrari?

• savetheday on Jun 02, 2015 at 10:33 am

….and p1

• Sandiwara (Member) on Jun 02, 2015 at 2:07 pm

So since you disagree and going by your point of view
            I should expect a Viva to be as safe and quality to be on par with a Mercedes S class or BMW 7 series?

• Cortanut on Jun 03, 2015 at 12:52 pm

Well Viva vs S Class/7 Series we obviously know who will be the winner. That’s like a featherweight amateur boxer vs a heavyweight champion. Better to compare a vehicle of the same segment. Sure you get what you pay for but does that mean only the luxury cars are the safest and all other cheaper car lose in terms of safety??
            I am sure there are cheaper cars which can be safer than luxury cars when it comes to segment vs segment examples like
            Mazda 2, Jazz vs 1 series/ A class
            Mazda 3, Civic vs 3 series/ C class
            Camry, Accord vs 5 series/ E class
            and so on.

• Benny on Jun 03, 2015 at 2:51 pm

Sandiwara what car you drive??

• DPCraft on Jun 01, 2015 at 10:47 pm

The Japanese carmakers are not alone, The germans and american just react slower, I think p1 and p2 would be the last to recall when everyone is done

• If this was Proton, the macais would want their pound of flesh, demanding the entire board, CEO, managers, executives and engineers to commit mass seppuku on live TV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 0
    • Same L0rrrr on Jun 02, 2015 at 12:58 pm

So Proton has better quality since they have no recall? Think again.

You never do body checkup doesn’t mean you won’t get cancer.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 10
      • Doesnt make any sense. Even if you go for body checkup, you might still get cancer. Checkup only can diagnose, not cure.

Is your low sales getting to your head, mate?

• arief on Jun 02, 2015 at 1:15 am

Just wondering… if those uk specced car also involved in these recalls (which so far not yet), how malaysians who buy recond car from the grey market wants to claim?
    Im pretty sure those importers dont event want to bare the cost to get involved with it.. and for sure bmw malaysia also wont even care..
    So, better go for authorized dealer i think.. hurmm

• numbnut on Jun 02, 2015 at 2:38 am

Crashed a 2002 325i few years ago. Airbag didnt deploy. Thank god seat belt was on.

• 2002 325i on Jun 02, 2015 at 2:43 am

Driver airbag didnt deploy when crashed. Only the side airbag was working.