2016 Alfa Romeo Giulia leaked online prior to debut

alfa-romeo-giulia-leaked-2

Individuals who have been following the buzz surrounding Alfa Romeo’s upcoming 3 Series-fighter might notice that today is the supposed day that the Italian carmaker will reveal its latest creation, supposedly dubbed the Alfa Romeo Giulia – though we’re not too sure if that’s the exact name for it.

Well, to further build on the hype regarding the Giulia, it would appear that several leaked live shots of the car and even a digital render or two have been leaked online, the latter materialising on Carscoop‘s site merely hours after the live shots were revealed. Also, in one particular picture, the ‘Giulia’ tag can be clearly marked out, going against earlier reports that the car could arrive with a different name.

alfa-romeo-giulia-leaked

Unfortunately, the second live photo that shows the car’s profile is a tad low on quality but most would be able to deduce the fact that the car is equipped with Alfa’s trademark telephone-dial wheels. Of more interest is that unmistakable Quadrifoglio Verde (QV) badge that’s bolted on top of the front wheel arch.

Check out one of the aforementioned digital renders and you’ll even be able to see exactly where that badge sits – the QV badge is not included in the render but one can mark out the triangular cutout for where it is placed. Speaking of the renders, the duo of supposed interior shots show a driver-oriented cabin, replete with a touchscreen system and deep-set instrument clusters.

Click to enlarge.

Under the bonnet, multiple reports are already claiming that the 2016 Alfa Romeo Giulia will arrive powered by a range of turbocharged four- and six-cylinder petrol engines. The former is said to be an all-new, Maserati-developed “high-output four-cylinder engine” that will replace the 1750 TBi in the Alfa Romeo 4C – said engine is touted to produce up to 298 hp.

The V6 engine will likely be based on the mill found in the rumoured Ferrari Dino – the twin-turbocharged unit is expected to produce around 500 hp in the Ferrari but will be reworked for its application in the Giulia. More information is expected to follow, so stay tuned for updates.

Gregory Sze

An “actor” by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• Wow! Muscular Italia.. can it beat M3, ISF and C63? hmm.. let’s wait..

• That will have to depend on whether it’s still holding onto Alfa Romeo’s tradition of producing FF cars.

• ganni on Jun 24, 2015 at 12:02 pm

no FF for this car..only FR and AWD…

• That’s why I said it depends whether it’s built according to Alfa Romeo’s tradition. I, too, hope it’s not.

Btw, how do you know that?

• olio benzina on Jun 24, 2015 at 1:07 pm

Its true for the past 25 years, most Alfas are FF.
            But Alfa have been around for 80 years making FR cars before that.

The word tradition is wrong in this context.

• Ganni on Jun 24, 2015 at 11:00 pm

They did announced it previously..now that what we call a true alfas..back to the oldies..

• ganni on Jun 24, 2015 at 12:01 pm

hope that the engine develope by ferrari will helps them to face the germans M & amg…
      looks like it will be a lot better in term of design than the new a4..

• brazbuz on Jun 24, 2015 at 9:18 am

Gorgeous….

• nameless on Jun 24, 2015 at 9:42 am

droll, italians always have the nice butts..

• wow nice looking, looks muscular…cant wait for the reveal

• samson on Jun 24, 2015 at 9:52 am

the back of the car looks like a maserati grand turismo….

• ganni on Jun 24, 2015 at 12:07 pm

second that!!
      while most of the ppl thought that the rear looks like kia, my 1st impression was it does looks like the gran turismo..

• Tipo953 on Jun 24, 2015 at 10:09 am

I just jizzed in my pants. Those curves and details. THe backlights look like K5 from those angles.

• Leon Loke on Jun 24, 2015 at 10:17 am

Looks like Alfa’s design is inspired by Mazda design.

• That is a strong statement.fanatics might find it sacrilegious.but from these spyshots u are right.

But to think of it,ghibli does have hint of kia at their rear light.

• heybadigol (Member) on Jun 24, 2015 at 10:21 am

Ohhh, my. That is so sexy. Can’t wait to see the real deal.

• Waiting for Maserati version of this.

• shame loo on Jun 24, 2015 at 10:30 am

my toyota camry better

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 13
  • WOW SEXAYYY!!! on Jun 24, 2015 at 10:56 am

WOW SEXAYYY!!!

• Jonn Dol on Jun 24, 2015 at 11:04 am

I’m quite excited to wait for the official unveiling, although a bit disappointed that the rear lights has a bit of Korean car design cues. I was expecting a more original & truly Italian style front/rear lights..

• Mamma mia molto bella!

• ithought on Jun 24, 2015 at 12:16 pm

i thought it was a kia k5 facelifted model when i first looked at the tail light n came to realize it was a alfa romeo.

• TopsyBoXyTurvy on Jun 24, 2015 at 2:09 pm

Look at the rear passenger air cond vents!! I thought i saw a superbike there! NICE !

• Sam Loorrrr on Jun 24, 2015 at 3:21 pm

wow body look like my persona….demm hott

no need to buy expensive alfa no more…..just buy plotong would do….hehehe

• If only I got one ringgit each time some new car is billed as a ‘3-series fighter’ …

• shawal on Jun 24, 2015 at 4:30 pm

the platform is shared with the ghibli, even the mule was a ghibli…

The italians are sharing components more than ever, like the germans…

Alas…the QV badged guilia will sport a ferrai developed turbocharged v6 producing north of 450bhp, rwd n quad exhaust to rival the m3…

A tall order since the new m3 is all grown up with extra cushy interior…

The rendering of the giula looks cheap and nasty, hopefully the real thing sports genuine italian cow hide….

Welcome back to form for alfas…

Hopefully naza italia will bring them over…

This car looks amazing…

• Beng P1boy on Jun 24, 2015 at 5:54 pm

Accordana is better