CarBase.my’s new Estimated Cost of Ownership data

carbaselogo1

We have now introduced Estimated Cost of Ownership data on our car research website CarBase.my so you can know how much you’ll have to spend on your car’s upkeep beyond just servicing your monthly hire purchase instalments.

The numbers are broken down into five parts for five years or up to 100,000 km. The first two you’ll probably be very familiar with – Road Tax and Insurance. There’s also Fuel Costs, Servicing Costs and Consumable Costs. We’ll go into detail on what these numbers mean.

Road Tax should be self-explanatory. If you click the Calculator icon next to Insurance, you’ll be able to set your starting NCB. We’ll take that NCB number and use it for the first year, and increase the discount over the next five years together with an estimated depreciation of the car’s insured value to estimate how much you’ll have to spend on insurance.

Screen Shot 2015-06-30 at 1.26.26 PM

For Fuel Costs, we’ve attached an estimated real world combined fuel economy figure to each variant based on data compiled from Fuelly and other sources. By default each variant uses either RON95 or diesel, but for certain cars that require RON97, the calculation will use the more expensive fuel. As mentioned before, these numbers are based on 100,000 km over 5 years or 20,000 km per year.

Servicing Costs indicate how much you’ll have to spend on servicing your car based on the car’s service schedule. We painstakingly sourced for each car’s service schedule and cost for this. Some car distributors were very cooperative and swift with their reply for this, so thank you for that.

You’ll notice for brands like Volvo this will show RM0.00 – this is because Volvo offers free service for the first five years as standard. These numbers will also be very useful for you to find out how much a promotional free service package is valued at in terms of cash.

Screen Shot 2015-06-30 at 2.23.31 PM

For Consumable Costs, it currently consists of tyre replacement costs. Please mouseover the blue (i) icon next to each number to see an explanation on what the numbers mean. We intend to add in wiper, brake disc and brake pad replacement costs in the future.

Estimated Cost of Ownership Data is currently available for Honda, Toyota, Perodua, Nissan, Volvo and Peugeot. Mazda data is available for certain models only. Data for Volkswagen, BMW and Kia will be uploaded later this week. As for the other models that are still unavailable, we hope to add the data in soon.

Our Estimated Cost of Ownership data is also available under the Car Comparison tool so you can compare each car’s data side by side to help you make your next car purchase decision. A sample is available here: Compare Toyota Vios 1.5G, Honda City 1.5V and Nissan Almera 1.5VL.

P/S: For estimated depreciation, please use the Car Market Value Guide.

Harvinder Sidhu

Harvinder Singh Sidhu thinks there's nothing better than Formula 1, not even sliced bread. Having written about cars since 2006, he plunged head first into the industry out of a passion for all things four-wheeled and everything in between. The F1 enthusiast has been following the sport since 1999 and has been keeping up with it since. In between races he keeps himself busy as the host of the Driven motoring show and as our version of the Joker.

• autosense on Jun 30, 2015 at 2:21 pm

Good start, but why depreciation is not included as it is also a cost of ownership. In fact, a huge cost.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 10
    • Sam Looser on Jun 30, 2015 at 2:27 pm

Depreciation is based on the whims and fancies of the market and is not real cash flow.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
      • Same L0rrrr on Jun 30, 2015 at 3:04 pm

Now you will see why people are buying Toyota after decades – low ownership cost!

Toyota drivers usually sell off their Toyota for a better/bigger cars. No one sell off a Toyota because the driver can’t tahan the minyak, maintenance cost, expensive spare parts, poor quality. No one.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 26
        • maXref (Member) on Jun 30, 2015 at 3:41 pm

Lol, do u even read the article and the links in it? Honda city is cheaper upfront, cheaper to maintain in 5 years and safer (6 airbags vs 2 airbags, has stability control vs none in toyota). You should just jump off a bridge than to talk nonsense here

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
          • Same L0rrrr on Jun 30, 2015 at 5:22 pm

Yes current Honda City no doubt attractive. But I am saying people buying Toyota for DECADES! I am saying general car brand for decades and you only concern on particular model for these 2 years.

If you have vocab problem no need jump off bridge, go join tuition class dude.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 14
          • Sam VHL Loo on Jun 30, 2015 at 6:50 pm

Now you will see why people are selling Toyota after decades – low dignity and ‘nyawa’ cost every time driving their jamban junk model!

Toyota drivers usually sell off their Toyota because the driver can’t tahan the minyak (new Vios FC nowadays telan minyak more than poor Cam’tak’prong engine other than those jamban junk from 3rd world countries such as Rush, Innova and Fortuner), expensive maintenance cost and spare parts (in UMW service centre, you know i knowlah, pay luxury car spare part price but quality might be worse than local spare parts), and ‘awesome’ poor quality and safety features that put their own and passengers life in danger anytime.

• samelorstpd on Jul 01, 2015 at 9:28 am

Boring Toyoda SA no customers at showroom then coming here talk kok

For decades people buy same cars without improvement. Go and tell your boss it’s your call to prove those “moving forward” slogan.

• prabowi on Jun 30, 2015 at 2:25 pm

Awesome job

• Wiwiwiwiwiw on Jun 30, 2015 at 2:29 pm

Can you include the monthly installments as well?

• xiper (Member) on Jul 01, 2015 at 12:51 am

Loan is quite subjective to each individual (amount, tenure and interest rate), there is also a Loan Calculator under the Tools on top of the website for you to calculate based on your needs.

• heybadigol (Member) on Jun 30, 2015 at 2:55 pm

Many thanks. Its a good start. Though its not quite complete yet. No detailed cost for BMW and Mercedes yet. Guess its still being updated right?

• maXref (Member) on Jun 30, 2015 at 3:37 pm

This is amazing! Something innovative and very useful. Keep up the good work guys! :)

• I am looking into 5 years trade in value, average figure provided by multiple Car company/salesman.

• cck_clan on Jul 01, 2015 at 12:43 am

u know who should use this app? our good govn, cos every time they use million of dollar to service their car.