Texting and selfies causing more fatal auto accidents

Handphone drving

The number of fatal accidents involving drivers preoccupied with using their mobile phones whilst driving is on the rise, according to research carried out by the Road Transport Department (JPJ).

Kedah JPJ director Nik Ahmad Syazwan Nik Azman said that research showed that a large number of fatal accidents cases were due to texting while driving, and worryingly, most of these involved youths, The Star reports. He said besides reading and replying to text messages, it was also not surprising to see the younger generation using their smartphones to take a selfie and upload a pix while behind the wheel.

“This is very dangerous as the drivers’ attention is diverted to texting and uploading selfies when they should be giving full focus on the road. Such irresponsible attitude towards other road users has become a ‘driving culture’ among our younger generation these days,” he said.

“As such, more road safety campaigns highlighted on the ‘No Texting while Driving’ is being carried out not only to spread awareness among motorists, but also to school children in the state,” he told reporters.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• TopsyBoXyTurvy on Jul 15, 2015 at 10:46 am

So I guess that’s why they are coming up with self driving cars.

• Same L0rrrr on Jul 15, 2015 at 2:22 pm

2 airbags won’t kill you, but your texting/sms will. Dangerous driving + no seat belt, Iriz give you 200 airbags also you sure die.

• Black Dog on Jul 15, 2015 at 10:50 am

Many people here also text and drive but won’t admit it.

I do but only when stuck in jams and traffic lights.

• Ek Eleh on Jul 15, 2015 at 11:04 am

Ek eleh… Pot holes makes care become more stronger n leave no damage to car n users. Boleh bela la ko olang

• Worst is playing with their phone while hogging on the right lane.

• https://youtu.be/r4yl2Dn_dw0

As in DCT’s new video, selfie and texting take lives. It’s worse if you took other people’s while at it.

• azrai on Jul 15, 2015 at 1:45 pm

Stupid young Malaysians nowadays. Not just endangering their lives, the other road user as well. And to make things worst, stealing smartphone for texting and selfies and incited a racial tension.

• Gangant on Jul 15, 2015 at 3:05 pm

Don’t clash while driving. you will bound to fail in your attacks. Hahaha!

• Ong Chee Boon on Jul 15, 2015 at 4:55 pm

I hate to admit, but i was used to be one of the road user that texting or calling when driving or in traffic jams. (no selfie though)

Truthfully, i had several instances where i almost involved in a car accident when texting and calling while driving. But i was lucky. That is no excuse to justify or deny any of the act mentioned above.

Ever since, i never do this again (almost none), for the sake of myself, my family and other road users.

Just a side note, i realized i didn’t do texting and calling as often when i am driving a MANUAL (kia picanto) than when i was driving an AUTO (my golf), in fact, i can’t even reach my phone when doing manual. I have to focus on shifting to the correct gear ratio when driving/reversing/braking, and during the jam – left hand always on the gear knob. This prevents me from doing other things using my hands and enables myself to be fully aware on my surroundings.

Off topic:
    I realized, is that having a manual really helps a lot in fuel consumption. I did mentioned my Kia Picanto 1.2 Manual was faring 11km per liter during first week, and now since it has been a month already, the FC recorded is around 15KM per liter of petrol RON95. That was really impressive, because i wasn’t driving frugally, and i am a big fan of pressing the pedals hard and revving the engine to at least 4-5000 rpm before shifting gears to achieve best performance.

Petrol used: BHP ron95
    Mileage recorded: 480KM (one of the records)
    Litre pumped: 32 litre

Conclusion: Drive a manual. Why?
    1) Good FC (better fuel efficiency and burn), sometimes even better than CVT!
    2) Prevent distractions (texting, calling, eating, etc)
    3) Enjoy fun driving (albeit you will be a bit tired during traffic jams), you will say no to some CVT after using manual.
    4) Manual transmission is cheaper to maintain (rock solid, better than DSG or dual clutch manual and even some autos)
    5) Manual transmission is lighter than auto, hence better fc (again)
    6) Good leg exercise for your both legs and trains your brain coordination.

7) Manliness level increased by 9000!(Just kidding not really a valid point, but some of my female friends actually expressed that a man looks great and attractive when driving manual. i think what they meant is a man is looking great when focused in doing something. Maybe this point could be a good motivating factor to drive a manual XD)

P/S: Government should disallow driving schools offering driving courses using cars using automatic transmission.

Just my two cents.

• Mc Kangkung on Jul 15, 2015 at 8:14 pm

duuuhhh???

• Remus on Jul 16, 2015 at 9:26 am

The thing is, if texting & selfies is dangerous while driving, how come there’s no serious effort from any authorities to curb this dangerous habit while driving? The authorities should look at other countries on how to educate our drivers. There’s not even any add on our tv or posters on dangers of texting while driving. Authorities only know how to talk-talk only….