VIDEO: Audi’s Matrix OLED is the wave of the future

The next big thing in automotive lighting technology is Matrix OLED (Organic light emitting diode), and Audi is right at the forefront of this ground-breaking advancement. The video above has a glimpse of it right at the end, and it’s worth the wait.

These lights open up a plethora of possibilities with previously-unattainable levels of homogeneity, and amazing creative opportunities for design. Initial projects involve the implementation of OLED technology in taillights.

A156497_large

In each OLED unit, two electrodes – of which at least one must be transparent – incorporate numerous thin layers of organic semiconductor materials. A low DC voltage – between three and four volts – activates the layers, each of which is less than one thousandth of a millimeter thick, to light them. The colour is based on the molecular composition of the light source.

In contrast to conventional LEDs, which are made of semiconductor crystals; OLEDs are flat light sources, and do not cast any shadows and do not require any reflectors light guides or similar optical components. This makes OLED units highly efficient and lightweight.

A156498_large

Audi is working hard to improve the light density of these OLEDs to generate turn signals and brake lights. The company has already showcased multi-coloured OLEDs in the silhouette of the car and ‘the swarm’ with a three-dimensional OLED display.

More importantly, OLEDs can be divided into smaller segments that can be controlled at different brightness levels, colours and transparencies. Therefore, the lighting scenarios and extremely fast switchover times can potentially create magnificent effects.

Anil Prabha

Anil Prabha has always been a petrol head. He also has a strange knack for remembering car models and their respective registration plates. Naturally aspirated engines are always better than turbocharged or supercharged ones, in his opinion. Ultimately, he believes that there is nothing better in life than just going for a drive.

• Pasu MACC on Jul 30, 2015 at 9:37 am

The leak of Ex-TPM is much more interesting than the leak of the LED lamp design of Audi.

• tokmoh. on Jul 30, 2015 at 9:45 am

Sked once broken, need RM20k to replace.

Old school halogen bulb for me. Cheap and works fine.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 7
    • Tokkok on Jul 30, 2015 at 10:59 am

tokmoh’s comment reflects the mentality which is exactly like those who sleep at proton store room as stated above.

• teropong on Jul 30, 2015 at 12:02 pm

so said the man when halogens were first used

like all technologies, mass industrial production, scale of economies and mainstream adoption will all but bring new technologies to everyday use. it is exactly this sort of naysayer mentality that will prevent us from innovating and creating.

• tokmoh. on Jul 30, 2015 at 6:31 pm

I believe in being cost effective too.

Halogen is still not too bad, and works better in rain.

Maybe one day u get hit n run, and have no choice but to suck it up, and part >RM5k cash instead of <RM500 for a headlamp, you'll probably understand. Either way, both shines bright enough to be usable and does their job just fine.

Unless you're ultra rich, so just ignore this poorfag rakyat just trying to stretch my ringgit prudently.

• If you wanna stretch your ringgit, nah heres some candles and a matchbox. More value than using halogen bulbs

• Excluding cheap aftermarket LEDs from China, have you ever seen a broken LED headlight / taillight before? I don’t think so. Even the stock MyVi taillights are rarely broken. Even if it is broken, it’s not because of the LEDs burning out but the fuse.

That’s because LEDs have a much much longer lifespan than standard halogen/xenon. Not to mention energy efficient.

• tokmoh. on Jul 30, 2015 at 6:14 pm

If u like Mazda2 owner page in fb, u’ll see owners there like to hoohaa about Mazda2’s LED DRL and main headlamp. Always beech Bermaz for kedekut give only halogen, that the LED DRL/lamp is the star feature of new M2.

They can get the LED DRL/lamp from Thailand/Japan and retrofit here, but it’ll cost around RM3k++ each.

I say fark this shit, I’m not paying RM6k++ just for LED, there’s hell lots more stuffs I’d rather spend RM6k++ on. A week to Tokyo maybe.

And if u’re unlucky, damaged the headlamps in an accident, more money burn to replace.

Inb4 poorfag

• you sad old goat. Legit quality led are exp. because they have been tested to work in even extreme operating conditions. Cheap petaling street led will burn out in a matter of weeks, have inconsistent brightness, flickering, etc.

• zuchie on Jul 30, 2015 at 10:03 am

As we know Audi the first car start with LED light and now Audi use OLED light and that why Audi still the best. * correct me if i`m wrong.

• Mohd Faiz on Jul 30, 2015 at 10:18 am

can’t wait for the Matrix OLED offering from china!!

• Buchstaben on Jul 30, 2015 at 10:48 am

thanks you sir, u make me laugh! are you joking or what? its utter rubbish and total bs. work with them for over years in robert bosch reutlingen and mercedes mannheim. they are also human like us. there’s no such word as ‘we must work hard. must focus in our work’. in fact, they also chat such ‘ wars du bei dem puff schon? and ‘ich hab meine freundin in autos gebumst’ in their coffee time.

• Areyousure on Jul 30, 2015 at 11:02 am

Marvelous short clip! A must watch

• You want to know why? Its simple: Money.

Audis yearly R&D budget would likely be more than P1s turnover.

• DPCraft on Jul 30, 2015 at 11:45 am

I think the 2016 Honda Accord and Civic is using this light as headlights for the high specs models

• Those are just standard LED Headlights. OLED technology is still expensive at the moment but production cost will come down in the future just like standard LEDs nowadays.

• tinmilo on Jul 30, 2015 at 12:31 pm

Car with an attached Christmas tree?
    Why would I need that?

• Even tho BMW was first to introduce OLED on cars with the M4 concept a few months ago, I think Audi will be the first to put it into a production car.

• seancorr (Member) on Jul 30, 2015 at 2:35 pm

So I’ve seen the OLED tech from BMW and Audi…what happened to Mercedes?

• Gostan on Jul 30, 2015 at 4:37 pm

I had personally suggested this kind of “MATRIX LED” idea to my ex-colleague in Proton R&D in early years of Audi’s introduction of LED DRL. But… sigh….

• Josh Ling on Jul 30, 2015 at 4:48 pm

…..and what happened to the laser lights? i thought those were supposed to be the future of lighting?