Nissan withdraws GT-R LM Nismo from WEC 2015

GT-R LM NISMO 01

As we reported earlier, our worse fears have most definitely come true. Nissan has formally announced it is withdrawing the GT-R LM Nismo from the LM P1 class of the FIA World Endurance Championship (WEC).

This move comes after its embarrassing showing in this year’s Le Mans 24 Hours race. Basically, the energy recovery system (ERS) was the main culprit, and Nissan had to run the race on engine power alone, thereby robbing the car of its natural speed. The faulty ERS compromised the car’s other systems and the 3.0 litre twin-turbo V6 petrol engine could not compensate for the performance deficiency.

The GT-R LM Nismo is by far the most radical vehicle that debuted at this year’s Le Mans 24 Hours, as its unique aerodynamics and front-wheel drive paradigm shocked most ardent followers of the sport, so it’s good to hear that they will be back.

Nissan GT-R LM NISMO

“We know people will be disappointed, but be assured that nobody is more disappointed than us,” said Shoichi Miyatani, president of Nismo. “We are racers and we want to compete, but we also want to be competitive.”

Miyatani believes that when a company is committed towards innovation, challenges and hiccups such as this would not deter them. “When you innovate, you don’t give up at the first hurdle. We are committed to overcoming this challenge,” he added.

It is believed that the test program for the GT-R LM Nismo will continue, but not exclusively in the United States at all times. Nissan has stated “a decision on the date for Nissan’s return to the World Endurance Championship will be made in due course.”

Anil Prabha

Anil Prabha has always been a petrol head. He also has a strange knack for remembering car models and their respective registration plates. Naturally aspirated engines are always better than turbocharged or supercharged ones, in his opinion. Ultimately, he believes that there is nothing better in life than just going for a drive.

• Kancil Hybrid on Aug 10, 2015 at 11:54 am

I am no racing expert. But Nissan, race cars should look good even when they are not racing, and your cars don’t. That is why you cannot compete with Porsche, Audi, Toyota.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 9
  • Heng Lee on Aug 10, 2015 at 12:23 pm

The best Nissan was 8 hours in the pits for repairs during the 24hrs of Le Mans.

Possibly Nissan should ask to extend the 24hrs of Le Mans to 32hrs, so that they will have enough time to repair their cars? ;)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
  • racefan on Aug 10, 2015 at 1:03 pm

The main ‘culprit’ was poor programme planning. The ERS issue was a key issue but one of many issues arising from poor planning. ERS was a convenient excuse. They knew well in advance of LM24 that the ERS cannot be used.

The car debut a year too early. More time should have been spend on development and testing, which obviously they are now forced to admit. Very amateur for a factory backed programme and its hurting the NISSAN brand.